Lowyat.NET Forums

Paypal WTS topics will be closed after 14 Nov. Read here.
126 Pages « < 99 100 101 102 103 > »  
RSS feedBump TopicClosed TopicStart new topicStart Poll

> Nikon D300/D700/D3 Thread V5, The Dark Force

Is D3X worth the price?

Yes [ 42 ] ** [18.03%]
No [ 101 ] ** [43.35%]
I don't care. Life sux [ 55 ] ** [23.61%]
Is that a new X-Wing model? [ 35 ] ** [15.02%]
Total Votes: 233

mememe12
post Jul 2 2009, 11:31 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2001

n00b

Group: Senior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

so far i never read the manual before.. i think i might miss out a lot then sad.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
calvin_gsc
post Jul 2 2009, 11:34 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2002

QUOTE(mememe12 @ Jul 2 2009, 11:31 AM)
so far i never read the manual before.. i think i might miss out a lot then sad.gif

You got nothing to miss if you don't find anything you don't know how to use, or don't use.
+Quote Post
jsc_tidus
post Jul 2 2009, 12:39 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2003

QUOTE(calvin_gsc @ Jul 2 2009, 11:34 AM)
You got nothing to miss if you don't find anything you don't know how to use, or don't use.

oh ya forgot to tell u calvin_gsc, i copy ur D300 userbar, malas to find one on the net.. sorry bro notworthy.gif

still playing/lurking around the menus, theres alot that i need to refer to the manual, since its completely different menus from my previous system.. laugh.gif SB900 is another huge thing to learn about too.. blush.gif
+Quote Post
Mavik
post Jul 3 2009, 02:11 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2004

Patience is a virtue

Group: Elite

It is always advisable to read your camera menu hehehe biggrin.gif
+Quote Post
jsc_tidus
post Jul 3 2009, 03:10 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2005

QUOTE(Mavik @ Jul 3 2009, 02:11 PM)
It is always advisable to read your camera menu hehehe biggrin.gif

its thicker than my whole-semester's manuals.. sweat.gif
+Quote Post
calvin_gsc
post Jul 3 2009, 03:25 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2006

QUOTE(jsc_tidus @ Jul 3 2009, 03:10 PM)
its thicker than my whole-semester's manuals..  sweat.gif

What an exaggeration! laugh.gif
+Quote Post
kurikuraX
post Jul 3 2009, 03:50 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2007

I hate smart asses kiddo

I learn to use my d90 from youtube laugh.gif
+Quote Post
calvin_gsc
post Jul 3 2009, 03:51 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2008

QUOTE(kurikuraX @ Jul 3 2009, 03:50 PM)
I learn to use my d90 from youtube laugh.gif

Youtube, another one of the tricks of the trade for this modern times.
+Quote Post
jsc_tidus
post Jul 3 2009, 10:45 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2009

guys, what metering system u use when outdoor? i find that spot isnt really suits the environment.. sweat.gif
+Quote Post
calvin_gsc
post Jul 3 2009, 10:46 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2010

QUOTE(jsc_tidus @ Jul 3 2009, 10:45 PM)
guys, what metering system u use when outdoor? i find that spot isnt really suits the environment..  sweat.gif

You must know where/what to meter. If you don't know how to use spot meter, just stick to 3D metering.
+Quote Post
jsc_tidus
post Jul 3 2009, 11:30 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2011

my subject is fine, nicely light up, no underexpose, but the sky is blown away.. let say the subject is a human.
+Quote Post
forger
post Jul 3 2009, 11:51 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2012

lol, that kind of camera to cover all dynamic range have not been created yet. the same old problem should compensate, fill in or reposition.

+Quote Post
the_tranny
post Jul 4 2009, 12:13 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2013

Group: Junior Member

Well, at least no camera can optically cover that can of dynamic. In post process; maybe.
You meter for the sky, your subject is underexposed. You meter for your subject, the sky is overexposed. D-lighting may help a little in this situation. Though, i consider D-lighting and all those Picture Control thingy as post process, so you might as well go all the way PP-ing in a computer.

Personally, i hate blown highlights, so i would meter for the sky with spot metering, underexposing the land/subject and later process the shadow/underexposed parts. RAW is best here.

Owh and thats assuming no artificial light / reflection is involved.

This post has been edited by the_tranny: Jul 4 2009, 12:16 AM
+Quote Post
mememe12
post Jul 4 2009, 12:17 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2014

n00b

QUOTE(jsc_tidus @ Jul 3 2009, 11:30 PM)
my subject is fine, nicely light up, no underexpose, but the sky is blown away.. let say the subject is a human.

erm.. for me.. i think got 2 ways lor..

way 1: meter the sky correctly.. then fire flash..
way 2: meter the sky correctly, then overexpose the sky a bit.. then meter the object, and if the object is still too under.. then, overexpose the object a lil more and make sure the sky is not blown away but of of coz the sky will be over but u get acceptable exposure of the object..

i usually do that.. is there any other better way?
+Quote Post
the_tranny
post Jul 4 2009, 12:26 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2015

QUOTE(mememe12 @ Jul 4 2009, 12:17 AM)

way 2: meter the sky correctly, then overexpose the sky a bit.. then meter the object, and if the object is still too under.. then, overexpose the object a lil more and make sure the sky is not blown away but of of coz the sky will be over but u get acceptable exposure of the object..

Yes sweetie, its called 3D Metering smile.gif
+Quote Post
mememe12
post Jul 4 2009, 12:56 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2016

n00b

QUOTE(the_tranny @ Jul 4 2009, 12:26 AM)
Yes sweetie, its called 3D Metering smile.gif

so sweet.. sweat.gif sweat.gif thanks.. will try out.. i guess that is what i missed for not reading the manual.. sweat.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by mememe12: Jul 4 2009, 12:57 AM
+Quote Post
ifer
post Jul 4 2009, 09:03 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2017

QUOTE(mememe12 @ Jul 4 2009, 12:17 AM)

use a ND graduated filter
+Quote Post
ACM2008
post Jul 4 2009, 11:21 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2018

Group: New Member

QUOTE(jsc_tidus @ Jul 1 2009, 11:52 PM)
just got my D300 this afternoon.. wow, the built quality does really like what all the reviews i read, very2 solid, grippy-grip on my hand! loving it!  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

wait to you play with the D3 or D3x.. will be poison or blow your mind away...
+Quote Post
the_tranny
post Jul 4 2009, 11:51 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2019

QUOTE(ACM2008 @ Jul 4 2009, 11:21 AM)
wait to you play with the D3 or D3x.. will be poison or blow your mind away...

While that is true to the core, affordability and waitTilYoutryAsuperProModelability are different things altogether tongue.gif
Afterall, the camera does not make u biggrin.gif The lens, maybe.
+Quote Post
jsc_tidus
post Jul 4 2009, 08:14 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2020

is it true that any wide lens that mount on a D300 will be reduced its distort? like barrel at the edge of the pics..
+Quote Post

126 Pages « < 99 100 101 102 103 > » 
Bump TopicClosed TopicTopic OptionsStart new topic

Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 8th November 2009 - 05:09 PM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)