Lowyat.NET Forums

LYN wins Intel-Lenovo-Tangs Blogathon challenge. Thank you everybody!

RSS feedBump TopicClosed TopicStart new topicStart Poll

> closed, closed

speed7791
post Dec 5 2008, 03:44 PM

Group: Junior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

closed

This post has been edited by speed7791: Jun 8 2009, 11:36 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Lord_Ashe
post Dec 5 2008, 04:06 PM

Old Treasure Hunter Sidekick

Group: Senior Member

Sorry to hear what happened to you. Good tips. I need to buy a steering lock now.
+Quote Post
mr_boonez
post Dec 5 2008, 04:08 PM

"they will pry open your passenger key slot or boot key slot n take it to create a key"

what about car alarm? not triggered?
kinda confused how these guy duplicate the keys
+Quote Post
adriankhoo153
post Dec 5 2008, 04:13 PM

Get an alarm with imo
User is online!Profile CardPM
+Quote Post
RME-RAnger
post Dec 5 2008, 04:22 PM

great sharing, sorry to heard tat
+Quote Post
wanjpun
post Dec 5 2008, 04:31 PM

Group: New Member

try using auto lock. i hear its gud but pricey rm200 i tink... last i saw.
+Quote Post
sonic_cd
post Dec 5 2008, 04:44 PM

-----Emma Watson^----- 11k Spam Club(R)(C)Mac user

damn, and i work there sweat.gif
+Quote Post
azbro
post Dec 5 2008, 04:50 PM

Never get Autolock Pro....since I know a few ways of opening it, there has been many ppl. asking me how to do it because of various problems like Keystuck, shaft jammed etc.

Of course I need proof before giving them the secret formula.
+Quote Post
speed7791
post Dec 5 2008, 05:08 PM

QUOTE(mr_boonez @ Dec 5 2008, 04:08 PM)
"they will pry open your passenger key slot or boot key slot n take it to create a key"

what about car alarm? not triggered?
kinda confused how these guy duplicate the keys

they basically pry open your passenger door handle... like the whole stuff. left only hole. > they then take out the key slot from the damaged handle n go to the shop n ask the fella to create a key from it. u usually won't notice until u reach home. so if u notice your door handle 'longgar' u can bet someone tried to damage it to make a key. they didn't make it cos maybe they saw u coming or someone saw them while they were 'on the job' so they left it. quickly change to a new lockset.

in addition to using a steering lock, its also advisable to change the ignition key. so that even if they can create a key from the passenger lockset or boot they can't start the engine. a decent lockset may cost RM200 or less. most duplicate key shop will have that service. standard alarm very fast to disarm. few seconds for those who r expert.

immobilizers are helpful but if the thief has enough time u can kiss your car goodbye too. theft prevention devices or equipment are deterrents at best. there is no guarantee. tracking devices are best. setback is that its a little costly for the masses. even so, their success rate maybe 8 out of 10.
+Quote Post
azbro
post Dec 5 2008, 05:42 PM

Changing the ignition key will delay the thief 20secs or less before he use the hot wires and forcefully break the steering/wheels locking mechanism.

One thing is you send your car to fit stuff like immo, additional locking stuff etc, make sure reputable shop. Dun go to shop at the kaki lima (even if they open a booth at Shopping Mall)....many times I've seen these shops close down after a few months and the owner have to change the whole key set and Alarm as a precaution.
+Quote Post

Bump TopicClosed TopicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st November 2009 - 11:37 AM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)