Lowyat.NET Forums

Kopitiam Ops in progress - Trolls be warned.
7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > »  
RSS feedReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Photography Competition: Chemistry of Lights, "Time to use your flash!"

al_aajily
post Jul 1 2008, 12:29 AM

Group: Junior Member

The Goddess of Light
in Songs of The Sea daily show at Sentosa Island, Singapore

taken with sony alpha 200
shutter priority
f/5.6
shutter 1/8 - handheld
ISO 1600

hey, can submit how many photos?

edited because i submit larger photo

This post has been edited by al_aajily: Jul 1 2008, 01:15 AM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dgrebel
post Jul 1 2008, 12:32 AM

I'm not alone.

Group: Senior Member

thats damn nice man! submit la how many u want. i will just choose one. so decide which one u want to declare to be nominated.
+Quote Post
orenzai
post Jul 1 2008, 12:33 AM

i am a photographer

so painting with light can submit?
+Quote Post
dgrebel
post Jul 1 2008, 12:33 AM

I'm not alone.

QUOTE(orenzai @ Jul 1 2008, 12:33 AM)
so painting with light can submit?

since i dont see enuff contribution from what i expected. why not. impress me.
+Quote Post
orenzai
post Jul 1 2008, 12:37 AM

i am a photographer

ok here goes...the EXIF you can view it from the photo...

thank you...will post more later
+Quote Post
dgrebel
post Jul 1 2008, 12:40 AM

I'm not alone.

it'll be more interesting if u can story abit about how u achieve that effect. nod.gif
+Quote Post
altecphoto
post Jul 1 2008, 01:15 PM

QUOTE(altecphoto @ Jun 30 2008, 06:06 PM)
Heres mine.

Photoshop : Resizing and colour balance.

Camera : Canon 350D
Shutter speed : 30sec, on tripod.
ISO : 100
F/ number : 5.6

Place the camera on a tripod in a very very dark room, get a flashlight in hand. press the shutter, and start painting.. just imagine the flashlight is your paintbrush.
+Quote Post
orenzai
post Jul 1 2008, 05:28 PM

i am a photographer

QUOTE(orenzai @ Jul 1 2008, 12:37 AM)
ok here goes...the EXIF you can view it from the photo...

thank you...will post more later

this was actually the cave light source...i was in there and my friend was using my tripod...so i play around with that available light... then i used photoshop to edit the colors biggrin.gif
+Quote Post
dgrebel
post Jul 4 2008, 09:45 AM

I'm not alone.

bump!
+Quote Post
altecphoto
post Jul 6 2008, 03:57 PM

Photoshop-
WB
Sharpening

EXIF-
Taken With: Canon Canon EOS 350D DIGITAL
Taken On: 2008:07:05 22:47:36
Focal Length: 70.0mm
Exposure Time: 0.250 s (1/4)
ISO Equiv.: 1600
Aperture: f/13.0
Exposure: shutter priority (semi-auto)
+Quote Post
dgrebel
post Jul 6 2008, 06:33 PM

I'm not alone.

nice altecphoto. i'm very satisfied with your effort.
+Quote Post
altecphoto
post Jul 6 2008, 07:24 PM

QUOTE(dgrebel @ Jul 6 2008, 06:33 PM)
nice altecphoto. i'm very satisfied with your effort.

Thanks, this was my first time shooting this technique..
+Quote Post
dgrebel
post Jul 9 2008, 04:00 AM

I'm not alone.

this thread is slow. let me fuel it up.

here's my try yesterday

if u guys really blur about it.

go here:

http://www.flickr.com/groups/slowsynch/

This post has been edited by dgrebel: Jul 9 2008, 04:03 AM
+Quote Post
altecphoto
post Jul 9 2008, 04:08 AM

A very very simple guide on how to shoot these type of pics,
1-Put your camera on shutter priority.
2-Set shutter speed to about 4sec
3-focus, compose your subject
4-press the shutter button and start shaking/moving/swinging your camera.
+Quote Post
dgrebel
post Jul 9 2008, 04:25 AM

I'm not alone.

QUOTE(altecphoto @ Jul 9 2008, 04:08 AM)
A very very simple guide on how to shoot these type of pics,
1-Put your camera on shutter priority.
2-Set shutter speed to about 4sec
3-focus, compose your subject
4-press the shutter button and start shaking/moving/swinging your camera.

actually the easiest way is to:

1. popup your whatever (builtin or speedlight) flash
2. set to aperture priority
3. set iso to 100
4. look for a dim place and set your aperture to move constantly to about 2sec (2")
5. shoot the subject and while the shutter reopens, move your camera to any light source made available. more colors means extra chance of winning.
+Quote Post
xynthian
post Jul 10 2008, 01:33 AM

Hi guys, just to share mine with you all. I did this few years back. You guys can do it too. It's really simple, I did this when I'm still using panasonic p&s camera.

light source is from motorola phone

Click to seee photo

1. hold shutter long enough.
2. move handphone around as you like.

note: no ps is done on these photos

This post has been edited by xynthian: Jul 10 2008, 03:39 AM
+Quote Post
knightrazor
post Jul 10 2008, 01:48 AM

This one ok?

exif file is in the picture. Did a few tweaking in RAW eg. saturations.
+Quote Post
limchee
post Jul 10 2008, 01:57 AM

(Cropped)

Others: http://flickr.com/photos/limchee/sets/72157606069332976/

Camera : Canon PowerShot G9
Shutter speed : 4sec, placed on desk
ISO : 100
Aperture : f/2.8

Method: Using the flash light of Nokia N73ME and the blue colour light (volume button) and keep waving in the air according to the desired shape smile.gif

This post has been edited by limchee: Jul 10 2008, 12:52 PM
+Quote Post
MR.Shiney
post Jul 10 2008, 03:46 AM

Peter Parker's Apprentice

my entry

Make = Canon
Model = Canon PowerShot A520
Exposure Time = 1"
F Number = F3.2
Metering Mode = Pattern
Flash = Flash fired, auto mode, red-eye reduction mode
Focal Length = 7.81mm

ahh dem, must also during the submission entry. never mind i put here for fun only sad.gif

This post has been edited by MR.Shiney: Jul 10 2008, 04:03 AM
+Quote Post
hornetEJ
post Jul 10 2008, 04:41 PM

Here's my submission:

TS, can this qualify? I was shooting light trails on traffic. But due to my handshake, I ended up with this doh.gif drool.gif thumbup.gif
Camera Model - Canon 400D
Lens - 50mm f/2.8 II
Aperture - f/22
Shutter Speed - 6s
ISO - 100
IS mechanism - Handheld

No PP except add border and watermark. But Exif gone already. TS, let me know how you would like to verify it?

This post has been edited by hornetEJ: Jul 10 2008, 04:44 PM
+Quote Post

7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » 
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 30th August 2008 - 08:59 AM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2008 Vijandren Ramadass (~why so serious?~)
Hosting powered by IPServerOne - a Malaysian Web Hosting Company