Lowyat.NET Forums

LYN wins Intel-Lenovo-Tangs Blogathon challenge. Thank you everybody!
3 Pages < 1 2 3 > 
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Norton AntiVirus Gaming Edition 2009

jamok-symc
post Feb 23 2009, 10:57 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #21

Group: Junior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

Hello AeonStrife,
Yes, confirm NAV Gamer is available in Low Yat. As of last week, ALL IT have it in their outlet on the 3rd floor.

Cheers !

Regards,
Jason Mok
Symantec
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Radeon
post Feb 23 2009, 08:58 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #22

Semi-Retired Overclocker

Group: Senior Member

what does "gaming edition" do anyway
+Quote Post
smallvill3
post Feb 25 2009, 06:50 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #23

QUOTE(Radeon @ Feb 23 2009, 08:58 PM)
what does "gaming edition" do anyway

No distraction when you are in game or full screen mode.
+Quote Post
Kheez
post Feb 28 2009, 08:14 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #24

u t a d a h i k a r u

Group: Elite

As I know, there's a gaming mode, which when you turn it on, it stops certain activities, freeing resources for gaming.

Correct me if I'm wrong.
+Quote Post
xixo_12
post Feb 28 2009, 08:28 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #25

Chip 'GRiD' Dale

Turn off Advanced Protection

Turn off Intrusion Prevention

Turn off Automatic LiveUpdate

above is three option that will off when gaming, while antivirus still can active.. and it give no distraction at all
+Quote Post
eXPeri3nc3
post Mar 1 2009, 12:59 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #26

Watashiwa Watashini Nareta

You can choose to disable AV too under options.
+Quote Post
xixo_12
post Mar 1 2009, 07:15 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #27

Chip 'GRiD' Dale

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Mar 1 2009, 12:59 PM)
You can choose to disable AV too under options.

ya ya.. it's true bro, AV oso can disable.. it's up to user thumbup.gif

but the fact is, superlight @ my 1ghz system and always update laugh.gif
+Quote Post
XiuKeong
post Mar 6 2009, 03:41 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #28

[OMG] Sweetie™

How good is this compared to Kaspersky?
Might getting 1 for my desktop.
+Quote Post
LaiN87
post Mar 6 2009, 03:52 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #29

Nom nom nom...

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Mar 6 2009, 03:41 AM)
How good is this compared to Kaspersky?
Might getting 1 for my desktop.

I think better get the Norton Internet Security better than the AV Gaming Edition. It's about the same except for the Gaming Mode but ISecurity provides firewall as well. It's very light. From the processes in Task Manager it's about 6mb of RAM usage for both AV and firewall. Not sure about the total usage but I'm pretty sure it should be less than 15mb.

Kaspersky is as always reliable but it eats more RAM. Ah~ Who cares about RAM usage nowofdays when everyone gets 4gb of RAM =P
+Quote Post
xixo_12
post Mar 7 2009, 01:02 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #30

Chip 'GRiD' Dale

kaspersky more heavy than NIS or gaming edition.. i'm happy with that after KIS/KAV.. now i anti those product, u must say yes to try on NIS/gaming edition...
+Quote Post
KingofOhm
post Mar 9 2009, 03:53 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #31

Hi. I also want da Norton Gaming Edition. Anyone know who can I contact if I want it to be posted ? laugh.gif

This post has been edited by KingofOhm: Mar 9 2009, 04:07 PM
+Quote Post
dveHetal3
post Mar 10 2009, 12:25 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #32

QUOTE(smallvill3 @ Feb 25 2009, 06:50 PM)
No distraction when you are in game or full screen mode.

But there are many other antivirus out there oso have this feature, so basically what makes this version so different from other anti-virus?
+Quote Post
M1X
post Mar 11 2009, 01:57 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #33

豆花妹很可爱!

How about this?

AMD Sempron 1.6GHz, 1.5Gb DDR400, SATA-I
XP start-up time (until into desktop!) : 37 sec
shutdown time : 17 sec

Intel Core Duo 2GHz, 756Mb DDR400, IDE
XP startup time (until into desktop) : 30 sec
shutdown time : 10 sec

The AMD one is mine, while Intel one is my friend's. We all use old PC anyway. Fast heh? That's means NAV09 do not interupt much the booting time anymore. But, it actually STILL RUNNING during boot!!!

Why? You can try plug a thumbdrive with virus to your PC, start your PC. And Norton don't let you go in Windows (stop at the load screen) because it detected some threat. Either you remove the thumbdrive or restart PC (it will somehow heal it even during boot... whaaaa...)

My friend using IDE already top a speed of 30sec startup (previously over 2 minutes with other AV)... If he use SATA... Woot... My last record on NAV06 I think was already 1 minute startup...

Well, what the sense of fast startup and shutdown? Well, no one love to streer at the loading screen for over 2 or 3 minutes...

Other example, there is an old laptop running Celeron with 512Mb RAM. With other AV installed, startup even takes over 5 minutes.... WTF? I glue my eyes to my watch showing the crazy time, and my friend says "no need count liao, you'll vomit one...". After install NAV09, startup time go about 1.30minute. Tremendously faster.

Most of my friends turned to NAV09 also =)

For scanning speed... Don't really measure it specificlly cuz different PC different speed. I remember last time I scan my Kingston 4Gb drive (full), takes 15 or 17 minutes to complete, while my 1Gb drive about 3 minutes. I later export the scan report to read, just curious. And it not just remove viruses, but also doing a great job fixing those registry that damaged by viruses.

All these, without a single warning messages and those anoying beep beeep beep...

This post has been edited by M1X: Mar 11 2009, 02:12 PM
+Quote Post
TechnoDude94
post Mar 16 2009, 04:07 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #34

I'm A Lead Farmer, Motha Fucka!

My computer has got NIS '09 preinstalled and I've got "Silent Mode", I wonder, what's it for.
+Quote Post
WiiPS3_74
post Mar 23 2009, 09:01 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #35

Haven't used Symantec AV in years,but the rave reviews for its gaming edition 2009 look cool,is there like a trial download on the Net?
+Quote Post
xixo_12
post Mar 23 2009, 09:03 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #36

Chip 'GRiD' Dale

15days trial if not mistaken.. another one i dunno
+Quote Post
Ryeeson
post Mar 24 2009, 03:39 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #37

Head Hunter

QUOTE(Kheez @ Feb 7 2009, 12:24 AM)
Hello and good day to everyone.
Any idea where I can get it from a retail shop?
Would like to get my hands on these.
Thank you biggrin.gif

i think i saw it in All IT LYP last sunday.
+Quote Post
*-a|i3n-*
post Mar 24 2009, 04:28 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #38

Bit defender also having the same function...right click and click on Game mode and it turn off.
+Quote Post
TechnoDude94
post Mar 25 2009, 12:24 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #39

I'm A Lead Farmer, Motha Fucka!

QUOTE(WiiPS3_74 @ Mar 23 2009, 09:01 AM)
Haven't used Symantec AV in years,but the rave reviews for its gaming edition 2009 look cool,is there like a trial download on the Net?

Search for it using Google. Btw, it's a 15-day trial. brows.gif
+Quote Post
goldfries
post Mar 27 2009, 04:49 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #40

not so clever but got 26k++ post!!!

Group: Forum Admin

QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ Mar 16 2009, 04:07 PM)
My computer has got NIS '09 preinstalled and I've got "Silent Mode", I wonder, what's it for.

Silent Mode suppresses stuff like alerts and notifications, suspending background activities as well.

With Silent Mode enabled, it takes appropriate action to protect your computer still - just no notification.

You can have Silent Mode activated manually OR by enabling the full-screen detection (eg games) and the summary of the Silent Mode session can be viewed in the Security History part of the software.

Well yeah, something like that.
+Quote Post

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th November 2009 - 04:02 AM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)