Lowyat.NET Forums

LYN wins Intel-Lenovo-Tangs Blogathon challenge. Thank you everybody!
17 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > »  
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> [[iPod/iTunes Help Thread]], You ask, we answer

Playboy21
post Apr 14 2009, 06:32 AM

Il Principino

Group: Senior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

QUOTE(hieroplant @ Apr 14 2009, 12:52 AM)
Which iPod :ipod touch
iPod Generation :2nd gen
Current Firmware(if u know) :newest firmware
iTunes Version :newest version
Computer Platform :M$ vista
Problem Encountered :Posix error. Operation timed out. Happened when i tried to download apps/games from cydia. Found a couple of tips to fix this thing but nothing work. Seems there's  a couple of user in lowyat encounter this problem too.
Steps Had Taken (list down) :1 Jailbreak it again but same old posix error appeared.
Problem Screenshot (if any) :null
Other Info / Remark :null

I think it's your internet connection. I used to get the POSIX error quite a bit before when my internet is sucky, so it most probably can be it. Try all the basic stuff like rebooting, switching off wi-fi and turning it on back etc. See if it works then. If it doesn't go to StarBucks or any other hotspot zone, and try.
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
vivian_w
post Apr 14 2009, 07:46 PM

Group: Junior Member

Hi all, I've been trying to download the latest firmware (2.2.1) for my iPod Touch several times. But each time it reaches 70MB or so, the download will stop. What's the problem with it? Here's the screen shot. Hope anyone here can let me know how to solve this problem.. cry.gif

User is offlineProfile CardPM
+Quote Post
chingwooi
post Apr 14 2009, 08:06 PM

~Doctor Wannabe~

QUOTE(vivian_w @ Apr 14 2009, 07:46 PM)
Hi all, I've been trying to download the latest firmware (2.2.1) for my iPod Touch several times. But each time it reaches 70MB or so, the download will stop. What's the problem with it? Here's the screen shot. Hope anyone here can let me know how to solve this problem..  cry.gif

Try download the firmware manually from website instead of iTunes. Should solve the problem in no time. smile.gif Google Firmware 2.2.1 and you will get the results coz i'm not sure whether i can post the website here or not sweat.gif

This post has been edited by chingwooi: Apr 14 2009, 08:09 PM
+Quote Post
Playboy21
post Apr 15 2009, 02:20 PM

Il Principino

Try downloading the firmware from here : http://www.felixbruns.de/iPod/firmware/

Should work just fine.

chingwooi, nah, it's cool to post links to firmwares. I think... lol tongue.gif
+Quote Post
xlove
post Apr 21 2009, 10:55 AM

I wanted to know before i purchase ipod ! icon_question.gif
can you download songs/movie from software like 'limewire' or other song/movie download software and listen/use it on ipod ?
is there any way not use itune gift card.?
+Quote Post
shinnosuke
post Apr 21 2009, 11:53 AM

who are you?

QUOTE(xlove @ Apr 21 2009, 10:55 AM)
I wanted to know before i purchase ipod !  icon_question.gif
can you download songs/movie from software like 'limewire' or other song/movie download software and listen/use it on ipod ?

Yes, as long the format is supported by ipod.

Audio formats supported: AAC (16 to 320 Kbps), Protected AAC (from iTunes Store), MP3 (16 to 320 Kbps), MP3 VBR, Audible (formats 2, 3, and 4), Apple Lossless, AIFF, and WAV
+Quote Post
Playboy21
post Apr 21 2009, 02:20 PM

Il Principino

QUOTE(xlove @ Apr 21 2009, 10:55 AM)
I wanted to know before i purchase ipod !  icon_question.gif

Mate, you ought to buy your music from iTunes and not download it using p2p clients like Limewire and so on. It's illegal, and pretty much not allowed in here smile.gif

Um, if you don't want to use the iTunes Gift Card, it's alright, you can still download free apps from the App Store without any hassle. smile.gif
+Quote Post
chingwooi
post Apr 21 2009, 06:46 PM

~Doctor Wannabe~

QUOTE(Playboy21 @ Apr 21 2009, 02:20 PM)
Mate, you ought to buy your music from iTunes and not download it using p2p clients like Limewire and so on. It's illegal, and pretty much not allowed in here smile.gif

Um, if you don't want to use the iTunes Gift Card, it's alright, you can still download free apps from the App Store without any hassle. smile.gif

haha, I hv this bimbit.com card that worths RM500 values but you know what, they only hv mp3 at 160kbps.... suxs man moneyflies.gif
+Quote Post
dynames07
post Apr 21 2009, 08:00 PM

Hi guys

Its been several weeks already since I get my ipod touch but still cannot use it properly. My major problem is that I dont have any wifi connection. Is there any other way I can trasfer files into and from my ipod touch?

I already try installing cyder but I also dont know why it doesnt work also. Maybe got something to do with my ipod wifi setting, Anybody experiencing this before?
+Quote Post
bryanyeo
post Apr 21 2009, 08:11 PM

Apple rox

QUOTE(dynames07 @ Apr 21 2009, 08:00 PM)
Hi guys

Its been several weeks already since I get my ipod touch but still cannot use it properly. My major problem is that I dont have any wifi connection. Is there any other way I can trasfer files into and from my ipod touch?

I already try installing cyder but I also dont know why it doesnt work also. Maybe got something to do with my ipod wifi setting, Anybody experiencing this before?

use itunes to transfer files to your ipod touch. And i think you mean cydia. Cydia needs internet connection
+Quote Post
jind86
post Apr 21 2009, 08:14 PM

playboy=)
Men's Style & Fashion

Group: Moderator

Hi guys

why not use the connectivity cable via itunes to transfer your songs/movies/apps?
+Quote Post
catsper
post Apr 21 2009, 09:28 PM

Hi guys

Other than sync via iTunes. There is one alternative.
You need to install OpenSSH from Cydia featured apps. Then download a SSH client to connect, but some clients still require wifi to work. For my case, my wired transfer is done through a software called iPhone Tunnel Suite, it is for iPhone for works well with iPod Touch. Just plug in cable and you can SSH into iPod without wifi. Search for tutorial in here or iPhone forum for SSH guidance.
+Quote Post
intothefantasy
post Apr 23 2009, 02:05 AM

R.O.G = Republic Of Ghetto

i would like to ask...is there any harm to our ipod batery if we keep on chargin them? basically...when i sync...is auto charge...will it be any problem to the battery?
+Quote Post
Playboy21
post Apr 23 2009, 06:17 AM

Il Principino

Nope, it won't.
+Quote Post
chingwooi
post Apr 23 2009, 09:06 PM

~Doctor Wannabe~

QUOTE(ikantongsan @ Apr 23 2009, 08:56 PM)
anybody know to to transfer screenshot from itouch to pc ? i got something to ask about icon but 1st i need to show some screenshot .. u guys hav any idea ?

p/s : i dun hv wifi connection btw .

Already took the screenshot? just connect ur iPod then the pics will be transferred to iPhoto xD For Mac users only. on Windows then no idea tongue.gif
+Quote Post
Playboy21
post Apr 23 2009, 09:08 PM

Il Principino

QUOTE(ikantongsan @ Apr 23 2009, 08:56 PM)
anybody know to to transfer screenshot from itouch to pc ? i got something to ask about icon but 1st i need to show some screenshot .. u guys hav any idea ?

p/s : i dun hv wifi connection btw .

Is your unit a jailbroken one or what? If it is, then you can just SSH it to your PC. If not, the yea, as chingwooi said, you've got to use iPhoto on your Mac. biggrin.gif
+Quote Post
chingwooi
post Apr 24 2009, 03:30 AM

~Doctor Wannabe~

QUOTE(ikantongsan @ Apr 23 2009, 10:23 PM)
lol im using pc, too bad sad.gif

any way to import it ?

Added on April 23, 2009, 10:24 pmok the problem is .. on the 1st page .. got two empty space .. i try push the 2nd page icon to the 1st page .. but failed .. anybody know how to do it ? it look sucks la hahha

Oh, you're using any silicone casing? coz silicone casing with hinder the movement of ur finger. you just hold the app icon to the side for few sec( may be it will take a while but hold it to the corner for few secs) I'm sure you can move it.
+Quote Post
EyraYus
post Apr 24 2009, 01:49 PM

eRepublic eJapan JUP Pary President

er guys..how to uninstall aps from the Touch?
+Quote Post
Cw_Huan89
post Apr 24 2009, 02:04 PM

QUOTE(EyraYus @ Apr 24 2009, 01:49 PM)

Just delete it by tap and hold the application about 2 secs.. All of the apps with a small 'X' will be shown up and tap it which you want to delete nod.gif

This post has been edited by Cw_Huan89: Apr 24 2009, 02:10 PM
+Quote Post
wjie20
post Apr 24 2009, 02:06 PM

6 Star-Dude

QUOTE(EyraYus @ Apr 24 2009, 01:49 PM)

the only way I know.
on your iPod touch, press and hold any applications...you will then find your applications icon to start vibrating with a small cross at the top...tap on that...
then on your iTunes select the app you want to delete, and right click, delete.
+Quote Post

17 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » 
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd November 2009 - 08:41 PM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)