Your Home Theater Setup, Let's share
bigbangformula
Dec 28 2010, 05:06 PM
QUOTE(xxboxx @ Dec 26 2010, 12:46 PM) well i do hope that is really your house, not someone else house that you snapped just to pull a prank. that would be very rude. coz that is an indian living room but your finger colour is very fair. LMAO so what if his finger colour is fair?  And I think that IS his house
SUSMatrix
Dec 28 2010, 05:20 PM
QUOTE(dariofoo @ Dec 28 2010, 04:34 PM) Err, perhaps it wasn't him who snapped the photo? And are you suggesting that all Indians must be charcoal black?!!  Where's the finger??? Anyway, if i am not wrong, North Indians are fair, South Indian are dark...Most Malaysian Indians came from South..so mostly are darker.... Last time i have few Indian programmers from India working under me, some fair, some dark. Case solved.  Anyway, why suddenly became racist thread??  btw...  Hot is hot. Dark or fair dun care...haha. This post has been edited by Matrix: Dec 28 2010, 05:23 PM
bigbangformula
Dec 28 2010, 05:45 PM
QUOTE(Matrix @ Dec 28 2010, 05:20 PM) .. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Hot is hot. Dark or fair dun care...haha. Woah Case solved.
klimal
Dec 29 2010, 03:41 PM
My humble 5.1 set up with new sofa. Display Panasonic 50X10 Plasma 50" HD ready Sources : Dune Base 3.0 & PS3 Slim Amp : Onkyo TX-SR607 Speakers : Front LR_ Bi-amp Epos ELS303, Center : Dali Ikon Vokal2 Mk2, Surrounds Epos ELS3 Pardon the mess..after all it is a 'living' room cum HT.
This post has been edited by klimal: Dec 29 2010, 04:12 PM
dariofoo
Dec 29 2010, 04:03 PM
In the kingdom of the blind, the one-eyed man is king
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « QUOTE(yonggoh @ Dec 29 2010, 02:05 PM) this should solve some side wall reflection point issues... will treat ceiling and maybe some bass traps later on....  Bro,just wondering why didn't you just get your whole room treated? This post has been edited by dariofoo: Dec 29 2010, 04:03 PM
yonggoh
Dec 29 2010, 04:39 PM
treating a whole room with absorption/diffusers will make a room sound too dead or live...with the exception of bass traps...too much of something is often considered detrimental to performance... even an entire carpeted floor can be blamed for some environments to sound "murky"...ever wondered why recording studios often use parquet flooring... or how auditoriums have shiny slick surfaces? some engineer must've figured something out... the placement of my diffusers are to address the first reflection points from my front left, front right and centre speakers from the walls... i have yet to address the ceiling reflection points or bass trap issues... still trying to think of something pretty with function This post has been edited by yonggoh: Dec 29 2010, 04:41 PM
mc chew chow juk
Dec 30 2010, 03:55 AM
QUOTE(klimal @ Dec 29 2010, 03:41 PM) My humble 5.1 set up with new sofa. Display Panasonic 50X10 Plasma 50" HD ready Sources : Dune Base 3.0 & PS3 Slim Amp : Onkyo TX-SR607 Speakers : Front LR_ Bi-amp Epos ELS303, Center : Dali Ikon Vokal2 Mk2, Surrounds Epos ELS3 Pardon the mess..after all it is a 'living' room cum HT.
Nice setup. Keropok in conjuction of forthcoming CNY? LOL
klimal
Dec 30 2010, 10:56 AM
Thank you mc chew, it does serve my needs well at the moment. Just need to stay away from new french poison thrown my way every now and then.
RayKazansky
Dec 30 2010, 05:17 PM
QUOTE(mc chew chow juk @ Dec 30 2010, 03:55 AM) Nice setup. Keropok in conjuction of forthcoming CNY? LOL Yeah, the kropok is the most outstanding item I am seeing... LOL
htkaki
Dec 30 2010, 10:31 PM
QUOTE(klimal @ Dec 30 2010, 10:56 AM) Thank you mc chew, it does serve my needs well at the moment. Just need to stay away from new french poison thrown my way every now and then.   simi french poison? Btw, sent a pair of loudspeakers for a renowned reviewer to comment. Upon setting it up, he is instantly impressed with the soundstage for its price.
klimal
Dec 31 2010, 10:49 AM
What were the other equipment used by this renowned reviewer?
DannyOP
Dec 31 2010, 11:13 AM
QUOTE(atih007 @ Dec 26 2010, 01:22 PM) my humble living room.. TV Model : Sony Bravia KLV-46EX400 Amplifier : Yamaha RX-V420 Front Speaker : McLaren Center Speaker : McLaren Surround Speaker : McLaren Subwoofer : - Interconnect/Cable : gold cables, sony hdmi, component, optical HTPC: Intel Core i3 system [attachmentid=1958360] I still have the same speakers stored from years back! Where did u get your McLarens? The front speakers can be bi-amped. Did you use bi-amp setup? How do they sound with your Yamaha? I remembered they sound quite decent for movies with a Yamaha amp but music only so-so. The huge bass is good enough that you don't really need a sub.
jchong
Dec 31 2010, 02:18 PM
QUOTE(DannyOP @ Dec 31 2010, 11:13 AM) I remembered they sound quite decent for movies with a Yamaha amp but music only so-so. The huge bass is good enough that you don't really need a sub. Even if you have capable speakers with good bass, having a sub can be beneficial especially for movies. 1. For movies the bass is normally in the .1 LFE channel which goes to the sub. If you don't have a sub, your AVR must have some way to redirect the .1 LFE channel to the main speakers. Otherwise you won't be getting the bass effects from the LFE channel. 2. Delivering powerful bass needs good amp power. Even if your speakers can go low, you need a matching powerful amp in order to push your speakers to produce that powerful bass. Having a separate sub means you free up amp power to drive the speakers. 3. Even if your speakers can go low, can it go as low as a sub? Or can it produce the same quantity/quality of bass as a sub?
DannyOP
Dec 31 2010, 09:51 PM
QUOTE(jchong @ Dec 31 2010, 02:18 PM) Even if you have capable speakers with good bass, having a sub can be beneficial especially for movies. 1. For movies the bass is normally in the .1 LFE channel which goes to the sub. If you don't have a sub, your AVR must have some way to redirect the .1 LFE channel to the main speakers. Otherwise you won't be getting the bass effects from the LFE channel. 2. Delivering powerful bass needs good amp power. Even if your speakers can go low, you need a matching powerful amp in order to push your speakers to produce that powerful bass. Having a separate sub means you free up amp power to drive the speakers. 3. Even if your speakers can go low, can it go as low as a sub? Or can it produce the same quantity/quality of bass as a sub? Yea I know, these were my 1st hifi set many years ago. Was using yamaha amp. Of cos cant compare with dedicated sub but still ok. This post has been edited by DannyOP: Dec 31 2010, 10:10 PM
mc chew chow juk
Jan 1 2011, 05:52 AM
QUOTE(klimal @ Dec 30 2010, 10:56 AM) Thank you mc chew, it does serve my needs well at the moment. Just need to stay away from new french poison thrown my way every now and then.  LOL. Second that! but bonus out, sure everyone has the cure for the well-known poison.
htkaki
Jan 1 2011, 09:54 AM
QUOTE(mc chew chow juk @ Jan 1 2011, 05:52 AM) LOL. Second that! but bonus out, sure everyone has the cure for the well-known poison. klimal does not need bonus to get that. Anyway, I doubt he ever get bonus  Klimal, am I right?
klimal
Jan 1 2011, 11:43 AM
Give bonus is more like it...
DannyOP
Jan 1 2011, 03:11 PM
QUOTE(klimal @ Jan 1 2011, 11:43 AM) Give bonus is more like it... Ahh taukeh nowonder
mc chew chow juk
Jan 2 2011, 01:05 AM
QUOTE(klimal @ Jan 1 2011, 11:43 AM) Give bonus is more like it...  paiseh, didnt know you're taukeh! LOL!