Lowyat.NET Forums

Paypal WTS topics will be closed after 14 Nov. Read here.
3 Pages < 1 2 3 > 
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Headphone/IEM ranking

penny2
post Jun 8 2008, 09:42 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #21

Group: Senior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

QUOTE(l0k0 @ Jun 8 2008, 10:48 PM)
PK1 needs amp. AFAIK, PK2 doesn't.

but i really dont understand why yuin's earbud can be so expensive...
does it worth the price?
what other earphones are at the same level of Yuins? perhaps, PK1?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
walabies
post Jun 8 2008, 11:20 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #22

A guy who enjoys ears being poked... :lol:

QUOTE(penny2 @ Jun 6 2008, 11:23 PM)
I'm looking for new headphone or earphone
if price doesnt matter, which of the following perform the best, as in sound quality?
(the genre I listen is more to R&B songs and ochestral/classical music for example Vanessa Mae violin musics, Forrest Gump , Lord of The Ring, Titanic OST)
If possible, please rank the following earphone/headphone from your point of view. Thanks
1) Etymotic Research(ER) 4s
2) Etymotic Research(ER) 6i
3) Altec Lansing IM716
4) Sony MDR-EX700
5) Sony MDR-EX90
6) Super-fi 5 pro
7) Mylarone X3i
8) Koss KSC-75
9) Philip SHE9500
10) Grado SR60

The yuins has its own fans. As for signatures there are discussions all over head fi and here.
If I were you...
1) Super.fi.5.pro
2) Altec Lansing IM716 with amp
3) ER4s
4) Mylar X3i
5) Grado SR60
6) Koss KSC75
7) ER6i
8~10) Sonies and Philips
+Quote Post
penny2
post Jun 9 2008, 12:28 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #23

QUOTE(walabies @ Jun 9 2008, 01:20 AM)
The yuins has its own fans. As for signatures there are discussions all over head fi and here.
If I were you...
1) Super.fi.5.pro
2) Altec Lansing IM716 with amp
3) ER4s
4) Mylar X3i
5) Grado SR60
6) Koss KSC75
7) ER6i
8~10) Sonies and Philips

Thanks for your view points.
How if IM716 being unamped?
oops, the more Expensive ER4s is ranked at the 4th place...
Are the sony earphones really that bad?
Even for the EX700 that cost around USD300?
+Quote Post
kerazul
post Jun 9 2008, 01:35 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #24

how does the yuin pk2 compare to the x3i?
+Quote Post
penny2
post Jun 9 2008, 09:41 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #25

QUOTE(kerazul @ Jun 9 2008, 03:35 AM)
how does the yuin pk2 compare to the x3i?

added into the list, waiting for others to share their experience
+Quote Post
AngleR35
post Jun 10 2008, 01:39 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #26

The One and Only

QUOTE(JY. @ Jun 8 2008, 05:17 PM)
bro, how much u got for ur ES2 cable? 'shire' clear flex? Is 'shure', rite? tongue.gif  can that fit on ue tips?

i get it on sg there , 60sgd around RM130 , the clear flex u can use shure scl2/e2c , coz the size is almost same and itis fit on the earphone rclxms.gif

Added on June 10, 2008, 1:42 am
QUOTE(penny2 @ Jun 8 2008, 08:34 PM)
Is Creative Xmod considered an Amp?

i think can considered an amp , but that one is using on comp , if wan using on player , i think better buy the player amp , walabies got selling there , alot poison situ brows.gif

This post has been edited by AngleR35: Jun 10 2008, 01:42 AM
+Quote Post
Sieg
post Jun 10 2008, 03:42 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #27

Group: Junior Member

QUOTE(ClieOS @ Jun 8 2008, 05:24 PM)
Sony is not a professional brand in anything, especially their headphone section. I like its review so far so I'll probably getting my EX700 next time I visit Singapore, hopefully not for long. EX700 has gold plated headphone jack, and that is the only place the has gold in it. Too often salesmans pretend to know thing they have no idea with  shakehead.gif

Sony "used" to be tongue.gif , their legendary R10 is the best example.
+Quote Post
chuanchuan90
post Jun 10 2008, 05:19 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #28

QUOTE(AngleR35 @ Jun 10 2008, 01:39 AM)
i get it on sg there , 60sgd around RM130 , the clear flex u can use shure scl2/e2c , coz the size is almost same and itis fit on the earphone  rclxms.gif

Added on June 10, 2008, 1:42 am

i think can considered an amp , but that one is using on comp , if wan using on player , i think better buy the player amp , walabies got selling there , alot poison situ  brows.gif

ohh??tat ES2 cable not i bought from SG for my 5pro de meh?how come become urs... rclxm9.gif

Added on June 10, 2008, 5:35 pmKlipsch Custom-3 is a good choice for u,it has better bass than 5pro,i means more high quality bass which is deep,tight,and not cover the mid and high. C3 is suitable for all type of song since it is more balance than 5pro. If u consider to use ur IEM on mp3 player,5pro is more bass than C3,and not as tight as C3.but if u using 5pro on CD player,it sioks....well balanced sounding and more detail than using mp3 player. C3 no such improvement like 5pro but it is still better than using mp3 player. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by chuanchuan90: Jun 10 2008, 05:35 PM
+Quote Post
TarePanda
post Jun 10 2008, 06:28 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #29

I doubt that walabies have heard Sony EX700...neither I...but what i read from headfi.org....one of the member there who actually own did rate it above TP10...

Quite interesting on Sony EX700

+Quote Post
JY.
post Jun 10 2008, 07:00 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #30

QUOTE(AngleR35 @ Jun 10 2008, 01:39 AM)
i get it on sg there , 60sgd around RM130 , the clear flex u can use shure scl2/e2c , coz the size is almost same and itis fit on the earphone  rclxms.gif

QUOTE(chuanchuan90 @ Jun 10 2008, 05:19 PM)
ohh??tat ES2 cable not i bought from SG for my 5pro de meh?how come become urs... rclxm9.gif

hehe...how is the improvement by using ES2 cable? Is it the rm130+- worth?
+Quote Post
chuanchuan90
post Jun 10 2008, 07:34 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #31

QUOTE(JY. @ Jun 10 2008, 07:00 PM)

ES2cable improve comfort more than sound quality,ES2 cable is more easy to manage and keep in the case compare to stock cable.in terms of sound,it reduce some bass,and upward some mid and high...but changing sleeves is another better way to change the sound quality or signature. laugh.gif
+Quote Post
knuxed
post Jun 10 2008, 07:41 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #32

you def cant go wrong with the high end Audio Technica IEMs.Doesnt have the brand name of Westone and Etys,but its seriously good with a warm sound
+Quote Post
penny2
post Jun 10 2008, 08:46 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #33

QUOTE(TarePanda @ Jun 10 2008, 08:28 PM)
I doubt that walabies have heard Sony EX700...neither I...but what i read from headfi.org....one of the member there who actually own did rate it above TP10...

Quite interesting on Sony EX700

i did try the EX700 in gurney plaza that day, but since i didnt try up very well. (just about 15 seconds and then pass to my friend to test)
I just know that the layers of music was brought out very well.
perhaps is because of the new Multi Layer(ML) diaphragm technology? no idea...
+Quote Post
yuheng
post Jun 11 2008, 01:07 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #34

Audio=Enjoy

QUOTE(JY. @ Jun 10 2008, 07:00 PM)

es2 cable is good, alot of ppl using that for recabling UE IEM, u can pm walabies for more details biggrin.gif

Added on June 11, 2008, 1:10 pm
QUOTE(penny2 @ Jun 6 2008, 11:23 PM)
I'm looking for new headphone or earphone
if price doesnt matter, which of the following perform the best, as in sound quality?
(the genre I listen is more to R&B songs and ochestral/classical music for example Vanessa Mae violin musics, Forrest Gump , Lord of The Ring, Titanic OST)
If possible, please rank the following earphone/headphone from your point of view. Thanks

The Ranking is based on 1 member's view point.
1) Super-fi 5 pro
2) Altec Lansing IM716
3) Etymotic Research(ER) 4s
4) Mylarone X3i
5) Grado SR60
6) Koss KSC-75
7) Etymotic Research(ER) 6i
8) Sony MDR-EX700 (one member said this is better than any one in the list)
9) Sony MDR-EX90
10) Philip SHE9500

as for my personal preference, which the signature i like.

1. Suerpfi 5 pro
2. x3i
3. ksc75
4. grado sr60
5. im716
6. er4
7. er6
8. EX90
9. SHE9500

never listen to EX700, no comments

This post has been edited by yuheng: Jun 11 2008, 01:10 PM
+Quote Post
cherasbabe
post Jun 11 2008, 03:13 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #35

any1 can put SE HPM70 to the list?
+Quote Post
chuanchuan90
post Jun 11 2008, 04:13 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #36

QUOTE(cherasbabe @ Jun 11 2008, 03:13 PM)

why???can u gv a reason? smile.gif
+Quote Post
toughnut
post Jun 11 2008, 06:04 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #37

13E7

QUOTE(cherasbabe @ Jun 11 2008, 03:13 PM)

i guess it's at the bottom of the list too. bloated bass like typical sony earphone. but i might be wrong, i never use that HPM70 before.
+Quote Post
JY.
post Jun 11 2008, 06:28 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #38

QUOTE(toughnut @ Jun 11 2008, 06:04 PM)
i guess it's at the bottom of the list too. bloated bass like typical sony earphone. but i might be wrong, i never use that HPM70 before.

erm...i think it rank below the normal sony earphone. tongue.gif The bass is super bloated.

Added on June 11, 2008, 6:31 pm
QUOTE(yuheng @ Jun 11 2008, 01:07 PM)
es2 cable is good, alot of ppl using that for recabling UE IEM, u can pm walabies for more details biggrin.gif

seriously? haha, but need to save up some money 1st...The sf5p really makes me broke. doh.gif Roughly how much it cost?

This post has been edited by JY.: Jun 11 2008, 06:31 PM
+Quote Post
cherasbabe
post Jun 11 2008, 11:46 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #39

QUOTE(JY. @ Jun 11 2008, 06:28 PM)
erm...i think it rank below the normal sony earphone.  tongue.gif The bass is super bloated.

maybe the HPM70 u heard is a AP version.. alot of fake SE accessories nowdays!

the one i tested well.. will put my old Altec Lansing ACS45.1 aside.. collecting dusts...
+Quote Post
Sieg
post Jun 12 2008, 02:25 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #40

i see alot of ppl prefer x3i more than the ksc 75, maybe my taste is a bit weird lol. I prefer KSC75 more than the x3i
+Quote Post

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 8th November 2009 - 08:22 PM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)