Throttling P2P traffic - Breaking Law?, Google news (News)
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Throttling P2P traffic - Breaking Law?, Google news (News)
Jul 8 2008, 06:33 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post
Violinist ^.^ 囧 囧 ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 3,047 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Jan 2003 From: Age Quod Agis |
Google please help us SUE TMNUT !!!
Google: Bell Canada Is Breaking The Law http://www.dslreports.com/shownews/Google-...g-The-Law-95896 Google has jumped into the fight between independent ISPs and Bell Canada, which earlier this year angered wholesale competitors by throttling P2P traffic before it reaches their networks. According to Google, Bell Canada is breaking the law by engaging in such throttling, which Bell says was necessary because of congestion (something they've been unable to prove). In a submission made to Canadian regulators the CRTC, Google had this to say: "Bell claims its throttling of peer-to-peer applications is a reasonable form of network management. Google respectfully disagrees. Network management does not include Canadian carriers’ blocking or degrading lawful applications that consumers wish to use. From consumer, competition and innovation perspectives, throttling applications that consumers choose is inconsistent with a content and application-neutral internet, and a violation of Canadian telecommunications law, which forbids unfair discrimination and undue or unreasonable preferences and requires that regulation be technologically and competitively neutral." Just last month Google hired Patrick Pichette, former president of operations at Bell Canada, as its new chief financial officer. |
Jul 8 2008, 07:15 PM
Casual ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Junior Member Posts: 480 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: May 2007 From: Kepong/PJ |
sue TM!? one vote fr me
Jul 8 2008, 07:28 PM
Getting Started ![]() ![]() Group: Junior Member Posts: 239 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Jun 2007 From: in front of my pc |
another vote for me!
Jul 8 2008, 07:34 PM
On my way ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 570 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Feb 2005 From: Earth |
sue tmnut?..sure 1 vote fr me too~!
Jul 8 2008, 07:52 PM
Look at mah stars yo ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 769 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Nov 2007 From: Kuantan, Pahang |
1+ Vote Fur ME
Jul 8 2008, 08:19 PM
Newbie ![]() Group: New Member Posts: 1 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Jun 2008 From: Hell |
Sue TMnut back to the very pits of hell they spawned from!
Sue signed! It seems all bloody providers even ones in foreign lands are coming under huge fire Comcast US, Cogeco and Rogers Canada, TMnut Malaysia, hell i'll do better go to this link and see the amount of terrorists Bad ISP's I'll have to edit the wiki for Malaysia probably put everything to a BIG YES Well thank god companies like Google and people are standing up for their right against these big conglomerates. I'm getting sick of these ISP's using their favorite quote/line "Network management that is reasonable and done for the benefit of subscribers is critical to every broadband service provider's ability to offer its customers the quality and reliability subscribers demand and expect" Are you freaking kidding me all you had to do is limit yourselves from being greedy piggies and not subscribing over the capacity you have. You want more people using your service but don't want to spend the amount it takes to cope with the strain that will be put when the limit is met so you find alternatives and blame protocols like P2P to develop abilities to throttle users in the name of customer quality and reliability subscribers demand and expect. Now this is the kicker what happens to people who don't even P2P they get throttled 2 because there always be loopholes in getting the content you want so the easiest way is to just implement a service wide throttle system easier to manage less headaches. Now take for example Comcast spending so much in developing Sandvine but all this time, effort and cash could be used in finding solutions or just plain upgrading your lines or even just stop people over subscribing to your networks. Sadly companies will always be greedy and we just have to put these terrorists of the new world in their place I still don't get this quote/line "every broadband service provider's ability to offer its customers the quality and reliability subscribers demand and expect". They keep preaching this but all i see is unsatisfied customers that feel they have been conned. I think customers that are actually happy with quality and realibility of service are those old folks who just open e-mail, check a few sites, chat and that's it hell i think even old folks of the current crop do more than that I think best way to combat this is emerging of new companies who combat throttling which is slowly happening. Google came out of nowhere when we cried for a better search engine and also an e-mail provider that didn't make us pay to get more space remember Hotmail This post has been edited by Xtryfe: Jul 8 2008, 08:23 PM |
Jul 8 2008, 09:56 PM
Look at all my stars!! ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 2,477 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Nov 2004 From: Setapak, Kuala Lumpur |
Sue signed. Kill the cheaters! Too bad that law is on Canada. hehehehe
This post has been edited by TristanX: Jul 8 2008, 09:57 PM |
Jul 9 2008, 12:36 AM
Newbie ![]() Group: Junior Member Posts: 29 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Oct 2006 |
if you can sue tmnut,
tomorrow toto sure kena 1st price............!!!xD This post has been edited by lionheart23: Jul 9 2008, 12:36 AM |
Jul 9 2008, 08:48 AM
Not Godlike ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 2,504 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Dec 2006 From: Hollander |
yea ok sue, morally will support u all .......go guys go lolz.
Jul 9 2008, 04:56 PM
Newbie ![]() Group: Junior Member Posts: 6 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: May 2008 |
me sue tmnut too...
Jul 9 2008, 06:27 PM
On my way ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 562 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Nov 2005 |
Say no Throttling P2P to TM
Jul 10 2008, 01:36 PM
Getting Started ![]() ![]() Group: Junior Member Posts: 133 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Jan 2007 From: Kepong |
One vote from me.
*holds a banner saying "P2P Throttling TAK NAK!" |
Jul 10 2008, 02:29 PM
Enthusiast ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 956 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Sep 2005 |
SAY NO TO TMNUT
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
| Lo-Fi Version | Time is now: 10th February 2010 - 05:14 AM |