intel Q6600 vs Q9450, which 1 more worth to buy?
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
intel Q6600 vs Q9450, which 1 more worth to buy?
Jul 1 2008, 11:32 AM
SQ Aficionado ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 546 Joined: January 2003 |
hahaha i am also now thinking of Q6600 or Q9450 lor...but since i work in intel can get employee price..hehe but seriously, Q6600 is enough bang for the buck la...Q9450 is more towards best performance without considering the price factor...
Jul 1 2008, 01:05 PM
boing..boing.. ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 1,895 Joined: September 2007 From: wheres d oil price is higher than condoms.. |
QUOTE(LeChuCk @ Jul 1 2008, 11:32 AM) hahaha i am also now thinking of Q6600 or Q9450 lor...but since i work in intel can get employee price..hehe but seriously, Q6600 is enough bang for the buck la...Q9450 is more towards best performance without considering the price factor... erm....work in intel but using amd... |
Jul 1 2008, 01:08 PM
boing..boing.. ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 1,895 Joined: September 2007 From: wheres d oil price is higher than condoms.. |
Jul 1 2008, 01:11 PM
SQ Aficionado ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 546 Joined: January 2003 |
Jul 1 2008, 01:14 PM
Jul 1 2008, 01:23 PM
Regular ![]() ![]() Group: Junior Member Posts: 113 Joined: August 2006 |
QUOTE(tech_frix @ Jul 1 2008, 02:08 PM) a lot of ppls will said duo core is good due to a lot of programs and game did not utilize all cores.... so d conclusion if dependent... up to u in the end.. sure wat i concern is which one can work better with GC like 4870?i mean in gaming performance, which one is better? since e8500 is quite expensive than compare with q6600 |
Jul 1 2008, 03:38 PM
QUOTE(well @ Jul 1 2008, 01:23 PM) sure wat i concern is which one can work better with GC like 4870?i mean in gaming performance, which one is better? since e8500 is quite expensive than compare with q6600 IMHO, i will take Q6600 cuz highly OCable and for future usage and i'm using a lot of video and pictures editing... i think Q6600 suits u if u in my field.. |
Jul 1 2008, 04:24 PM
Newbie ![]() Group: Junior Member Posts: 48 Joined: September 2006 |
QUOTE(k!nex @ Jul 1 2008, 09:06 AM) ur heatsink din fit properly is it?? how come a quad core can reach 57C at idle?? or ur ambient temperature is hot?zalman fan shudn't be tht weak.if like dat means using stock intel HSF will get 60++C at idle???or u oc it with super high vcore? mine is around 28-32C range for all the cores wif ambient temp 24C. btw to TS: Q6600 and Q9450 performance difference wont be tht noticable to naked eye.although Q9450 has 12Mb of L2 cache and Q6600 has 8Mb only.really not much difference in performance coz no application can make use of 12Mb of cache yet. Wah, idle at 28C-32C and ambient temp of 24C. Where do you stay? What HSF and thermal paste are you using? By the way, I am not too worried about the temp for the first 2 cores because when loaded by Prime95 (FFT) they only reached 67C max. The last 2 cores only hit 58-59C max. However, I am really a bit sad because the proc is running at stock speed. It seems to be a temp sensor problem to me, but it might be my thermal paste too (I have tried it so many times with the same result, so I don't think I am going to redo it). |
Jul 1 2008, 04:35 PM
Newbie ![]() Group: Junior Member Posts: 26 Joined: August 2007 |
QUOTE(LeChuCk @ Jul 1 2008, 11:32 AM) hahaha i am also now thinking of Q6600 or Q9450 lor...but since i work in intel can get employee price..hehe but seriously, Q6600 is enough bang for the buck la...Q9450 is more towards best performance without considering the price factor... guys... get the extreme edition.... |
Jul 1 2008, 06:06 PM
Regular ![]() ![]() Group: Junior Member Posts: 281 Joined: March 2008 From: Shitber Tak Berjaya |
Jul 1 2008, 06:15 PM
yes, she is ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 1,247 Joined: October 2007 From: klang |
QUOTE(well @ Jul 1 2008, 01:23 PM) sure wat i concern is which one can work better with GC like 4870?i mean in gaming performance, which one is better? since e8500 is quite expensive than compare with q6600 hmm....if u wana get, just take the e8400 is enuf already....e8500 is kinda more expensive by few more hundred bucks n u wont realise its difference with e8400 if u are planning to run those on stock speed.... and again, if u wana compare e8400 or e8500 with a q6600, i wud say q6600 is a bang for buck cos its a quad-core with decent speed n lets u do multitasking n heavy loads better... but for gaming, going for e8400 is better as the clock is higher compared to q6600 thus will reduce the bottlenecking of ur GC performance....n it is way easier to do high clocks when OCed compared to quad core... QUOTE(danielyeap @ Jul 1 2008, 04:24 PM) Wah, idle at 28C-32C and ambient temp of 24C. Where do you stay? What HSF and thermal paste are you using? By the way, I am not too worried about the temp for the first 2 cores because when loaded by Prime95 (FFT) they only reached 67C max. The last 2 cores only hit 58-59C max. However, I am really a bit sad because the proc is running at stock speed. It seems to be a temp sensor problem to me, but it might be my thermal paste too (I have tried it so many times with the same result, so I don't think I am going to redo it). hmm..have u tried reading those temps with software like REALTEMP? but frankly speaking, zalman cpu cooler is not really that great in performance actually although it expensive QUOTE(LohMaiGai @ Jul 1 2008, 04:35 PM) no point getting an extreme proc if u dont really know what it can do.... those are for hardcore OCer only This post has been edited by tkh_1001: Jul 1 2008, 06:17 PM |
Jul 2 2008, 12:06 AM
Why so serious ? ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 1,000 Joined: October 2007 From: 槟城 - Penang Island Status: Un-Owned |
Just to let u know..
My Q9450 manage to reach 3.5GHz stock vcore on P35-DS3 and 3.6GHz on Biostar I45 (didnt try higher) P.S: No stress test is done.! |
Jul 2 2008, 09:26 AM
Newbie ![]() Group: Junior Member Posts: 48 Joined: September 2006 |
QUOTE(tkh_1001 @ Jul 1 2008, 06:15 PM) hmm..have u tried reading those temps with software like REALTEMP? but frankly speaking, zalman cpu cooler is not really that great in performance actually although it expensive Those temps were recorded by RealTemp 2.60 This is the first time I bought an after-market HSF, so I have to confess that I bought that Zalman because of its look I believe my HSF for my next build will be a Xigmatek or Thermal Right. But I am curious about why the temp of my last 2 cores seem to be normal. |
Jul 2 2008, 11:04 AM
Newbie ![]() Group: Junior Member Posts: 26 Joined: August 2007 |
QUOTE(Vor @ Jul 1 2008, 06:06 PM) Lol price is also very extreme Well if TS knows/willing to/plan to OC then get Q6600 would be enough, but if wanna play stock then Q9450 if you have the cash. I am satisfied with mine QUOTE(tkh_1001 @ Jul 1 2008, 06:15 PM) hmm....if u wana get, just take the e8400 is enuf already....e8500 is kinda more expensive by few more hundred bucks n u wont realise its difference with e8400 if u are planning to run those on stock speed.... and again, if u wana compare e8400 or e8500 with a q6600, i wud say q6600 is a bang for buck cos its a quad-core with decent speed n lets u do multitasking n heavy loads better... but for gaming, going for e8400 is better as the clock is higher compared to q6600 thus will reduce the bottlenecking of ur GC performance....n it is way easier to do high clocks when OCed compared to quad core... hmm..have u tried reading those temps with software like REALTEMP? but frankly speaking, zalman cpu cooler is not really that great in performance actually although it expensive no point getting an extreme proc if u dont really know what it can do.... those are for hardcore OCer only he will know what i mean. |
Jul 2 2008, 01:14 PM
Newbie ![]() Group: Junior Member Posts: 18 Joined: November 2007 |
QUOTE(tech_frix @ Jul 1 2008, 04:38 PM) IMHO, i will take Q6600 cuz highly OCable and for future usage and i'm using a lot of video and pictures editing... i think Q6600 suits u if u in my field.. If you are going to do alot of video and picture editing, you should get q9450 cause it got extra instruction set for those video and picture editing enhancment. Added on July 2, 2008, 1:25 pmTS, I just got my new rig. Today I will test it out and let you know the result. My specs is : Proc - q9450 2.66Ghz - on a deepcool alpha7 Mobo - Gigabyte X48-DQ6 RAM - Corsair XMS2 800Mhz (4-4-4-12) 2*2GB GPU - Gigabyte 9600GT 512MB PSU - Gigabyte ODIN Pro 550W Case - Gigabyte i-Solo 210 Black HDD - (don't know what brang) SATAII 7200RPM 500GB Load vista is quite slow ( 15 sec ) but runs smoothly. Have to use custom heatsink because mobo got a chipset cooler that crash the ori heatsink to unable to fit. Performance today oni know cause at night only get computer. -edited Added on July 2, 2008, 1:57 pm QUOTE(skylinegtr34rule4life @ Jun 29 2008, 08:13 PM) it was not high because your 9600GT makes it not high and ruined your system status Dude.... get your RAM into 800Mhz la.... Somemore you din OC... Ya, his temp too high when at idle with that zalman fan... Mind tell what thermal paste you use? This post has been edited by inventorfam2004: Jul 2 2008, 01:57 PM |
Jul 2 2008, 02:14 PM
QUOTE(inventorfam2004 @ Jul 2 2008, 01:14 PM) If you are going to do alot of video and picture editing, you should get q9450 cause it got extra instruction set for those video and picture editing enhancment. Added on July 2, 2008, 1:25 pmTS, I just got my new rig. Today I will test it out and let you know the result. My specs is : Proc - q9450 2.66Ghz - on a deepcool alpha7 Mobo - Gigabyte X48-DQ6 RAM - Corsair XMS2 800Mhz (4-4-4-12) 2*2GB GPU - Gigabyte 9600GT 512MB PSU - Gigabyte ODIN Pro 550W Case - Gigabyte i-Solo 210 Black HDD - (don't know what brang) SATAII 7200RPM 500GB Load vista is quite slow ( 15 sec ) but runs smoothly. Have to use custom heatsink because mobo got a chipset cooler that crash the ori heatsink to unable to fit. Performance today oni know cause at night only get computer. -edited Q6600 can OC higher than Q9450... |
Jul 2 2008, 04:03 PM
10k Club / certified hardcore downloader ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 11,335 Joined: February 2005 |
Jul 2 2008, 10:36 PM
Newbie ![]() Group: Junior Member Posts: 10 Joined: June 2008 |
will intel processor drop price in next few months?
i mean drop alot,will Q9450 drop to RM7xx-RM8xx,Q6600 drop to RM5xx? This post has been edited by reileong88: Jul 2 2008, 10:45 PM |
Jul 2 2008, 11:41 PM
Regular ![]() ![]() Group: Junior Member Posts: 242 Joined: April 2007 |
.. lol dun scare me i am going to get a new rig...
Jul 3 2008, 08:39 AM
Newbie ![]() Group: Junior Member Posts: 10 Joined: June 2008 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
| Lo-Fi Version | Time is now: 30th August 2008 - 11:23 PM |