Your Home Theater Setup, Let's share
DannyOP
Aug 21 2011, 08:58 PM
need some recommendation for a good installer, can recommend yours klimal? I got a fixed screen instead, now wondering how to mount the plasma tv since the screen can't be rolled up. Any ideas? Is there such a thing as a hydraulic lifter for the tv? Ie. when not in use then it can be lowered just like a lift.
DannyOP
Aug 21 2011, 11:19 PM
Thanks, didn't know it takes so many hours to fix. Must standby 1 day off then to settle the projector & screen.
DannyOP
Aug 21 2011, 11:51 PM
QUOTE(htkaki @ Aug 21 2011, 11:20 PM) Same guy that I am using. Many hi-fi shops enlist his service. He does not work directly under CMY. He has his own biz selling racks and speaker stands. Nice chap. He drove Unser to your place? Did he also do the sliding projector mount? I find this very useful especially if next time wanna change to different models and screen size.
DannyOP
Aug 30 2011, 11:30 PM
QUOTE(ShenToN @ Aug 30 2011, 05:24 PM) Halfway building my small little man cave! more pictures will be up soon  Looks very challenging with so many reflection points..hope to hear yr feedback on how it sounds!
DannyOP
Aug 31 2011, 12:05 PM
Oh so u r from Sarawak? I seldom see Malaysian houses with attics... Only some ht underground dens;)
DannyOP
Sep 14 2011, 06:46 PM
Should be very good by now  Thanks for the installer recommendation for setting up my projector screen. Hope to enjoy watching it next week when it's done! This post has been edited by DannyOP: Sep 14 2011, 06:51 PM
DannyOP
Sep 14 2011, 10:47 PM
Screen is just 92in fixed screen. Projector is related to JVC, same brand as your power amp This post has been edited by DannyOP: Sep 14 2011, 10:48 PM
DannyOP
Sep 28 2011, 08:01 PM
QUOTE(anfieldude @ Sep 28 2011, 02:59 PM) Had a great time visiting the folks in Kuching last weekend doing calibrations. Some high end setups as well. Hope u guys are enjoying ur THX calibrated displays! I will send out the reports by this weekend. Looks like ur a highly wanted man! can I prebook u when u r in KL? My new setup is ready. This post has been edited by DannyOP: Sep 28 2011, 08:01 PM
DannyOP
Sep 29 2011, 04:55 PM
QUOTE(klimal @ Sep 28 2011, 10:31 PM) Yeah, me too. I need to calibrate my pj too, have to be at night tho' as the curtains have been delayed yet again. DannyOP, congrats on your new set up. When can we come and kaypoh? Same here also waiting for curtains lol Thanks, getting used to projector and now the plasma looks so puny. Will invite u guys once my curtains and music setup (amp, speakers) arrives.
DannyOP
Oct 5 2011, 12:50 AM
u play in a band? how come got so many drum set and guitar?
DannyOP
Oct 7 2011, 02:40 PM
QUOTE(liowyingzhuo @ Oct 5 2011, 07:00 AM) Yeah, i play band too. I always play with my sis and bro.  Cool, 2 hobbies in one space..
DannyOP
Nov 7 2011, 12:55 PM
Onkyo is predominantly a movie av amp... If u use it 90% for movies then ok. Subwoofer I'd recommend rythmik fv15hp for movies and f15hp for music if your budget is rm5k or below. If no budget limit then jtr captivator/subversive. Somewhere in between is svs and paradigm. All other sub 3k range are mostly crap. Most important before all those is your room setup. A good system benefits if u have more breathing space.
This post has been edited by DannyOP: Nov 7 2011, 12:57 PM
DannyOP
Nov 8 2011, 04:13 PM
It's best that you try them out with the same source cd for movies/music.. My pick is still a better sub as most of the movie sound experience comes from the sub
DannyOP
Nov 9 2011, 09:53 AM
Nice n tidy setup, I see u have lots of acoustic panels.
DannyOP
Nov 11 2011, 11:30 AM
Perhaps u can indicate a budget.. Different shop caters for different price range
DannyOP
Nov 15 2011, 02:10 AM
QUOTE(tathoumse07 @ Nov 14 2011, 05:07 PM) My new toy came into my house last week i think its first in ipoh and third in whole malaysia wahahahahaha my new toy: onkyo power amplifier PA-MC 5501Hope to hear your thoughts of the power amp. Saw it in singapore, quite affordable around rm4k+ if it is good then a good combo with 5509.
DannyOP
Nov 16 2011, 10:12 AM
If u have a good hifi speaker it should be also good for ht, provided it is sufficiently powered. However ht speakers not necessary the same. hifi is much more demanding than ht because everything has to sound good from just 2 speakers without any help from subwoofer and calibration.
DannyOP
Nov 18 2011, 05:41 PM
QUOTE(tathoumse07 @ Nov 18 2011, 02:54 PM) my room is 10 x 12 feet its not the matter of big or small 12 give you something 10 inch cant give i mean the lower frequency my room is using twin velodyne impact 12 why did you choose a different brand of centre speaker compared to your front?
DannyOP
Dec 23 2011, 06:00 PM
I thought someone visited logit88 This post has been edited by DannyOP: Dec 23 2011, 06:00 PM
DannyOP
Dec 26 2011, 08:12 AM
Merry Christmas to all!