71 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

University UTAR comments plz, do you have other choice?

TSmphpopular
post Apr 1 2008, 06:29 PM, updated 18y ago

bar chartist
2,214 posts

For a stpm student, if you household not generating a high monthly income, and your result not as well as you expect, and public Uni do not give wat you want.

At laz, what choice do you have except UTAR.

Why UTAR?
- fees cheap
- 3 years for degree
- choice less
- the one and only sound nice bcoz named University

Ppl often ask me, why dun KTAR?
- SPM student will still going for ktar, bcoz 2year diploma, 2 year advance diploma
- but STPM student hav no choice, imposible you wan them after spending 2 years for form 6, now spending 4 more years for advanced diploma?
- lastly, STPM willl go for UTAR

Am i a supporter of UTAR? no no no
I juz wan to let u know, UTAR is not as good as you think also.

You know what happened to foundation new intake student? last year is rm 4000 ++ for foudation studies, this year bcome rm 7000++, our inflation rates also did not exceed 100%, but UTAR inflation already gone until 90%, scary.

Don't expect UTAR having a olympic size swimming pool like KTAR or other colleges, the cocuriculum activity can be considered 0, what you willl saw is those, maths society, english society etc.

The worse thing, Utar degree year 3 student (havent graduate) but teaching utar foundation students?

Equipment like classroom o mic o sound system, broken.

Juz to let you know all this, but you still can choose for it, cause i heard they are building a new campus in KAMPAR.
But heard ppl said they pakat wif the construction company, cause all the house beside the UTAR kampar is belong to the construction company, and there only for rent, and expensive.

Anyone ex student UTAR can come and giv more better opinion, maybe i only saw the negative sides of UTAR....

kmhork87
post Apr 1 2008, 06:49 PM

136 posts

hey..
dont think UTAR as a place for STPM drop out..
xpensive?
i highly doubt it because of d facility they provide in the university is high class
the degree is depending on what course u take..not all course is 3years as u noe..

yes i can say its xpensive for renting a room near the university BUT u must noe..its including security,laundry,electric bill,water bill,internet bill..
rm 190 for twin sharing is perfectly fine compare2 kl..right?

the degree graduate is up2 standard with other university's available..
so pls...dont judge a book by its cover..
dont blive come n 2 UTAR KAMPAR,PERAK open day then u will noe..

btw im a student of UTAR KAMPAR PERAK
pls feel free 2 pm about anyth...
i have pics to prove UTAR KAMPAR is a gd place
TSmphpopular
post Apr 1 2008, 07:19 PM

bar chartist
2,214 posts

Ya, i think you're lucky in Kampar, btwn, if u come and c my little bro in PJ . wao, tat is really a place i cant imagine, i advice my brother go there, and utar telling my bro, u nid to delay for 1 year. omg...

That day i went into my bro lecturer hall. tat is really unimagineable, broken mic, no sound PA system, all trash on floor, echo too heavy. You should try your life in PJ. Kampar as i know, out side was pretty, but inside i dunno.
kmhork87
post Apr 1 2008, 07:56 PM

136 posts

because its a new campus and all brand new equiptment, all its fantastic..
i heard frm my fren in pj,setapak,sg. long..
all damn teruk..
cos its new in kampar, so not all course have shifted here,dats y ur bro will nit2 wait a year if wana come kampar..
hehe
moon yuen
post Apr 1 2008, 10:02 PM

2,293 posts

QUOTE(kmhork87 @ Apr 1 2008, 07:56 PM)
because its a new campus and all brand new equiptment, all its fantastic..
i heard frm my fren in pj,setapak,sg. long..
all damn teruk..
cos its new in kampar, so not all course have shifted here,dats y ur bro will nit2 wait a year if wana come kampar..
hehe
The place is NEW, sure NICE la... smile.gif

KyriosxX
post Apr 2 2008, 12:12 AM

120 posts

i thought kampar is a nice place for study? the environment is quite peaceful and calm wat .. if i hv the chance,i'll go there as well..

so is there any part-time job vacancy in kampar? near the housing of coz..

kmhork87
post Apr 2 2008, 01:36 AM

136 posts

QUOTE(moon yuen @ Apr 1 2008, 10:02 PM)
The place is NEW, sure NICE la... smile.gif
ermm..its well maintained lor here..
u dont blive u can jz come here...
its a gd place2 study...
once u come here2 study then u will noe..
yes..there will b no entertainment for nw..
bt im sure there will b nex time
SUSkockroach
post Apr 2 2008, 01:56 AM

Certified Noob
3,256 posts

There is still MMU, Uniten (If you want to go for engineering) and other private university. Btw, in Utar kampar, anytime can go up cameron highland and enjoy the fresh air.
DragonMebius
post Apr 2 2008, 08:40 AM

ZGMF-X20A
1,282 posts

How much times it takes from Kampar UTAR to Cameron Highland??
And UTAR is half govn,and half private right??
Coz I refer the fees is not as pricey as other private U like MMU & UCSI
If not wrong,for the 1st year of STPM student who are taking degree courses will be on Kampar
kmhork87
post Apr 2 2008, 01:57 PM

136 posts

yes obviously UTAR fees aint as xpensive as uniten o mmu..
d quality is d same or maybe much better..
dat dpends on d student lar..
hehe
lecturer is fantastic..

stpm student will go2 year 1 sem 1 for degree...
dpending on wat course..
if for diploma,most prob go year 2 sem 1

how long ar..
depends wat road u take..
if frm ipoh new road2 cameron is bout 45mins..
if frm kampar thru old road, 1hour +

here's 1 of the pic of UTAR Kampar
tats the view frm d cafeteria to the lake nex to it

ahchak
post Apr 2 2008, 03:51 PM

Well...
558 posts

So nice ar the view. I might consider Utar kampar but Utar got only a few courses for business and what i want not inside. Other private uni like MMU so expensive. sad.gif
sunshine88
post Apr 2 2008, 05:00 PM

65 posts

UTAR Kampar sure looks nice.. nod.gif
but the course i wanted to do is not yet recognised there ..
Will be recognised soon after the first batch graduates.

This post has been edited by sunshine88: Apr 2 2008, 05:00 PM
transhumanist92
post Apr 2 2008, 06:46 PM

255 posts

Is the Bachelor of Science (Hons) Physics in UTAR is recognised??????
R3D_D3vilz
post Apr 2 2008, 09:15 PM

53 posts

Is mechanical engineering course offered in utar kampar now?

TheVoice
post Apr 2 2008, 09:50 PM

44 posts

How's the ambience of the campus? I mean the culture, english speaking surroundings? No offense to chinese speaking community
kmhork87
post Apr 2 2008, 11:48 PM

136 posts

ermm
d course recognize or not im nt sure..
didnt really check it out..
sorry cant ans..
ermm
no there?
sure o nt..mayb its diff name..
gt go n enquire?
best2 enquire..

yup..its all english speaking here, bt there r still student who still speaks chinese..
bt im sure it much more student speaking english than chinese compare 2 ktar..
no offence..bt dats wat i observe...

Akane
post Apr 3 2008, 02:35 AM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(mphpopular @ Apr 1 2008, 06:29 PM)
For a stpm student, if you household not generating a high monthly income, and your result not as well as you expect, and public Uni do not give wat you want.

Why UTAR?
- fees cheap
- 3 years for degree
- choice less
- the one and only sound nice bcoz named University

Ppl often ask me, why dun KTAR?
- SPM student will still going for ktar, bcoz 2year diploma, 2 year advance diploma
- but STPM student hav no choice, imposible you wan them after spending 2 years for form 6, now spending 4 more years for advanced diploma?
- lastly, STPM willl go for UTAR

Am i a supporter of UTAR? no no no
I juz wan to let u know, UTAR is not as good as you think also.

You know what happened to foundation new intake student? last year is rm 4000 ++ for foudation studies, this year bcome rm 7000++, our inflation rates also did not exceed 100%, but UTAR inflation already gone until 90%, scary.

Don't expect UTAR having a olympic size swimming pool like KTAR or other colleges, the cocuriculum activity can be considered 0, what you willl saw is those, maths society, english society etc.

The worse thing, Utar degree year 3 student (havent graduate) but teaching utar foundation students?

Equipment like classroom o mic o sound system, broken.

Juz to let you know all this, but you still can choose for it, cause i heard they are building a new campus in KAMPAR.
But heard ppl said they pakat wif the construction company, cause all the house beside the UTAR kampar is belong to the construction company, and there only for rent, and expensive.

Anyone ex student UTAR can come and giv more better opinion, maybe i only saw the negative sides of UTAR....
Dont compare UTAR with KTAR, its obviously a different class if you ask me. I am not sounding bias here, but its my past experience in both institution that teaches me what you will get from both place. No doubt, UTAR does have its bad side, but so far, I still think the positive side of UTAR is the one attracting the students. The students I mean here is not only Chinese, but Malay, Indians as well as Middle East (he suprises me as well) student.

Your first issue here is about the fees. UTAR is a private University and if it does not raises its fees, how they gonna cope with all the raising expenses. Its a simple theory here, you want the best for your studies, and to provide you with the best, of course they will ask for more money !

Secondly, Rome was not build in one day. Of course you cant expect to have all the best sporting facilities like in KTAR. The main campus in Kampar was only completed in 2007 and the first degree intake for Kampar was in 2008. How the heck you expect them to build so many sporting facilities there in such a short time ? KTAR had a history of more than 30 years, but their main sporting complex was only build in year 2004. And how you know UTAR doesnt focus on cocuriculum. Let me tell you this, every UTAR student will finish their class on 2pm on each Wednesday. Whatever course they take, they will finish their class at exactly 2pm on each Wednesday. But why izzit so ? Because, the rest of the time on Wednesday will be use for cocuriculum ! Either you can attend society meeting or activities and seminar/talk by other prominent figures. We have Travellers Den organizing outdoor trips activites so regularly, Music Club that rocks the whole campus up and down, Sports Club with their daily activites and others.

And if you say the living cost in Kampar is expensive, try to come Setapak, Sungai Long or even PJ. The rental cost here is absolutely more astonishing compared to Kampar. If you think the UTAR hostel in Kampar is expensive, then try to look sumwhere else. There are plenty of housing area surrounding Kampar campus. That area is almost as huge as Wangsa Maju.

However, the only thing I am not satisfy with UTAR is their Management. Lousy management. As for others I am alright with it, considering the fees I pay is reasonable.

Jz my 2cents.
kmhork87
post Apr 3 2008, 07:50 AM

136 posts

QUOTE(Akane @ Apr 3 2008, 02:35 AM)
Dont compare UTAR with KTAR, its obviously a different class if you ask me. I am not sounding bias here, but its my past experience in both institution that teaches me what you will get from both place. No doubt, UTAR does have its bad side, but so far, I still think the positive side of UTAR is the one attracting the students. The students I mean here is not only Chinese, but Malay, Indians as well as Middle East (he suprises me as well) student.

Your first issue here is about the fees. UTAR is a private University and if it does not raises its fees, how they gonna cope with all the raising expenses. Its a simple theory here, you want the best for your studies, and to provide you with the best, of course they will ask for more money !

Secondly, Rome was not build in one day. Of course you cant expect to have all the best sporting facilities like in KTAR. The main campus in Kampar was only completed in 2007 and the first degree intake for Kampar was in 2008. How the heck you expect them to build so many sporting facilities there in such a short time ? KTAR had a history of more than 30 years, but their main sporting complex was only build in year 2004. And how you know UTAR doesnt focus on cocuriculum. Let me tell you this, every UTAR student will finish their class on 2pm on each Wednesday. Whatever course they take, they will finish their class at exactly 2pm on each Wednesday. But why izzit so ? Because, the rest of the time on Wednesday will be use for cocuriculum ! Either you can attend society meeting or activities and seminar/talk by other prominent figures. We have Travellers Den organizing outdoor trips activites so regularly, Music Club that rocks the whole campus up and down, Sports Club with their daily activites and others.

And if you say the living cost in Kampar is expensive, try to come Setapak, Sungai Long or even PJ. The rental cost here is absolutely more astonishing compared to Kampar. If you think the UTAR hostel in Kampar is expensive, then try to look sumwhere else. There are plenty of housing area surrounding Kampar campus. That area is almost as huge as Wangsa Maju.

However, the only thing I am not satisfy with UTAR is their Management. Lousy management. As for others I am alright with it, considering the fees I pay is reasonable.

Jz my 2cents.
chill dude..
dont b so angry o wat ok..
he's jz comparing..
ermm
ya..
and guess what?
the sports complex is going 2 b open to students by end of this month or early next month..
ya.
sports activity is going2 b a hit in UTAR Kampar
Disciple
post Apr 3 2008, 08:49 AM

Master of Disaster
2,272 posts

"For a stpm student, if you household not generating a high monthly income, and your result not as well as you expect, and public Uni do not give wat you want.

Why UTAR?
- fees cheap
- 3 years for degree
- choice less
- the one and only sound nice bcoz named University"

well, i guess thats the reason why i joined UTAR...the equipments and stuff in Sg Long are abit off but i could live with that...dont know about UTAR Kampar tho...i think it shouldnt be of a problem since the campus is still new...

@TheVoice....i dont know about UTAR Kampar, but in Sg Long, most of the students here speak mandarin....but thats just from my observation, so dont flame me k...

frankly, i dont really care whether the university is good or bad as i believe that the most important thing is that we study hard and try our best so i dont waste my time and parents money...thats what matters most to me...
Adri@n
post Apr 3 2008, 10:27 AM

125 posts

does utar in kampar hav engineering courses and actuarial science degree now?

71 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0279sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:14 AM