Helloo..
Just to share my experience during my last visit to Bandung in September last year..
I took a Go Holiday package from airasia which cost me 1.5k for 2 pax and both my gf and I brought 1k each for expenses..
If you are a shopaholic..I suggest 1-2k for shopping alone..there's plenty of factory outlet that you can shop your a** off..the only drawback is..I'm not sure if those branded items are really authentic..but having to pay only 20ringgit for a polo T I'm pretty satisfied..for guys..you can easily shop for cloths at the range of 20-50ringgit..collar-t and t-shirts are widely available but most shops sell the same designs...I myself spent only 500rm on shopping to completely change my wardrobe..mostly collar T/Tshirts/and a few shirts/short pants..
as for ladies..don't expect too much of those fancy LV, Gucci or Prada..but generally the type that you can get in sg.wang..I saw a pair of gucci leather shoe for men which cost about 300RM..very cheap if its original but..how sure are you? I gave it a pass..
transportation are pretty cheap if you take Angkots (small vans made to carry ppl)..1000-2000 ruppiah per trip..I took Angkot all time as I had a Bandung friend with me..so that saved me alot..but if you can't take the idea of having to squeeze with 20ppl in such a small van then you can always take a cab...
places that you must visit and things you must do..
1) Jalan Chihampelas for shopping, there alot of places for shopping, just google and jot them down..
2) Gunung Tangkuban Perahu(volcanic crater)..prepare to spend at least half a day there..take the long 1hr walk down to the other crater with hot geysers where you can boil eggs..wash your face maybe..its not too easy to walk and its pretty far..to me at least but worth it..and there's 3 craters for you to visit..if you can't take that then probably you can just relax at the main Queen Crater...
3) Dago atas..a place with few resturants...very nice ambient..great for dinner..its up hill so its abit cooler...I had a pleasant dinner in one of the restaurant name Congo..
4) Clubs! the clubs are fun..simple as that..hehe..
this may not sound too nice to the ladies but I've always being told by my Indonesian friends that if you have not tried Bandung girls..you've never been to Bandung...and yes..I've "not" been to Bandung..hahaha..
Weather is nice..cooling but not as cold as genting..so..don't go packing your winter cloths there..my suggestion is to pack just 1-2sets of cloths with you and buy all the cloths you need in Bandung..save the luggage space..
My friend in Bandung is doing part-time tour guide...if you are interested to engage him for a small fee..let me know and I'll pass you his contact..
Have fun!
Added on February 13, 2008, 9:01 pmbtw...please make sure you ask for the charges before you get into a cab...I got slaughter 100k(about 37ringgit) ruppiah for a 15minutes ride from the airport to the hotel...a Malaysian couple who we met in the hotel paid only 40k ruppiah..
enjoy being Millionaire! hehehe
Just a little Update here, I've been getting many PMs for the contacts of my friend mentioned above. He is now relocated to another state due to work commitment so he's not able to do anymore part time tour in Bandung. Sorry
This post has been edited by Mr. Philip: Mar 24 2009, 08:28 PM