Lowyat.NET Forums

Kopitiam Ops in progress - Trolls be warned.
84 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > »  
RSS feedReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Buying a new digital camera (Buying Advice)

death_nite
post Jan 17 2008, 03:18 PM

Lossless Land...

Group: Senior Member

i am scouting camera digital for my dad...

Type of camera/lens/accesories : compact
Budget: RM800+
Your Location: JB/Melaka
Preferable brand : Anything. but prefer well known brand.
Type of photography u want to do : Have no idea. tongue.gif
Any specific models in mind? : nope.
Any specific features u want? : at least 5-7mp. got a lot of functions/features. with image stabilizer if possible...

thanks!

This post has been edited by death_nite: Jan 17 2008, 03:28 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kazasho
post Jan 18 2008, 11:52 PM

Type of camera/lens/accesories : dslr or prosumer
Budget: 1.5k
Your Location: klang valley
Preferable brand : nikkon, canon eos
Type of photography u want to do : architectural photo
Any specific models in mind? : d40, 350d, s5is
Any specific features u want? : manual function!!!
+Quote Post
nuox
post Jan 19 2008, 12:54 AM

Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR
Budget: RM3000
Your Location: Kuala Lumpur, Melaka, Penang
Preferable brand : Sony Alpha, Nikon, Canon
Type of photography u want to do : candid, landscape, events.
Any specific models in mind? : sony a100 twin lens, sony a200 twin lens, 400d, d80
Any specific features u want? : at least 9af

heard that singapore can get d80 for rm3200. should i wait and save money first. a200 look intersting since it got twin lens. my priority is candid.

This post has been edited by nuox: Jan 19 2008, 12:55 AM
+Quote Post
vikingw2k
post Jan 19 2008, 01:16 AM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian

Group: Moderator

QUOTE(kazasho @ Jan 18 2008, 11:52 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  dslr or prosumer
Budget: 1.5k
Your Location:   klang valley
Preferable brand :  nikkon, canon eos
Type of photography u want to do :  architectural photo
Any specific models in mind? :  d40, 350d, s5is
Any specific features u want? :  manual function!!!

If you are serious into photography and you don't mind invest more money to get better lens to produce better results in future, get a Canon 350D.

If your budget is tight and all you want is just an all rounder camera in between RM1.5k, go for S5 IS.

+Quote Post
neems
post Jan 20 2008, 01:59 AM

Group: Junior Member

Type of camera/lens/accesories: Prosumer
Budget:Less than RM2,000
Your Location: KL
Preferable brand :Panasonic or FUJI
Type of photography u want to do :Anything
Any specific models in mind? :Panasonic FZ50 and FUJI S9600

I'm just trying to choose between those 2 cameras. I have no idea which one is better.

This post has been edited by neems: Jan 20 2008, 02:02 AM
+Quote Post
Kyl3
post Jan 20 2008, 11:32 AM

Type of camera/lens/accesories : point and shoot
Budget: 500-600
Your Location: kl,Ipoh
Preferable brand : Canon or nikon
Type of photography u want to do : outdoor, landscape, potrait
Any specific models in mind? : nope
Any specific features u want? : image stabilizer, 6mps? user friendly

it's for my father, he's going to china soon and he needs a dc.
+Quote Post
AlterFx
post Jan 21 2008, 03:30 AM

Type of camera/lens/accesories : compact
Budget: RM500-RM600
Your Location: KK,Sabah
Preferable brand : anything as long its good
Type of photography u want to do : snap tattoo artwork, landscape, outdoor,
Any specific models in mind? : any models
Any specific features u want? : good for close-up , image stabilizer

+Quote Post
gogo2
post Jan 21 2008, 12:06 PM

Chinesegogo

So many people asking about low price compact with IS. I check out a review:
http://www.digitalcamerainfo.com/content/P...ion-Tested-.htm

It seems Canon perform the best. So just get Canon.
+Quote Post
andychee81
post Jan 21 2008, 01:56 PM

Meoowwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww

Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR camera
Budget: RM2200+ include kitlens
Preferable brand : Sony / Canon / Nikon
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape and Portrait
Any specific models in mind? : 350D, D40, Alpha200
Any specific features u want? : would be great if comes with image stabiliser and low noise at low light condition.

which has the best bang for bucks?
+Quote Post
gogo2
post Jan 21 2008, 04:34 PM

Chinesegogo

QUOTE(andychee81 @ Jan 21 2008, 01:56 PM)
Budget: RM2200+ include kitlens
Preferable brand : Sony / Canon / Nikon
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape and Portrait
Any specific models in mind? : 350D, D40, Alpha200
Any specific features u want? : would be great if comes with image stabiliser and low noise at low light condition.

which has the best bang for bucks?

Alpha200 of course the most bang for buck la. With image stabilize, it increase a few F stop which
neither 350D and D40 can do. And the high ISO noise seems to be so far so good based on preview
and some photo taken by our forumer. RM2499 with twin lens seems to be a good deal.

But if you want the best package, I think you should get K100D. This camera can have low noise
with this three prong approach:

a)High ISO noise is very low (because its 6MP only)
b)Image stabilizer
c)50mm f1.4 prime lens

Pentax 50mm f1.4 prime lens is only RM600 compare to other brand which is RM1200.

K100D + 50mm = 1700+600 = RM2300 only.

You'll get super low light camera for RM2300 which is very good deal smile.gif
+Quote Post
Zyker
post Jan 21 2008, 09:25 PM

Type of camera/lens/accesories : dSLR
Budget: 2.5~3k
Your Location: Alor Star, Penang, Ipoh
Type of photography u want to do : everything
Any specific models in mind? : d40x, 400D, e-510
Any specific features u want? : image stabilizer, manual setting, anything a dslr should has
+Quote Post
gogo2
post Jan 22 2008, 08:55 AM

Chinesegogo

QUOTE(Zyker @ Jan 21 2008, 09:25 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : dSLR
Budget: 2.5~3k
Your Location: Alor Star, Penang, Ipoh
Any specific models in mind? : d40x, 400D, e-510
Any specific features u want? : image stabilizer, manual setting, anything a dslr should has

e-510 is dropping price. The last time before drop price is RM2900 with twin lens.
e510 kit lens is the best in the market.

If you read dpreview.com now, you'll see Olympus is dropping price. So it should be lower than RM2900 for twin lens now. So the best bang for the buck is e510. It has a lot of feature compare to 400D and d40x. Some more, only e510 has image stabilizer.

But of course, since u prefer Canon/Nikon, I suggest 400D since you can buy cheaper lens. For d40x, you need to buy AF-S lens which is more expensive.

Conclusion:
Get e510. But if you really want to be in safe side (more new/second hand lens), get Canon.
+Quote Post
tadasu
post Jan 22 2008, 05:14 PM

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jan 22 2008, 08:55 AM)
e-510 is dropping price. The last time before drop price is RM2900 with twin lens.

If you read dpreview.com now, you'll see Olympus is dropping price. So it should be lower than RM2900 for twin lens now. So the best bang for the buck is e510. It has a lot of feature compare to 400D and d40x. Some more, only e510 has image stabilizer.

But of course, since u prefer Canon/Nikon, I suggest 400D since you can buy cheaper lens. For d40x, you need to buy AF-S lens which is more expensive.

Conclusion:
Get e510. But if you really want to be in safe side (more new/second hand lens), get Canon.

what about sony? like a200, worth it? read some pros and cons about it. since im completely new to DSLR, which of them is suitable for me?

Added on January 22, 2008, 5:25 pmto add more info to my above post:

Preferable brand : Canon/Nikon/Sony
Any specific models in mind? : not really since im new
Any specific features u want? : preferably with image stabilizer

once again, im completely new, only started reading about DSLR few days ago. im wondering if it's better for newbie like me to get a body+kitlens, or just body+other good lens? thx smile.gif

This post has been edited by tadasu: Jan 22 2008, 05:59 PM
+Quote Post
gogo2
post Jan 22 2008, 05:58 PM

Chinesegogo

QUOTE(tadasu @ Jan 22 2008, 05:14 PM)
what about sony? like a200, worth it? read some pros and cons about it. since im completely new to DSLR, which of them is suitable for me?

Added on January 22, 2008, 5:25 pmto add more info to my above post:

Preferable brand : Canon/Nikon/Sony
Any specific models in mind? : not really since im new
Any specific features u want? : no

once again, im completely new, only started reading about DSLR few days ago. im wondering if it's better for newbie like me to get a body+kitlens, or just body+other good lens? thx smile.gif

A200 is a good deal. Its new generation of newbie dSLR. Something like PS3 is new generation of PS2. A200 is new generation of A100.

The brand out there is Sony, Canon, Nikon, Pentax, and Olympus. Only Sony come out with new generation newbie dSLR which is A200. Other brand is expected to come out also soon.

To know whether A200 is the best deal, all the other brand need to come out first with their new generation of camera. Then only we can do a comparison. If just look at the price now, A200 is actually an extremely good deal camera since its new.

About whether you should buy kit lens or good lens, hey, it depends on your budget and your seriousness in photography. For taking photo for fun, good lens or kit lens is not important coz I dun think you'll mind. But for those really want the best for their pic, they'll go for better lens (or more zoom, fast etc) and for this people, buying kit lens is a no no. However, Olympus E-510 kit lens is very good. And personally, I'll just buy a kitlens. I never know if I'll go far in photography. smile.gif

This post has been edited by gogo2: Jan 22 2008, 06:05 PM
+Quote Post
tadasu
post Jan 22 2008, 06:46 PM

icic, thanks for the info biggrin.gif

just 1 more Q, how much is e510??

Added on January 22, 2008, 6:50 pmoh ya, and how's a200's kitlens?

This post has been edited by tadasu: Jan 22 2008, 06:50 PM
+Quote Post
gogo2
post Jan 24 2008, 11:55 AM

Chinesegogo

QUOTE(tadasu @ Jan 22 2008, 06:46 PM)
icic, thanks for the info biggrin.gif

just 1 more Q, how much is e510??

Added on January 22, 2008, 6:50 pmoh ya, and how's a200's kitlens?

e510 is below RM2900. Now maybe reaching RM2700 I guess.

A200 kitlens is same as other brand. Ok enough for normal shooting. Not as famous
as e510 twin lens. If you buy A200 twin lens at RM2499, it give you 18-70, and 75-300mm.
That's a lot of optical zoom. Very wide range. It actually cover everything you ever need.
Even e510 lens does not cover that much (but quality of e510 kitlens is better).

What I can say, if buy A200 twin lens, it enough to fulfil ur newbie photography for a
very long long time.
+Quote Post
ashraful
post Jan 24 2008, 02:13 PM

Type of camera: Compact
Budget: around less thatn RM800
Your Location: KL, Ipoh
Preferable brand : Canon/Nikon/Olympus/Casio
Type of photography u want to do : Outdoor, Landscape
Any specific models in mind? : Casio EX-z75
Any specific features u want? : image stabilizer , 7megapixel and above, userfriendly?
+Quote Post
The Wonder
post Jan 24 2008, 08:43 PM

Cheap Shooter ^_^

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jan 22 2008, 08:55 AM)

Actually how to define best kit lens in the current market? IQ? Widest / longest zoom?
+Quote Post
gogo2
post Jan 25 2008, 07:56 AM

Chinesegogo

QUOTE(The Wonder @ Jan 24 2008, 08:43 PM)
Actually how to define best kit lens in the current market? IQ? Widest / longest zoom?

This is according to review and forum. Its based on IQ, not widest/longest since A200 twin lens can do more than Olympus one.
+Quote Post
kktan9812
post Jan 25 2008, 08:34 AM

Group: New Member

I'm thinking of getting a new DSLR and a new lense.
Already have something in mind but would like to know what is the currrent price for

Canon EOS 40D + EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS USM
Is there any similar lense on the market which is cheaper? I know the lense that I wanted is kinda expensive.
+Quote Post

84 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » 
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th August 2008 - 07:34 PM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2008 Vijandren Ramadass (~why so serious?~)
Hosting powered by IPServerOne - a Malaysian Web Hosting Company