> Lets talk about designer's salary

askm3
post Jul 24 2009, 11:08 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #81

Group: Junior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

if any of u guys has 10yrs+ designing experience..

still you're not a art director or owning a designing firm/agency..

its quite tough for u guys... "serious tau"..

kthxbai~ <don bombard me - just my 2cents>
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
[+]
post Jul 24 2009, 11:42 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #82

Group: Senior Member

^y?
+Quote Post
dazzywazzy
post Jul 24 2009, 12:39 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #83

cuz u work 10 years de still never go up the ladder.. then it will be very hard to go up the ladder cuz there r many younger guys out there doing better than u and most likely to be taking ur jobs
+Quote Post
3dassets
post Jul 24 2009, 01:06 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #84

QUOTE(B-Mecha @ Jul 23 2009, 01:00 PM)
worked in 3 agencies before (currently the 3rd company), I don't really give hope for "expect a better pay / better treatment / better life" for advertising line. maybe become a in house designer or study something else like internet marketing (where my experience and skills will give great help) and work as something else instead. tongue.gif Currently i'm exploring blogs and social media.

I was on this path but gave up all design related field of work, naturally, we tends to pick the nearest thing to our interest or current experience and I have done all that I could. Those who have succeeded would not come here to tell neither the failures, so I am not progressing with this industry but convert it to tap another kind of market that can utilize digital presentation such product presentation, individualized sales profile / portfolio, wedding video, valentine e-card and interactive product description particularly medical & beauty products that require graphic animation.

Either you invent new products or you explore and exploit existing one, you will ended up facing the same problem in any industry if someone can do better or it become too common. The younger artists always thought being the art director or own an advertising company is where the ultimate achievement is and a way to measure one's ability, wait and see how you fair after 10 years.

Do you see someone like you or share the same intuition here? If you do, you are ordinary and won't be here after 10 years but if you have something else (idea, skill and knowledge) then you have the chance to excel like no others. Luck and chances can be manipulated to suite your idea, practice strategic living is important so that fate is in your hands otherwise it is in the one who pay your salary where ever or which ever the industry.

I'd be silly and stupid if I am still compete with you guys, being 40 year old has its advantage none of you can match. You hear people say "think out side the box", if you haven't been out side, do you think you know how its like from the out side? Both success and failure is not long term or belong to the deserving, no one is a born achiever or a looser. I found myself saying this phrase often; remember what I said, I told you so.
+Quote Post
masha2003
post Nov 3 2009, 12:22 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #85

job Title: Industrial/automotive designer

skills: Catia V5,photoshop, Autocad, solid works, alias, rhino and illustrator

certificate: college cap ayam

Salary: Rm 3000.00 pun tak cukup bini dua maa smile.gif

klu keja buat keta ni (bodykit) bila project in hand tidor pun mimpi spoiler terbang (klu dah dekat death line) any way automotive really high presure

exp : 5 years

Project involeve : GM, P2, Proton, Ford , Mazda, Cangan ahh banyak lagi la tahun nak resign penat dah

This post has been edited by masha2003: Nov 3 2009, 12:23 PM
+Quote Post
chipmunkey1992
post Nov 3 2009, 11:33 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #86

I always wanted to be a graphic designer, im in form5 this year, im quite creative for my age been doing some graphic design here and there.
but parents dont agree with me for taking it in college, due to low salary for being a graphic designer and all. i love photography, i love art, i love designing:D
and graphic designer's or anything art will always be a suppporting roll in big companies, dont earn much unless ur the Dai go(big brother) right?
+Quote Post
barra
post Nov 4 2009, 12:34 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #87

Hi Guys,

I must say this topic is a bit of an eye opener. It's a good reflection though. I'm not a designer but I can always tell which one work with the heart and mind while the other work with envy and jealousy.

This post has been edited by barra: Nov 4 2009, 12:35 AM
+Quote Post
avislee
post Nov 4 2009, 12:59 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #88

This is from my friend / fresh grad.
Job Title: interior design ( currently working in sg)
Salary: 1600 SGD
Experience: fresh grad without any experinces

Another 1 is my galfriend
Job Title:interior designer( m'sia)
Salary: RM 1300
Experience: fresh grad without experinces

from the above two people , our neighbour (sg ) really provided a better pay in designer.
+Quote Post
CandyQMT
post Nov 5 2009, 05:29 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #89

Job Title: Graphic Designer

Salary: Above RM1.6k below RM2k

Experience: Fresh grad and this is my 5th month working in this company

Opinion for my job:
I love this job seriously. I learn a lot from my boss and senior. They willing to teach me anything that I want to learn.
Never felt regret that I choose to enter this company because at that time I got a higher offer from a online game company
as Web Designer ( salary RM1.8k a month and every 3 month got extra $$ as incentive ).
I was a Multimedia Design student actually but I'm more interested in designing on non moving graphic.
My job was great so far, I'm dealing with all the so call BIG COMPANY (for me la) and I learn a lot =)

P/S: How much that I earn now actually is not really enough to pay my car loan and bare all my own expenses >.< lucky there is till my BF there helping a little in term of financial smile.gif

This post has been edited by CandyQMT: Nov 5 2009, 05:31 PM
+Quote Post
Yoshikuno CF
post Nov 5 2009, 10:04 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #90

haha i am a fashion design student and now undergraduate, last time i keep worrying if i cant find a job in the industry, so i learn graphic design thing by myself, so i can do some freelance or easier to get a job after graduate, but still not enough for me then my frenz introduce me a part-time business, quite interesting coz i can learn a lot from it, although it is far away from wad im studying now but at least it can earn a lot money. So I started to do this business last month(october), and earned almost rm5k, and next month i want to earn more than dat and keep all the money for my future use! i think my dream isnt far from me anymore dat i wan to build up my company, a fashion brand and employ ppl to work for me xD
+Quote Post
R4Y
post Nov 6 2009, 05:50 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #91

Job Title: Graphic Designer
Salary: RM 2500 +
Experience: 2 years +
Knowledge: Illustrator, Photoshop, Director, Ligtwave 3D

Opinion on my job:

I cant differentiate myself between a 3D designer and a graphic designer, currently working in a event company, have to do 3D Floorplan, 3D Booth Structure, and 3D interior design using a self-learn software called Ligthwave. All started out when my boss wanted to take part on a job pitch which required 3D booth design, and i fell for the stupid word that came from his mouth, "YOU CAN DO IT, I BELIEVE U CAN" ever since that day..i'm a so-called hybrid Designer with half tank knowledge on 3D. Nowadays bosses expect we designer to know alot, all wan us to become octopus can multi-task and bla bla...but salary nvr increase n cheated my EPF. ****
+Quote Post
[+]
post Nov 6 2009, 06:51 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #92

QUOTE(R4Y @ Nov 6 2009, 05:50 PM)
but salary nvr increase n cheated my EPF. ****

report, jangan tak report
+Quote Post
babyrabies
post Nov 6 2009, 07:32 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #93

Job Title b4: Ex Art Director
Job Title now: The boss of my dreams + art collector
Salary b4: > RM 5500
Salary now: u wouldnt believe me if i tell ya anyway
Experience: 6 years +
Knowledge: all your standard apps + communication skills, excellent presenter

graphic design is dead. period! wake up ppl, its all bout strategy and marketing. U like art, u gotta devote your life into.. go be a fine artist or soemthing, u have a brighter prospect. mark my words young ppl

This post has been edited by babyrabies: Nov 6 2009, 07:37 PM
+Quote Post
Look&See
post Nov 6 2009, 08:04 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #94

when i started off as a fresh grad,it was rather bad,i even thought that maybe i was in the wrong field/line.but a piece of advice,in the creative field,the employers ive been working with only look into my folios,which of course it has to be strong to be noticed,also i'd say it pays off pretty well as i have been very active in most of the art forums,showcasing my folios/works and most of all, i have to say that when your works are recognized and acknowledged,possibilities are you will be head hunted and the price offered will be more lucrative:)interviews can be skip as well.

a side notes here,im not a graphic designer or working in design agency or firm so i dont know much about the market price/salary
im a cg game cinematic chief concept art and designer

Added on November 6, 2009, 8:06 pm
QUOTE(babyrabies @ Nov 6 2009, 07:32 PM)
Salary now: u wouldnt believe me if i tell ya anyway

i echoed entirely what you have just said above

This post has been edited by Look&See: Nov 6 2009, 08:06 PM
+Quote Post
meow_1978
post Nov 9 2009, 03:09 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #95

Job Title: Freelance Graphic & Web Designer
Salary: Depending on Workload. RM3000 - RM 10,000
Experience: 2 yrs
Opinion for my job:

If you are working for designer company, you will get fixed salary and get lots of port-folio. Beside that, you are also making the company that you are working richer!

As for me, I work for myself. I charge my client reasonable price. Sometimes I don't charge them for simple design. That will allow me to become their permanent freelance designer.

I do enjoy my job but sometimes is rather stress especially rush hour for design job. At the end of the day, is the money and satisfaction that I get seeing my client happy face.

By the way, I am self-taught via tutorial from website. I don't have any qualification but I have the great interest in design!

I hope you guys out there enjoy doing design as I do... After all, "Design is my Passion..."

+Quote Post
R4Y
post Nov 10 2009, 10:54 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #96

i nvr succeed in freelance, either they don't pay on time or the job suddenly stop or dint work out.. being a freelancer your networking has to be wide, and your sense of the market needs need to be high too.
+Quote Post
shoguniphicus
post Nov 10 2009, 11:59 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #97

*R4Y, being a freelancer, the most important thing is, to trust yourself.
+Quote Post
meow_1978
post Nov 11 2009, 12:05 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #98

QUOTE(shoguniphicus @ Nov 11 2009, 12:59 AM)
*R4Y, being a freelancer, the most important thing is, to trust yourself.

Yeah! I agree with you... Need to trust yourself....
+Quote Post
bluemonsters83
post Nov 11 2009, 10:02 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #99

Job Title: Senior Graphic Designer / Freelance G.Designer
Salary: Hiring are 'gaji mati' , but part-time are depending on workload. RM3000 - RM 30,000
Experience: 6 yrs
Opinion for my job:

If you are working for designer company, you will get fixed salary and do n do with a lot of work. And you never can SAID NO !

Other way, if you just in freelance but no lobang or lazy CARI LOBANG, you also die.

As for me, I work under hiring but i still have freelance working. Basically take the permanent salary n earn other income tongue.gif

In freelance, I charge my client reasonable price. Sometimes I don't charge them for simple design. That will allow me to become their permanent freelance designer( tarik hati )

Conclusion for this line... can earn just earn, when meet ppl dont believe just be careful.... specialist ppl call JUSTIN doh.gif

+Quote Post
[+]
post Nov 11 2009, 12:07 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #100

Job Title: Web Designer
Salary:3.2k, got time then do little freelance
Experience: working experience about 3 years
Opinion for my job: Currently working at my 2nd company only. I dun like to jump here and there, and luckily this 2 company I work with are quite nice in terms of working ethic and environment are also fine. Plus I've given chances to explore and learn new things, which I think would give me huge advantages for future job.
+Quote Post

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th November 2009 - 02:15 PM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)