8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Accounting. MMU vs SEGi vs UTAR vs Sunway...

TSSherry86
post Dec 18 2008, 02:53 AM, updated 17y ago

80 posts

Hi. It is for my sister's(more like mother's...) info on accounting course. I am in MMU also but in FCM. So I cannot be bias with this.

My mother has narrowed down to 3 potential place to send my sister if she is interested in Accounting (she said maybe so we are not forcing okay...). So yea. Maybe she'll take accounts so what my mother wants to know is:

1) Which degree is more recognized at least in Malaysia? Is it MMU/SEGi/UTAR/Sunway?

Yes I said 3 potential place which is MMU, SEGi and UTAR. Sunway was added because it looks like she's interested in Sunway but with the fees higher than my own course even loan from ptptn also not enough... >.<

2) the hidden cost. I know there's all those IT fees la, don't know whatever else fees just to squeeze money out from you la. That I know. But the living cost like accommodation, food, traveling... Handphone bills no need to say... That one almost RM100 per month... I'm staying at home but I'll be graduating in a year or so. So we still need info about this please.

3) The facilities. Is it okay? I know FOM building in MMU is all nice and shiny but still, I am mostly constraint to FCM.

4) Lecturers. How are they like?

5) Are they in different campus for foundation? MMU yes. In Melaka. Sunway no. SEGi and UTAR?

We went to the Education Fair last week in Mid Valley... Not much information. Well got, if it wasn't for the people talking with microphones... Just a whole stack of brochures with course fees.

Thank you in advance smile.gif
fakerz
post Dec 18 2008, 09:51 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(Sherry86 @ Dec 18 2008, 02:53 AM)
Hi. It is for my sister's(more like mother's...) info on accounting course. I am in MMU also but in FCM. So I cannot be bias with this.

My mother has narrowed down to 3 potential place to send my sister if she is interested in Accounting (she said maybe so we are not forcing okay...). So yea. Maybe she'll take accounts so what my mother wants to know is:

1) Which degree is more recognized at least in Malaysia? Is it MMU/SEGi/UTAR/Sunway?   

Yes I said 3 potential place which is MMU, SEGi and UTAR. Sunway was added because it looks like she's interested in Sunway but with the fees higher than my own course even loan from ptptn also not enough... >.<

2) the hidden cost. I know there's all those IT fees la, don't know whatever else fees just to squeeze money out from you la. That I know. But the living cost like accommodation, food, traveling... Handphone bills no need to say... That one almost RM100 per month... I'm staying at home but I'll be graduating in a year or so. So we still need info about this please.

3) The facilities. Is it okay? I know FOM building in MMU is all nice and shiny but still, I am mostly constraint to FCM.

5) Are they in different campus for foundation? MMU yes. In Melaka. Sunway no. SEGi and UTAR?

We went to the Education Fair last week in Mid Valley... Not much information. Well got, if it wasn't for the people talking with microphones... Just a whole stack of brochures with course fees.

Hi..I am currently working in the education line so i hope my advice can help you out..

1) Actually all the degrees are equally recognized in Malaysia. However, any graduate from Sunway usually will get extra points because it's an overseas degree from Australia if i am not mistaken. In comparison with SEGI for overseas degree i suggest choosing Sunway for good reasons.

2) Are your family staying outside KL? Well if you are asking about living expenses, areas around Sunway and SEGI will definitely be slightly higher compared to the other two. Plus, if i am not mistaken, to study an accounting degree in UTAR you will have to go to the sungai long campus? I guess living expenses are slightly lower there.

3) Sunway facilities as i know is probably one of the best among your choices? Reason being it is big and you are paying a lot for the facilities (the hidden resource fees and stuff). I am not sure about the rest.

4) You can't really tell about the lecturers until you are in there. But education is like buying a car. The more you pay for it the better quality you get. Overseas degree run locally have to meet the quality education set by the university which means usually these local lecturers have to be approved by the partner university before they can teach a certain subject. Something for you to think about. Value for your money i would say.

4) As i mentioned, UTAR's accounting course is in the Sungai Long campus if i am not mistaken so there you go. SEGI depends on you choose the kota damansara campus or the one in Subang.

At the end of the day, if your sister insist on going for Sunway, might as well go for ACCA. Their ACCA program is quite well recognized for producing good results and it is cheaper then a degree. However, if you would like to go for an accounting degree, and want something in between in terms of price and facilities, ever considered Metropolitan College? They do offer Australian degree from Curtin University of Technology with a double major in accounting and finance. I hear their foundation is quite cheap. Well, just my 2 cents on this matter icon_rolleyes.gif
speakeasy
post Dec 18 2008, 02:08 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(Sherry86 @ Dec 18 2008, 02:53 AM)

i short i would suggest nt to enrol in segi.. it sucks there man
fakerz
post Dec 18 2008, 02:25 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(speakeasy @ Dec 18 2008, 02:08 PM)
i short i would suggest nt to enrol in segi.. it sucks there man
Personally i agree with you there... rclxms.gif
a_pearl
post Dec 18 2008, 04:35 PM

50 posts

MMU. my previous lecturer told us (students of uitm) MMU got good lecturers for accounting and can get job easy.
He lecture in MMU also. er...i'm talking about MMU Cyberjaya. He told us good in accounting and engineeering. smile.gif

yeing
post Jan 19 2009, 04:34 PM

MMU accounting's degree is just a waste of time and money...forget about it.
it's only recognised in malaysia(not degree from oversea uni) and it took u 5 bloody years to complete(including 1 yr foundation after spm).if i would think wisely previously i would go for ACCA in sunway college.provided that your sis reli into accounting and auditing and can forgo her colourful, sparkling college /uni life. coz studying acca will not be easy unless u drag it to 4 or 5 yrs?
khaishin
post Jan 19 2009, 04:48 PM

happyQ
613 posts

If you consider Sunway,
how about Nottingham.
It's better than Sunway in my opinion.
Don't shoot me.

moniqee
post Jan 19 2009, 06:37 PM

7,864 posts

accounting?

try metropolitan? if ur result superb. try applying the scholarship there.
SUSSeLrAhC
post Jan 19 2009, 06:50 PM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

if acca usually it sunway... a lot of world price winner there for acca n cpa... but if academic, i dont know.
yati6546
post Jan 19 2009, 08:15 PM

QUOTE(moniqee @ Jan 19 2009, 06:37 PM)
accounting?

try metropolitan? if ur result superb. try applying the scholarship there.
Agree wit u.

Metropolitan seems to be a good college. Few of my colleague from there (working in big firms)

Not just u able to apply for the scholarship.

U may able to do double major too.
ilovecookies92
post Jan 22 2009, 08:44 PM

SPM Candidate 2009™
765 posts

Sunway I should say. It's platinum and great education excellence for u to study. Paying more for study is a good investment.
drummerboy
post Jan 23 2009, 01:42 AM

539 posts

accounting go sunway lo

SUSSeLrAhC
post Jan 23 2009, 03:09 AM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

yes, acca n cpa... but academic accountancy sunway is still good?
HiddenTrap
post Jan 23 2009, 08:43 AM

134 posts

can you add in the title "vs ORANGE"
GrandElf
post Jan 23 2009, 10:43 AM

HyunA
1,154 posts

well.....i will advice u better dun choose UTAR due to the environment surrounding it.......dull atmosphere n not convenience at there......the others not really know though....... nod.gif nod.gif
MisterCrono
post Jan 23 2009, 11:25 AM

Non-halal troll
635 posts

sunway usually for those who wan pursuing in accounting industry ..

world recognized cert ..
khaishin
post Jan 23 2009, 11:26 AM

happyQ
613 posts

QUOTE(MisterCrono @ Jan 23 2009, 11:25 AM)
sunway usually for those who wan pursuing in accounting industry ..

world recognized cert ..
Everyone knows Sunway through their ads,
who really know about the reality? tongue.gif
RedSiglap56
post Jan 23 2009, 02:25 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(khaishin @ Jan 23 2009, 11:26 AM)
Everyone knows Sunway through their ads,
who really know about the reality?  tongue.gif
If you are really interested in accounting, as in committed to an accounting career, then a professional qualification is much better than getting a degree. Do you know that alot of accounting degree holders later continue to do the ACCA?

The ACCA or CIMA can be done in many approved colleges. Some of these charge a fraction of the fees charged by the larger colleges mentioned on this thread (around one third). In fact, I know for a fact that before the exams, students of these larger colleges actually go to these smaller "tuition or training centres" for revision because the lecturers are well known and has excellent track records.

The unfortunate thing is that, when a few of these larger college students (who took revision from the smaller centres) end up winning world prizes, it is the larger colleges who take the credit and the limelight! Ha!!

So, judge for yourselves, do your research, don't be prejudiced and make wise choices!
HiddenTrap
post Jan 23 2009, 02:34 PM

134 posts

I would love to study in Sunway. My only concern is I heard the fees are expensive. How expensive?

Another choice is Orange.
khaishin
post Jan 23 2009, 02:55 PM

happyQ
613 posts

QUOTE(RedSiglap56 @ Jan 23 2009, 02:25 PM)
If you are really interested in accounting, as in committed to an accounting career, then a professional qualification is much better than getting a degree.  Do you know that alot of accounting degree holders later continue to do the ACCA?

The ACCA or CIMA can be done in many approved colleges.  Some of these charge a fraction of the fees charged by the larger colleges mentioned on this thread (around one third).  In fact, I know for a fact that before the exams, students of these larger colleges actually go to these smaller "tuition or training centres" for revision because the lecturers are well known and has excellent track records.

The unfortunate thing is that, when a few of these larger college students (who took revision from the smaller centres) end up winning world prizes, it is the larger colleges who take the credit and the limelight! Ha!!

So, judge for yourselves, do your research, don't be prejudiced and make wise choices!
=.=
Hello.
Are you misunderstood my meaning? sweat.gif

Added on January 23, 2009, 2:57 pm
QUOTE(HiddenTrap @ Jan 23 2009, 02:34 PM)
I would love to study in Sunway. My only concern is I heard the fees are expensive. How expensive?

Another choice is Orange.
Why do you love Sunway?
It may not as good as you thought.
lolz. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by khaishin: Jan 23 2009, 02:57 PM

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0220sec    0.39    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:37 AM