Lowyat.NET Forums

LYN wins Intel-Lenovo-Tangs Blogathon challenge. Thank you everybody!
5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 > 
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Do you watch Malay TV series?, What will make you watch it?

Do you watch Malay TV series?

I'm a Malay, and it's "Never" [ 13 ] ** [8.33%]
I'm a Malay, and it's "Rarely" [ 55 ] ** [35.26%]
I'm a Malay, and it's "Quite frequent" [ 13 ] ** [8.33%]
I'm a non-Malay, and it's "Never" [ 39 ] ** [25.00%]
I'm a non-Malay, and it's "Rarely" [ 29 ] ** [18.59%]
I'm a non-Malay, and it's "Quite frequent" [ 7 ] ** [4.49%]
Total Votes: 156
Guests cannot vote 
technophile
post Aug 30 2008, 03:02 PM

Trigger Happy Person

Group: Senior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

QUOTE(skylinegtr34rule4life @ Aug 22 2008, 09:06 PM)
chinese and will never ever watch malay drama
it's indonesian series wey...the main girl is so exoticly cili hawt which i doubt malaysian girls can match that exoticness laugh.gif brows.gif

all ppl in Kami the Series are malaysian la. that main girl in Kami (juliana evans) is mat salleh mixed malay.
i like the show. good music too.

hence, the only show that i followed from start till the end.

will watch the movie when it comes out in the cinema later in october.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Suk
post Aug 30 2008, 10:16 PM

i dont watch malay movie unless my fren is highly recommended... or buy ahem from pasar malam
+Quote Post
Raikkonen
post Aug 31 2008, 12:06 AM

♥♥ 'Raikkonen oppa! ;p' ♥♥

Me Malay.
Only watch if there's a cute girl/woman tongue.gif

Rather watch Cantonese, Korean, Japan and english biggrin.gif
More entertaining.

This post has been edited by Raikkonen: Aug 31 2008, 12:06 AM
+Quote Post
hyperx
post Aug 31 2008, 02:26 AM

||Lunatica||

i saw there is a KAMI ads at the federal highway..
there will be KAMI movie?
+Quote Post
technophile
post Aug 31 2008, 11:12 AM

Trigger Happy Person

QUOTE(hyperx @ Aug 31 2008, 02:26 AM)
i saw there is a KAMI ads at the federal highway..
there will be KAMI movie?

yeah. Kami the Movie will be out on first day of raya.
more juliana evans goodness.
tongue.gif

*droolss...

+Quote Post
paco
post Aug 31 2008, 09:13 PM

Group: Junior Member

non-Malay, never, the tempo is too slow.
+Quote Post
free666
post Aug 31 2008, 09:24 PM

not gonna watch them

coz most of them are 'copycat'
+Quote Post
igor_is300
post Sep 10 2008, 02:29 PM

hideous kinky

QUOTE(jenniferjen @ Aug 17 2008, 01:23 AM)
I kinda recommend GODA, pretty interesting malay series.
I am a chinese, but this show really caught my attention

Yeah, I even post it in my blog tongue.gif
+Quote Post
crapp0
post Sep 10 2008, 03:16 PM

I dont really watch malay movies unless they are nice, at least the fat malay guy movies arent that bad, the fella who make "bulli" coz i dont remember his name. Plus he made the song about ah long bukit beruntung was good.

Another show i see is 3R coz it smacks of feminism and muslim centric society which is interesting and 'Puteri" for obvious reasons. Usually malay tv shows nowadays follow the current format of seeing one persons life and those around that person, usually a girl and its about her life story and focus on her love life.

Chinese TVBS series IMHO is a serious offender of beating a dead horse since they keep using the same formula when jackie chan was sporting a mullet. 50 years of Han dynasty shit and its still going strong. Cant they do something refreshing rather then rebadge kungfu movies with CG graphics?

This post has been edited by crapp0: Sep 10 2008, 03:19 PM
+Quote Post
Evangelistica
post Sep 10 2008, 04:14 PM

IT SUCKS...Always trying to copy others (the latest is Ampang Medic, WTF!!!!).
+Quote Post
decypher
post Sep 10 2008, 05:16 PM

Do you watch Malay TV series?

No.

What will make you watch it?

A gun.

This post has been edited by decypher: Sep 10 2008, 05:16 PM
User is online!Profile CardPM
+Quote Post
shahnakal
post Sep 10 2008, 05:33 PM

i'm malay .. but only watch animation siries like kluangman rclxms.gif for movie i'm just watching apek ( sometimes ) & Afdlin shauki ( must see ) .. no other malay best actor and director then Afdlin shauki for this time ( after aziz m. osman ).. every movie from him will have humor and motivation.. not like other malay movie just "tangkap muat" and wasted...
+Quote Post
littleman
post Sep 10 2008, 05:56 PM

Chu~♡

back then I like to watch spanar jaya .. laugh.gif

but now I just watch documentary like Destinasi Bajet, really cool host!
+Quote Post
technophile
post Sep 10 2008, 06:06 PM

Trigger Happy Person

QUOTE(littleman @ Sep 10 2008, 05:56 PM)
back then I like to watch spanar jaya .. laugh.gif

but now I just watch documentary like Destinasi Bajet, really cool host!

destinasi bajet is cool!
yeah i like it too!!
+Quote Post
likito
post Sep 10 2008, 11:10 PM

if malay shoot in big screem , great story line . why not icon_idea.gif
User is online!Profile CardPM
+Quote Post
silbii
post Nov 3 2009, 09:22 PM

nur kasih smile.gif
+Quote Post
netmatrix
post Nov 4 2009, 01:03 AM

I'm Chinese. I grew up watching P-Ramlee movies. Here are some i liked. I'm sure there are more that i forgotten.

KAMI - Even though short series, is pretty good.

Each Other - This was a 2002 TV series that i liked.

2+1, Pi mai Pi mai tang tu, Jgn Ketawa - Funny and easy going comedy.

I really really hate the Malay TV series nowdays.

- First off the situation is always with damn kaw rich castle like house with Dynasty style family.
- Or damn run down kampung style hut with bad children who forgotten their roots.
- Also always 100% some cheezy love story.
- Its always long haired white robed ghost.
- Always the same dialog concerning "God would punish you!"
- Old people are made to Cry cry cry cry cry, then die.
- Gerak Khas & Roda roda is shit hole of lost dialog. Lost as in lost script then they put in some cheezy urgent sounding music at the background with mouth moving but... no dialog!

The same directors always use the same formula to get viewership. The same director uses the same storyline with a new twist and said it is new. The old directors think they are funny but in actual fact not anymore.

There are times there ate nice one off local TV air only movies from NTV and TV3. Something in the line of Tol Booth Girl starring Amy Mastura was quite easy going. There are some notable ones during the old NTV movie festival thing. They have that Sepet kind of movie feel. I like those.

+Quote Post
hlyshgrsyd
post Nov 4 2009, 04:45 AM

Do you watch Malay TV series?, What will make you watch it?

- big boobs will make me -
+Quote Post
b3rnard7
post Nov 4 2009, 09:50 AM

Lord 陈吉思汗

QUOTE(HangPC2 @ Aug 12 2008, 03:44 PM)
80s & 90s Malay Drama (RTM Drama & TV3 Drama) Is Better

agreed!

Added on November 4, 2009, 9:51 am
QUOTE(HangPC2 @ Aug 12 2008, 03:44 PM)
80s & 90s Malay Drama (RTM Drama & TV3 Drama) Is Better

agreed!

Wat I like the most for Malay Drama & comedi during 90s are:

- Jangan Ketawa
- Baba & Nyonya
- Cili Padi

This post has been edited by b3rnard7: Nov 4 2009, 09:51 AM
+Quote Post
saydee92
post Nov 9 2009, 10:54 PM

Group: New Member

damn...
malay movie n series no good...
owez bout love n jiwang karat...
no quality at ol..
zzz..
+Quote Post

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th November 2009 - 08:49 PM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)