Lowyat.NET Forums

LYN wins Intel-Lenovo-Tangs Blogathon challenge. Thank you everybody!
3 Pages  1 2 3 > 
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topic

> The Pot Story, er... true life story...?

benwong88
post Oct 30 2008, 12:06 AM

Group: Junior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

finally! a great place to get feed back for my story! should have thought of this sooner, btw. i wrote this thing in july 2006. it's from my old blog

When the pot is new, brand new, all shiny & smooth... and just from the supermarket.. it's a beauty! but
and what made you choose that pot to bring home with you? what was the first thing that made you look its way? - physical attraction/curiosity

you read the labels, measure the size, and then u THINK that it is suitable for your needs and uses. so you decided to give it a try. that's why you bought it. - to understand it's capabilities or, to know more about it's capabilities

you bring it home, wash it, clean it, dry it, then you try it (by cooking & boiling water) - testing it's abilities

you find that it works like a charm, and to your standards, it amuses you and pleases you. and you are begining to like it. - courtesy, a feeling of affection, start of a relationship

you use the pot frequently, making delicious stews and soups to please both yourself and your associates. you rely on it as much as it relies on you to clean it after use. you 2 grow closer - love blossoms, aishiteru!

every time you use it, it makes you happy for the delicious foods it prepared for you within its bowels. - happiness, joy

and everytime you have to wash it later, scrub it up with soap, rinse it with water, then wipe it dry or leave it to dry on the window sill. - mutual understanding, respect, & need

the days goes by... and there is not a single time you have not been happy with the results shown by your pot. and is very happy that you chose the right pot that time. - satisfaction,joy

now from here on, anything can happen:

when you're done using the pot, washed it and leaving it to dry on the window sill... it might get stolen. because of your lack of attention towards it, you may have let your guard down or left the pot unattended for too long. in turn the thief leaves you a green hat for the pot - isolation, separation.

but alas, the recipes that requires a pot are somewhat limited... and thus another cooking utensil is introduced, the frying pan. - doubt, suspicion, & the presence of a third-party.

seemingly attached to the new frying pan, you seldom use the pot anymore... and it lays forgotten in the cupboard... for the rats to make their nest in, the pot never ceasing with its usefulness, becomes anothers' treasure. - confrontation, decomposition/isolation, separation.

or, you suddenly realise that the pot give you a much more healthy diet, and thus you store your frying pan away, and resume the delicious days of pot stews and chicken soups with the pot. happilly ever after. - realisation, appreciation, and to start anew.

or, if you use the pot, but is always careless with it, dropping it, hitting it, forgetting the switch of the fire for boilling the water, washing it, rinsed it, left it to dry, and forgot to take it back in untill it's too late. unremovable stains, rusts and dents may appear on the pot. rendering it unfit for use in a short time and so you are forced to throw the pot away. - insufficient care, negligent, waste of useful product by THROWing the POT.

or, you have always liked it, and the recipes that you can perform with it never ends, and since u like healthy foods more, you appreciate the pot even more, and promises to take care of it with the most care, love, & attention you can muster for it. happily every after. - fairy tale ending

but here is something that is always true. if you find that the pot no longer pleases you, and it's taking up space, here is no need for it to be in your kitchen. and since the longer it's there the more likely it becomes a nest for rodents, and the lack of space causing you pain & frustation. you must either let it up for a yard sale, give it to somebody, or just... throw it away?

The story above is dedicated to my good friend pearly & best buddy ducky... hopefully... they get the idea im trying to pass on...

**note : there's a few local slangs here.. i'll explain :
Throw pot : in cantonese "daeng pou" literally translates to 'throw pot', meaning to break up.
green hat : something like kena spanar by someone.

oh there's also a pot story part 2....
comments, complaints & compliments are welcomed.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
vo0de3_x | oum@n
post Oct 30 2008, 12:09 AM

iBanKai

Group: Senior Member

tak tau ape tu
+Quote Post
DarrenKCK
post Oct 30 2008, 12:14 AM

Group: New Member

pot is sok k?
+Quote Post
benwong88
post Oct 30 2008, 12:15 AM

... no
it's a PUN la! a story made from the PUN!
+Quote Post
DarrenKCK
post Oct 30 2008, 12:16 AM

PUN is what?
+Quote Post
anti-informatic
post Oct 30 2008, 12:16 AM

tl:dr

may i know the main point pls?
+Quote Post
silverhawk
post Oct 30 2008, 12:18 AM

I'm SHINY~!

Group: Elite

not bad
too bad a story like this would be mostly lost on this audience
+Quote Post
DarrenKCK
post Oct 30 2008, 12:18 AM

main point is all about relationship. am i right? pot is like relationship. must have trust
+Quote Post
Frostlord
post Oct 30 2008, 12:22 AM

nice stories.. it reflects a relationship perfectly
+Quote Post
benwong88
post Oct 30 2008, 12:22 AM

QUOTE(silverhawk @ Oct 30 2008, 12:18 AM)
not bad
too bad a story like this would be mostly lost on this audience

THANKYOU THANKYOU THANKYOU

the first line of apparent intelligence in this thread! wub.gif

yeah i thought so, but it was worth a try.. heh biggrin.gif
+Quote Post
Aeon89
post Oct 30 2008, 01:14 AM

nicely done, make sense and its true smile.gif looking forward to part 2
+Quote Post
ulun64
post Oct 30 2008, 01:32 AM

Not bad!!!! Good interpretations!!!!
+Quote Post
benwong88
post Oct 30 2008, 02:09 AM

merci beaucoup
+Quote Post
ChaosXP
post Oct 30 2008, 03:56 AM

Instant turn-on from the curves and the shine biggrin.gif

Nice post
+Quote Post
AHBOON
post Oct 30 2008, 04:10 AM

what is this ? is this an english class? what confrontation, decomposition/isolation, separation???

Added on October 30, 2008, 4:11 amisolation, separation?

This post has been edited by AHBOON: Oct 30 2008, 04:11 AM
+Quote Post
[+]
post Oct 30 2008, 04:26 AM

dapao outside la, why wan cook yourself?
+Quote Post
benwong88
post Oct 30 2008, 11:18 AM

QUOTE([+�)
,Oct 30 2008, 04:26 AM]
dapao outside la, why wan cook yourself?

somethings just won't taste the same
+Quote Post
xBubly
post Oct 30 2008, 11:20 AM

Very nice story for a 7 year old kid
+Quote Post
benwong88
post Oct 30 2008, 11:21 AM

that's what most of the audience here could understand
+Quote Post
King83
post Oct 30 2008, 11:31 AM

I'm the guy your mother warned you about

+Quote Post

3 Pages  1 2 3 >
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st November 2009 - 04:11 PM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)