RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> AMD and INTEL, Which one better??Amd or Intel

ayie_admin
post Sep 7 2008, 04:26 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #1

Group: Junior Member

AMD are better processors for a few reasons:

Price - AMD chips are significantly cheaper than Intel in most cases.
Power Consumption - AMD processors tend to use much less power than an Intel equivalent.
Temperature - AMD chips often run cooler than Intel, so you don't have to use such large fans. This means the computer might run quieter too.

There are a couple of disadvantages though. For instance, Intel's HT (Hyperthreading Technology) is supposed to be excellent. This HT makes the processor act as though it is two processors, making multiple-thread calculations possible and increasing performance under certain conditions. The new Intel Dual-Core processors have two processing units inside on chip - they have also included HT in these, making the computer "appear" to have 4 processors. I've obviously not tested these chips, but if they're good, they will most likely blow the AMDs away.

... Unless AMD come up with an HT equivalent and implement it on their chips. Then we'd have to see test results to make a comparison!
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
eyez98
post Sep 7 2008, 04:39 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #2

!! 8078 !!

Group: Senior Member

using amd based laptop now, but if given a choice to turn back time, i would have gotten myself an intel based laptop.
+Quote Post
ck_yoong
post Sep 7 2008, 04:50 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #3

Desktop I am using Amd but for my lapto I am using Intel..best of both worlds.. cool.gif
+Quote Post
jonuslee
post Sep 7 2008, 05:03 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #4

Simple Guy with a Simple Life

my desktop currently using AMD because better performance with affordable price.
User is online!Profile CardPM
+Quote Post
evilhomura89
post Sep 7 2008, 05:04 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #5

laptop...ppl usually go for Intel
desktop... ppl usually go for AMD
+Quote Post
pillage2001
post Sep 7 2008, 05:07 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 1-) | Post #6

Freak

This thread is so wrong on so many levels. :S
+Quote Post
Cheesenium
post Sep 7 2008, 05:08 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #7

Pro Imperator nos addo nex

Since when C2D have HT?

I thought they dont use HT for C2D.
+Quote Post
astria
post Sep 7 2008, 05:40 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #8

Surrender Is Not An Option

erm... since when AMD's advantage is power consumption???

even their desktop CPU consumes more power than Intel's...

Intel would ve blown AMD away if not for anti-monopoly laws...

is TS still in the days of Athlon64 vs Pentium 4???

This post has been edited by astria: Sep 7 2008, 05:40 PM
+Quote Post
Cheesenium
post Sep 7 2008, 05:48 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #9

QUOTE(astria @ Sep 7 2008, 05:40 PM)
erm... since when AMD's advantage is power consumption???

even their desktop CPU consumes more power than Intel's...

Intel would ve blown AMD away if not for anti-monopoly laws...

is TS still in the days of Athlon64 vs Pentium 4???

Thats what i think. hmm.gif

C2D got use HT meh?

I thought it goes the way of dinosaur adi.AMD still use Hyper Transport,if im not wrong.
+Quote Post
aezan
post Sep 7 2008, 05:52 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #10

for light user like me, i go for amd..
amd is cheaper than intel..
+Quote Post
astria
post Sep 7 2008, 05:57 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #11

Intel design their CPU for the laptop market first, then slowly modify for the various market (desktop, workstation, etc) thus explaining their relatively low TDP...

AMD, on the other hand, is desktop first, then modify to other markets... got performance, but TDP is relatively higher as well...

however AMD's biggest advantage is graphic... Radeon HD 3200 can pwn all Intel's integrated graphic... even with a low end graphic card like 8400M or 9300M, AMD has got Hybrid Graphic... pwn Intel again... going SLI on Intel platform??? AMD has got XGP... pwn Intel again, and cheaper with less heat (from graphic card) also...

that's y Intel needs it's own dedicated grpahic solution, ie Larabee...

This post has been edited by astria: Sep 7 2008, 05:58 PM
+Quote Post
pikacu
post Sep 7 2008, 06:15 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #12

(☞゚∀゚)☞ HBC + TP

QUOTE(ayie_admin @ Sep 7 2008, 04:26 PM)

Copy Pasta sir? HT technology was at P4 era doh.gif doh.gif

QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Sep 7 2008, 05:04 PM)
laptop...ppl usually go for Intel
desktop... ppl usually go for AMD

Wrong perception u have there
+Quote Post
astria
post Sep 7 2008, 06:20 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #13

AMD for... budget users... pretty good price/performance ratio...

but u want higher performance??? that's Intel's playground...
+Quote Post
Cheesenium
post Sep 7 2008, 06:31 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 1-) | Post #14

QUOTE(astria @ Sep 7 2008, 05:57 PM)
that's y Intel needs it's own dedicated grpahic solution, ie Larabee...

Mind showing me more about Intel's graphics processor?

I want to know more about Larabee.Will it be as good as nVidia and ATi's top end cards?
+Quote Post
astria
post Sep 7 2008, 06:34 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 1-) | Post #15

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Sep 7 2008, 06:31 PM)
Mind showing me more about Intel's graphics processor?

I want to know more about Larabee.Will it be as good as nVidia and ATi's top end cards?

hmm, not much info is available now....

wat i know is that Larabee will use "Many Core" design... ie hundreds of x86 cores to render graphic and provide hardware acceleration... in the future we may have thousands or even millions of cores...
+Quote Post
Cheesenium
post Sep 7 2008, 06:38 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 1-) | Post #16

QUOTE(astria @ Sep 7 2008, 06:34 PM)
hmm, not much info is available now....

wat i know is that Larabee will use "Many Core" design... ie hundreds of x86 cores to render graphic and provide hardware acceleration... in the future we may have thousands or even millions of cores...

I read up some stuff but i dont understand the many core design.Isnt it the same as our current GC?

Whats a difference between current multicores and Larabee?

Intel is really going to compete on high end gaming.The end of crappy Intel integrated GC?
+Quote Post
astria
post Sep 7 2008, 06:46 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #17

hmm, i think main difference is that Intel prefer to stick to it's roots, ie x86 architecture, instead of stream porcessors like Nvidia and ATi...

currently there are juz too little info to deduce anything... so let's juz wait and see...
+Quote Post
Klemann C
post Sep 7 2008, 08:54 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #18

Laptop
i heard so many AMD user complaint about overheat problem....
intel,quiet expensive but it more stable......seldom overheat problem....

Dekstop
been used both proc.
perfomance wise....almost same....
Intel Duo Core have more stability on load.....
AMD lesser in stability....
+Quote Post
Cheesenium
post Sep 7 2008, 10:09 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #19

QUOTE(astria @ Sep 7 2008, 06:46 PM)
hmm, i think main difference is that Intel prefer to stick to it's roots, ie x86 architecture, instead of stream porcessors like Nvidia and ATi...

currently there are juz too little info to deduce anything... so let's juz wait and see...

Whats the difference between x86 architecture and stream processor?

Hope you dont mind replying my questions.
+Quote Post
astria
post Sep 8 2008, 12:01 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #20

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Sep 7 2008, 10:09 PM)
Whats the difference between x86 architecture and stream processor?

Hope you dont mind replying my questions.

Wikipedia is our good friend when it comes to these problems...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Larrabee_(GPU)

i myself dun know much either...

(it should be Larrabee, btw) tongue.gif

This post has been edited by astria: Sep 8 2008, 12:01 AM
+Quote Post

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » 
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 5th December 2008 - 01:12 PM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2008 Vijandren Ramadass (~resistance is futile~)