> Lets talk about designer's salary

finecut
post Jul 10 2009, 05:57 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #41

Group: Junior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

previously a product designer, but now just grad and joined a interior design company biggrin.gif
probation gaji 1000
petrol + 200
minimum commission + 200 in case of low season
commission 4% of any project i get
so basicly i can get >2k if i'm doing good and i get regular projects
and usually ppl spend >20k for just a kitchen
and if they rich and want to do the whole house i'll be biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
B-Mecha
post Jul 10 2009, 06:35 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #42

Mecha Freak & Web Designer

Group: Senior Member

QUOTE(finecut @ Jul 10 2009, 05:57 PM)
previously a product designer, but now just grad and joined a interior design company biggrin.gif
probation gaji 1000
petrol + 200
minimum commission + 200 in case of low season
commission 4% of any project i get
so basicly i can get >2k if i'm doing good and i get regular projects
and usually ppl spend >20k for just a kitchen
and if they rich and want to do the whole house i'll be biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

nice! at least u got commission... thats not the case for media design industry, unless u r boss's right hand (maybe creative director?).

WORK MORE = EARN MORE (maybe)
but the career path remain stagnant. designer earn more because they work faster, work longer, and finish more projects. the lucky ones will get better reputation and get better pay.
+Quote Post
goldfries
post Jul 10 2009, 06:43 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #43

not so clever but got 26k++ post!!!

Group: Forum Admin

QUOTE(kornelius @ Jul 10 2009, 04:29 PM)
Job Title: Web Designer
Salary: < 2k
Experience: almost 2 years
Opinion for my job: No matter how good I am... I'm still supporting roll... Basically I handle anything that require "Design". I'm not just design website but also mainly in system interface design. Previously there are few more designer around...now I'm all alone...

eh that's low leh.

when i was in your role i got more than 2k and that was like 3 - 4 years back.
User is online!Profile CardPM
+Quote Post
g r a p e k e y
post Jul 10 2009, 08:11 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #44

Had a friend. A degree holder.

Job Title: Animator/ Web Designer.

Company: O&M

Salary: 3K

Experience: none

..But he won quite a number of awards during his Uni days.

+Quote Post
clivengu
post Jul 11 2009, 08:37 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #45

woa.. read through 3 pages there is no Interior Designer at all... look like all of them r too bz OT-ing never hv time to surf any forum.

Previously:
Job Title: Interior Designer
Salary: 2.4k increased to 2.8k (1 year experience b4 that)

Currently:
Job Title: Freelance 3D visualiser
Salary: ranging from rm 0 to rm 8k(once in a blue moon)
+Quote Post
dazzywazzy
post Jul 14 2009, 11:06 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #46

Graphic Designer

1.9k now

3 years exp now

haih. its so hard to break 2k.
+Quote Post
[+]
post Jul 14 2009, 01:36 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #47

web designer with 3 years working experience.
how much would considered appropriate?
+Quote Post
aliqueamyrei
post Jul 14 2009, 03:59 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #48

Job Title: Analyst Programmer..hahaha..
Salary: almost 2k but workmate told me that bonus agak ok la..
Experience: baru masuk kerja 2 bulan..
Opinion for my job: Actually I work as ASP.NET web developer..but I also do Joomla templating, Joomla customization, website development with Joomla and lalalala..I learned PHP when I was in university then took J2EE intensive training and now doing ASP.NET at work. I love designing more than programming and always kill my free time with PS and AI. Well, in short, I love my job.

+Quote Post
zzzxtreme
post Jul 14 2009, 04:13 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #49

Synth Freak

aliqueamyrei, that's not bad for graduate
focus on asp.net, sql server, javascript.
in 4 years' time, u can get rm4500
+Quote Post
aliqueamyrei
post Jul 14 2009, 04:23 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #50

QUOTE(zzzxtreme @ Jul 14 2009, 04:13 PM)
aliqueamyrei, that's not bad for graduate
focus on asp.net, sql server, javascript.
in 4 years' time, u can get rm4500

yeah I think not bad too..but I am not really into this programming stuff especially ASP. I just take it as a hobby and keep on learning new things like RoR and etc. My greatest passion and interest is still more on designing.
+Quote Post
dehumanization
post Jul 19 2009, 01:03 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #51

guys how about product designer?how much their salary ar?
+Quote Post
fuzagi
post Jul 21 2009, 10:17 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #52

Just confess to me if u feel like it.

QUOTE(yamapi @ Jan 14 2009, 10:05 PM)
what kind of designer you are ? n how much of your salary ? step in this field how many year? hehe biggrin.gif i'm a design student now...

Job Title: interior designer (in main con company. so gotta learn alot from my immediate boss)

Salary: 1.8

Experience: 1.5yrs

Opinion for my job: too much work too little time. work keep piling up. my job scope:

to calculate quantities of materials to be used to for a project (>RM1mil projects)
to source for suppliers for quotations of materials
to prepare tender documents
to deal with subcontractors during construction/work period (usually over 10 different subcons with their own workers)
to deal with clients, designer of project (some clients r cunning n always looking for ways to cause us trouble)
to do site analysis, measurements, visits, inspections (usually dirty/messy n hazardous to health n physically dangerous places)
to deal with rough n foul speaking ppl in the trade
to do drawings and 3D visuals for some smaller renovation projects
to handle many inches thick of A3 papers (tender drawings for projects)
to travel around (clients place, sites, subcontractor meeting, supplier showroom)
to compile samples of materials, do material boards
+Quote Post
shinkawa
post Jul 21 2009, 10:21 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #53

eh? i thought interior designer salary are more higher? My friend same college studied interior all kaya wan.
+Quote Post
fuzagi
post Jul 21 2009, 11:04 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #54

Just confess to me if u feel like it.

depends on what kinds of company they have landed in. most are idiotic chinaman bossed companies, where u work as cow for them n get fed with dried grass.

in some, u r treated like a race horse; they take good care of u, u win for them n so forth
+Quote Post
dazzywazzy
post Jul 21 2009, 11:46 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #55

sadly chinaman companies are growing everywhere like mushrooms
+Quote Post
buzzee
post Jul 21 2009, 05:35 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #56

QUOTE(dazzywazzy @ Jul 21 2009, 12:46 PM)

totally agree!

i dunno why all the designers price always started with very low from last time till now.

or maybe just this country? sweat.gif

+Quote Post
maranello55
post Jul 21 2009, 08:24 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #57

A c e l e r a A y r t o n ! !

QUOTE(dazzywazzy @ Jul 21 2009, 11:46 AM)

And not that they know much abt designing anyways....most of the time they would just show u pics from books and magazine and expects us to come up with the same shit.

I mean i know nothing is original but - in simple manglish 'like dat i oso can design' LOL
+Quote Post
[+]
post Jul 21 2009, 11:20 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #58

QUOTE(maranello55 @ Jul 21 2009, 08:24 PM)
And not that they know much abt designing anyways....most of the time they would just show u pics from books and magazine and expects us to come up with the same shit.

I mean i know nothing is original but - in simple manglish 'like dat i oso can design' LOL

+1
they wan looks as good as their competitors, but not better than them doh.gif
+Quote Post
dazzywazzy
post Jul 22 2009, 01:36 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #59

they dunno how is it like la.. to them designing is like drawing.. anything dun like wanna change very easy only.. like just erase and put a new one.. they dont realise sometimes just one small bit takes alot of time and effort to create.. let alone change. not forgetting the changes that they always make.. as long as the artwork is not printed, any minute can do last minute changes.. if its just one item ok la..

imagine u're doing a big project with many items.. buntings banners flyers all using the same artwork/design.. last minute change.. dont want this letter or font or picture.. to them easy la.. aiya wat so hard. just change the thing only ma very fast. but they dunno we have to load all the artworks and change them one by one.. then save again.. if small files ok.. if big files.. takes time to load render and save.. then they complain.. "why u do things so slow wan? other ppl can do faster"

once i experienced.. final artwork everything done.. sent to printer to print already. printing halfway boss come tell me. "eh i wan change this sentence" i was like.. er.. we already send to print.. then he say "u fast fast call them dun print, then u fast fast change, then u send to them again" i was like wah liao. i have to change 16 different items one by one.. have to work overnight to finish it. zzz summore no OT

DAMN U CHINAMAN BOSSES!
+Quote Post
shinkawa
post Jul 22 2009, 02:30 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #60

ya, thats why i hate them. I went interview in 1 chinaman company. He just copy from template change a bit then resell to client. Wat the hell....That fellow is kinda in age 30's, copy and sell cheap website to client.
+Quote Post

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » 
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th November 2009 - 11:43 AM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)