Lowyat.NET Forums

LYN wins Intel-Lenovo-Tangs Blogathon challenge. Thank you everybody!
158 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > »  
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V2, ASK HERE! Dont create a thread elsewhere (Buying Advice)

TheWandererX
post Dec 1 2008, 06:50 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #41

Group: Senior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

QUOTE(blackankh @ Dec 1 2008, 01:57 PM)

Olympus FE series. wub.gif

http://www.olympusimage.com.my/products/compact/fe_series/

Cheap and suits your need - dual IS. =)

P.S.: I guess Olympus FE is really a good camera, you can't deny it...

However based on this review it is one of the worst..

the site is here...

* We like: Build and styling, decent feature set for the price, flash performance
* We don't like: Slow operation, poor low light performance, auto white balance and metering a bit flakey, proprietary xD card format

It's mostly subjective. People have different preferences. If person A doesn't like this camera, obviously there's another person out there who would like it.

It's all up to personal preference. If you choose the Olympus, then that's your choice - if you choose the Canon, it's your choice also.

What we do here is to show you the available choices you have, not the camera you should buy. We aren't salesmen here - we don't bias on a specific brand.

Base your accusations on a firmer ground next time.

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Dec 1 2008, 04:50 PM)
Hi. newbie in photography..need some recommendation

Type of camera/lens/accesories :  entry level , anything that's relatively good (2nd hand only)
Budget: mm how much for a used entry level camera? (err around rm600 )?
Your Location:   Subang Jaya/ PJ
Preferable brand : Any
Type of photography u want to do :  General, mostly on scenery
Any specific models in mind? :  newbie here, D40 recommended?
Any specific features u want? : -

Entry level? Do you want a PnS or a DSLR?

If DSLR, it's kinda impossible to get a D40 at that price (I think)...

For entry-level DSLRs, based on a RM2k budget, you can get:

Sony a200 (1.4k for kit, 2k for twin kit)
Canon EOS-1000D (2k for kit)
Nikon D40 (1.xk for kit, most probably used)
Nikon D60 (2k for kit)
Nikon D80 (2k+- for kit, used)
Olympus E-520 (2k+ for kit, used/new, not sure)

If you're looking for the most value for money one, get the a200... and if you can fork out 2k, ... read reviews of the above mentioned.

This post has been edited by TheWandererX: Dec 1 2008, 06:53 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
SanosukeSagara
post Dec 1 2008, 11:45 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #42

2008 2008

Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR/PnS
Budget: ~1.6k
Your Location: KL
Preferable brand : canon, nikon, panny
Type of photography u want to do : hdr
Any specific models in mind? : lumix LX3
Any specific features u want? : AEB
+Quote Post
joyyy
post Dec 1 2008, 11:50 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #43

QUOTE(SanosukeSagara @ Dec 1 2008, 11:45 PM)

Note that HDR can only be achieved via software generation.
And if you're not planning on taking 3 or more exposures of the same picture, it's wise to get a camera that supports RAW.
That way you get to 'cheat' and are able to generate a HDR image with the single RAW file.
+Quote Post
abang
post Dec 2 2008, 03:12 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #44

The Abang Family

Type of camera/lens/accesories : PnS
Budget: 1-1.1k
Preferable brand : any
Type of photography u want to do : general use
Any specific models in mind? : nikon s710, olympus 1060
Any specific features u want? :

what do you guys think? need respond asap. thx!
+Quote Post
mctnesh
post Dec 2 2008, 07:22 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #45

Group: Junior Member

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Dec 1 2008, 10:52 AM)
Shashinki.com sells it... but it's kinda overpriced... so I'd recommend you to scout around your neighbourhood's photo shops and let them quote a price for you. If you can, bargain in a few freebies to help yourself =)
Oh, thanks for the info - I'm not sure about the Olympus' prices.

Anyway, the 100-200 can usually be bargained off the seller one.  brows.gif

Thanks for your reply smile.gif
Its rather unfortunate that i am at UK and the camera is a gift for my girlfriend who lives in Malaysia.
+Quote Post
lobo
post Dec 2 2008, 10:28 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #46

[quote=blackankh,Dec 1 2008, 01:57 PM]
Olympus FE series. wub.gif

http://www.olympusimage.com.my/products/compact/fe_series/

Cheap and suits your need - dual IS. =)

P.S.: I guess Olympus FE is really a good camera, you can't deny it...

[/quote]

However based on this review it is one of the worst..

the site is here...

[/quote]

Can't agree more.
I have used an Olympus FE series before.
Undeniably, the performance sucks. A lot.
+Quote Post
tnhafiz
post Dec 2 2008, 12:53 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #47

Type of camera/lens/accesories :prosumer
Budget:rm1000
Your Location:kl
Preferable brand :kodak or pentax or lumix
Type of photography u want to do :landscape,potrait,sport
Any specific models in mind? :kodak z1285,lumix tz15
Any specific features u want? :i dont know.more features is better

This post has been edited by tnhafiz: Dec 2 2008, 07:43 PM
+Quote Post
bargo
post Dec 2 2008, 06:26 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #48

Group: New Member

Type of camera/lens/accesories:Prosumer
Budget: Roughly RM1.2k
Your Location: Klang Valley
Preferable brand: Lumix or Canon
Type of photography u want to do: All Rounder
Any specific models in mind?: Canon Powershot S5 & Lumix FZ28
Any specific features u want?: Not really, maybe a good burst mode?

I'm still new into photography and I still don't want to step into the DSLR world.. YET. tongue.gif
But I guess I just want something solid enough as a start but without the high price tag.
I've already had a little bad experiences with Sony so I guess that's out of the picture.
Please do suggest any other models that fits into my list and I'll take them into consideration as well.
Thanks all! blush.gif
+Quote Post
joe444
post Dec 3 2008, 07:57 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #49

Type of camera/lens/accesories: Compact
Budget: about RM1000.00
Preferable brand : Panasonic
Type of photography u want to do :
Any specific models in mind? : Lumix FS5
+Quote Post
TheWandererX
post Dec 3 2008, 10:19 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #50

QUOTE(SanosukeSagara @ Dec 1 2008, 11:45 PM)

If you're already well off in PnS and you want to move on, get a DSLR.. but if you're still not ready to venture into DSLR then get the LX3. AEB is a feature available in every prosumer/DSLR camera.

QUOTE(mctnesh @ Dec 2 2008, 07:22 AM)
Thanks for your reply smile.gif
Its rather unfortunate that i am at UK and the camera is a gift for my girlfriend who lives in Malaysia.

Oh.. you could ask your friend to get it for you then.

QUOTE(lobo @ Dec 2 2008, 10:28 AM)
Can't agree more.
I have used an Olympus FE series before.
Undeniably, the performance sucks. A lot.

Ok, if you think it sucks, then it's your opinion.

QUOTE(tnhafiz @ Dec 2 2008, 12:53 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :prosumer 
Budget:rm1000
Your Location:kl  
Preferable brand :kodak or pentax or lumix 
Type of photography u want to do :landscape,potrait,sport 
Any specific models in mind? :kodak z1285,lumix tz15 
Any specific features u want? :i dont know.more features is better

Increase your budget a little more and get the LX3. The best prosumer around and trust me, you'll be happy about it.

Anyway, if you really can't, have a look at the PowerShot S5 or the FZ28. These should be around your price range.

QUOTE(bargo @ Dec 2 2008, 06:26 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories:Prosumer
Budget: Roughly RM1.2k
Your Location: Klang Valley
Preferable brand: Lumix or Canon
Type of photography u want to do: All Rounder
Any specific models in mind?: Canon Powershot S5 & Lumix FZ28
Any specific features u want?: Not really, maybe a good burst mode?

I'm still new into photography and I still don't want to step into the DSLR world.. YET.  tongue.gif
But I guess I just want something solid enough as a start but without the high price tag.
I've already had a little bad experiences with Sony so I guess that's out of the picture.
Please do suggest any other models that fits into my list and I'll take them into consideration as well.
Thanks all!  blush.gif

If you can increase your budget, get an LX3 because there's not much choice in the prosumer range. Anyway, you could stick to your choices - but you should play with each one first. I've never used both so I can't comment.
+Quote Post
sQew
post Dec 3 2008, 10:20 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #51

Type of camera/lens/accesories: DSLR
Budget: about RM1500 - RM2000
Preferable brand : CANON or NIKON
Any specific models in mind? : NIKON D60 OR EOS1000D

My Questions:
1)What is the price for above two models?
2) To which place i must go for a good price.
3) Usually with a purchase what other accessory will i get? (memory card, tripod, beg) <--will i get those?
+Quote Post
pogo
post Dec 3 2008, 10:41 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #52

Panasonic Lumix LS80 + 2G SD card + camera case + Vanson charger & batteries + screen protecter + Nikon tripod = RM 520

Good bargain or overpriced? hmm.gif
+Quote Post
TheWandererX
post Dec 3 2008, 11:50 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #53

QUOTE(sQew @ Dec 3 2008, 10:20 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories: DSLR
Budget: about RM1500 - RM2000

My Questions:
1)What is the price for above two models?
3) Usually with a purchase what other accessory will i get? (memory card, tripod, beg) <--will i get those?

D60 is around RM2k for new kit. 1000D also.

If you want, might help to consider a200.. RM1.4k for kit, and RM2k for twin kit set.

a350 is RM2k+ for a kit set.

QUOTE(pogo @ Dec 3 2008, 10:41 AM)
Panasonic Lumix LS80 + 2G SD card + camera case + Vanson charger & batteries + screen protecter + Nikon tripod = RM 520

Good bargain or overpriced?  hmm.gif

The price is ok, you probably earn a few extra dollars from that. If you cant find a better deal, get it.
+Quote Post
pogo
post Dec 3 2008, 12:37 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #54

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Dec 3 2008, 11:50 AM)
The price is ok, you probably earn a few extra dollars from that. If you cant find a better deal, get it.

Thanx, dude! nod.gif
Quite dizzy rclxub.gif choosing the right DC which bangs for my bucks.
+Quote Post
TheWandererX
post Dec 3 2008, 12:47 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #55

QUOTE(pogo @ Dec 3 2008, 12:37 PM)
Thanx, dude! nod.gif 
Quite dizzy  rclxub.gif  choosing the right DC which bangs for my bucks.

Anyway, the extra money is topup to get those items, but if china brand chiplak stuff, then don't get it. You're topping up quite a bit there.
+Quote Post
sQew
post Dec 3 2008, 01:35 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #56

Which place is the best for me to get good bargains at good price also reliable?
+Quote Post
TheWandererX
post Dec 3 2008, 03:10 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #57

@sQew:

It depends on what you're looking for.

What are you looking for?
+Quote Post
sQew
post Dec 3 2008, 03:15 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #58

Quoting from my earlier post:

My Questions:
+Quote Post
pogo
post Dec 3 2008, 03:20 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #59

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Dec 3 2008, 12:47 PM)
Anyway, the extra money is topup to get those items, but if china brand chiplak stuff, then don't get it. You're topping up quite a bit there.

Really?? shocking.gif
Meaning that without the freebies, I'd be able to purchase it with lower price? ohmy.gif
+Quote Post
TheWandererX
post Dec 3 2008, 05:17 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #60

QUOTE(sQew @ Dec 3 2008, 03:15 PM)
Quoting from my earlier post:

My Questions:

That, I can't tell you - I ain't a price surveyor of camera shops, but there's one thing you can do - invade every camera shop you see. Ask them to quote you a price. After doing so, bargain kao kao... Ask them to give you this and that, and if the deal still doesn't please you, walk out. It's your right as a buyer.

Just as a side note: I got mine for RM2000. Inclusive of free Class 2 Sandisk SDHC, cleaning kit (cloth, liquid, blower etc), extra battery, and extra sling bag. Oh, and extra UV filter.

QUOTE(pogo @ Dec 3 2008, 03:20 PM)
Really?? shocking.gif
Meaning that without the freebies, I'd be able to purchase it with lower price?  ohmy.gif

Lower yes, but not sure how much the shop owner will give you loh.
+Quote Post

158 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » 
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd November 2009 - 12:59 PM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)