errr...
i m thinking of whr to go after my spm...
i decide to take foundation of engineering.
swinburne or mmu is better?
can u list the reason?
thx!
swinburne vs mmu
Apr 16 2008, 11:12 PM, updated 18y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
16 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
errr...
i m thinking of whr to go after my spm... i decide to take foundation of engineering. swinburne or mmu is better? can u list the reason? thx! |
Apr 16 2008, 11:20 PM
88 posts Joined: Mar 2008 From: PJ |
sure MMU la.....
simple nia, coz im also from MMU |
Apr 16 2008, 11:20 PM
923 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: KK, Sabah --> Hk (HKU) |
swinburne better, australia uni, got ranking
Apr 16 2008, 11:28 PM
16 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
hmm...
any else reason? i hope to know the quality of equipment and lecturer too. besides, can i know, after graduate, which university offer a better opportunity of career (in local and foreign)? |
Apr 17 2008, 12:24 AM
6,728 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: YOUR HOUSE |
TAR College, good good
Apr 17 2008, 12:31 AM
5,227 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Anchorage, Alaska |
Apr 17 2008, 08:15 AM
400 posts Joined: May 2006 From: Melbourne, Victoria |
swinburne better la
rm77k for any ENG course. one word : expensive |
Apr 17 2008, 10:25 AM
294 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Apr 17 2008, 11:18 AM
400 posts Joined: May 2006 From: Melbourne, Victoria |
who cares about the ranking
there's swinburne uni in aussie. unless you go oxford, then only consider ranking. |
Apr 17 2008, 12:08 PM
Apr 17 2008, 04:28 PM
789 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
Isn't there a Swinburne U in Sarawak?
Apr 17 2008, 04:41 PM
1 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: cyberjaya |
better choose MMU.
Although i'm MMUians, i suggest u go through the syllabus first then start to compare it. engineering syllabus in MMU always update year by year and meets the industries requirement http://www.mmu.edu.my |
Apr 17 2008, 04:59 PM
131 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
I'm confused of getting which university,either MMU or swinburne??
Does both university are teaching in english? how is the job apportunity from both university? Any seniors please help me, i dun wan screw my future.... |
Apr 17 2008, 05:23 PM
14 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Petaling Jaya |
I have not studied in MMU, though I have studied in Swinburne University of Technology, and Design in Victoria, Australia.
I have seen good works come out from students of Swinburne, as well as students of MMU. Although you are probably going to hate what I say next but; whichever you choose to go to, you will have to work hard to do your best. It is expected for you to be able to take initiative on your own in taking effort in going the extra mile. My experience in Swinburne. They will teach you the basics you need to know, the rest is all up to your independent-initiative. Nobody spoon-feeds you in Swinburne. However being in a different country will give you more exposure to new cultures, lifestyles and design. I am assuming you are talking about a creative course. Studying overseas will broaden your view with new things you might not have experienced locally. Again, if you are referring to Swinburne in Australia, and not in Sarawak, then obviously the faculty would communicate in English there. A good command of English is important especially in work. You will not be able to run away from it, unless you work in a 'chinaman' company, where Mandarin/Cantonese is highly preferred. That would severely limit your scope though. I emphasize that should you wish to study overseas where English is their primary language, you might need to brush up your conversing and comprehension skills in English. As decent as most of our command of English may be, their way of communicating in terms of grammar and forming of sentences are different from ours. Not to mention their accent. Or our accent for that matter. Acquiring a certificate showing that your English is at a qualified acceptable standard will help make your application to these countries easier. Studying overseas will require you to be really independent, being able to look after yourself no matter what happens because your family and friends will not be available there to help you. When looking for a job, especially in Malaysia, what employers will always want is the ability to perform and the ability to produce good results. They also would most probably want to see your past works, as a bearing to how good is your work. Just remember some people still have narrow minded thinking whereby they assume an overseas graduate will surely mean a person who has more skill. Sadly that is not entirely true. Hence the mention that wherever you choose to go, it is up to yourself to make it happen. This post has been edited by pneoxian: Apr 17 2008, 05:30 PM |
Apr 17 2008, 06:08 PM
72,804 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: KUL |
QUOTE(rodneylaw90 @ Apr 17 2008, 04:59 PM) I'm confused of getting which university,either MMU or swinburne?? I'm an undergraduate of MMU. Does both university are teaching in english? how is the job apportunity from both university? Any seniors please help me, i dun wan screw my future.... Yes, fully English in MMU, no BM or whatsoever except for BM class (for foreign students and those unable to achieve a credit in SPM) and foreign languages classes. Job opportunity is considered good. You may want to refer to this? Though it is an old survey but should be reliable. |
Apr 17 2008, 06:59 PM
602 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
mmu la...obviously. lolz.
Apr 17 2008, 07:03 PM
602 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
of coz mmu's classes conducted in english. lolz.
well, if i got chance to go overseas, i might choose another uni in aust. but mmu got orgy party wor. guess u dun wanna miss out on that |
Apr 17 2008, 07:24 PM
131 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
QUOTE(pneoxian @ Apr 17 2008, 05:23 PM) I have not studied in MMU, though I have studied in Swinburne University of Technology, and Design in Victoria, Australia. oic...so u r recommend me to study in overseas..I have seen good works come out from students of Swinburne, as well as students of MMU. Although you are probably going to hate what I say next but; whichever you choose to go to, you will have to work hard to do your best. It is expected for you to be able to take initiative on your own in taking effort in going the extra mile. My experience in Swinburne. They will teach you the basics you need to know, the rest is all up to your independent-initiative. Nobody spoon-feeds you in Swinburne. However being in a different country will give you more exposure to new cultures, lifestyles and design. I am assuming you are talking about a creative course. Studying overseas will broaden your view with new things you might not have experienced locally. Again, if you are referring to Swinburne in Australia, and not in Sarawak, then obviously the faculty would communicate in English there. A good command of English is important especially in work. You will not be able to run away from it, unless you work in a 'chinaman' company, where Mandarin/Cantonese is highly preferred. That would severely limit your scope though. I emphasize that should you wish to study overseas where English is their primary language, you might need to brush up your conversing and comprehension skills in English. As decent as most of our command of English may be, their way of communicating in terms of grammar and forming of sentences are different from ours. Not to mention their accent. Or our accent for that matter. Acquiring a certificate showing that your English is at a qualified acceptable standard will help make your application to these countries easier. Studying overseas will require you to be really independent, being able to look after yourself no matter what happens because your family and friends will not be available there to help you. When looking for a job, especially in Malaysia, what employers will always want is the ability to perform and the ability to produce good results. They also would most probably want to see your past works, as a bearing to how good is your work. Just remember some people still have narrow minded thinking whereby they assume an overseas graduate will surely mean a person who has more skill. Sadly that is not entirely true. Hence the mention that wherever you choose to go, it is up to yourself to make it happen. so, both university leaver will hv good job opportunity? Added on April 17, 2008, 7:27 pm QUOTE(influenza04 @ Apr 17 2008, 07:03 PM) of coz mmu's classes conducted in english. lolz. wat is orgy party??well, if i got chance to go overseas, i might choose another uni in aust. but mmu got orgy party wor. guess u dun wanna miss out on that so, how can i choose the school? need to accord to which status? their school leaver job opportunity or wat? Added on April 17, 2008, 7:30 pm QUOTE(fruitie @ Apr 17 2008, 06:08 PM) I'm an undergraduate of MMU. thanks for ur information given..Yes, fully English in MMU, no BM or whatsoever except for BM class (for foreign students and those unable to achieve a credit in SPM) and foreign languages classes. Job opportunity is considered good. You may want to refer to this? Though it is an old survey but should be reliable. which MMU campus r u study right now? how is the campus? good? This post has been edited by rodneylaw90: Apr 17 2008, 07:30 PM |
Apr 17 2008, 07:31 PM
QUOTE(influenza04 @ Apr 17 2008, 07:03 PM) of coz mmu's classes conducted in english. lolz. if u got an opportunity go to uncle sam lar.. well, if i got chance to go overseas, i might choose another uni in aust. but mmu got orgy party wor. guess u dun wanna miss out on that orgy! wee QUOTE(rodneylaw90 @ Apr 17 2008, 07:24 PM) oic...so u r recommend me to study in overseas.. dont care about job opportunities.... care about being educated...so, both university leaver will hv good job opportunity? Added on April 17, 2008, 7:27 pm wat is orgy party?? so, how can i choose the school? need to accord to which status? their school leaver job opportunity or wat? orgy party? hahaha... google lar |
Apr 17 2008, 08:49 PM
813 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
Swineburne is crap, save your money and go to local university or college.
| Change to: | 0.0246sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:40 AM |