Lowyat.NET Forums

Kopitiam Ops in progress - Trolls be warned.

RSS feedReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> authenticate wireless users

montagut
post Jul 4 2008, 07:00 PM

Group: Junior Member

hi,

is there any ways or software that i can use to authenticate users from wireless network. my scenario is

1. users detected my wireless network in their laptop
2. users see that it was an open network, not locked
3. users try to connect to my network
4. when users connection established, users open their browser then a login page to authenticate will come out 1st
5. users enter their username and password, then they can browse the internet.

need expert advise on this matter. thank you
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kons
post Jul 4 2008, 09:20 PM

The buck stops here

Group: Moderator

This is called captive portal method.

You can look for the free Chillispot, and there are some commercial solutions available as well.
+Quote Post
montagut
post Jul 5 2008, 01:35 AM

QUOTE(kons @ Jul 4 2008, 10:20 PM)
This is called captive portal method.

You can look for the free Chillispot, and there are some commercial solutions available as well.

Thank you, now i know what to google.
+Quote Post
azmihamzah
post Jul 5 2008, 03:16 AM

I love Nikon

Group: Senior Member

easiest way is by either using monowall or pfsense.
User is online!Profile CardPM
+Quote Post
montagut
post Jul 22 2008, 10:15 PM

bro, that one is firewall.... nothing to do with what i mentioned above

QUOTE(azmihamzah @ Jul 5 2008, 04:16 AM)
easiest way is by either using monowall or pfsense.

+Quote Post
babayaga
post Jul 25 2008, 05:12 AM

normal encryption not good enough for you? happy.gif
+Quote Post
kons
post Jul 25 2008, 10:07 AM

The buck stops here

Group: Moderator

QUOTE(babayaga @ Jul 25 2008, 05:12 AM)
normal encryption not good enough for you? happy.gif

They serve different purpose. smile.gif
With unique username, you can do accounting.
Encryption does not do accounting. smile.gif
+Quote Post

Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 30th August 2008 - 08:58 AM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2008 Vijandren Ramadass (~why so serious?~)
Hosting powered by IPServerOne - a Malaysian Web Hosting Company