Lowyat.NET Forums

LYN wins Intel-Lenovo-Tangs Blogathon challenge. Thank you everybody!
13 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > »  
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Updated 25/10! P1 Wimax guideline / Troubleshoot, New tips to improve your P1 (Helpdesk Episodes)

p4n6
post May 6 2009, 12:19 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #141

p4n6

Group: Senior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

QUOTE(owc @ May 4 2009, 03:36 PM)
The internet connection not stable with high latency will cause your game client dc, game client  must every second sync with game server, if it doesn't it's will disconnected. Some will feel very lag and can't control such moving, fighting and so on.

I used to play online games too, I know game server could be congested too sometimes. Something to ponder.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ken.lee1
post May 9 2009, 12:22 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #142

Group: New Member

QUOTE(smallvill3 @ Apr 27 2009, 11:44 PM)
I don't know what exactly use for port forwarding on BT because i can get 150kps download speed without port forward.

which torrent software you use ? and which window you use (vista?) ?
+Quote Post
tisumuka
post May 10 2009, 07:56 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #143

Group: Junior Member

anybody have problem with signal?yesterday i got this problem. 1 day signal blinking is red.really2 bad.
+Quote Post
Shopboy
post May 14 2009, 10:54 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #144

Hi guys, I'm a new user to P1, this is my second days using it and it was horrible, then I discovered this thread and hope someone can help me before I cancel my subscription.

My question
1) whats port forwarding? why we need to do that?
2) what is port number? why is it important and how to obtain the number?
3) DMZ is firewall? I'm using zone alarm, so if I disable it my zone alarm will still protect my PC right?

Anyone know the answer please reply and you'll have my gratitude, I'm very frustrated with the connection now.
+Quote Post
lin00b
post May 14 2009, 01:29 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #145

correct me if i am wrong

1. portforwarding is used so that outside computers can access your computer. most common use is for p2p and hosting games. does not affect net speed
2. port number is the port used in portforwarding. decided by whatever software you need to forward. eg. warcraft 3 you'll need to forward 6112/6113 if you want to host games
3. dmz is part of the network that is not protected by firewall. generally you dont put any computer there.

conclusion, if you are having slow browsing speed, none of these options will matter. if you are having good browsing speed but bad p2p speed, you need to do some portfowarding.
+Quote Post
Shopboy
post May 15 2009, 12:17 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #146

sweat.gif
QUOTE(lin00b @ May 14 2009, 01:29 PM)
correct me if i am wrong

1. portforwarding is used so that outside computers can access your computer. most common use is for p2p and hosting games. does not affect net speed
2. port number is the port used in portforwarding. decided by whatever software you need to forward. eg. warcraft 3 you'll need to forward 6112/6113 if you want to host games
3. dmz is part of the network that is not protected by firewall. generally you dont put any computer there.

conclusion, if you are having slow browsing speed, none of these options will matter. if you are having good browsing speed but bad p2p speed, you need to do some portfowarding.

Thanks for the promptly reply thumbup.gif thumbup.gif , guess there is nothing I can do about the terrible connection will proceed to cancel end of this week then sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
+Quote Post
ec_goh
post May 15 2009, 03:42 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #147

Hi guys, I have a problem with the WiMAX + Router.

Previously, I'm able to share the internet to multiple computers.

--> CPE Access Control
Tick > Allow Web to access Wan.

For the new firmware upgrade, I'm not able to tweak that function anymore.

Is there any other way to so that I can tweak this ?

Thank you.
+Quote Post
tartputat
post May 16 2009, 08:35 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #148

i manage to do the port forwarding...
getting better speed for my bittorent..
tq so much for the guide from everybody...
+Quote Post
starapril85
post May 16 2009, 06:13 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #149

Hihi.. guy,
I using p1 and i able to set my BT to green light.. (pi wimax sign green)
But my download speed "siao siao de"..
sometime fast, some time slow... mostly of the time just below 15kb/s..
any idea what happen here?
thank you
+Quote Post
Andrew Lim
post May 16 2009, 11:11 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #150

My port forwarding settings don't seem to be working anymore.
Anybody else experiencing this? hmm.gif
+Quote Post
tartputat
post May 21 2009, 01:59 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #151

QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ May 16 2009, 11:11 PM)
My port forwarding settings don't seem to be working anymore.
Anybody else experiencing this?  hmm.gif

yesterday i also face the same thing..
but i try to do the same step of port forwarding again..
and the result is good..
i still got green light of my bittorent..
maybe u can try again...
just my feedback.. tongue.gif
+Quote Post
patrickl33
post May 21 2009, 08:32 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #152

i try to do port forwarding to tcp 25 80 110 443 but when i try PFPortChecker . 80 is not open. Any idea why? the rest of the ports are fine though
+Quote Post
LEVIATHAN
post May 21 2009, 09:02 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #153

Leave the gun. Take the cannoli.

Double check the proto on PFPortChecker and the port forwarding setting page. Check UDP on UDP.
User is online!Profile CardPM
+Quote Post
patrickl33
post May 21 2009, 09:12 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #154

QUOTE(LEVIATHAN @ May 21 2009, 09:02 PM)
Double check the proto on PFPortChecker and the port forwarding setting page. Check UDP on UDP.

yeah i already check it

Added on May 22, 2009, 10:23 amanyone can help? sad.gif

This post has been edited by patrickl33: May 22 2009, 10:23 AM
+Quote Post
samfa
post May 23 2009, 03:59 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #155

Hello, can anyone of you kindly teach me how to port forward for the p2p download step by step? I never do it before and I'm really frustrated of my slow download speed for BT. Thank you very much!!!
+Quote Post
smallvill3
post May 25 2009, 04:15 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #156

QUOTE(ken.lee1 @ May 9 2009, 12:22 PM)
which torrent software you use ? and which window you use (vista?) ?

utorrent (all default setting) and xp.
Well, p2p speed depends on seed and peer i think smile.gif
+Quote Post
steveyan
post May 27 2009, 11:59 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #157

I been using P1 for couple of month already, and all this while been playing all different online game and no problem for it. Last 2 day when i wanna play Nostale Global Online where i have no problem playing it for 1 month, but it just cannot get the game patch.

So is this might be my P1 setting? (I never set anything to the Modem before)

Hope someone can point me to the light.

Thanks in advance biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by steveyan: May 27 2009, 04:00 PM
+Quote Post
bluebirdck2
post May 29 2009, 09:56 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #158

What is the Outgoing mail (SMTP) for wimax? i set at smtp.wimax.com but it cant work.
+Quote Post
lj0000
post Jun 1 2009, 09:32 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #159

what happend to my speed???

Added on June 1, 2009, 10:30 amfixed my problem.... found out its not p1 fault... my router kong liao.

smtp. i dont think p1 got smtp service. pls use a gmail or hotmail account.

This post has been edited by lj0000: Jun 1 2009, 10:30 AM
+Quote Post
winrainbow
post Jun 2 2009, 04:16 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #160

i've signed-up P1 Wimax for the third day and get really screwed up with the download speed.

the purpose of signing up P1 and terminating Maxis BB was mainly on the downloading purpose....

however, my thunder and bit comet can hardly move in P1. The 1st 3 minutes when i boot my comp, the downloading speed can boost up till 100k and after 3 mins, the downloading will completely stop or move 1-3k.

i'm using dv-230 modem at the moment, which is the lastest modem from P1. May i know how to do port forwarding for this version of modem which is a bit different from the 1st thread here.....

advance thx for everyone who are willing to help~~~
+Quote Post

13 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » 
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd November 2009 - 03:50 PM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)