104 Pages « < 75 76 77 78 79 > »  
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> DELL NETBOOK FANS CLUB, For Dell Netbook Fans

patience18
post Jun 28 2009, 10:50 AM

Group: Junior Member

how long can the battery of the dell mini 10 last?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jumajuma
post Jun 28 2009, 11:39 AM

QUOTE(nordingh @ Jun 28 2009, 02:18 AM)
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1028573
upgrade to 2BGB does help and change the ssd, must be use the higher speed like Buffale or Runcore.
Thanks..
i'll skip the ssd upgrade for this moment.. quite pricey for this cheap netbook waiting the price going down. but for sure will upgrade the ram.
can i use my ddr2 800 ram in my studio (check my siggy) for this netbook? reason is my studio17 only using vista32 bit so only use around 3gb ram. i dont care to run my prime laptop at single channel coz not much improvement can see from running dual channel.

i wonder where dell put the hsdpa modem.. the signal very strong compare to my huawei 3.5G usb modem which i bought at RM900!! mad.gif

This post has been edited by jumajuma: Jun 28 2009, 11:43 AM
+Quote Post
Hico
post Jun 28 2009, 11:41 AM

Group: Senior Member

can..i am using ddr2 800 for mini 9 too.. but bear in mind that the battery life will drop a bit after u upgrade to 2gb...mine gets about 2 hours+ a bit compare to 2 hours 30minutes or 45 minutes like that..
+Quote Post
jumajuma
post Jun 28 2009, 11:48 AM

QUOTE(Hico @ Jun 28 2009, 11:41 AM)
can..i am using ddr2 800 for mini 9 too.. but bear in mind that the battery life will drop a bit after u upgrade to 2gb...mine gets about 2 hours+ a bit compare to 2 hours 30minutes or 45 minutes like that..
really?? blink.gif i luv carrying my mini9 around coz the battery life is awesome compare to my dell studio. maybe i should strip off the window and disable the hibernation. does upgrading the ssd will drop the battery life also?
+Quote Post
Hico
post Jun 28 2009, 11:55 AM

QUOTE(jumajuma @ Jun 28 2009, 11:48 AM)
really??  blink.gif  i luv carrying my mini9 around coz the battery life is awesome compare to my dell studio. maybe i should strip off the window and disable the hibernation. does upgrading the ssd will drop the battery life also?
yes..from some review, the run core ssd which is faster will produce more heat also.. anyway, the more you upgrade, the less battery life will get also... cos more consume power lor.. maybe u should consider get bigger battery tongue.gif
yes..disable hibernation will free more spaces... but i enable it cos i found that when i watch movie, it will run smoother.. it took me 2gb for hibernation sad.gif cos i am using 2gb ram too..
+Quote Post
jumajuma
post Jun 28 2009, 12:02 PM

bigger battery is no no for me.. already suffered with my 17" dtr. using wifi my mini9 can reach 3hour i think already enough for me.. just check email on site. and the mini charger really light look like hp charger only.
i'll start tweak the xp 1st.
+Quote Post
nordingh
post Jun 28 2009, 12:22 PM

I not 24 hours here...

QUOTE(jumajuma @ Jun 28 2009, 11:39 AM)
Thanks..
i'll skip the ssd upgrade for this moment.. quite pricey for this cheap netbook waiting the price going down. but for sure will upgrade the ram.
can i use my ddr2 800 ram in my studio (check my siggy) for this netbook? reason is my studio17 only using vista32 bit so only use around 3gb ram. i dont care to run my prime laptop at single channel coz not much improvement can see from running dual channel.

i wonder where dell put the hsdpa modem.. the signal very strong compare to my huawei 3.5G usb modem which i bought at RM900!! mad.gif
Yes you can use DDR2 800 memory. Same for me, I use 2x2GB in my Inspiron 1525. Then I take 1 and put in my Dell Mini 9. So the Mini 9 RAM I use in my Inspiron 1525, make it 3GB in total and still run in dual channel.

If you put 2 piece RAM in Studio, it will run in dual mode, doesn't care same size or not.

QUOTE(Hico @ Jun 28 2009, 11:41 AM)
Depend, my brother still get 3:30 after upgrade to 2GB. (I mention before). My brother and me use same brand, but getting different battery life.

QUOTE(jumajuma @ Jun 28 2009, 11:48 AM)
really??  blink.gif  i luv carrying my mini9 around coz the battery life is awesome compare to my dell studio. maybe i should strip off the window and disable the hibernation. does upgrading the ssd will drop the battery life also?
Not sure about battery life after upgrade the SSD. Hibernation is good if you keep using the netbook anytime you have a chance. I enable the hibernation because I will keep using when got some spare time, even inside a car. When use hibernate, no need to wait all the driver or whatever to finish loading before can use. Take a few secs to load and just need to connect back the 3G and already online. Easy job.

I don't care about the space, I just use it for internet. Now left 800MB.

To addicted to Mafia War now... doh.gif

QUOTE(Hico @ Jun 28 2009, 11:55 AM)
yes..from some review, the run core ssd which is faster will produce more heat also.. anyway, the more you upgrade, the less battery life will get also... cos more consume power lor.. maybe u should consider get bigger battery tongue.gif
yes..disable hibernation will free more spaces... but i enable it cos i found that when i watch movie, it will run smoother.. it took me 2gb for hibernation sad.gif cos i am using 2gb ram too..
Are you sure enable hibernation smoothing the battery... Do you mean virtual memory.... tongue.gif

QUOTE(jumajuma @ Jun 28 2009, 12:02 PM)
bigger battery is no no for me.. already suffered with my 17" dtr. using wifi my mini9 can reach 3hour i think already enough for me.. just check email on site. and the mini charger really light look like hp charger only.
i'll start tweak the xp 1st.
I like Mini 9 charger but never carry with me. Mini 9 battery life enough for me to get on war for a day.... (a few minutes everytime)....
+Quote Post
jumajuma
post Jun 28 2009, 12:31 PM

huhu.. looks like another mafia war capo is here.. level99 here.. dont pawn me!!! smile.gif

looking for screwdriver now to switch the ram.. thanks for advise to not disable the hibernation. loading the driver quite slow. will wait the ssd price going down 1st.
+Quote Post
Hico
post Jun 28 2009, 02:40 PM

hehe..should be vitual memory..blur already..
3 hours + battery life? thats long enough..my both mini 9 only can last the most 2 hours 45 minutes like that...so envy!! tongue.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by Hico: Jun 28 2009, 02:41 PM
+Quote Post
ilovecsk
post Jun 28 2009, 02:45 PM

QUOTE(ChrisHor @ Jun 27 2009, 05:22 PM)
My WWAN Mini 9 is unable to get a GPS lock all the time. Is there any problem with my unit?
try to searching the signal at outdoor, where the sky is just above your head not roof top tongue.gif, i think indoor is impossible to get the location lock, even while on the bus i can only lock my location while the bus stop for traffic light, when it goes then it lost again.

Hey guys, check this out, FINGERPRINT SCANNER MOD IN MINI 9 shocking.gif
http://www.mydellmini.com/forum/dell-mini-...canner-mod.html

really notworthy.gif that mod
+Quote Post
Hico
post Jun 28 2009, 02:48 PM

QUOTE(ilovecsk @ Jun 28 2009, 02:45 PM)
try to searching the signal at outdoor, where the sky is just above your head not roof top tongue.gif, i think indoor is impossible to get the location lock, even while on the bus i can only lock my location while the bus stop for traffic light, when it goes then it lost again.

really  notworthy.gif  that mod
AMAZING! rclxms.gif notworthy.gif
+Quote Post
xsan
post Jun 28 2009, 03:20 PM

Ouh Emm Gee I Can Edit This Nao

QUOTE(jumajuma @ Jun 28 2009, 11:39 AM)
remove the battery..
if i not mistaken its hidden at battery dock..
i will ask my friend to send me some pics for that.. nod.gif
he using Studio 15...

QUOTE(ilovecsk @ Jun 28 2009, 02:45 PM)

really  notworthy.gif  that mod
hard mod..
if u dare.. do it.. if not dont.. laugh.gif
+Quote Post
nordingh
post Jun 28 2009, 03:23 PM

I not 24 hours here...

QUOTE(jumajuma @ Jun 28 2009, 12:31 PM)
huhu.. looks like another mafia war capo is here.. level99 here.. dont pawn me!!! smile.gif

looking for screwdriver now to switch the ram.. thanks for advise to not disable the hibernation. loading the driver quite slow. will wait the ssd price going down 1st.
2GB RAM need 2GB space for hibernation. With 2GB can reduce virtual memory to 512MB only. Work for me...

(you better add me in MW. I have 700 soldier ready to ambush any mafia out here. I can ask my Big Daddy (lvl 600+) to do nasty thing or ask another member with 24K mafia member to rip someone).

QUOTE(Hico @ Jun 28 2009, 02:40 PM)
hehe..should be vitual memory..blur already..
3 hours + battery life? thats long enough..my both mini 9 only can last the most 2 hours 45 minutes like that...so envy!! tongue.gif rclxms.gif
ha ha... rclxub.gif

I going to order 'kerbau' SSD tomorrow... anyone want to join and share shipping? PM me.
+Quote Post
Hico
post Jun 28 2009, 06:10 PM

QUOTE(nordingh @ Jun 28 2009, 03:23 PM)
2GB RAM need 2GB space for hibernation. With 2GB can reduce virtual memory to 512MB only. Work for me...

(you better add me in MW. I have 700 soldier ready to ambush any mafia out here. I can ask my Big Daddy (lvl 600+) to do nasty thing or ask another member with 24K mafia member to rip someone).
ha ha...  rclxub.gif

I going to order 'kerbau' SSD tomorrow... anyone want to join and share shipping? PM me.
where did you order from? US also? thru ebay? now on tight budget..or else sure join you..and need 2 pcs of ssd once order ..cost me a lot then.. cry.gif
+Quote Post
nordingh
post Jun 28 2009, 08:05 PM

I not 24 hours here...

QUOTE(Hico @ Jun 28 2009, 06:10 PM)
where did you order from? US also? thru ebay? now on tight budget..or else sure join you..and need 2 pcs of ssd once order ..cost me a lot then.. cry.gif
This kerbau from Japan bro... if order from US, then costly already... ye lor... Japan go to US then come to Malaysia...

I order direct from Japan... save a bit.... PM me for price... 16/32Gb got...

Added on June 29, 2009, 2:33 amWeird... my mini battery life shown by power meter (XP own) is 3hours+ but battery bar show 2 hours+.

This post has been edited by nordingh: Jun 29 2009, 02:33 AM
+Quote Post
ronnie
post Jun 29 2009, 08:42 AM

Not enough stars

@nordingh, how much for 32GB Buffalo SSD in Japan ?
User is online!Profile CardPM
+Quote Post
Hico
post Jun 29 2009, 08:52 AM

how much is 16gb and 32gb ssd??
mine also like that..and i noticed the battery bar will keep adjusting the time left from 2 hours+ to 1 hours + then back 2 hours + again..but mostly i used to watch movie...so i assume it consume more power.. blink.gif

This post has been edited by Hico: Jun 29 2009, 08:53 AM
+Quote Post
ronnie
post Jun 29 2009, 08:59 AM

Not enough stars

Battery life is not linear.. it depends on the current application running. It's normal to move up and down.

If your screen is blank most of the time, the battery life increase.
If your screen is playing movie most of the time, the battery life decrease.
User is online!Profile CardPM
+Quote Post
nordingh
post Jun 29 2009, 09:04 AM

I not 24 hours here...

Guys... this is the price...

SHD-DI9M32G: 9,290 JPY (RM 344.10)

SHD-DI9M16G: 5,330 JPY (RM 198.00)

RM1 = 27 JPY (for now)

+Quote Post
Hico
post Jun 29 2009, 09:19 AM

tats cheap! too bad now too tight oledi my budget! sad.gif
+Quote Post

104 Pages « < 75 76 77 78 79 > » 
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

Switch to:
0.0500sec    6.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st May 2012 - 02:26 PM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2012 Vijandren Ramadass (~unite against racism~)