Lowyat.NET Forums

LYN wins Intel-Lenovo-Tangs Blogathon challenge. Thank you everybody!
15 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > 
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> [Guide]  Mac Purchase Guide , Mac Products Ownership (Hardware)

JasonKid
post Nov 6 2009, 03:12 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #241

Group: Junior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

Tomorrow I will get a 13" Macbook White rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
Kinda bored with Windows, keep restart or hang when I doing my work, and been using MS-DOS until now, from Windows 1.0, 2.0, 3.1, Win95, Win98, Win98Se and later on.
Think back and feel like doesn't improve much for me.
When I install Windows 7 and see the taskbar, immediately I think about Apple Mac Dock Bar.
Think back very early of the year, Apple computer is the first to use GUI interface OS, only until Microsoft launch the Windows 1.0.

Before I decided to buy Macbook, I curious what a Macbook can do, any advantage and special from other normal PC.
When the sales person show me, feel very impressive.
With the 2GB RAM, can run those video editing very smooth, smoother than my PC with 8GB RAM with graphic card.
Also, he show me launch all the program in a same time (around 1x programs) without any lagging, even with 8GB RAM on PC also cant do that.
And the new MultiTouch Pad is fun laugh.gif laugh.gif
Somemore MAC OS X won't get affect by virus.

In my opinion, I feel that the entry level 13" Macbook White is just more than enough for normal user.
For me, Macbook Pro that above than 15" is kinda expensive.
15" Macbook Pro RM6399, 27" iMac RM5999, 27" iMac QuadCore RM6999, with iMac can get a resolution Full HD resolution, even with 27" above will get 2560 x 1440 resolution.
Maybe other people will think that can't compare like this because one is laptop another one is desktop, but it just my opinion, don't blame on me sweat.gif sweat.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
daydreaming
post Nov 6 2009, 08:43 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #242

QUOTE(JasonKid @ Nov 6 2009, 03:12 AM)

u must consider the cost of AppleCare also. it's a lot more expensive for 15-17 inch MBP and the new IMAC, as compared to macbook white n mbp 13.

also, Mac OS X DOESSSSSS get viruses, but the possibility is lower because there's not much value. those virus guys prefer to spend 100% of their time creating issues for Windows (and that includes win7 which is not much better than its predecessor in terms of security).
+Quote Post
esin109
post Nov 6 2009, 11:55 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #243

Group: New Member

Hello all the mac user there biggrin.gif

icon_question.gif
I had been using pc for many years.. and pc make me mad.gif sometimes...
so decide to try on mac

and i was confusing which laptop should i choose, macbook white or macbook pro
because they have the same spec...

at first i choose macb white
because i dont really need firewire cable or sd card slot,
and macbook white even offer 260 hard drive
but i read a review said that macbook white is vulnerable
so i start to confuse should i get a macb pro...

This post has been edited by esin109: Nov 6 2009, 12:20 PM
+Quote Post
daydreaming
post Nov 6 2009, 02:30 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #244

QUOTE(esin109 @ Nov 6 2009, 11:55 AM)

icon_question.gif
so decide to try on mac

from what i know, the material used to build is different. macbook pro feels more solid and more classy. also, it is easier to take it off in case u wanna upgrade urself in the future. that's as far as i know la. smile.gif
+Quote Post
Jing-leBelle
post Nov 6 2009, 05:10 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #245

Planning to get a Macbook White also.
But i'm currently under college holiday in hometown now. Don't have any apple reseller store here..sigh..
Think of going KL next week to get..phew..

But i've a question, is that possible to transfer some documents or movie from a PC to Mac using USB? sorry i'm kinda noob about this. hehe..
and also, does rmvb and avi can be play in mac? what player? biggrin.gif
+Quote Post
Grajindo
post Nov 6 2009, 05:15 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #246

Group: Senior Member

QUOTE(Jing-leBelle @ Nov 6 2009, 05:10 PM)
But i'm currently under college holiday in hometown now. Don't have any apple reseller store here..sigh..

But i've a question, is that possible to transfer some documents or movie from a PC to Mac using USB? sorry i'm kinda noob about this. hehe..

I've did some research. So far the cheapest price i can find for the new mbw is 3399 by Apple store. Since you're still studying, so there's educational price. smile.gif
+Quote Post
esin109
post Nov 6 2009, 06:10 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #247

QUOTE(Grajindo @ Nov 6 2009, 05:15 PM)
I've did some research. So far the cheapest price i can find for the new mbw is 3399 by Apple store. Since you're still studying, so there's educational price.  smile.gif

i called the apple store this morning.. they said only can get edu price from online buying sad.gif online buying don't have freebies, i think we really need the (freebies) macbook case and keyboard protector sad.gif because macbook white review show how vulnerable the plastic is sad.gif

then got a store name sapura at MMU which can get student price there, they selling apple care at rm749, if you buy apple care only can get freebies, no apple care, no freebies. (apple care + macbook in one receipt= get freebies). BUT THEY DONT HAVE THE STOCK YET!!!!and do not know when only the stock arrive. student buy from there really worth leh biggrin.gif so i'm waiting ...waiting..

or anybody know where can i get macbook white 3399 + apple care 749 with freebies ?
+Quote Post
wcs2798
post Nov 6 2009, 06:38 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #248

QUOTE(daydreaming @ Nov 6 2009, 02:30 PM)
from what i know, the material used to build is different. macbook pro feels more solid and more classy. also, it is easier to take it off in case u wanna upgrade urself in the future. that's as far as i know la. smile.gif

macbook white is easy as well to upgrade ram and hdd
+Quote Post
daydreaming
post Nov 6 2009, 06:49 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #249

QUOTE(wcs2798 @ Nov 6 2009, 06:38 PM)
macbook white is easy as well to upgrade ram and hdd

ooo then the only difference is the build quality?

anyway, for students, best to buy education price and ignore the freebies. with the amount of money saved, u can go for better sleeve/case and keyboard protector. the freebies r practically useless (at least for me)
+Quote Post
esin109
post Nov 6 2009, 07:01 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #250

QUOTE(daydreaming @ Nov 6 2009, 06:49 PM)

anyway, for students, best to buy education price and ignore the freebies. with the amount of money saved, u can go for better sleeve/case and keyboard protector. the freebies r practically useless (at least for me)

Except from online buying, do you know anyplace that i can buy macbook with education price?
+Quote Post
JasonKid
post Nov 6 2009, 07:55 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #251

QUOTE(daydreaming @ Nov 6 2009, 08:43 AM)
u must consider the cost of AppleCare also. it's a lot more expensive for 15-17 inch MBP and the new IMAC, as compared to macbook white n mbp 13.

also, Mac OS X DOESSSSSS get viruses, but the possibility is lower because there's not much value. those virus guys prefer to spend 100% of their time creating issues for Windows (and that includes win7 which is not much better than its predecessor in terms of security).

I didn't apply the AppleCare warranty, as I think is don't need for me, because I'm very take care my digital gadget tongue.gif
If any accident, then the different story la ~ touch wood !!! blink.gif blink.gif
Maybe you are right the Mac OS x does get viruses, as today the sales assist told me that also, but the chance is very less.

Added on November 6, 2009, 8:02 pm
QUOTE(esin109 @ Nov 6 2009, 11:55 AM)

icon_question.gif
so decide to try on mac

Err, depend on how you use your Mac..
The price different between MacBook White and MacBook Pro, is RM900! Not a small amount.
The spec is almost same, performance wise, just Pro is upgradable to 2 x 4GB RAM, but that cost a boom, because I haven't see any aftermarket is selling 4GB SODIMM DD3 yet, other than Apple that cost you RM1700++ for 8GB o.o
But future, Im not sure about the price, might will drop price like DDR2 era.

Added on November 6, 2009, 8:06 pm
QUOTE(Jing-leBelle @ Nov 6 2009, 05:10 PM)

I never try transfer files from PC to Mac by using USB, but I read about that before, it might possible.
Or you can try transfer files by using network sharing.
Sadly, I haven't figure out how to setup, my PC can get search for Mac, but my Mac cannot get search my PC mad.gif mad.gif

RMVB and AVI can be play in Mac, software is VLC player.
I can say play movie in Mac is just very nice, the output is very colorful and sharp, totally different experience from PC.
Entry level Macbook White is more than enough for normal user.

Added on November 6, 2009, 8:14 pm
QUOTE(daydreaming @ Nov 6 2009, 06:49 PM)

Is very easy to upgrade the Macbook White, just 8 screw at behind, after that you can see your RAM and HDD.

Agree with you, the best is to buy with education price. Today just went Machine at Lot10, also at MacStudio at Plaza Lowyat, they said that there is no aftermarket accessories for new Macbook White yet. So can imagine the accessories is practically useless for new Macbook White.

Unless they say free you a wireless keyboard or new MagicMouse la, haha!!

This post has been edited by JasonKid: Nov 6 2009, 08:14 PM
+Quote Post
Jing-leBelle
post Nov 7 2009, 04:33 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #252

Oh, there's another question.
So basically, if i purchase from apple store and there's any problem on mac, who should i claim for?
Machines and other reseller? or any other store will bother it although i'm not purchase from them?

This post has been edited by Jing-leBelle: Nov 7 2009, 04:34 AM
+Quote Post
wcs2798
post Nov 7 2009, 09:51 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #253

QUOTE(Jing-leBelle @ Nov 7 2009, 04:33 AM)
Oh, there's another question.
So basically, if i purchase from apple store and there's any problem on mac, who should i claim for?
Machines and other reseller? or any other store will bother it although i'm not purchase from them?

is better for u to drop by to place that listed below

List of Apple Authorised Service Provider (AASP)
+Quote Post
J_D
post Nov 10 2009, 05:18 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #254

Hi all,

Is it worth waiting for the usual PC fair to get the freebies?

Want to get a macbook pro but I am not sure whether the Nov promos would be top by the PC fair deals.
+Quote Post
Lurker
post Nov 10 2009, 06:33 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #255

Snap Napper
Photography

Group: Elite

i was told by a few friends that there is a Kastam lelong macbook's being done. Selling at half price.

The only thing stopping me is the usual ' full payment 1st collect later'
Friday collect
+Quote Post
itanium
post Nov 11 2009, 12:44 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #256

Nice article for people who intend to get a mac. Bias or not i leave you to decide as the reviewer is quite well known in the X86 platform circle as being honest and frank.

http://www.anandtech.com/mac/showdoc.aspx?i=3672&p=1
+Quote Post
xjukie
post Nov 11 2009, 06:37 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #257

Blogger photographer

user posted image user posted image

All of sudden im thinking to cut the cost buying new MB white instead of Macbook Pro since RM3399 and RM4099 (student price) can save some amount.
Looking thru the specs;
-both processor C2D 2.26GHz (my aim only for 2.26Ghz)
-both NVIDIA GeForce 9400M graphics,
-both can run DDR3 Ram BUT Macbook white up to 4GB while MBPRo up to 8GB,
-MBPro got SD card slot, MB White no .. no effect to me.
-what else i forgot?
-i know in terms of alu design and the 'PRO' look MBP will win of course and got much more style and trendy look.

If not because of the price, why should i get MBP instead of NEW MB White?
I got an iMac btway for Photoshop purpose.
I know its all depends to me, but what is the function of the forum if i cant ask here for some opinion? right?

This post has been edited by xjukie: Nov 11 2009, 06:57 PM
+Quote Post
wei
post Nov 11 2009, 06:53 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #258

~@@~ siao mac user

Keep the saving and buy AppleCare together with the MacBook. I always encourage buyer to get ACPP together when they buy their Macs. Include that into your budget instead of going all the way max for the spec and etc.

4GB module is still expensive. By the time the prices fall to acceptable level, you might most likely on the way to get a newer Mac.
+Quote Post
itanium
post Nov 11 2009, 07:34 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #259

MBP has FW, Macbook dont. Budgetting ACPP with your purchase is the BEST advice. 4GB is plenty enuff for either one. If you need anything more then the 13" would be a wrong choice for you - you should be looking at the 15 instead.
Dont worry about the lack of ALU on the macbook, its unibody construction and solid build is still light years ahead in rigidity compared to those x86 ones on the market. You certainly wont hear this one creaking left and right.

This post has been edited by itanium: Nov 11 2009, 07:39 PM
+Quote Post
chypher
post Nov 11 2009, 07:38 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #260

To be honest. I was in the same situation as you and I have chose the white macbook and upgrade it to 4GB of ram.

I have never looked at aluminium since then, it is cheaper and I am still using Mac. Afterall, it is still a machine tht I use to get my work done.
+Quote Post

15 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 >
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd November 2009 - 04:36 PM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)