Lowyat.NET Forums

LYN wins Intel-Lenovo-Tangs Blogathon challenge. Thank you everybody!
126 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > »  
RSS feedBump TopicClosed TopicStart new topicStart Poll

> Canon EOS Family, One Big EOS Family - V9!, DigitalRebelz, X0D, XD Territory! (Photography)

DiCalto
post Oct 3 2008, 03:49 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #161

Oats wanted

Group: Senior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

krooger... i just dig out my hoya filter casing... and it is purple in colour....not blur or green. laugh.gif

i think mine made in china... @@
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ic3kacang
post Oct 3 2008, 03:52 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #162

Group: Junior Member

QUOTE(krooger @ Oct 3 2008, 03:45 PM)
first, figure out a budget. then, find out what you can get with your budget.
then you can narrow down your choices but don't entirely ignore second-hand ones as well.
after that.... actually i'm really bad at giving purchasing advice hehe.

i wanted to say get the cheapest one you can afford first and build your skills from that.
once you have found out the limitations of your dslr/lens, you will know what you need next
e.g. better lenses, external flash, battery grip, etc. etc.  you can learn a lot from reading but
you can learn even more with a dslr in your hands. smile.gif

now does that one sound better?

hmmm...before that, i have made out a map d..
whether 1000D or 450D
budgget has such a large gap though..haha
but im still in entry level
so should i just go into 450D?
coz im planning for long term use <at least 3yrs>
1000D is very cheap...
Dilemma rclxub.gif
+Quote Post
DiCalto
post Oct 3 2008, 03:52 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #163

Oats wanted

icekacang...dslr body easy choose nia la... just pick the one that fit ur budget.. 3 range only.. laugh.gif

after that...lens and other accessories is the problem..
especially after u TT with viking...

ignore my rubbish... do some research.. XD
+Quote Post
ic3kacang
post Oct 3 2008, 03:56 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #164

right
but i thought that there are not much accessories for 1000D isn't it?
do u know about the market price for 450D with lens kit?
i think 18-55mm is enough for my current level d
+Quote Post
fcbarcelona-my
post Oct 3 2008, 03:58 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #165

QUOTE(! Love Money @ Oct 2 2008, 05:34 PM)
IMO newbie like me tongue.gif no need xtra storage, 4GB will do and will shoot until u crazy... just get a better lens than the kitlens

i oso need more CF cards and batt. aiyoh sweat.gif

QUOTE(ic3kacang @ Oct 3 2008, 03:52 PM)
hmmm...before that, i have made out a map d..
whether 1000D or 450D
budgget has such a large gap though..haha
but im still in entry level
so should i just go into 450D?
coz im planning for long term use <at least 3yrs>
1000D is very cheap...
Dilemma  rclxub.gif

berapa budget? brows.gif
+Quote Post
ic3kacang
post Oct 3 2008, 04:00 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #166

QUOTE(fcbarcelona-my @ Oct 3 2008, 03:58 PM)
i oso need more CF cards and batt. aiyoh  sweat.gif
berapa budget?  brows.gif

hmmm...around>3k
the best is around 2.5k

1000D only 1.9k
+Quote Post
Petre
post Oct 3 2008, 04:09 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #167

✿♥ shared account ♥✿

QUOTE(krooger @ Oct 3 2008, 02:55 PM)
why 2? please share your thoughts on this one, petre. smile.gif

i happen to have 58mm and 67mm CPL filters. both were gifts from somebody. haven't had the chance to try them out yet. tongue.gif

olympus mju series is very nice but how often do you shoot underwater? and they use XD memory cards right?  unsure.gif

erm... i assume both option 1 n 2 are not brand new right? n option 2 got more value at the risk of non warranty la... anyway, if u dun need the grip n extra batt, then go for option 1 biggrin.gif
+Quote Post
jaycee1
post Oct 3 2008, 04:13 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #168

If you are really on a tight budget and starting out, the 1000D is probably the best bang for the buck.

Its not far from what the 450D is. And if you are starting out, you probably wont notice any difference. But likewise, if you can swing the extra 800 or more, get the 450D. If not, your choices are just the 1000d.

Both the 1000d and 450D uses the same accesories (SDcard, BG-E5 battery grip and batteries). Lenses are standard EF/EFS...
+Quote Post
ic3kacang
post Oct 3 2008, 04:15 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #169

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Oct 3 2008, 04:13 PM)
If you are really on a tight budget and starting out, the 1000D is probably the best bang for the buck.

Its not far from what the 450D is. And if you are starting out, you probably wont notice any difference. But likewise, if you can swing the extra 800 or more, get the 450D. If not, your choices are just the 1000d.

Both the 1000d and 450D uses the same accesories (SDcard, BG-E5 battery grip and batteries). Lenses are standard EF/EFS...

how about 1000D vs 400D?
+Quote Post
Petre
post Oct 3 2008, 04:21 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #170

✿♥ shared account ♥✿

sorry to kacau the on going discussion but do we need a CPL filter? or the pics can always be corrected in PP? thanks
+Quote Post
sherren
post Oct 3 2008, 04:21 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #171

" Shoot Like A Pro "

QUOTE(ic3kacang @ Oct 3 2008, 04:15 PM)
how about 1000D vs 400D?

to see the difference you can see this chart the specs

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/compare_po...s1000d&show=all

450D = Multi-BASIS TTL, 9 focus points / 1000D = Multi-BASIS TTL, 7 focus points
3.5 fps, 53 JPEG or 6 RAW frames / 3.0 fps, unlimited, 1.5 fps for up to 4 RAW frames

This post has been edited by sherren: Oct 3 2008, 04:25 PM
+Quote Post
ic3kacang
post Oct 3 2008, 04:36 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #172

what is spot metering???
+Quote Post
bertz
post Oct 3 2008, 04:40 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #173

for the ones that do not have a dry cabinet,

do you guys keep your camera in the bag at home?
or you take it out and put it in some place.

mind sharing how you keep them?
+Quote Post
sherren
post Oct 3 2008, 04:46 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #174

" Shoot Like A Pro "

Here's the way i store currently blush.gif [ for longer storage ]

if in a bag i throw in silica gel
+Quote Post
bertz
post Oct 3 2008, 05:16 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #175

inside the pink tupperware is silica gels?
+Quote Post
sherren
post Oct 3 2008, 05:20 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #176

" Shoot Like A Pro "

QUOTE(bertz @ Oct 3 2008, 05:16 PM)
inside the pink tupperware is silica gels?

that is Thirsty Hippo, it can last for 1-3 months [ usually once liquid in the thirsty hippo reach the level , you better becareful not to spill it ] , i throw it away and replace a new one ,
+Quote Post
kentkoh
post Oct 3 2008, 05:25 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #177

QUOTE(sherren @ Oct 3 2008, 04:46 PM)
Here's the way i store currently  blush.gif  [ for longer storage ]

if in a bag i throw in silica gel

does it really work.? since there will be water in the Thirsty Hippo after a few days..

hope it work la...coz i have no budget to buy a cabinet ady..!! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by kentkoh: Oct 3 2008, 07:11 PM
+Quote Post
joyyy
post Oct 3 2008, 06:03 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #178

QUOTE(Petre @ Oct 3 2008, 04:21 PM)
sorry to kacau the on going discussion but do we need a CPL filter? or the pics can always be corrected in PP? thanks

The contrast of the skies and the water Can be corrected in PP, but it's gonna take some fiddling around with the curves.
The only thing that you'll have trouble with is the reflection, which can be removed by PP but cannot be applied using PP.

QUOTE(ic3kacang)
how about 1000D vs 400D?

I don't really care about Canon removing 2 AF points from the 1000d compared to the 400d which has 9.
I normally only use the centre AF point for shooting.
The ONLY thing that pisses me off about the 1000d is the 1.5fps burst rate for RAW. Compare this with the 3fps burst rate of the 400d, that's double the speed.
Although you feel that the 18-55mm is enough for you, trust me, you'll feel really limited by it after a few days of usage. So, why not get the cheaper body, and use the rest of your budget for additional lenses IF you might to get it.
+Quote Post
low98944
post Oct 3 2008, 06:47 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #179

...oooOOOooo...

QUOTE(ic3kacang @ Oct 3 2008, 03:21 PM)
uhuh...i see...
thanks a lot
im looking forward to get a dslr...so trying to learn things about it
hmm...still cannot make up my mind to get which model
aiks

You can refer to this website : http://web.canon.jp/imaging/enjoydslr/index.html

Canon will teach you the basis of DSLR. laugh.gif
+Quote Post
kentkoh
post Oct 3 2008, 07:11 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #180

anyone know how much is the normal hoya cpl and uv selling in the market?

Note : not the PRO1D.. just normal standard hoya CPL
+Quote Post

126 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » 
Bump TopicClosed TopicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd November 2009 - 05:06 AM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)