Lowyat.NET Forums

LYN wins Intel-Lenovo-Tangs Blogathon challenge. Thank you everybody!
90 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > »  
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> The Phenom II Official Thread, Phenom II TWKR Edition?

Sib
post Nov 23 2008, 03:40 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #121

dumb dumb dumb

Group: Senior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

QUOTE(kellefe @ Nov 23 2008, 03:38 PM)
Are phenom II can compete with intel corei7 ?
sorry for my stupid question ~~

it's been discussed earlier in the previous posts, read up...sleep.gif
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
hakimz
post Nov 24 2008, 09:43 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #122

Group: Junior Member

Huh AMD release overclock version of Phenom finally sweat.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
+Quote Post
maxburnz
post Nov 25 2008, 03:45 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #123

ya...december is coming...let waits for amd to drop the older proc prices
+Quote Post
X.E.D
post Nov 25 2008, 11:25 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #124

this will f*ck you up

A definitive source instead of a lot of hush-hush here and there.

http://www.extremeoverclocking.com/article..._Preview_1.html

While I can't give exact numbers in terms of GHz, I can give you some of the voltages and temps seen while running the Crysis demo. Keep in mind these temps are not anywhere near 100% CPU usage, but they aren't exactly idle either.

Air: Cooler Master Hyper Z600 - Around 1.5-1.55V / 33C
Water/Tec: CoolIT Freezone Elite - Around 1.6V / 38C
Phase Change: VapoChill - 1.7V / Below 0C (software / MB wouldn't report negative numbers)
LN2: 1.75V (at least during the Crysis demo... *grin*)

So Air 1.5-1.55 100% load should be around 40-45 C, since the Z600 is quite a decent heatsink.
With heat output like that, it obviously is not suicidal. smile.gif

At least much less than this. tongue.gif

As for benchmarks, don't believe most of them out there. Too salty. Some reputable guys have a chip (or the ES of Athlon X2 7750- 2.7Ghz Kuma) so we might see some activity here and there to keep us entertained till Jan 8.

This post has been edited by X.E.D: Nov 25 2008, 11:25 AM
+Quote Post
pikacu
post Nov 25 2008, 11:43 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #125

OMG D:

currently out there, there is fake Phenom II benchmark by some blog website...do not trust it, pure fakes !
+Quote Post
lex
post Nov 26 2008, 05:32 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #126

Old Am I?

Group: Moderator

Source: Phenom II X4 overclocked to 3.6GHz on air cooling

On other news...

From the collection of news here, it seems the highest Phenom II 940 will be around Intel's Core 2 Quad Q9950 prices, and the Phenom II 920 will be around Intel Core 2 Quad Q9400 prices. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Nov 26 2008, 05:59 AM
+Quote Post
ikanayam
post Nov 26 2008, 08:51 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #127

there are no pacts between fish and men

QUOTE(X.E.D @ Nov 25 2008, 11:25 AM)
A definitive source instead of a lot of hush-hush here and there.

http://www.extremeoverclocking.com/article..._Preview_1.html
So Air 1.5-1.55 100% load should be around 40-45 C, since the Z600 is quite a decent heatsink.
With heat output like that, it obviously is not suicidal.  smile.gif
At least much less than this.  tongue.gif

As for benchmarks, don't believe most of them out there. Too salty. Some reputable guys have a chip (or the ES of Athlon X2 7750- 2.7Ghz Kuma) so we might see some activity here and there to keep us entertained till Jan 8.

It's the voltage that kills, not the heat. The heat just quickens the effect.
+Quote Post
X.E.D
post Nov 26 2008, 10:05 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #128

this will f*ck you up

QUOTE(ikanayam @ Nov 26 2008, 08:51 AM)
It's the voltage that kills, not the heat. The heat just quickens the effect.

Well, if a 50 Degrees Celsius dies of electromigration quickly, they've probably got their process really wrong.

Plus, gate width wasn't decreased substantially either, IIRC 7%.

I know this probably can't be compared straight, but Intel's Penryn 45nm had at least a 20%-25% voltage headroom over stock vCore before it got killed quickly. Not sure how high Nehalem can go for long usage yet, though.

With that same 20% headroom Deneb gets to go to 1.6v safely, as a worst case scenario (since Penryn was the first chip to really break down at what was previously thought safe voltages for CPUs. O/c it's a new process and such, but lol enthusiast community)

This post has been edited by X.E.D: Nov 26 2008, 10:08 AM
+Quote Post
Maxieos
post Nov 26 2008, 03:04 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #129

Saw the price is around this.

Phenom II 940 BE: Approx. 340$ = RM 1250
Phenom II 920: Approx. 300$ = RM 1100

http://forums.vr-zone.com/showthread.php?t=357110
+Quote Post
pikacu
post Nov 26 2008, 03:09 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #130

OMG D:

the price seems to be more expensive than Core i7 920 prices.

I expect the price of Phenom II 940 is around Core i7 920..
+Quote Post
phunkydude
post Nov 26 2008, 03:24 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #131

FuNkT@st|c~

even the P2-920 also priced higher than i7-920 sweat.gif

also, the pricing looks not so attractive for new system builders,
it seems the Q9550-E0 setups will favors more with its price not being challenged.
+Quote Post
ikanayam
post Nov 26 2008, 03:55 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #132

there are no pacts between fish and men

QUOTE(X.E.D @ Nov 26 2008, 10:05 AM)
Well, if a 50 Degrees Celsius dies of electromigration quickly, they've probably got their process really wrong.

Plus, gate width wasn't decreased substantially either, IIRC 7%.
I know this probably can't be compared straight, but Intel's Penryn 45nm had at least a 20%-25% voltage headroom over stock vCore before it got killed quickly. Not sure how high Nehalem can go for long usage yet, though.

With that same 20% headroom Deneb gets to go to 1.6v safely, as a worst case scenario (since Penryn was the first chip to really break down at what was previously thought safe voltages for CPUs. O/c it's a new process and such, but lol enthusiast community)

If you pump in a dangerous voltage, it's going to die pretty quickly because the current density is a bigger factor than the temperature if you're talking about electromigration. It may not fail completely right away, because it's going to kill the slightly malformed wires and gate oxides first, and depending on how lucky you are those might not be in critical parts. But it can cause instability etc first. As a rule, i would not go 15% over the default. Electromigration does not only kill transistors, it kills wires too.

If gate width was reduced 7% on average, shanghai would be larger than barcelona lol.
+Quote Post
tech3910
post Nov 26 2008, 04:15 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #133

Prototype

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Nov 26 2008, 03:04 PM)
Saw the price is around this.

Phenom II 940 BE: Approx. 340$ = RM 1250
Phenom II 920: Approx. 300$ = RM 1100

http://forums.vr-zone.com/showthread.php?t=357110

hm................. hmm.gif
its weird, not the AMD i know.
as far as i'm concern, dey nvr price their processor higher den intel offering which beat dem.

either the info is not true, or phenom II has something up its sleeve.................
+Quote Post
X.E.D
post Nov 26 2008, 04:28 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #134

this will f*ck you up

QUOTE(ikanayam @ Nov 26 2008, 03:55 PM)
If you pump in a dangerous voltage, it's going to die pretty quickly because the current density is a bigger factor than the temperature if you're talking about electromigration. It may not fail completely right away, because it's going to kill the slightly malformed wires and gate oxides first, and depending on how lucky you are those might not be in critical parts. But it can cause instability etc first. As a rule, i would not go 15% over the default. Electromigration does not only kill transistors, it kills wires too.

If gate width was reduced 7% on average, shanghai would be larger than barcelona lol.

Oops, that was gate length.
What about modifications to thickness?

The Phen-I 9950 Black Edition had a standard vCore range of 1.25-1.3 (non-Pstate)
AMD didn't give too many hints on the Opteron Barcelonas, but even the 75W ACP bin is suggested to all have a 1.2 vCore like the 1.35 for the 75W Shanghai.

Normally voltage goes down with shrinks, so this is rather unusual.

QUOTE(tech3910 @ Nov 26 2008, 04:15 PM)
as far as i'm concern, dey nvr price their processor higher den intel offering which beat dem.

either the info is not true, or phenom II has something up its sleeve.................

It can be true. 2.8Ghz 920 is cheaper than 2.83Ghz Q9550.
3Ghz 940 is way cheaper than 2.93Ghz i7 940 or 3Ghz Q9650.

However I wished prices were slightly lower, to make pricing (on the Phenom X3 side) make more sense.

I think the 940 pricing should be 300-330USD MSRP, putting it in direct competition with the locked Q9550, and current inflated Core i7 920. This will be a good fight.

920 should be 260-280USD, making the Q9450 (doesn't OC too nicely) cry if the HTT overclocking is good.

This post has been edited by X.E.D: Nov 26 2008, 04:39 PM
+Quote Post
lex
post Nov 26 2008, 06:15 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #135

Old Am I?

Those are initial prices, they are always a bit higher (price gouging). Once the prices settle down, they will come down to around Q9550 to Q4000 levels. wink.gif

They will use clock speeds to compete. rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Nov 26 2008, 06:16 PM
+Quote Post
astria
post Nov 26 2008, 09:30 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #136

Onion

if i remember correctly, Aussie shop prices are always more expensive...

i'll wait for newegg to release the price and see...
+Quote Post
BigSaver
post Nov 26 2008, 09:31 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #137

Dun look at my star.

uh wit tat price..better way go to i7 isit??
wit tat price 2..got to forget my new dream getting phenom 2..huu..better upgrading my mobo
+Quote Post
pikacu
post Nov 27 2008, 01:22 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #138

OMG D:

Phenom II 940 vs C2Quad 9400 pre,benchmark? http://www.expreview.com/news/hard/2008-11...1538d10607.html

+Quote Post
lex
post Nov 27 2008, 02:40 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #139

Old Am I?

That 3DMark CPU score does somewhat indicate the Phenom II 940 will not be faster than Q9550? hmm.gif

And the gaming scores... are those IGP vs IGP? unsure.gif Or single card versus CrossfireX, 2-way CrossFireX or versus 4-way CrossFireX? Can only speculate.. Until then will await the announcement of system specifications used in that graph. hmm.gif
+Quote Post
AMDAthlon
post Nov 27 2008, 02:53 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #140

The AMD's /ATi Member Since 1995

Indeedly..The benchmark are still not fully..We will see..
Anyway the pricing will change later as AMD said,the pricing might be below Core i7 or just slightly above it.I wish the price at RM 850~1100..
+Quote Post

90 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » 
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd November 2009 - 03:59 PM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)