Lowyat.NET Forums

LYN wins Intel-Lenovo-Tangs Blogathon challenge. Thank you everybody!
129 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > »  
RSS feedBump TopicClosed TopicStart new topicStart Poll

> Super Noobs Help! [Thread V3], Post Your ULTRA Simple Questions Here

coffeebreak
post Dec 16 2008, 07:36 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #21

Group: Junior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

QUOTE(arafat @ Dec 16 2008, 07:08 PM)
what is the processor,mobo & graphic card(pcie or agp)?

my processor Intel® Pentium® D CPU 2.80GHz model 820

mobo=ASUS P5GC-MX/1333

whats the best graphic card i can get for this?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
arafat
post Dec 16 2008, 09:44 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #22

ROCK ON!

Group: Senior Member

just buy a decent gc that suit your budget
you prefer ati or nvidia?
+Quote Post
coffeebreak
post Dec 16 2008, 09:51 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #23

you mean to tell me with those i can use even the latest graphic card? =D

i heard intel works better with nvidia, that true? if so, nvidia >_<
+Quote Post
AMDAthlon
post Dec 17 2008, 01:02 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #24

The AMD's /ATi Member Since 1995

Eh guys..
Does the Single Channel and Dual Channel noticable?
EG : 2x2GB VS 1x2GB,2x1GB..
If it is..does the affect quite alot?
+Quote Post
ktek
post Dec 17 2008, 03:11 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #25

gi me yo banana XD

QUOTE(coffeebreak @ Dec 16 2008, 09:51 PM)

yes you can use latest cards (your mobo has PCI-E 16x slot)
but for high-end cards you need 6/8PIN PCI-E power to feed them (depends on power supply)
false.
QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ Dec 17 2008, 01:02 AM)
Eh guys..

Intel modern chipset has *magic* thumbup.gif
can run flexible dual channel @ different memory capacity.
+Quote Post
arafat
post Dec 17 2008, 03:58 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #26

ROCK ON!

QUOTE(coffeebreak @ Dec 16 2008, 09:51 PM)

there's no such thing as intel works better with nvidia.
i'm not sure what you mean by latest gc.. is it high end,midrange or low end?
how much your budget? any particular model in mind?
+Quote Post
lex
post Dec 17 2008, 10:24 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #27

Old Am I?

Group: Moderator

QUOTE(coffeebreak @ Dec 16 2008, 07:36 PM)
my processor IntelĀ® PentiumĀ® D CPU 2.80GHz model 820

mobo=ASUS P5GC-MX/1333

whats the best graphic card i can get for this?
Any latest, even high end graphics card can be used... depends on your budget. However you should be aware that powerful graphics cards will require good and beefy (true power) PSUs. nod.gif

QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ Dec 17 2008, 01:02 AM)
Eh guys..
Dual channel a little bit faster, but usually you won't notice this unless you run some benchmarks. icon_rolleyes.gif
+Quote Post
coffeebreak
post Dec 17 2008, 10:34 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #28

how to check whether my psu can support onot sad.gif

latest as in umm a powerful wan, dx10 vertex and pixel shader 3.0?

budget around 300-500?
+Quote Post
astria
post Dec 17 2008, 10:41 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #29

Onion

QUOTE(coffeebreak @ Dec 17 2008, 10:34 AM)

budget around 300-500?

DX10 and SM3.0.... whistling.gif

u either ve DX9.0c with SM3.0 or DX10 with SM4.0...

anyway, for that CPU of yours, which will be a big bottleneck if u stuff in a performance card, and unknown PSU, i suggest HD 4670...
+Quote Post
lex
post Dec 17 2008, 10:54 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #30

Old Am I?

Group: Moderator

Check the brand/model and wattage of the PSU.. Its much more useful if you can post a picture of the PSU label showing it power ratings (current and voltage). For example...

Yups.. nod.gif

budget around 300-500?
Choices are HD4670, HD3870, 9600GT, 9800GT and HD4830.. All of these generally requires minimum a true power 400W~450W PSU. Some specific requirements... 9600GT requires 26A on the +12V rails, HD3870 requires 30A on the +12V rails. wink.gif
+Quote Post
coffeebreak
post Dec 17 2008, 11:33 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #31

QUOTE(astria @ Dec 17 2008, 10:41 AM)
DX10 and SM3.0.... whistling.gif

u either ve DX9.0c with SM3.0 or DX10 with SM4.0...

anyway, for that CPU of yours, which will be a big bottleneck if u stuff in a performance card, and unknown PSU, i suggest HD 4670...

i dont understand what you mean there T_T bottleneck meaning? cant run?

will post the picture later, need go out~
+Quote Post
capiche
post Dec 17 2008, 11:59 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #32

QUOTE(coffeebreak @ Dec 17 2008, 11:33 AM)
i dont understand what you mean there T_T bottleneck meaning? cant run?

will post the picture later, need go out~

bottleneck means that the incapability of different hardwares running at a parallel or universal pace... so means sometimes will "traffic jam" then cause some performance drop or underperform.. haha... get urself a 500ml Coke.. look on top of the bottle.. then u'll get the meaning biggrin.gif
+Quote Post
Agultiamat
post Dec 17 2008, 12:33 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #33

helo
i am using gainward hd 4850 gs.. isit i need to update catalyst driver?
+Quote Post
astria
post Dec 17 2008, 01:09 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #34

Onion

all graphic card will need to update driver regularly to ensure optimal performance...

bottleneck... think of this way... ur new GC can process data faster than the CPU feed it, so ur GC cannot work in the max potential... in another word, the CPU amy limit the performance of the GC...
+Quote Post
Agultiamat
post Dec 17 2008, 01:15 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #35

ermm so any recommendation for new cpu and motheboard regarding to my spec?
+Quote Post
arafat
post Dec 17 2008, 02:34 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #36

ROCK ON!

QUOTE(Agultiamat @ Dec 17 2008, 01:15 PM)
ermm so any recommendation for new cpu and motheboard regarding to my spec?

your question is too general i think
you want to stay with amd or change to intel?
how much is the budget.
but i agree that your proc need to be upgraded
+Quote Post
ruffaz
post Dec 17 2008, 02:34 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #37

yes I am a noob

budget? wink.gif if money is not an object to you, e8600 and something with "formula" behind should do superb tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ruffaz: Dec 17 2008, 02:35 PM
+Quote Post
coffeebreak
post Dec 17 2008, 06:26 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #38

ahhhh paiseh T_T i has no digi cam and mah phone camera cant seem to capture it clearly......

all i can do is provide the model~ SST-ST400, now trying to google for the specs....

EDIT: i found it~

here's da link

thanks so far for the help

so umm, what gc can this support?

This post has been edited by coffeebreak: Dec 17 2008, 06:29 PM
+Quote Post
rainzai
post Dec 18 2008, 02:14 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #39

QUOTE(lucifah @ Dec 15 2008, 06:07 PM)
bukan short circuit or use screw driver
get a piece of wire and connect the green wire to the black one (any black will do)

those normal black and green wire tat can buy from hardware accessories shops?

This post has been edited by rainzai: Dec 18 2008, 02:16 PM
+Quote Post
Clavicus
post Dec 18 2008, 11:48 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #40

Question: Are bad clusters on a new hard drive something to worry about?
+Quote Post

129 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » 
Bump TopicClosed TopicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd November 2009 - 12:08 PM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)