Lowyat.NET Forums

LYN wins Intel-Lenovo-Tangs Blogathon challenge. Thank you everybody!
126 Pages « < 100 101 102 103 104 > »  
RSS feedBump TopicClosed TopicStart new topicStart Poll

> Nikon D300/D700/D3 Thread V5, The Dark Force

Is D3X worth the price?

Yes [ 42 ] ** [18.03%]
No [ 101 ] ** [43.35%]
I don't care. Life sux [ 55 ] ** [23.61%]
Is that a new X-Wing model? [ 35 ] ** [15.02%]
Total Votes: 233

WyLuxx
post Jul 5 2009, 07:40 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2021

nutz

Group: Senior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

tried playing with CLS against the setting sun yesterday.

the shoot didnt go well. first, we were chased off the grounds of Pullman Resort for not asking permission prior to shoot. well serve us right anyway. our fault.

then we went to the wetlands. at 6+, we were approached by a guard.
WHAT? we had to pay to shoot at a public park? after promising to take a couple of shots more, he left after leaving us a piece of paper with rates. then we shot away didnt quite bother with it. WHAT? the rate was something like 100 per hour????? so said the paper... Couldnt be but that was the rate written on it.

At 7:10 he came again. WHAT? Park closed at 7pm????? what logic? there was no gate, nothing. it was like telling you Lake Gardens closes at 7pm. wonder where putra folks go for dates.

can anyone tell me where to shoot for free in putra?
also, c&c on photo is welcome.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jsc_tidus
post Jul 5 2009, 07:51 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2022

QUOTE(WyLuxx @ Jul 5 2009, 07:40 PM)

the shoot didnt go well. first, we were chased off the grounds of Pullman Resort for not asking permission prior to shoot. well serve us right anyway. our fault.

WHAT? we had to pay to shoot at a public park? after promising to take a couple of shots more, he left after leaving us a piece of paper with rates. then we shot away didnt quite bother with it. WHAT? the rate was something like 100 per hour????? so said the paper... Couldnt be but that was the rate written on it.

At 7:10 he came again. WHAT? Park closed at 7pm????? what logic? there was no gate, nothing. it was like telling you Lake Gardens closes at 7pm. wonder where putra folks go for dates.

nice!

maybe if u can lit up a bit at the lower part of her body would be better, seems too dark.. dont bother me, i'm still new to photography.. notworthy.gif

overall i love it! rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by jsc_tidus: Jul 5 2009, 07:52 PM
+Quote Post
razuryza
post Jul 5 2009, 07:57 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2023

\('o')/~fewwwiitttt~\("0")/

go to tasik titiwangsa la.. nobody would bother u shooting.. except some thos joggers who would wewittt to the models.. hahah

sample:

This post has been edited by razuryza: Jul 5 2009, 07:59 PM
+Quote Post
the_tranny
post Jul 5 2009, 08:10 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2024

Very nice!! Tastefully done. Reminds me of a Nikon promo. Perhaps this shot could use one more (or two more!) strobes ? Nevertheless, this works already.
+Quote Post
WyLuxx
post Jul 5 2009, 08:13 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2025

nutz

QUOTE(razuryza @ Jul 5 2009, 07:57 PM)
go to tasik titiwangsa la.. nobody would bother u shooting.. except some thos joggers who would wewittt to the models.. hahah

sample:

oi, since when u do strobist? i thought u hdr kaki only. nice shoot.

and thank you tranny. the gown is a lil wrinkly... u ok with it?
+Quote Post
razuryza
post Jul 5 2009, 08:14 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2026

\('o')/~fewwwiitttt~\("0")/

QUOTE(WyLuxx @ Jul 5 2009, 08:13 PM)
oi, since when u do strobist? i thought u hdr kaki only. nice shoot.

since i got no subject to do HDR... not all subject can HDR u know... tongue.gif
+Quote Post
the_tranny
post Jul 5 2009, 08:43 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2027

QUOTE(WyLuxx @ Jul 5 2009, 08:13 PM)

Haha tongue.gif Yea i'll be ok with it after a therapy. You're forgiven cos its a very nice strobing & flair.
+Quote Post
xandman
post Jul 6 2009, 08:57 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2028

When Darkness is the only Light U See.

Thats a nice shot bro...
with the strobes and all...
i m guessing single strobe...thru umbrella...camera right...shooting down on model...
bcoz the feathering is awesomeness!!!!!
thumbup.gif

QUOTE(jsc_tidus @ Jul 5 2009, 07:51 PM)
nice!

maybe if u can lit up a bit at the lower part of her body would be better, seems too dark.. dont bother me, i'm still new to photography..  notworthy.gif

overall i love it!  rclxms.gif

it's called feathering...and its done on purpose...to make viewers focus on the face/upper region since it'll be brightest... biggrin.gif
+Quote Post
timothyy
post Jul 6 2009, 11:58 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2029

Do Not Underestimate the "Pawa" of the Dark Side

Uncle luxx, next time... ask the girl to iron her baju la. Kekekeke...

Other than that... I am ok with the pic set up.

I think our next move is no more setups setups setups...
This is easy for u already.

Your next move should be "Tell a story with a pictar"
Seen all the photos we have... yet, we are unable to do this part. We are happy when th gir looks good and the lighting is good. But we always feel there is something missing at the end. And that is the story.
+Quote Post
jsc_tidus
post Jul 6 2009, 12:00 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2030

QUOTE(xandman @ Jul 6 2009, 08:57 AM)
Thats a nice shot bro...
with the strobes and all...
i m guessing single strobe...thru umbrella...camera right...shooting down on model...
bcoz the feathering is awesomeness!!!!!
thumbup.gif
it's called feathering...and its done on purpose...to make viewers focus on the face/upper region since it'll be brightest... biggrin.gif

at that time on the photo its still nice lighted up right? how does the CLS makes the background darker? metering? sorry still new to CLS.. notworthy.gif
+Quote Post
the_tranny
post Jul 6 2009, 12:44 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2031

QUOTE(jsc_tidus @ Jul 6 2009, 12:00 PM)
at that time on the photo its still nice lighted up right? how does the CLS makes the background darker? metering? sorry still new to CLS..  notworthy.gif

Such a cute question tongue.gif Though i didnt really understand the first part of it.
Im thinking youre using the term 'metering' not so precisely. All photos are taken with a metering. You can meter a shot yourself (Manual-M) or collaborate with the camera (S, A, P, Presets, Auto, Tranny).
Metering is just a way of determining the elements of ISO, Shutterspeed & Aperture size; elements that make a photo that we see. Go on and read more on this on the net sweetie.
CLS is a Nikon term ie Creative Lighting System. Nothing to do with metering. Its just versace talk for flash system.
Background darker/brighter = in shortest short, The ShutterSpeed!

Wyluxx's next move is lugging a huge windmachine to blow the model. Baru semua makan hati tengok photo dia.
+Quote Post
WyLuxx
post Jul 6 2009, 12:51 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2032

nutz

at that time on the photo its still nice lighted up right? how does the CLS makes the background darker? metering? sorry still new to CLS..  notworthy.gif

as what tranny suggested, read up a bit. it helps tho to chant the mantra:
'shutter for ambience, aperture for subject light'

yea.. always dream of doing the marilyn monroe shot etched in every man's mind. tranny, u got the legs for it?
+Quote Post
xandman
post Jul 6 2009, 02:26 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2033

i think tranny and wyluxx have answered most of ur question...
except the first part....

"how does cls makes the background darker?"

its like this...underexpose the background...properly expose the subject...
and ull get that effect... wink.gif
thumbup.gif
+Quote Post
WyLuxx
post Jul 6 2009, 02:54 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2034

nutz

thanks for viewing xand. yes it was done with one STU.
and to tim.... i tried very hard to find a trace of compliment somewhere in your post.. not sure if it was there.
anyway, rather than perching a lass on a pedestal and shooting her from below (which by the way tells the story of a 166cm girl wishing to be taller), i will try to do some pics that will stirr viewers' curiousity next time ok? wait ah... may take a while for a free model to come along... icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by WyLuxx: Jul 6 2009, 02:55 PM
+Quote Post
ikan_semilang
post Jul 6 2009, 04:22 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2035

Hi, i'm noob here..anybody can teach me how to CLS?
User is online!Profile CardPM
+Quote Post
calvin_gsc
post Jul 6 2009, 04:48 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2036

QUOTE(ikan_semilang @ Jul 6 2009, 04:22 PM)
Hi, i'm noob here..anybody can teach me how to CLS?

Try youtube, there are a number of videos that teach you how to set it up.

Try this http://yanikphotoschool.com/tutorials/vide...built-in-flash/
+Quote Post
ikan_semilang
post Jul 6 2009, 04:54 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2037

QUOTE(calvin_gsc @ Jul 6 2009, 04:48 PM)
Try youtube, there are a number of videos that teach you how to set it up.

Try this http://yanikphotoschool.com/tutorials/vide...built-in-flash/

Thanks calvin for helping noob like me...
User is online!Profile CardPM
+Quote Post
xandman
post Jul 6 2009, 04:56 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2038

fishy man...

go strobist.com...
and u'll get some serious en"light"henment! brows.gif

be careful...ull be poisoned to get more speedlights after that... biggrin.gif
+Quote Post
jsc_tidus
post Jul 7 2009, 12:30 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2039

is it really 'that' different between 50mm 1.8 & 50mm 1.4?
+Quote Post
the_tranny
post Jul 7 2009, 01:05 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2040

QUOTE(jsc_tidus @ Jul 7 2009, 12:30 AM)
is it really 'that' different between 50mm 1.8 & 50mm 1.4?

Sweetie thats a lens question tongue.gif And you know what they say bout lens question ? ..... You ask it in the lens thread tongue.gif Mmmmmuahhhh!!!

p/s : people might answer it in here anyways.
+Quote Post

126 Pages « < 100 101 102 103 104 > » 
Bump TopicClosed TopicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th November 2009 - 08:26 PM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)