RSS feedReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Cooler Master Mystique 632s Mod

cskeong
post Jun 15 2008, 06:33 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #1

Group: Junior Member

2nd time modding. 1st time was nothing much to shout about. heres the progress so far.

first up some pics of the casing straight out of the box

now some pics of the casing after it has been taken apart

i'm gonna sand them down to metal layer and mirror finish. the front panels are aluminum so they won't rust however the body of the casing is SECC........they rusted after i sanded of the paints and left them overnight. any idea how to prevent that. below is the top panel after going through 240,400,800,1200,1500 & 2000. i have yet to use the metal buffer and polish. any good brands to recommend?

User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Calvin22
post Jun 15 2008, 06:51 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #2

wow... nice casing there ... good lucky ... tongue.gif tongue.gif
+Quote Post
Sib
post Jun 15 2008, 06:56 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #3

wHaAaA...?

Group: Senior Member

wow TS, nice casing u got there...u sure got lots of $$$ there, still new n mod it after that... sweat.gif

btw, if u dun mind tell us wat're u going to do to the casing? i mean the mod of course. nod.gif

cheers n gud luck! icon_rolleyes.gif
+Quote Post
cskeong
post Jun 15 2008, 07:05 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #4

QUOTE(Calvin22 @ Jun 15 2008, 06:51 PM)
wow... nice casing there ... good lucky ...  tongue.gif  tongue.gif

tq very much

QUOTE(Sib @ Jun 15 2008, 06:56 PM)
wow TS, nice casing u got there...u sure got lots of $$$ there, still new n mod it after that... sweat.gif

btw, if u dun mind tell us wat're u going to do to the casing? i mean the mod of course.  nod.gif

cheers n gud luck!  icon_rolleyes.gif

i'm going to sand off the paint on front, left, right and top panel. after that i'm going to sand them into chrome like mirror finish. liquid cooling will have to wait as i'm on a tight budget.

oh yeah update gonna be slow as i can only work on the casing during weekends.

This post has been edited by cskeong: Jun 15 2008, 07:07 PM
+Quote Post
Aquariusdenz
post Jun 15 2008, 11:01 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #5

Apple? Smart~

wow nice case indeed.. how much is it? im sure waiting for the result of your mod.. smile.gif
+Quote Post
cskeong
post Jun 16 2008, 09:14 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #6

casing is RM 399. guys i'm having a problem. its rusting.anything i can use to prevent rusting after i'm done with the sanding and buffing?
+Quote Post
d2z
post Jun 16 2008, 09:26 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #7

clear coat spray bro..? im not so sure laa~..huu~
+Quote Post
cskeong
post Jun 16 2008, 09:29 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #8

well i'm not an expert but here is wat i know. smooth surface gives poor adhesion to paint.........mirror finish surface are smooth........lol. besides i didn't get the buffing done yet so can't cover it with clear coat yet.....though i still think they won't adhere properly
+Quote Post
Cloudx
post Jun 16 2008, 09:42 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #9

Hin~~ Hin~~ Hin ar~~!

Tai kor me not soo expert la... but i would suggest that u paint it once u get the buffing is done.. to prevent rusting. 1 coat will do to protect it.
+Quote Post
Sib
post Jun 16 2008, 10:48 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #10

wHaAaA...?

QUOTE(cskeong @ Jun 16 2008, 09:14 AM)
casing is RM 399. guys i'm having a problem. its rusting.anything i can use to prevent rusting after i'm done with the sanding and buffing?

may i suggest using WD 40 to cover the surface 1st? the reason using wd40 is bcuz it's easier to rinse if u're going to paint it later, using oil/cooking oil is troublesome bcuz of it's properties. nod.gif
+Quote Post
cskeong
post Jun 16 2008, 11:10 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #11

i'm not going to paint it. i'm going for bare metal mirror finish. wd40 is good however it will trap dirt
+Quote Post
Sib
post Jun 16 2008, 11:19 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #12

wHaAaA...?

QUOTE(cskeong @ Jun 16 2008, 11:10 AM)
i'm not going to paint it. i'm going for bare metal mirror finish. wd40 is good however it will trap dirt

yes, i know. that's y i state it can be rinse easier than oil b4 applying anything to it. meaning ur going for a clear coat only?
+Quote Post
lot101
post Jun 16 2008, 12:27 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #13

ok

everyone stay away from CSKEONG......he will rclxub.gif be on a mugging streak liao .......

ooops he got me liao......help!

This post has been edited by lot101: Jun 16 2008, 12:29 PM
+Quote Post
cskeong
post Jun 16 2008, 12:44 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #14

coming here kacau kacau =.=. and sib yeah i'm going for clear coat only. need to be careful lol. the paints gonna have poor adhesion to the surface.
+Quote Post
lot101
post Jun 16 2008, 12:50 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #15

QUOTE(cskeong @ Jun 16 2008, 12:44 PM)
coming here kacau kacau =.=. and sib yeah i'm going for clear coat only. need to be careful lol. the paints gonna have poor adhesion to the surface.

ai yo....you mai need the attention mah...... tongue.gif ...... send to an automotive paint shop....30 minutes everything kao tim....

+Quote Post
kuzgo
post Jun 16 2008, 04:15 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #16

I'm not 100% sure, but I have read somewhere in these forums that you can clear-coat it to prevent rust. Other than that I can't think of anything else. Unless you're will to sapu WD40 all the time. lol. Or you can fill up an aquarium with oil and immerse the case. XD
+Quote Post
sepulgilo
post Jun 17 2008, 10:58 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #17

Untuk Masyarakat Berbudaya

use undercoat sure fix ur problem
+Quote Post
lohwenli
post Jun 20 2008, 02:42 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #18

Penang Overclockers Club

Thing is, he wants the exposed polished metal look. I'm having the same problem here too. Probably will try clearcoating first, if really cannot then may have to get it plated.
+Quote Post
cskeong
post Jun 20 2008, 09:05 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #19

clear coat added. waiting for it to cure before sanding and rubbing compound to get smooth finish on the clear coat. wonder if it will turn out alright lol
+Quote Post
sukatra_aicaca
post Jun 20 2008, 11:15 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #20

-Under Arrest-

TS
this casing secc @ alu ??
+Quote Post

2 Pages  1 2 >
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 12th October 2008 - 05:27 PM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2008 Vijandren Ramadass (~naughty by nature~)
Hosting powered by IPServerOne - a Malaysian Web Hosting Company