Lowyat.NET Forums

LYN wins Intel-Lenovo-Tangs Blogathon challenge. Thank you everybody!
29 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > »  
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Steam Promotion Topic, Weekly and Daily Deals !

kianweic
post May 5 2009, 05:54 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #61

No pain, no gain!

Group: Senior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

I just got a question with regards to Steam.

If you buy the game online, would you be required to download the entire game from Steam?

Given that most games are either 1 DVD or more, will that take quite sometime? (especially with Streamyx)

Cheers

This post has been edited by kianweic: May 5 2009, 05:54 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
visionary1993
post May 5 2009, 05:57 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #62

Group: Junior Member

QUOTE(kianweic @ May 5 2009, 05:54 PM)

If you buy the game online, would you be required to download the entire game from Steam?

Given that most games are either 1 DVD or more, will that take quite sometime? (especially with Streamyx)

Cheers

You will be required to download the entire game plus updates from Steam.

Took me around 12 hours to download Team Fortress. Depends on what type of day,day or night icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by visionary1993: May 5 2009, 05:57 PM
+Quote Post
Skylinestar
post May 5 2009, 10:44 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #63

Mega Duck

QUOTE(kianweic @ May 5 2009, 05:54 PM)

Cheers

i'm also a newbie on steam.
must use credit card to buy, am i right?
after buying the game, i have to download the game. does it support download resuming? hash check?
after download, will i get the installation file? can i burn and install in the game in other pc?
how many times can i install the game? what if i exceed the limit? (such as reformat pc)
+Quote Post
Cheesenium
post May 5 2009, 10:51 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #64

Pro Imperator nos addo nex

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ May 5 2009, 10:44 PM)
i'm also a newbie on steam.
must use credit card to buy, am i right?
after buying the game, i have to download the game. does it support download resuming? hash check?
after download, will i get the installation file? can i burn and install in the game in other pc?
how many times can i install the game? what if i exceed the limit? (such as reformat pc)

Yes,you need a credit card,debit card or paypal to buy on steam

Steam supports download resume.I still have my HL2 Ep2 on pause now.

After the download,you dont have to do anything,just play.Thats all.

You can backup the game,but not sure how Steam backup a game.

There is no installation limit.In fact,it doesnt exist in the first place.
+Quote Post
Skylinestar
post May 5 2009, 11:03 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #65

Mega Duck

let's say i have downloaded a game in my desktop. if i want to play that game in my laptop, do i have to download all over again? (which is a pain) ...or can copy and paste?
+Quote Post
Zephro
post May 5 2009, 11:17 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #66

Use the backup function to transfer.
+Quote Post
Cheesenium
post May 5 2009, 11:30 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #67

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ May 5 2009, 11:03 PM)
let's say i have downloaded a game in my desktop. if i want to play that game in my laptop, do i have to download all over again? (which is a pain) ...or can copy and paste?

I dont think you can choose where you want to download your game.

There is a backup function.
+Quote Post
crapp0
post May 6 2009, 09:35 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #68

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ May 5 2009, 11:03 PM)

Like what zephro mentioned, you can use the backup function to backup a copy of the game. What you have to do next is to install steam and log on to whatever computer you going to transfer your backup game. The knowledge base forum mentioned that the backup game is burned onto a CD, dont know if you can put it on an external drive for faster recovery but it should be fine.

Thats why when i buy steam games, i never download it from malaysia but goto other countries like singapore coz of faster speed. In sg, i can download from steam at speeds of around 800kb/s which is pretty darn fast.
+Quote Post
NicJolin
post May 6 2009, 09:13 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #69

EDITED, posted at wrong topic
lolz

This post has been edited by NicJolin: May 7 2009, 01:57 AM
+Quote Post
Zephro
post May 7 2009, 09:16 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #70

Not a weekend deal, but Defense Grid is $5 until the 13th of May.
It's a pretty solid tower defense game.
+Quote Post
viledante
post May 8 2009, 11:56 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #71

is there someone offer a service to buy from steam? I dun have credit card sweat.gif
+Quote Post
badaboom666
post May 9 2009, 02:54 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #72

User is online!Profile CardPM
+Quote Post
NicJolin
post May 9 2009, 10:33 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #73

4.99 not 5.99
+Quote Post
Cheesenium
post May 10 2009, 11:39 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #74

No other games on sale?
+Quote Post
visionary1993
post May 11 2009, 06:14 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #75

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ May 10 2009, 11:39 AM)
No other games on sale?

Relax . Should be something in the coming weeks. Just need to snatch in time tongue.gif flex.gif
+Quote Post
viledante
post May 11 2009, 06:18 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #76

QUOTE(viledante @ May 8 2009, 11:56 PM)
is there someone offer a service to buy from steam? I dun have credit card sweat.gif

no one reply my question sad.gif
+Quote Post
Cheesenium
post May 11 2009, 07:18 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #77

QUOTE(visionary1993 @ May 11 2009, 06:14 PM)
Relax . Should be something in the coming weeks. Just need to snatch in time tongue.gif  flex.gif

I just want more cheap games.

Cheap World of Goo please... tongue.gif
+Quote Post
TomatomanzSeedlezz
post May 11 2009, 07:28 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #78

Killer Tomatoz!..

QUOTE(viledante @ May 8 2009, 11:56 PM)

Other than creditcard u can make other methods of payments :-

Or easier just ask yer parents to get it for u.. lol.. tongue.gif

Cheers smile.gif

This post has been edited by TomatomanzSeedlezz: May 11 2009, 07:36 PM
+Quote Post
viledante
post May 11 2009, 08:22 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #79

I was hoping for someone who can do the gift system sweat.gif
thanks anyway smile.gif
+Quote Post
NicJolin
post May 11 2009, 08:45 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #80

Get a debit card, CIMB or PBB
Anyone can apply Debit card smile.gif
It even works on PayPal

This post has been edited by NicJolin: May 11 2009, 08:45 PM
+Quote Post

29 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » 
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd November 2009 - 01:01 AM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)