Lowyat.NET Forums

LYN wins Intel-Lenovo-Tangs Blogathon challenge. Thank you everybody!
7 Pages  1 2 3 > »  
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Malaysian Dota Scene Administration., Rankings, Tournament Rules and Articles

underminer
post Jan 3 2009, 09:29 AM

Group: New Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

Hey folks, this thread is created initially to house the ranking idea I have for the Malaysian Dota Community along with discussions of community members on ways to improve it.

As this thread is created to boost the competitive Dota scene, the thread naturally added a recommended rules section to make it easier for prospective tournament makers can come in and refer to a standardised set of rules for Dota tournaments. This is to ensure that rules enforced in their tournaments achieved the highest standards of organisation while participations will not need to adapt to ever changing rules which will certainly affect the quality of their game play over time.

The latest venture of this project will be certain short articles of commentary of the scene in general. These will be long posts of whatever caught my mind at that point of time on a range of subjects that hopefully will benefit everyone in the community after reading them.

As this project might impact the community I hope to receive feedback to make the system more complete and acceptable.

Note for Malaysia Dota Rankings:

1. This rankings are first proposed by the Head Marshall of SGNDT My.Gaming Lim to formalize the way seedings are done in LAN tourneys.
2. The Badminton Super Series rankings are used to make tabulation of points easier and encourage participation of tournaments.
3. The rankings will begin from SMM 2008 last 16 (for Malaysian teams only).
4. Tournaments that are covered in this ranking system needs to meet certain standards : Full online coverage, Open in nature, Full bracket updates to ensure ALL teams are covered.
5. This ranking will be based on team names for now. Changes of team name and members needs to be communicated by pm to me for now.
6. The updated rankings will be uploaded after that event is completed

Latest Ranking Rules:Updated as at 21/3/2009

Latest Rankings Summary:Updated as at 08/11/2009

Latest Ranking Excel Sheet Download (updated 08/11/2009):

Malaysia Dota Rankings 08/09/2009 Download

Recommended LAN rules : Updated as at 08/11/2009

This post has been edited by underminer: Nov 8 2009, 12:51 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
sniperz
post Jan 3 2009, 11:47 AM

Group: Senior Member

Looks like a pretty nice ranking system. ^^ go
User is online!Profile CardPM
+Quote Post
dharwin
post Jan 3 2009, 02:51 PM

Group: Junior Member

i dont understand

can explain me more? it means like the future perfomance of a team in local compy..
will get seeded in upcoming compy? or juz for smm?
txh
+Quote Post
sniperz
post Jan 3 2009, 03:23 PM

1. This rankings are first proposed by the Head Marshall of SGNDT My.Gaming Lim to formalize the way seedings are done in LAN tourneys.

It's like an overall team record rankings of wins/loses/achievements to top up the ranking position.

(can be use for reference like Lee Chong Wei in badminton with his record. For seeding)

there u go dharwin = )

doh.gif

This post has been edited by sniperz: Jan 3 2009, 03:24 PM
+Quote Post
Flizzardo
post Jan 3 2009, 03:31 PM

Fashionista

yay i got 5046 points .. no v2 tournament cry.gif

too bad never add up point of tournament in Batang Berjuntai SuperPro tournament and Sabak Bernam Dota Championship tournament.

This post has been edited by Flizzardo: Jan 3 2009, 03:56 PM
+Quote Post
sniperz
post Jan 3 2009, 03:42 PM

128x3 for 3 categories we get 384 teams to be on the ranking. It'll be cool and competitive to see the records in history =D
+Quote Post
Flizzardo
post Jan 3 2009, 04:00 PM

Fashionista

1) Tbun-W4si - 6990
2) KingSurf - 6,420
3) DNA SK - 5,900
4) ProGamersArena - 5046
4) Survivor - 5046

is my sum up correct?

Added on January 3, 2009, 6:07 pmbtw what about online tournaments? i think those teams that have beaten top international teams in tournament should get extra points too

This post has been edited by Flizzardo: Jan 3 2009, 06:07 PM
+Quote Post
KiLLing-z2
post Jan 3 2009, 06:39 PM

Lol flizz u aredi counted it out =D
+Quote Post
dharwin
post Jan 3 2009, 06:40 PM

u best

u win evo xtc

+Quote Post
BinnYZai
post Jan 3 2009, 06:52 PM

wtf fi3 so fast
Accutate a not 1
+Quote Post
dharwin
post Jan 3 2009, 06:58 PM

u suddap winter
+Quote Post
underminer
post Jan 3 2009, 07:00 PM

I already got 91 teams in my Excel list which I tabulated based on this 3 events:

1. SGNDT last 16
2. QUAS
3. Borneo

The top 10 are:

1. UC_Pro: 11,590 ( 4600+1950+5040 )
2. mKvL (Survivor) : 6,645 ( 1605+5040 )
3. Kingsurf : 6,420 ( 6420 )
4. DNA-SK : 5,900 ( 2300+3600 )
5. PGA : 5,260 ( 220+5040 )
6. Ct-Gov : 4,260 ( 1260+3600 )
7. Fishnet Eternal : 4,155 ( 555+3600 )
7. Penang ICE : 4,155 ( 555+3600 )
8. M.X : 3,900
9. NGL : 3,600
9. Gf.IMP : 3,600
9. Ftz'RE : 3,600
10.Dacom Vzp: 3,210
10.NSP Freedom: 3,210

The Quas tournament calculations proves tricky as a lot of teams has been jumbled up and there is a fake "Survivor" team in the brackets.
So the team "mKvL" which has 2 Survivor team members in the team at QUAS is taken to be the team that grabs the points and so on to the teams that bears the team's colours to have their points.
As for PGA, there is this Prog@2 at the Quas brackets. With the lack of "PGA" the team , I assume they took up the team's mantle.

The hardest task I have in maintaining this is the distribution of points to the teams with its various changes being performed and the never-ending team smurfers out there. In this case the rankings are "team based" where in which case of a split happening, the team that has most of its former members will take up the team's position with a new name in the rankings. To maintain it effectively, will need teams which experienced changes and stuffs to pm me directly so I can reflect your team's status directly in the points.

Seems like I cant upload the Excel file here. So, if there are any updates do inform me of the changes. I hope to make all the changes before the Invasion Kepong tourney ends.

This post has been edited by underminer: Jan 3 2009, 07:25 PM
+Quote Post
Flizzardo
post Jan 3 2009, 07:13 PM

Fashionista

QUOTE(KiLLing-z2 @ Jan 3 2009, 06:39 PM)
Lol flizz u aredi counted it out =D

QUOTE(BinnYZai @ Jan 3 2009, 06:52 PM)
wtf fi3 so fast
Accutate a not 1

waahhaahah too free nothing to do but count wrong also tongue.gif tongue.gif

eh borneo finish already so fast? O_O what was the result?

haha darwin no la i mean is team like w4si , dna sk and kingsurf they beat many well known international powerhouse so i think that should count to something tongue.gif
+Quote Post
underminer
post Jan 3 2009, 07:23 PM

QUOTE(Flizzardo @ Jan 3 2009, 07:13 PM)
waahhaahah too free nothing to do but count wrong also  tongue.gif  tongue.gif

eh borneo finish already so fast? O_O what was the result?
haha darwin no la i mean is team like w4si , dna sk and kingsurf they beat many well known international powerhouse so i think that should count to something  tongue.gif

I will repost the tournament outcome here. Looks like it is not covered properly here even though lots of effort has been put in it by the organisers =(

UC.PRO won the last tournament of 2008 !

Overall standings :

1st : UC.PRO
2nd : M.X
3rd : NSP-Freedom
4th : Dacom Vzp
5th : AOE-Human
6th : Excology
7th : Imnotclan
8th : RIP-Noah

Credits goes to Viv , My|Dead and Hansz that made the updates possible.

Replays can be found at the Garena coverage done by My|Dead at his first post here :

Borneo Dota Championship Garena Coverage
+Quote Post
chapree
post Jan 3 2009, 08:28 PM

http://multiplay.lowyat.net/

Group: Elite

QUOTE(underminer @ Jan 3 2009, 07:00 PM)
The hardest task I have in maintaining this is the distribution of points to the teams with its various changes being performed and the never-ending team smurfers out there. In this case the rankings are "team based" where in which case of a split happening, the team that has most of its former members will take up the team's position with a new name in the rankings. To maintain it effectively, will need teams which experienced changes and stuffs to pm me directly so I can reflect your team's status directly in the points.

Good job, underminer! rclxms.gif
Going "team based" is a good decision but since you defined it as " the team that has most of its former members will take up the team's position with a new name in the rankings", how about teams that have totally new members?
+Quote Post
sniperz
post Jan 3 2009, 08:33 PM

True. The team name with significant records.
It'll be easier for the statistic and the overall rankings as well.

+Quote Post
underminer
post Jan 3 2009, 10:59 PM

QUOTE(chapree @ Jan 3 2009, 08:28 PM)
Good job, underminer!  rclxms.gif
Going "team based" is a good decision but since you defined it as " the team that has most of its former members will take up the team's position with a new name in the rankings", how about teams that have totally new members?

I would bias towards the player's new team based on number of players from the old team. Say Team A decided to leave its current sponsor of Team A. Their new name Team B will be replacing "Team A" in the rankings unless stated otherwise by an outside settlement which will need to be communicated via pm to me.

But if negotiations can be conducted for both sides to ensure a better settlement. The old team might just be left there for sometime and both parties start afresh with new team names if a settlement cant be agreed. However, after a settlement is made, the new team with its new roster will be assumed from the settlement date onwards. In other words, future "roster" of the team will be based on the new roster from the settlement period onwards.
+Quote Post
baowen
post Jan 5 2009, 07:22 PM

QUOTE(underminer @ Jan 3 2009, 10:59 PM)
I would bias towards the player's new team based on number of players from the old team. Say Team A decided to leave its current sponsor of Team A. Their new name Team B will be replacing "Team A" in the rankings unless stated otherwise by an outside settlement which will need to be communicated via pm to me.

But if negotiations can be conducted for both sides to ensure a better settlement. The old team might just be left there for sometime and both parties start afresh with new team names if a settlement cant be agreed. However, after a settlement is made, the new team with its new roster will be assumed from the settlement date onwards. In other words, future "roster" of the team will be based on the new roster from the settlement period onwards.

Let say a big tournament which have total prize of 20k is going to held in this week.... current top 1 ranking team
"assume as team ABC" only have the leader himself in the team... other 4 was new recruit... while other 4 "former" team ABC make a new team XYZ and join this tournament... so, now team ABC remain as top 1 in ur ranking system or team XYZ ??
I think you know current malaysia dota scene.. almost every tournament will have player jumping from team A to B or other way round.. and they are top team too... whats the solution for this ?? if follow the thing you say.. this ranking system no longer accurate and may happen Strong team vs Strong at early stage. Since the prize pool is 20k.. top 8 will have prize... so it is fair for team XYZ because they should have seeded.. not team ABC.... hope you know what i am trying to say, and it's a problem you need to solve before you run this ranking system...

erm... it's manually count or automatic ?
+Quote Post
Kenchi's-Mum
post Jan 5 2009, 08:03 PM

Yup , agree with baowen. Players keep changing their team and its not really accurate to count it that way. U CPro's point they win it back by their own? Via this new team? If i am not mistaken , flying spaghetti monster Tbun-w4si win few of the tourney and then 1 of the player run to this new team and they deserves this sum of points ? notworthy.gif
+Quote Post
LuVz
post Jan 5 2009, 09:08 PM

so the one who go for more tournament basicly will get more points ?
+Quote Post

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » 
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st November 2009 - 05:55 PM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)