Lowyat.NET Forums

64 Pages  1 2 3 > »  
RSS feedReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> ~ Scorpion ~ V2, Any newbies or owner pls post here.

super macgyver
post Aug 13 2008, 11:20 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #1

★~13k Spam Club~★

Group: Senior Member

Basic Care Sheet For Scorpion

Why keep Scorpion?
- Easy management
- Interesting to observe
- Very cheap monthly maintanance fees
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Choosing a Scorpion
- there are alot of species in this world. However, in Malaysia we dun have much choice to choose from
- The best scorpion for beginner will be Heterometrus Spinifer (Asian Forest Scorpion) And Pandinus Imperator (African Emperor Scorpion)
- Both are very docile and have minor venom and would prefer2 pinch more often than using its sting
- When we want to buy a scorpion from pet shop, make sure its not a wild caught
- Wild caught scorpion tend to have mites infection and are more prone to decease
- Look carefully on the scorpion body, make sure there's no white color dot on it. They are killer mites that can kill ur whole collection of scorpion
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Basic Housing

- A small container will do for small scorpling
- Can change to 1-1.5feet guppy tank when reach adult size
- A scorpion's foraging territory usually is not very big so a big container is not necessary
- A community of scorpions is not recommended unless the owner is willing to take the risk of losing some
- However its rare for Heterometrus sp to cannibal each others
- A good hiding place, water dish, 2inch coco fiber/peat moss are necessary
- Add some pebble in the water dish to avoid drowning ur scorpion

Diet

Scorpling
- Cricket drumstick
- Mealworm parts (Some can take whole small mealworm)
- Cricket parts

Adult
- Adult cricket
- Superworms
- Mealworms
- Dubia roach

Its not recommend to feed with wild catch insect as it might carry mites or being pesticide
It is best to feed insect with 1/4 to 1/2 the size of your scorpion

Molting
- In order for a scorpion to grow, it must molt
- Every time a scorpion undergoes a molt it has gotten a little bit larger
- A scorpion's developmental progress is measured in instars (how many moults it has undergone)
- A scorpion will molt an average of 6 times until it is fully mature. After that, the scorpion will cease to molt
- In order for the scorpion to have a successful molt, it must be humid in the cage, or else the scorpion could get stuck in its old skin and die
- After the scorpion molts it will be a lighter color and will be very fragile, as the new skin is not hard yet
- During this critical time, you should not handle, feed pr disturb your scorpion in anyway
- The scorpion will not eat for a few days after the molt, and will probably stay hidden

Handling
- A scorpion is display pets and are never meant to be handle at all unless if its necessary
- Scorpion should be treat with respect and the right attitude when it comes to handling them
- To handle a scorpion, there are few way:
1:Pick Them Up By their tail
- Use a tweezer to pick them up by the tail

2:Using a smaller container/vial
- Place a small container/vail in frong ur scorpion
- Gently push it into the container/vial

Venom
- All scorpion species possess venom. In general, scorpion venom is described as neurotoxic in nature
- Scorpions use their venom to kill or paralyze their prey so that it can be eaten
- However, envenomation by Heterometrus spinifer is similar to a bee sting in terms of the pain and swelling that results
- A sting on the thumb from a relatively non-dangerous scorpion often feels like the victim has accidentally struck their thumb with a hammer whilst driving in a nail
- Heterometrus species however, tend to use their pincher more often than stinging
- However if u are allergic to venom, its best to seek for medical treatment ASAP as it might be fatal

Source: Wikipedia

http://www.treknature.com/gallery/Africa/T.../photo31478.htm

V1 Link:
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/212221

This post has been edited by super macgyver: Aug 23 2008, 09:38 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
JonYeap
post Aug 13 2008, 11:32 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #2

Admin Elite

yeah i am 1st
+Quote Post
Jamien
post Aug 13 2008, 11:37 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #3

congratulations on a new V! Long live the scorpions!
+Quote Post
littlesaint
post Aug 13 2008, 11:50 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #4

Group: Junior Member

wah v2 is finally here already hahaha.....
+Quote Post
abesabraham
post Aug 13 2008, 11:50 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #5

spiders. mmm.

Can't wait for my little one to get here. : D biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
+Quote Post
RyoKenzaki
post Aug 14 2008, 12:25 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #6

★★ ~*\Arachnoid/*~ ★★

Lol Yilaine, I ll bring few there let u choose the one u like
I notice some of them fatter and darker than the others
Probably will choose those for u thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

Btw, HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!!!!! rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
+Quote Post
smellyocheese
post Aug 14 2008, 12:39 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #7

Quack

Group: Elite

what would a guy NOT do for a hot chiq...

abe's birthday today or the scorpion thread? tongue.gif

abe got new Xbox games ma? got oblivion? tongue.gif
+Quote Post
RyoKenzaki
post Aug 14 2008, 12:44 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #8

★★ ~*\Arachnoid/*~ ★★

Wah u are Taggy or the real smeelyocheese? O.O
Im selling off those fat fat one 1st ma
Her bday is yersterday, same as scorpion v2 bday lol
+Quote Post
liette`
post Aug 14 2008, 02:19 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #9

gosh guys are obsessed with yi laine. tsk. bad.

: D
+Quote Post
rafiqos
post Aug 14 2008, 02:49 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #10

Thanks for V2 super macgyver.

Moulting Picture : Hottentotta Hottentotta

+Quote Post
TAGreptiles
post Aug 14 2008, 04:21 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #11

*~Taggy~*

tsk tsk tsk....scorpion thread buaya...brows.gif

ironic that everytime i meet yilaine is not because of scorpions or T's...haha...used to buy loads of Xbox games off her...lol...
+Quote Post
RyoKenzaki
post Aug 14 2008, 07:27 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #12

★★ ~*\Arachnoid/*~ ★★

-.-'' U guys dun buaya with smellyocheese la = =
+Quote Post
madstone
post Aug 14 2008, 11:25 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #13

Burn Notice

Want more pics, want more!
+Quote Post
abesabraham
post Aug 14 2008, 12:03 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #14

spiders. mmm.

Whoahh thanks guys.

Ryo : Sure thursday right?

Connie/Andrew : Gooottt, mass effect you want? haha
+Quote Post
TAGreptiles
post Aug 14 2008, 02:56 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #15

*~Taggy~*

QUOTE(madstone @ Aug 14 2008, 11:25 AM)
Want more pics, want more!

what picture? yilaine's? or scorpions? drool.gif drool.gif

mass effect dowan yet. just bought oblivion...XD

can trade with scutilus scorpions or not? tongue.gif
+Quote Post
abesabraham
post Aug 14 2008, 03:00 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #16

spiders. mmm.

Lol. No thanks. I'm gonna stick the that one baby afs from ryo.

It has to be only one cause I want it to be really special haha.
+Quote Post
liette`
post Aug 14 2008, 06:03 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #17

Anyone aside from Rafiq who has more than 1 species, do share your pictures and experience.
+Quote Post
TAGreptiles
post Aug 15 2008, 12:29 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #18

*~Taggy~*

can i transfer my old post here ah? or ask mod to do it. lazy to repost ler...internet very slow...><
+Quote Post
liette`
post Aug 15 2008, 12:45 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #19

Do you have a male adult Jacksoni TAGGY!?
+Quote Post
TAGreptiles
post Aug 15 2008, 01:14 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #20

*~Taggy~*

ermm..got...currently got 2 pairs of B. jacksoni. going to friend soon...why? you guys planning to breed them is it? lol...
+Quote Post

64 Pages  1 2 3 > » 
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd November 2008 - 02:48 PM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2008 Vijandren Ramadass (~resistance is futile~)