Lowyat.NET Forums

Kopitiam Ops in progress - Trolls be warned.
124 Pages « < 96 97 98 99 100 > »  
RSS feedClosed TopicStart new topicStart Poll

> D40/x & D60 Thread V3

darthbaboon
post Jul 24 2008, 12:04 PM

Dark Lord of the Sith

Group: Senior Member

QUOTE(mindkiller6610 @ Jul 24 2008, 11:58 AM)
ISO3200 if I am not mistaken.

Mine goes officially up to "1600". Beyond that there's a setting called "Hi". Not sure what that stands for. Never used it before except maybe once.

If I expect to be shooting often indoors, I'd rather spend a little to get a flash, fast lens or a new body that plays with noise better.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Zack Styler
post Jul 24 2008, 12:17 PM

Group: Junior Member

But the ISO noise level in DSLR will surely be lower than compact cameras right?

Now surveying for the right DSLR to buy..
+Quote Post
KTCY
post Jul 24 2008, 01:51 PM

BumbleBee(tm)

QUOTE(darthbaboon @ Jul 24 2008, 12:04 PM)
Mine goes officially up to "1600". Beyond that there's a setting called "Hi". Not sure what that stands for. Never used it before except maybe once.

If I expect to be shooting often indoors, I'd rather spend a little to get a flash, fast lens or a new body that plays with noise better.

H1 = ISO 3200 smile.gif
+Quote Post
mybiebie
post Jul 24 2008, 02:35 PM

flash very important to shoot indoors...
+Quote Post
orenzai
post Jul 24 2008, 03:24 PM

i am a photographer

QUOTE(xandman @ Jul 24 2008, 06:29 AM)
can cccp2 control d40?
i dun think so...
it only controls d300 and above no?

orenzai...
wat do u mean control settings from computer?
shutter speed? aperture stuff?
well like i said...u need d300 and above...then use ccp2 to control them...
else...
no way...u can only control the shutter release from a computer...
called tethered shooting...all settings done INSIDE the camera...
the camera only initiates shutter release...

QUOTE(razuryza @ Jul 24 2008, 07:54 AM)
i think d80 also can ler.. coz i saw my bro did it with his macbook... so pro la.. taking photos with laptop...hahah

ah...tethered...didnt know the word for it...btw i googles and found out that the ccp2 works for all nikon DSLR and the liveview only applies for the d300 and d3 smile.gif

QUOTE(Zack Styler @ Jul 24 2008, 11:10 AM)
Just wanna ask..

How high can the ISO setting for D60 go?

QUOTE(mindkiller6610 @ Jul 24 2008, 11:58 AM)
ISO3200 if I am not mistaken.

the ISO can go up to 1600...3200 is like an "extended" option...
User is online!Profile CardPM
+Quote Post
darthbaboon
post Jul 24 2008, 05:08 PM

Dark Lord of the Sith

QUOTE(Zack Styler @ Jul 24 2008, 12:17 PM)
But the ISO noise level in DSLR will surely be lower than compact cameras right?

Now surveying for the right DSLR to buy..

If you wanna have no noise high ISO powarrrrr go Nikon D3. rclxms.gif

And yes any DLSR will have better noise performance than PnS. If you really wanna compare ISO performances, just go www.dpreview.com and compare the photo quality of different cameras.

Again, I emphasize that shooting with a flash/fast lens is much better than bumping ISO to the maximum.
+Quote Post
Zack Styler
post Jul 24 2008, 05:26 PM

QUOTE(darthbaboon @ Jul 24 2008, 05:08 PM)
If you wanna have no noise high ISO powarrrrr go Nikon D3.  rclxms.gif

And yes any DLSR will have better noise performance than PnS. If you really wanna compare ISO performances, just go www.dpreview.com and compare the photo quality of different cameras.

Again, I emphasize that shooting with a flash/fast lens is much better than bumping ISO to the maximum.

Haha no money to buy D3, costs a bomb... rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

+Quote Post
orenzai
post Jul 24 2008, 06:05 PM

i am a photographer

DSLR is in a totally different league... many aspects affect the noise level.. crop factor... image processor etcetc...do DSLR will always have a better noise control than compact cameras...
+Quote Post
Darkcursed
post Jul 24 2008, 10:06 PM

kinda excited wanna get my sb800 soon liao.
if no problem i should be getting this weekend.i have to ask some old fashion question already,what to check for any defect?
the lcd screen?
the power of flashes?
+Quote Post
ebernie
post Jul 24 2008, 10:36 PM

Even if shooting using flash indoors, high ISO (800 or more) is needed with a slow shutter to be able to get ambient light in. Or else your flash photos will wash out with only white light.

That's why wedding pros usually shoot high ISO (of course, most use full frame, so high ISO is no problem), wide aperture lens and powerful flash.
+Quote Post
orenzai
post Jul 24 2008, 11:40 PM

i am a photographer

QUOTE(Darkcursed @ Jul 24 2008, 10:06 PM)
if no problem i should be getting this weekend.i have to ask some old fashion question already,what to check for any defect?
the lcd screen?
the power of flashes?

not much you can check..just turn on everything and test a few shot to see if everything is working normally smile.gif
+Quote Post
iman_210
post Jul 24 2008, 11:47 PM

1.0 bar @ 221WHP

hopefully joining u guys to become a proud owner of d40 soon...
+Quote Post
orenzai
post Jul 24 2008, 11:51 PM

i am a photographer

welcome you in advance smile.gif
+Quote Post
xandman
post Jul 25 2008, 06:33 AM

When Darkness is the only Light U See.

QUOTE(Darkcursed @ Jul 24 2008, 10:06 PM)
the lcd screen?
the power of flashes?

mount ur flash on the cam...
then test the zoom function....
also check if ur flash is detected by ur cam...
thats bout it...
if possible...try out the remote capability...
+Quote Post
-Y-
post Jul 25 2008, 04:10 PM

can our beloved d40 fits old slr lens? n old external flash?
+Quote Post
xandman
post Jul 25 2008, 04:18 PM

When Darkness is the only Light U See.

if its old nikon...then yes...
if the hot shoe is the std one then yes...
but will it work...then i dunno...
+Quote Post
iman_210
post Jul 25 2008, 04:36 PM

1.0 bar @ 221WHP

guys,

quick question? any other flashes other than sb600 to fit d40? any that has i-ttl features?

This post has been edited by iman_210: Jul 25 2008, 04:52 PM
+Quote Post
-Y-
post Jul 25 2008, 04:38 PM

haha. im asking wheter it works or not la bro.. hehe.
+Quote Post
KTCY
post Jul 25 2008, 04:54 PM

BumbleBee(tm)

QUOTE(iman_210 @ Jul 25 2008, 04:36 PM)
guys,

quick question? any other flashes other than sb600 to fit d40? any that has i-ttl features?

Nissin, sunpak fit well. Just get the Nikon mount will do.
+Quote Post
iman_210
post Jul 25 2008, 05:18 PM

1.0 bar @ 221WHP

QUOTE(KTCY @ Jul 25 2008, 04:54 PM)
Nissin, sunpak fit well. Just get the Nikon mount will do.

price wise for the models mentioned?
+Quote Post

124 Pages « < 96 97 98 99 100 > » 
Bump TopicClosed TopicTopic OptionsStart new topic

Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 30th August 2008 - 03:03 AM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2008 Vijandren Ramadass (~why so serious?~)
Hosting powered by IPServerOne - a Malaysian Web Hosting Company