> 2 or More Antivirus..., Comment/Pro&Cons

goldfries
post Aug 11 2008, 05:13 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #21

web designer | techie photographer | blogger

Group: Staff

aiyah, so old thread people bring up.......

here's my thought la......

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jul 17 2008, 05:57 PM)
My pc have 0 antivirus and is working super fine.

If u dont simply click/surf/download stuffs then its pretty safe.

btw 2 or more antivirus is a no no

yes. this is fine, but i personally would put at least 1 la just in case. smile.gif it's helpful.

nevertheless, best protection is USER.

QUOTE(Digifriend07 @ Jul 17 2008, 11:24 PM)
Don't forget sql injection infection... Direct to your computer even it's a valid and well known as safe, but turn out not so safe...

judging by this post, you don't know what SQL Injection is. smile.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Nashraf
post Aug 12 2008, 05:19 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #22

Group: Junior Member

I use two AV myself on the basis that no AV is 100% perfect...I use NOD32 as my main realtime AV and Avira Free as my secondary and backup scanner with the realtime scan turn off....I have never had any virus attack and lag/hang problem...This dual AV setup is usefull during my college times when many pendrive will cucuk at my system...Nway this is my opinion.
+Quote Post
muyyaqdhom
post Aug 15 2008, 11:36 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #23

two AV on pc?
two or more ..

not good.
if u have 4gb memory oso not good.
on 2 AV like u playing game.
it will eat ur memory
+Quote Post
Joshua_0718
post Aug 15 2008, 11:47 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #24

**Keep Walking 不停地走**

Group: Senior Member

QUOTE(muyyaqdhom @ Aug 15 2008, 11:36 AM)
two AV on pc?
two or more ..

not good.
if u have 4gb memory oso not good.
on 2 AV like u playing game.
it will eat ur memory

He shut off his secondary AV real-time protection. So, no make different on having 2 AV. All he need to do is just scan when he need to use his secondary AV
+Quote Post
MaggieMee
post Aug 16 2008, 10:49 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #25

QUOTE(Nashraf @ Aug 12 2008, 05:19 PM)
I use two AV myself on the basis that no AV is 100% perfect...I use NOD32 as my main realtime AV and Avira Free as my secondary and backup scanner with the realtime scan turn off....I have never had any virus attack and lag/hang problem...This dual AV setup is usefull during my college times when many pendrive will cucuk at my system...Nway this is my opinion.

just disable removable drive autorun and u will be safe
+Quote Post
StevenQ
post Aug 16 2008, 12:40 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #26

TS, what you need is fast definition update and build in spyware protection right??
avast is the best choice...since Version 4.8.1169, avast already build in spyware protection and rootkit protection...and the newest version is 4.8.1229..

Avast home page
+Quote Post
username
post Aug 16 2008, 01:23 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #27

so-called n00b

Having one AV with real-time protection is good. Better to be safe than sorry. laugh.gif
+Quote Post
Gear89
post Aug 16 2008, 01:25 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #28

avast is the one which have all of the important features...
real time protection, anti rootkit, anti spyware...
+Quote Post
FarCry3r
post Aug 17 2008, 04:19 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #29

Virtualization Power User

QUOTE(Gear89 @ Aug 16 2008, 01:25 PM)

Kaspersky also got all that what? hmm.gif
+Quote Post
rebelsoul76
post Aug 18 2008, 02:40 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #30

Hakuna matata

QUOTE(Gear89 @ Aug 16 2008, 01:25 PM)

avast home (free version) ate quite a bit of memory and CPU cycle the last time i used it, compared to other free antivirus like AVS (Kaspersky 6), AVG or even Avira
+Quote Post
VegasMnet
post Aug 18 2008, 02:43 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #31

i removed my real-time av protection long time ago and now will just let it scan on schedule once a day, so far so good. what difference does it make to
have real time av running and hogging 30% of your ram doh.gif

This post has been edited by VegasMnet: Aug 18 2008, 02:44 AM
+Quote Post
FarCry3r
post Aug 18 2008, 09:33 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #32

Virtualization Power User

QUOTE(VegasMnet @ Aug 18 2008, 02:43 AM)
i removed my real-time av protection long time ago and now will just let it scan on schedule once a day, so far so good. what difference does it make to
have real time av running and hogging 30% of your ram  doh.gif

there's big difference, if you let your guard down, it's maybe too late when the damage is done... nowday, virus / trojan will likely targets important document files...
+Quote Post
rebelsoul76
post Aug 18 2008, 03:23 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #33

Hakuna matata

QUOTE(VegasMnet @ Aug 18 2008, 02:43 AM)
have real time av running and hogging 30% of your ramĀ  doh.gif

my avira real-time protection only use up a total 15MB of my 1GB RAM. To me it's worth it when it warns me about impending disaster of virus/trojan contained in the files that I'm trying open.

Edit: i was wrong, only 10MB

This post has been edited by rebelsoul76: Aug 20 2008, 10:40 AM
+Quote Post
expertester
post Aug 21 2008, 03:49 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #34

Either AVG or Avira (both Free version anyway) but not both (actively). However, you could install both but only have 1 active online scanner, while the other one is on demand scanner.

Are you sure AVG8 come with antispyware? Last time I check at AVG website, they said AVG8 Free doesnt come with antispyware anymore.

Furthermore, if you look at av-comparative.org, AVG there is FULL (paid version, which has HIPS etc). AVG free, for my own preference is too basic and the result in av-comperative doesn't reflect actual AVG free performance. Due to this reason, I prefer to have AVIRA Antivir PE as my main antivirus since it has same capability as the paid one without POP3 scanner..thats all.

note : if you are smart enough and not simply install every single piece of freeware from WWW, spyware problem is over rated. Spyware will only come if you explicitly install certain software which their author purposely embedded spyware or adware in their software. If you need to install non-recognize software (spyware free certified), please ask uncle google biggrin.gif

After all, common sense is the best protection biggrin.gif

Just my 2 sen.
+Quote Post
strace
post Aug 21 2008, 05:03 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #35

for now I recommend to have Avira or other free AVs as backup AV scanner
now days most trojans crypted specifically to defeat Nod32, Kaspersky, other popular AVs in the commercial market and even sandbox softwares e.g. sandboxie because I managed to bypass many AVs definition with ready made tools except Avira, some on free AVs (AVG/Avast) and other unpopular AVs.
+Quote Post
SPASTICZ
post Aug 21 2008, 05:39 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #36

can try kaspersky internet security 2009...
User is online!Profile CardPM
+Quote Post

2 Pages < 1 2
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 5th September 2008 - 05:45 PM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2008 Vijandren Ramadass (~why so serious?~)
Hosting powered by IPServerOne - a Malaysian Web Hosting Company