Lowyat.NET Forums

3 Pages < 1 2 3 > 
RSS feedReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Job at United Kingdom (1st batch) still available (Job Provider)

shoguniphicus
post Sep 3 2008, 10:19 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (1+, 0-) | Post #21

Group: Junior Member

If i am out of my university, I would definitely apply for this thing. Next year, will there be another bunch also?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
youngkies
post Sep 3 2008, 10:39 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #22

Monday <--> Friday

Group: Moderator

GBP 8500 nett per annum = GBP 700 per month is quite reasonable provided you dont have to pay for food and accommodation.

but how is the living standard e.g. meals per day, where to stay, working hours per week etc?

Added on September 3, 2008, 10:40 amand with WHV, it is intended for those whom like to travel while working there. using this WHV to just work there, purely is a misuse of the system.

This post has been edited by youngkies: Sep 3 2008, 10:40 AM
+Quote Post
revilion
post Sep 3 2008, 01:37 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #23

QUOTE(Yue @ Sep 3 2008, 05:37 AM)
i guess a normal culinary/hoteliers exp would be a 6 days and 1 off day work with 8 hour of work per day...

my date of completion is around November next year...

You are very correct to say so and of course your usual i hour meals break and 1/2 hour tea breaks un between

ong

Added on September 3, 2008, 1:38 pm
QUOTE(shoguniphicus @ Sep 3 2008, 10:19 AM)
If i am out of my university, I would definitely apply for this thing. Next year, will there be another bunch also?

I should think so

Ong

Added on September 3, 2008, 4:37 pm
QUOTE(xcutelilgal @ Sep 2 2008, 11:58 PM)
from employers, how about NI?
How many hrs a day do you have to work and how many days a week?

you will be covered by NI as well. 6 days a week roughly 8 hrs aday plus i hour of luch/dinner break and 1/2 of tea break Pls note this a legal work permit as such there will follow labor laws of the country.As long you are at the working place you will be provided all meals and during off days you can return to the workplace for food and you can also to choose to have it outside on your own expense during off days.

This post has been edited by revilion: Sep 3 2008, 05:07 PM
+Quote Post
xixi0708
post Sep 3 2008, 08:56 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #24

HUH?! ONLY GBP708 PER MTH FOR 1ST YEAR?
well, i guess if they provide you accom & food, & if u dun shop & dun spend money then it's worth the go. i was earning close to GBP1000 working part time there in a factory while studying. so depends on where in UK you will be working. i hope it's not places like London cos GBP708 will be like RM708.
+Quote Post
revilion
post Sep 3 2008, 10:55 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #25

QUOTE(Yue @ Sep 3 2008, 05:37 AM)
i guess a normal culinary/hoteliers exp would be a 6 days and 1 off day work with 8 hour of work per day...

my date of completion is around November next year...

Yes, you are right If you sure you will definitely graduate in November, you can start application now.It will take a period of three months before you can actually fly.

ong

Added on September 3, 2008, 11:02 pm
QUOTE(youngkies @ Sep 3 2008, 10:39 AM)
GBP 8500 nett per annum = GBP 700 per month is quite reasonable provided you dont have to pay for food and accommodation.

but how is the living standard e.g. meals per day, where to stay, working hours per week etc?

Added on September 3, 2008, 10:40 amand with WHV, it is intended for those whom like to travel while working there. using this WHV to just work there, purely is a misuse of the system.

As mentioned in the post, your air tickets are free and alos food and lodging provided including your off days If you return to your place of work during off days , they will cook for you your food.There is an acute shortage of such category of workers so that is why there are recuriting through such a scheme, However if you do feel strongly about misuse of this system,then do not go.

This post has been edited by revilion: Sep 4 2008, 04:16 PM
+Quote Post
ladyfinger69
post Sep 4 2008, 10:39 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #26

Visa fee's of RM1379.00 <- is this for Working Holiday maker visa application ?
+Quote Post
revilion
post Sep 4 2008, 03:11 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #27

QUOTE(ladyfinger69 @ Sep 4 2008, 10:39 AM)
Visa fee's of RM1379.00 <- is this for Working Holiday maker visa application ?

If you are a fresh graduate then, it is deducted from your wages when you start work and it is for the visa application fee to the british high commission for the visa.

ong
+Quote Post
yinyum
post Sep 4 2008, 03:54 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #28

Group: New Member

Hi Ong, i have some questions.

It'll be at which part of UK? London? Scotland?
and I'll be graduated in Degree of Hospitality next year, so will this still be open to apply? and we can choose to work in restaurant or hotel is it?

+Quote Post
revilion
post Sep 5 2008, 02:32 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #29

QUOTE(yinyum @ Sep 4 2008, 03:54 PM)
Hi Ong, i have some questions.

It'll be at which part of UK? London? Scotland?
and I'll be graduated in Degree of Hospitality next year, so will this still be open to apply? and we can choose to work in restaurant or hotel is it?

the job will be in any part in UK. We have people being sent to Manchester ,Glasgow etc. I should think so it would be available nexy year. Working in hotel,you will be paid less and no lodging given.The restaurant would be a better choice. Restaurant can be of many types from 3stars to five stars and if you can speak good english there is an opportunity you may be chosen and the pay is also higher.

ong
+Quote Post
CoLiNJvC
post Sep 5 2008, 02:39 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #30

Is there any chance of working in Gordon Ramsey's restaurant? tongue.gif
+Quote Post
FunGuSaMoNgstUs
post Sep 5 2008, 03:33 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #31

Gordon Ramsey's rest? haha ready to die man!
+Quote Post
uk19xx
post Sep 6 2008, 12:02 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #32

I graduated in UK stay there for more than 4 years.

The living expenses there is not that damme high if you DID NOT convert it back to RM.

For example

A McD meal will cost you GBP 6.99 or 7.99
A pint of bear cost you GBP 1 or 1.50
A Fried Rice in China Town GBP 3.00 to 5.00

So if accommodation and food is not provided. You dun have much left to save.

BUT the good thing is for
GBP 180 you could get a HTC Diamond
GBP 30-50 you could get a Nike shoe
GBP 200 you could get a laptop

Good luck to u all.

TQ
+Quote Post
revilion
post Sep 9 2008, 01:13 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #33

Many vacancies are still available.
+Quote Post
mycashub
post Sep 9 2008, 05:05 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #34

Can u list all the vacancies available here? tq
+Quote Post
revilion
post Sep 9 2008, 06:25 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #35

call the number stated on page 1 for more information.
+Quote Post
youngkies
post Sep 9 2008, 06:43 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #36

Monday <--> Friday

Group: Moderator

QUOTE(revilion @ Sep 3 2008, 10:55 PM)
Yes, you are right If you sure you will definitely graduate in November, you can start application now.It will take a period of three months before you can actually fly.

ong

Added on September 3, 2008, 11:02 pm

As mentioned in the post, your air tickets are free and alos food and lodging provided including your off days If you return to your place of work during off days , they will cook for you your food.There is an acute shortage of such category of workers so that is why there are recuriting through such a scheme, However if you do feel strongly about misuse of this system,then do not go.

yes but i still highly doubt it. there is so called highly skilled migrant (or equivalent) visa for such shortage occupation, if it is one. and working holiday visa, as the name has stated, working + holidaying, entitled the user to go for there for 2 year with a maximum of 1 working year.

and i dont have to go via such method, i am there, working happily and of course legally.

+Quote Post
revilion
post Sep 16 2008, 09:51 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #37

bump.
+Quote Post
@rissband
post Sep 17 2008, 02:17 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #38

Group: Senior Member

im an ex IT graduate, is that possible for me to apply for this job? cud u pls PM me about the Job description? tq
+Quote Post
revilion
post Sep 17 2008, 06:25 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #39

Are you below 30? Call the number stated on my first post for more information.
+Quote Post
jassielim
post Sep 22 2008, 01:19 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #40

QUOTE(revilion @ Sep 17 2008, 06:25 PM)
Are you below 30? Call the number stated on my first post for more information.

anyone from lowyat forum alr applied and already went there?
+Quote Post

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd November 2008 - 01:37 PM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2008 Vijandren Ramadass (~resistance is futile~)