> Wireless@KL [Free Broadband], Speeds up to 512Kbps || 500 MB Cap

prasys
post May 14 2008, 08:43 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #21

Senator of Networks & Broadband

Group: Moderator

500MB limit , i dont think it would be ever a mainstream connection. Its just to be used as a backup connection if your streamyx goes down. Thats about it
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Packeteer
post May 14 2008, 09:50 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #22

Group: Junior Member

Ya..i got share my exp abt wireless kl here...but the session is close cry.gif !!!
Anyway, like to hear from you all here..
User is offlineProfile CardPM
+Quote Post
eclectice
post May 14 2008, 11:37 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #23

Freak

Group: Senior Member

I've spent my time reading the terms & conditions provided in the online registration form. And, I see a few problems:

1) The T & C is like it is being copied from somewhere else. There are some references to certain Clauses but when I refer to the them, they do not match at all. Take for example:

1. Definitions and Interpretation

* "Initial Term" refers to the initial tenure of this Agreement, described in detail in Clause 16;

* "Renewal Term" refers to the renewed tenure of this Agreement, as described in detail in Clause 16;

So, when I refer to the aforementioned Clause 16, it says:

16. Confidential Information

* Subscriber shall at all times maintain the confidentiality of all information imparted to him/her/it pursuant to these Terms and/or in connection with any Service. Subscriber shall not disclose or give to any third party any such information without the prior written consent of Service Provider.

2) What will happen after two years? Yes, besides not being a free service anymore?

12. Term

12.1. This Agreement shall commence on the Registration Date and continue for two (2 years ("Initial Term"). Upon the expiry of the Initial Term, this Agreement shall be renewed at the discretion of the Service Provider.

12.2. Subscriber shall not be entitled to terminate the Agreement at any time and for any reason whatsoever (save for termination pursuant to Clause 13) during the Initial Term or the Renewal Term.

3) There is no clear indication mentioned in the T & C on how to unsubsribe from the service after the period of two years. There is only a mention about "Termination of service" in the Clause 13. But, "Termination of service" described in the T & C and "Unsubscription of service" are two different meanings.

4) Transfer of ownership is somehow restricted or forbidden:

19. Assignment

Subscriber shall not assign any of his/her/its rights or obligations under these Terms to any other person whatsoever. Service Provider may assign and/or novate these Terms to any third party and consent for the abovementioned is hereby deemed given by Subscriber.

This post has been edited by eclectice: May 15 2008, 12:01 AM
+Quote Post
wKkaY
post May 15 2008, 03:19 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #24

Crashing like a tidal wave..

Group: Forum Admin

Whoa sharp eyes tongue.gif OK, I looked around their website and I think they adapted it from their P1 Biz Zone 24-month contract. Your points #1 to #3 make sense if that's the case.

http://www.p1.com.my/images/pdf/P1%20Biz%2...20Agreement.pdf
+Quote Post
Dark8870
post May 15 2008, 03:28 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #25

Heard that connection is only 11Mb. Still 802.11b?
+Quote Post
kunyit_kampung
post May 15 2008, 07:32 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #26

QUOTE(prasys @ May 12 2008, 10:08 PM)
http://www.wirelesskl.com/

CODE
Welcome to Wireless@KL, an innovative wireless broadband Internet access service that keeps you connected all the time, wherever you may be in Kuala Lumpur (KL).

Whether you live in KL, work here or are simply visiting this vibrant city, you can now take advantage of a FREE* wireless broadband service with speeds of up to 512 kilobits per second (kbps) anytime, almost anywhere in KL.

The KL Wireless Metropolitan Project or Wireless@KL is a FREE wireless broadband internet access service that is brought to you by Kuala Lumpur City Hall (DBKL) and the Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission (MCMC) in collaboration with Packet One Networks (M) Sdn Bhd in a pioneering effort to transform Kuala Lumpur into a world-class wireless city.

Users would be able to access speeds of up to 512kbps, taking advantage of some 1,500 Wireless Fidelity (Wi-Fi) access points implemented throughout KL's commercial areas, offices, tourist attractions, residential areas, community centres, DBKL offices and countless other public areas.

Once you register as a Wireless@KL user, you will also be able to access the Wireless@KL portal where you'll find useful information on where to go around KL city, the latest news on KL happenings and much more.

I think for 500MB and 512Kbps , its pretty reasonable for light users to enjoy such as myself when primary isp goes down. I think its pretty fair. Good job to the government. I am not expecting this be a main-stream internet access but  512Kbps for 2 years with 500MB limit a month is pretty good for light surfers who just wants to lurk and get stuff. Thats about it. I think you can forget about BT , heavy downloading  !. Pretty good move I would say !

Let us discuss

Kindly post your opinion , feedback and even review !

512 kbps u will get a headshoot if were playing online gaming in US server hehehehehe
+Quote Post
Packeteer
post May 15 2008, 11:15 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #27

Today i tried in DOME KLCC, pretty good. I manage to KO alots of Capitol Policewoman in Facebook's My Hero ability...hahaha..
I jump 6 level with in 2 hours spending.... good..keep it up..plan to go their to use free wifi again.
+Quote Post
oumind
post May 17 2008, 02:01 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #28

QUOTE(Packeteer @ May 15 2008, 11:15 PM)
Today i tried in DOME KLCC, pretty good. I manage to KO alots of  Capitol Policewoman in Facebook's My Hero ability...hahaha..
I jump 6 level with in 2 hours spending.... good..keep it up..plan to go their to use free wifi again.

On 16/5/08 around 3:30pm, I tried to get a connection at the building entrance next to DOME Cafe (KLCC). I cannot get IP after attempting for a few minutes. Do I have to be inside DOME Cafe?

This post has been edited by oumind: May 17 2008, 02:02 PM
+Quote Post
Packeteer
post May 17 2008, 05:25 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #29

QUOTE(oumind @ May 17 2008, 02:01 PM)
On 16/5/08 around 3:30pm, I tried to get a connection at the building entrance next to DOME Cafe (KLCC).  I cannot get IP after attempting for a few minutes.  Do I have to be inside DOME Cafe?

I tried inside DOME, i think the signal at the place you test may be too weak. Anyway, you can raise your comments to their customer support email or call them up to ask...Why no signal at my place? hahaha... i will do that if i experience it. brows.gif
+Quote Post
u49hai
post May 20 2008, 02:21 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #30

Group: New Member

Need to hide for WiMax this free wireless@kl just to let all of us keep quiet casue WiMax equ just can arrive on next year end, that why their invest WiMax base on Wifi Access point.

FREE just for lite use how about other user ... ?

heave use no need to use on that area if like that sure get block for the heave user.

Got any reset time on the free wireless services ?
if got how many minit reset once ?

Added on May 20, 2008, 2:22 pmNeed to hide for WiMax this free wireless@kl just to let all of us keep quiet casue WiMax equ just can arrive on next year end, that why their invest WiMax base on Wifi Access point.

heave use no need to use on that area if like that sure get block for the heave user.

This post has been edited by u49hai: May 20 2008, 02:22 PM
+Quote Post
cwwong69
post May 21 2008, 05:25 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #31

I work at Megan Avenue at 13 floor and my wifi can detect the wireless@kl but have problem to connect to it. Maybe the signal not strong enough to reach 13 floor. Too bad.
+Quote Post
p4n6
post May 21 2008, 10:43 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #32

p4n6

QUOTE(u49hai @ May 20 2008, 02:21 PM)

Added on May 20, 2008, 2:22 pmNeed to hide for WiMax this free wireless@kl just to let all of us keep quiet casue WiMax equ just can arrive on next year end, that why their invest WiMax base on Wifi Access point.

Where do you get the info wimax equipment can only arrive next year end? The wifi KL is curretly riding on wimax backhaul which has already been deployed around KLCC area as according to the news. Information given during WCIT event that Wimax commercial roll out in Klang Valley on June 2008.

Written is that Wireless@KL is hotspot style wifi (at specific location e.g. cafe, restaurant etc) but not direct into your home type of free wifi. So don't think you will get wireless@KL if you are staying in an apartment, inside office or in your house.
+Quote Post
u49hai
post May 22 2008, 12:45 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #33

QUOTE(p4n6 @ May 21 2008, 10:43 PM)
Where do you get the info wimax equipment can only arrive next year end? The wifi KL is curretly riding on wimax backhaul which has already been deployed around KLCC area as according to the news. Information given during WCIT event that Wimax commercial roll out in Klang Valley on June 2008.

Written is that Wireless@KL is hotspot style wifi (at specific location e.g. cafe, restaurant etc) but not direct into your home type of free wifi. So don't think you will get wireless@KL if you are staying in an apartment, inside office or in your house.

go visit www.thestar.com.my
click in to the tech - news u can c all the info is their.
+Quote Post
lonewolf
post May 22 2008, 12:43 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #34

QUOTE(mikelee @ May 13 2008, 09:02 AM)
I am pleased that the government decided to do this. It's a great move and hopefully there isn't any traffic congestion while using it. Anyway I have just registered and there is a usage meter on my account. What happens after I hit the 500MB limit? Will they reset it after a certain period?

it is reset beginning of every month..and it doesn't track the account by mac address. you can just register another account and start using another 500mb
+Quote Post
eclectice
post May 22 2008, 12:49 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #35

Freak

Recent news on Green Packet's company performance:

Wednesday May 21, 2008 MYT 8:08:15 PM
Green Packet swings into the red
By Joseph Chin

KUALA LUMPUR: Green Packet Bhd swung into the red in the fist quarter ended March 31, 2008 with a net loss of RM2.73mil compared with a net profit of RM10.01mil a year ago.

Announcing the results Wednesday, it said revenue declined to RM22.34mil from RM31.41mil a year ago. Loss per share was 0.8 sen versus 3 sen last year.

It said the net loss was mainly from the substantial and expected higher operating cost incurred for the group's converged telecommunications business unit as its subsidiary and WimMAX operator Packet One Networks (Malaysia) Sdn Bhd (P1) builds up its network.

Group managing director and chief executive officer Puan Chan Cheong said the group's substantially higher investment in the broadband business this quarter was expected to ensure the successful commercial roll-out of the WiMAX services very soon.

"The loss after tax and minority interest is also partly attributable to higher share of associated companies' losses, and lower revenue from the solutions division as sales to China has yet to recover due to the pending award of 3G licence," the company said.

Earlier this week, Intel announced RM50mil investment into Green Packet to deploy Malaysia's first nationwide 802.16e WiMAX network.

http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...25&sec=business

This post has been edited by eclectice: May 22 2008, 09:44 PM
+Quote Post
kinfei
post May 27 2008, 02:31 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #36

ENDLESS RAIN

wow..cheras to be in the list?i wonder how big coverage will they imply for this area cause im living in cheras too smile.gif
+Quote Post
biolator
post May 30 2008, 01:18 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #37

cheras not yet... but on the way.. biggrin.gif

Added on May 30, 2008, 1:19 am
QUOTE(Dark8870 @ May 15 2008, 03:28 AM)
Heard that connection is only 11Mb. Still 802.11b?

its support 802.11 b/g

This post has been edited by biolator: May 30 2008, 01:19 AM
+Quote Post
zmyeo54
post Jul 1 2008, 04:19 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #38

seems like wireless@SG and it's FREE for life
+Quote Post
timekeeper
post Jul 1 2008, 11:34 PM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #39

Hmm, was in KL a week or so ago. Stayed at the new The Gardens Hotel and Residences, attached to Mid Valley. Went around too, Lowyat, Sunway, with my PPC Phone. Couldn't find any sign of the Wireless@KL hotspot...may be just me though!
+Quote Post
carloompunk
post Jul 11 2008, 03:46 AM
Show posts by this member only |Rating BETA (0+, 0-) | Post #40

im try conectng to wirelesskl with my p1i.. detect the network but cant get access to internet..
+Quote Post

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 5th December 2008 - 11:38 AM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2008 Vijandren Ramadass (~resistance is futile~)