Lowyat.NET Forums

84 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > »  
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> The Phenom II Official Thread, Phenom II TWKR Edition?

ruffaz
post Nov 21 2008, 06:11 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #81

yes I am a noob

Group: Senior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

omg lol 6ghz... >_> but to get the cooler... i can cry/beg at shopper only =x

but the voltage that had been given to the proc pretty too much @_@ which will really shorten the life of the proc

This post has been edited by ruffaz: Nov 21 2008, 06:13 AM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
awh85
post Nov 21 2008, 07:29 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #82

seems the phenom II work really well with the 790GX boards. still waiting for my board doh.gif

+Quote Post
s@ni
post Nov 21 2008, 07:41 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #83

Gambar Di Lesen Kereta Saya

nothing bout mobile proc?

seems that they lack in that area blush.gif
nowadays people use portable device more than desktop.
so,will they venture into mobilephone/smartphone's procs? brows.gif

sweat.gif not appropriate to ask that question here,but hey.i don't know where to put doh.gif
+Quote Post
lex
post Nov 21 2008, 07:42 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #84

Old Am I?

Group: Moderator

Source: http://techreport.com/discussions.x/15927
AMD overclocks 45nm Phenoms to 4GHz and beyond
by Cyril Kowaliski — 1:47 PM on November 20, 2008

According to AMD's latest roadmaps, 45nm Phenom II processors are just a few weeks away from launch—they'll materialize at the Consumer Electronic Show in early January. Not a bad time to start gauging the overclocking potential of these chips, right?

AMD took care of that itself at an event in Austin this morning, where it showcased four overclocked Phenom II systems. TR editor-in-chief Scott Wasson was on the scene, and while AMD didn't allow attendees to take pictures, he jotted down a few details.

The slowest system—cooled with a heatsink and fan—managed to reach just under 4GHz with a 1.55V core voltage. With liquid cooling, AMD successfully pushed a 45nm Phenom II in another machine just over the 4GHz mark. That required kicking up the CPU voltage to 1.6V, however. For the other two systems, AMD took out the big guns. One was strapped to a phase-change cooler and reached the mid-4GHz range at 1.7V, while the fastest system managed to well over 5GHz using liquid nitrogen (which kept the core temperature down to a chilly -185°C).

Considering the latest leaked roadmaps suggest the fastest Phenom II launch CPU will run at 3GHz, those are pretty decent overclocks. We should note that AMD was using Crysis to test stability, however, and that only stresses a couple of cores at best.

+Quote Post
tachlio
post Nov 21 2008, 08:19 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #85

de~sign "ing"

haha, all is extreme cooling
+Quote Post
lex
post Nov 21 2008, 08:48 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #86

Old Am I?

QUOTE(tachlio @ Nov 21 2008, 08:19 AM)
haha, all is extreme cooling
Not all.. Did you read the part.. brows.gif
The slowest system—cooled with a heatsink and fan—managed to reach just under 4GHz with a 1.55V core voltage. With liquid cooling, AMD successfully pushed a 45nm Phenom II in another machine just over the 4GHz mark. That required kicking up the CPU voltage to 1.6V, however.
Still a little (rather) high Vcore.. sweat.gif hmm.gif

More here: http://www.legitreviews.com/article/836/1/ (with pictures!) wink.gif
+Quote Post
andrekua
post Nov 21 2008, 09:01 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #87

LOL...

Enough of talking, show us the benchies.
Still didnt have enough details.
If they can match Wolfdale, I will salute AMD liao. They are getting onto the right path. If -5-10% again, shove them out.

This post has been edited by andrekua: Nov 21 2008, 09:03 AM
+Quote Post
rosihan
post Nov 21 2008, 10:02 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #88

**My Stupid Campus Life**

waa need to upgrade mobo 1st b4 switching 2 phenom II rclxms.gif
+Quote Post
pikacu
post Nov 21 2008, 10:27 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #89

the highest clock is the stable clock? hmm.gif

but the vcore kinda high...?
+Quote Post
Alexes
post Nov 21 2008, 10:58 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #90

ordinary

Hmm... just wait till the real thing out...
+Quote Post
lex
post Nov 21 2008, 11:17 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #91

Old Am I?

QUOTE(pikacu @ Nov 21 2008, 10:27 AM)
the highest clock is the stable clock? hmm.gif
Most of those are suicide shots.. Stable overclocks unknown.. hmm.gif

QUOTE(pikacu @ Nov 21 2008, 10:27 AM)
but the vcore kinda high...?
Isn't this kinda high? 1.55V for just under 4GHz with air cooling, and 1.6V for just over 4GHz with liquid cooling.. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Nov 21 2008, 11:18 AM
+Quote Post
pikacu
post Nov 21 2008, 11:22 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #92

that vcore, compared to E8400, izit high or low? hmm.gif
+Quote Post
lex
post Nov 21 2008, 11:56 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #93

Old Am I?

QUOTE(pikacu @ Nov 21 2008, 11:22 AM)
that vcore, compared to E8400, izit high or low? hmm.gif
Considered very high.. sweat.gif Even 1.4V is considered quite high sweat.gif

Those 1.55V to 1.6V are considered "suicide" voltages.. sweat.gif

Example http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets/intel...spx?i=3184&p=11 (QX9650 overclocking voltages) wink.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Nov 21 2008, 12:09 PM
+Quote Post
AMDAthlon
post Nov 21 2008, 12:07 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #94

The AMD's /ATi Member Since 1995

Hmm..How the Nehalem VCore Compared to it?Wolfdale really cannot compare as it has no IMC/the architechtural not very diff with Deneb.
Last time i saw Core i7 4Ghz around 1.4xVCore right?

+Quote Post
lex
post Nov 21 2008, 12:14 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #95

Old Am I?

QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ Nov 21 2008, 12:07 PM)
Hmm..How the Nehalem VCore Compared to it?Wolfdale really cannot compare as it has no IMC/the architechtural not very diff with Deneb.
Last time i saw Core i7 4Ghz around 1.4xVCore right?
Yups, that was around 1.4V+.. nod.gif

Example http://www.hardocp.com/article.html?art=MT...GhlbnRodXNpYXN0 Kyle of HardOCP overclocked a Core i7 920 just under 4GHz, around 3.8GHz with 1.35V (lowest possible voltage), and up to 4.18GHz on 1.536V hmm.gif

EDIT: Saw this in the other thread http://www.hkepc.com/1934/page/14#view Core i7 920 at 4GHz with 1.328V only ("golden" chip this one, methinks) brows.gif

EDIT: More information http://i4memory.com/f56/amd-austin-tech-da...n-inside-11713/
I quite literally just got back to the hotel from AMD's Austin campus after a day with some rather interesting information being disclosed and freely discussed.

Unfortunately, the level of free discussion outside of the room is heavily covered by NDA so I'm unable to announce specific details. But this is what I can say...

The new platform from AMD will be called 'Dragon' and will be focused around the new 'Phenom II' processors, 4800-series Radeon graphics cards and 7-series chipset based motherboards.

Here are some general performance observations that I can disclose:

Phenom II and the Dragon platform can overclock to 4GHz on air - we were demonstrated a system @ 3.9GHz using stock bus frequency and HT link frequency and a multiplier set at 19.5x. This was done with 1.55v BIOS set. This system was looping endlessly through a Crysis time demo without issue; by the end of the day it was past 100 loops.

The platform core specifications demonstrated were as follows:

Phenom II processor
GIGABYTE GA-MA790GP-DS4H motherboard
Radeon HD4870X2 graphics
OCZ Reaper memory

While the unit demonstrated was @ 3.9GHz, we later had a hands on benching period with the new platform and I was able to quite easily reach this stated 4GHz frequency.

This same platform also exceeded 5GHz on liquid nitrogen cooling. But what was perhaps the coolest (no pun intended) specific of this demonstration was the processor operating and even cold booting at -196 degrees Celsius - that's right, AMD has no cold bugs of any kind, at all for Phenom II!

During this LN2 session the system was demonstrated operating in excess of 5GHz and running 1.95v BIOS set (1.936v CPU-Z read in Windows) and as stated, at the maximum lowest temps available with liquid nitrogen - time to find a liquid helium supplier peeps!

I'm gagged by the NDA on any further information and specifications such as model numbers, product features + specs, stock clock frequencies or even specific overclocked frequencies (i.e. LN2 max) as well as pricing, competitive performance or bench scores. So please, don't even bother asking me these questions as I cannot and will not answer these questions - at least until the NDA drops.

What I wanted to do with this post is at least let you all know that there is hope still for AMD and that while I've harped on about the LN2 experience, the overclocking ability is solid for LN2, phase, water and air cooling methods.

This post has been edited by lex: Nov 21 2008, 12:56 PM
+Quote Post
xk2
post Nov 21 2008, 03:08 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #96

***xk²™☑♫♪♪♫♪♫***

+Quote Post
andrekua
post Nov 21 2008, 05:09 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #97

http://www.koc2.com/kawanua-overclocking-c...g-6ghz-is-here/

Where is the benchies? Wanna prepare my applause for AMD if they really did it.
+Quote Post
maxburnz
post Nov 21 2008, 06:27 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #98

xtreme...overclocking..
pergh..better put dry ice in your rig on top of you heatsink biggrin.gif
+Quote Post
ndgoh
post Nov 21 2008, 06:32 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #99

Hmmm... AMD dont new mobo chipset? 790... 790... and 790 only? Dont have 890? 990?
+Quote Post
xk2
post Nov 21 2008, 06:46 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #100

***xk²™☑♫♪♪♫♪♫***

+Quote Post

84 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » 
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 4th July 2009 - 06:47 PM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~looking for Mikaela~)