Lowyat.NET Forums

3 Pages < 1 2 3 
RSS feedReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> [survey]Depression, Project - complete haul! - Again. LOL.

bunvirus
post Jul 10 2008, 11:12 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #41

Star Collector

Group: Senior Member

so, why dont we have both.. fighting.. on the bed... doh.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
shinchan^^
post Jul 10 2008, 12:07 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #42

Hataraki Man

what's with so emo theme
+Quote Post
eddychstu
post Jul 10 2008, 06:10 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #43

Why so serious? [quote The Joker]

QUOTE(altecphoto @ Jul 7 2008, 04:38 PM)
Wah, eddie also coming ar? the last time i saw you was i think 1 year back. dont think you can remember me.
Wooo..., bun coming also? i thought you couldn't make it?

hmm.gif we met before? cant recall joining any LYN outings. please refresh my memory tongue.gif

anyway, a guy is fine too

This post has been edited by eddychstu: Jul 10 2008, 06:12 PM
+Quote Post
altecphoto
post Jul 10 2008, 07:08 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #44

Digital Imaging

QUOTE(eddychstu @ Jul 10 2008, 06:10 PM)
hmm.gif  we met before? cant recall joining any LYN outings. please refresh my memory  tongue.gif

anyway, a guy is fine too

err.. you remember the truimph lingerie shoot in lot10 if im not mistaken, last year.. i was with scott and nairud.
+Quote Post
eddychstu
post Jul 10 2008, 08:56 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #45

Why so serious? [quote The Joker]

QUOTE(altecphoto @ Jul 10 2008, 07:08 PM)
err.. you remember the truimph lingerie shoot in lot10 if im not mistaken, last year.. i was with scott and nairud.

sweat.gif lingerie? neva happened, the only 1 time i met with LYN forumer was during TXN

wrong eddy? hmm.gif
+Quote Post
Kitsune_Yuiyean
post Jul 14 2008, 10:00 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #46

Group: Junior Member

Thought i'd contribut something i found today. Pretty darn good the person who re-touched this. user posted image
+Quote Post
Ahmike
post Jul 14 2008, 10:02 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #47

Powered by Carl Zeiss

QUOTE(chiggy @ Jul 6 2008, 03:09 PM)
gothic ar...
best shoot without any lighting to get the dark and eriee effect
remember, don't just shoot the gothic model - shoot the gothic model in a gothic environment

of course for this, a good lense with big aperture is the best

any dungeon style kind of place? biggrin.gif

The KLPAC area that there i went got 1 OLD mansion/house..no windows and roof style. Should be creepy at night.

+Quote Post
atria83
post Jul 16 2008, 04:17 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #48

so whats the latest update on this project..??
+Quote Post
nairud
post Jul 16 2008, 04:58 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #49

One Leg Kick Ultra

Group: Moderator

QUOTE(altecphoto @ Jul 10 2008, 07:08 PM)

marc?? it's you?
+Quote Post
dark lenanza
post Jul 16 2008, 07:47 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #50

xbox 360 kakis

can sony fella join??
i love the theme
since i had o lot of frenz into black metal
nod.gif
+Quote Post
altecphoto
post Jul 16 2008, 08:13 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #51

Digital Imaging

QUOTE(eddychstu @ Jul 10 2008, 08:56 PM)
sweat.gif lingerie? neva happened, the only 1 time i met with LYN forumer was during TXN

wrong eddy?  hmm.gif

oppss.. got the wrong eddie. lol laugh.gif

QUOTE(nairud @ Jul 16 2008, 04:58 PM)
marc?? it's you?

yes.. its me thumbup.gif
+Quote Post
Intimidated
post Jul 24 2008, 01:57 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #52

I thought of going for pure Gothic fashion session, but I don't understand the theme well enough to make it even acceptable. Yes, shame on me for suggesting it in first place. I'm sorry.

So instead of going with a not so familiar theme, I opted to proceed with a theme I'm familiar: depression. A lot more general, I think it'll be easier for both model and photographer to maximize their imagination. Let it be goth or anything.

Quoted from my own blog: I’ve been to a lot of funerals, farewell gatherings or parties, and some heartwarming events with mass-crying-session on agenda. I’ve seen my grandfather’s body (he died of liver cancer four years ago) being pushed into the cremation chamber. I carried my friend into a stranger’s car so he could be sent to the nearest hospital after a freak accident, and I was told he didn’t survived the drive. My point is, you don’t see me cry anymore on these sad occasion because I’ve been to so many of them I got used to the depressing atmosphere already. I do feel sad, but it’s not enough to obstruct my first instinct: to witness and to preserve the moments.

And somehow, I started to love depression. Even in casual friend portraits, I tend to look for the sad look (which is actually just a blank look in between conversations, they're not really sad).

I want to do this project because I want to spread the love for depression (or emo, lol). And to practice my portrait shots.

Anyway. This project will start with tryouts - me going around taking photos of models. The shots will be done in Sunway University College, places like Roof Top Theater, classes (they have the brick walls I want), and many more. If needed, we'll go to Kota Kemuning for the Lake Side Drive, you know, for the lake.

Here's a list of some photos I wish to produce in the tryouts:

So, it's more like a personal project for now. If anyone of you are still interested in this session after seeing what I take (most probably at this Saturday or Sunday), let me know, and I'll run something with it.
+Quote Post
bunvirus
post Jul 24 2008, 02:11 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #53

Star Collector

wahhh.. this weekends ka? sunway is near my place also.. might drop by and kacau u lor.. tongue.gif
+Quote Post
myjunk
post Jul 24 2008, 06:17 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #54

Freak

Good Good.. take around sunway, then put into the photo contest to win RM25K
+Quote Post
Intimidated
post Jul 24 2008, 09:14 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #55

QUOTE(myjunk @ Jul 24 2008, 06:17 AM)

O_o what photo contest?
+Quote Post
darthbaboon
post Jul 24 2008, 09:17 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #56

Dark Lord of the Sith

QUOTE(myjunk @ Jul 24 2008, 06:17 AM)

I'm sure the Sunway group would like a good number of well-taken photos of people feeling very depressed at their premises for their new promotional brochure and group annual report. tongue.gif
+Quote Post
Intimidated
post Jul 24 2008, 09:18 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #57

>_> I have no idea what's going on. Someone fill me in please?
+Quote Post
darthbaboon
post Jul 24 2008, 09:26 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #58

Dark Lord of the Sith

QUOTE(Intimidated @ Jul 24 2008, 09:18 AM)
>_> I have no idea what's going on. Someone fill me in please?

There is an unconfirmed word in the street that there will be a photography competition organized by the Sunway Group launched end August 2008 titled "“Sunway Memories” PHOTOGRAPHY COMPETITION". Grand prize will be RM 25k.

It's not launched yet so everything to date is unconfirmed.

Edit : Just read through the post again and it seems they are looking for *happy memories*... no funeral, gory accidents or suicides around the area. I can think of 25k reasons to change the photoshoot theme.... tongue.gif

Maybe the LYN photogs should use some lipstick, draw our faces like the Joker and pose for a groupshot in front of Sunway Pyramid.

This post has been edited by darthbaboon: Jul 24 2008, 09:29 AM
+Quote Post
tytons
post Jul 24 2008, 10:40 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #59

sunway...here we go!
+Quote Post
albnok
post Jul 24 2008, 12:24 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #60

Alpha Male

You're right, don't turn something artsy into a Gothic lolita fashion shoot.

I know this black-and-white film-processing teacher who had a few ideas. For him though, it's not about bringing a model to a place and figuring out what to do - he has a vision of a picture he wants to paint. This is without external lighting as he intends to shoot it with his large format view camera. yawn.gif

He had a few recurring dreams, often of fears he had. Running, being confused, lost, walking through a familiar surrounding only to find that a door leads somewhere else... flying, falling, etc.

Now this dude is quite old, and he was the oldest in his class when he went back to study. He had this dream where he was in class and he didn't understand anything!

So I envisioned a shot of him in a class, him with gray hair, eyebrows furrowed, holding a textbook. The two pages that can be seen in the picture have garbled characters printed on it. Think Led Zeppelin IV sigils.

For added effect, some of the students could be asleep or looking bored.

(Though, if you could walk into a lecture hall and find a senior-looking fella, you might get such a shot.)

He had other dreams that translated into great pictures that can tell a story.

So, tap into your dreams and nightmares!

Addendum: You could work something around the Sunway hostel - have a bunch of students crying, crowding around the spot where a guy er... landed, a few years back. Except that there is no guy there.

For further inspiration, watch Batman: The Dark Knight repeatedly, or for some better sources, anything from Metallica during their Ride The Lightning bits or if you can take it, death metal! That should set you in the mood.

This post has been edited by albnok: Jul 24 2008, 12:36 PM
+Quote Post

3 Pages < 1 2 3
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd November 2008 - 10:04 PM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2008 Vijandren Ramadass (~resistance is futile~)