Lowyat.NET Forums

LYN wins Intel-Lenovo-Tangs Blogathon challenge. Thank you everybody!
87 Pages « < 84 85 86 87 > 
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> JPJ to crack down on HID and tinting by July 2008, Alert Alert

alvinz
post Jul 10 2009, 03:29 PM

Group: Junior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

i got no idea .. all i know is .. idiots put cheapo HID/ foglamps without light shield and glare the crap out of me ...
every night, drive around my area sure got car's headlights glare till can see the shadow of my pointy hair ... plz la, install properly, put shield or position it so that it wont glare ppl ...
JPJ have to prevent this ... but i doubt they can .... sienz ...

that is easy to check, by % JDM/conti cars originally came with HID.. if a local made car have HID, u should know wat 'should' happen but .....
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
AiRBooM
post Jul 10 2009, 03:31 PM

超低能,勁搞笑

Group: Senior Member

I don't think Evo8 has privacy windows(naturally dark tinted) like those MPV( Alphard , Estima etc) from grey importer ? unsure.gif

correct me if i'm wrong
+Quote Post
eng98
post Jul 10 2009, 03:32 PM

Come and suX me...

so should i pasang back? lol if i fix it back i have to fix my fog lamp back to halogen lights den.... hassle.. lol
+Quote Post
andyjyneo
post Jul 10 2009, 04:13 PM

無限 MUGEN

Damn, my car's HID left hand side is pointing upwards. Going to readjust it.
+Quote Post
arcbound
post Jul 10 2009, 04:15 PM

when you buy a jdm car from those grey importers, you will be given a choice to choose your window. whether a clear one or those dark shaded ones. some will even give you both sets (after sales service good ma) and its up to you to switch. my toyota wish has 2 sets. however for my evo i was only given 1 set and i opted for the dark shaded ones on the rear and front was like yellow-ish type. if you look at my car;s side and compare both front passenger and rear passenger, you can definitely see that they are both entirely different shade and the rear is way darker shade than front. however you can still see thru the opposite passenger window at night. its the clarity of the window that the JPJ are on the look out for.

+Quote Post
AiRBooM
post Jul 10 2009, 05:01 PM

超低能,勁搞笑

QUOTE(arcbound @ Jul 10 2009, 05:15 PM)
when you buy a jdm car from those grey importers, you will be given a choice to choose your window. whether a clear one or those dark shaded ones. some will even give you both sets (after sales service good ma) and its up to you to switch. my toyota wish has 2 sets. however for my evo i was only given 1 set and i opted for the dark shaded ones on the rear and front was like yellow-ish type. if you look at my car;s side and compare both front passenger and rear passenger, you can definitely see that they are both entirely different shade and the rear is way darker shade than front. however you can still see thru the opposite passenger window at night. its the clarity of the window that the JPJ are on the look out for.

I see... damn... my SA didn't give me two set for my toyota wish , he didn't even mentioned got clear windows ... sigh... should do some research before buy it sad.gif , but that was 3 years ago.. even now i call him he also can't remember me... haighh
+Quote Post
sukun
post Jul 12 2009, 12:00 AM

QUOTE(AiRBooM @ Jul 10 2009, 03:31 PM)
I don't think Evo8 has privacy windows(naturally dark tinted) like those MPV( Alphard , Estima  etc) from grey importer ? unsure.gif

correct me if i'm wrong

arent these windows called chromax or something?
anyway, what cromax windows means?
+Quote Post
sonic_cd
post Jul 12 2009, 12:50 AM

-----Emma Watson^----- 11k Spam Club(R)(C)Mac user

QUOTE(alvinz @ Jul 10 2009, 03:29 PM)
i got no idea .. all i know is .. idiots put cheapo HID/ foglamps without light shield and glare the crap out of me ...
every night, drive around my area sure got car's headlights glare till can see the shadow of my pointy hair ... plz la, install properly, put shield or position it so that it wont glare ppl ...
JPJ have to prevent this ... but i doubt they can .... sienz ...

that is easy to check, by % JDM/conti cars originally came with HID.. if a local made car have HID, u should know wat 'should' happen but .....

true , i got the offer also when i got my wish .

QUOTE(eng98 @ Jul 10 2009, 03:32 PM)
so should i pasang back? lol if i fix it back i have to fix my fog lamp back to halogen lights den.... hassle.. lol

leave it la , unless you put the foglights some funky color like mine . lol tongue.gif

QUOTE(arcbound @ Jul 10 2009, 04:15 PM)

mine the front windows seem greenish instead of yellowish
+Quote Post
AiRBooM
post Jul 12 2009, 07:25 PM

超低能,勁搞笑

QUOTE(sukun @ Jul 12 2009, 01:00 AM)
arent these windows called chromax or something?
anyway, what cromax windows means?

i don't know what is chromax ,but the dark tinted glass for JDM cars are called privacy glass.
+Quote Post
mADmAN
post Jul 12 2009, 07:30 PM

} InSAnITY PErSoNaFIeD {

about those HID shields....

ive been wanting to install 4300K HIDs into my kelisa (the lowbeam HID and hibeam Xenon types)

can someone explain more to me about the shields? not too happy with my current lights even with the Phillips bulbs im using. n i dont wanna glare other people oso..
+Quote Post
arcbound
post Jul 13 2009, 10:30 AM

Best is always to stick to your current headlight specs for lightbulbs. if light is not sufficient, then change the color type of bulb. Normally the yellow halogen bulb is best because changing to a whiter bulb you cannot see the road as well as the yellow one. The yellow street light will be stronger than your white light at night.

unless you are a frequent highway person (long distance and lonely drive at night where you do not get enough light), you can use the brighter one.

I've heard a lot of cases where people install HID into their car only to find out that the HID caused more problems. They have wiring problem, their light cover melted or damaged (probably because of the heat)... some car wiring caused the car to get blazed... Scary stuff!
+Quote Post
Vervain
post Jul 13 2009, 12:23 PM

got hit by a chick, now i can see stars

I thought HID are suppose to be cooler? Balast issues are common.
+Quote Post
mADmAN
post Jul 13 2009, 12:51 PM

} InSAnITY PErSoNaFIeD {

QUOTE(arcbound @ Jul 13 2009, 10:30 AM)
Best is always to stick to your current headlight specs for lightbulbs. if light is not sufficient, then change the color type of bulb. Normally the yellow halogen bulb is best because changing to a whiter bulb you cannot see the road as well as the yellow one. The yellow street light will be stronger than your white light at night.

unless you are a frequent highway person (long distance and lonely drive at night where you do not get enough light), you can use the brighter one.

I've heard a lot of cases where people install HID into their car only to find out that the HID caused more problems. They have wiring problem, their light cover melted or damaged (probably because of the heat)... some car wiring caused the car to get blazed... Scary stuff!

my bulbs are yellow.... think its the phillips vision plus....still not satisfied with it...

even on dark roads its not enough... hence my question on HIDs
+Quote Post
eddyann
post Jul 13 2009, 01:27 PM

Gold Miner

got PDRM roadblock at batu pahat heading to tongkah pecah at 8pm. my car been asked to 'masuk tepi' while other cars just pass without any problem.

they checked my road tax and license. HID no check. ok jalan haha...
+Quote Post
andyjyneo
post Jul 13 2009, 02:09 PM

無限 MUGEN

QUOTE(eddyann @ Jul 13 2009, 01:27 PM)
got PDRM roadblock at batu pahat heading to tongkah pecah at 8pm. my car been asked to 'masuk tepi' while other cars just pass without any problem.

they checked my road tax and license. HID no check. ok jalan haha...

Sounds good. I guess they no longer check HID.
+Quote Post
kopiokao
post Jul 21 2009, 01:40 PM

If you want to use a HID kit, make sure that the headlamp reflector is design for HID usage, else you have to do a retrofit of a projector into it before fixing in a D2S HID into the projector. I'm doing a projector retrofit into my fog lamp, so far the cut off is nice and no glare to the opposing road user. thumbup.gif
+Quote Post
Sof_600
post Oct 1 2009, 07:34 PM

i think all malaysian that want to use HID should migrate to indonesia....

indonesia rocks!!!

+Quote Post
sphiroth
post Oct 1 2009, 08:16 PM

QUOTE(Sof_600 @ Oct 1 2009, 07:34 PM)
i think all malaysian that want to use HID should migrate to indonesia....

indonesia rocks!!!

Yeah, especially yesterday whistling.gif
User is online!Profile CardPM
+Quote Post
oec88
post Oct 1 2009, 09:37 PM

It rocks until 7.6.
+Quote Post
hyxer
post Oct 1 2009, 09:42 PM

graVe robber... :|
+Quote Post

87 Pages « < 84 85 86 87 >
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd November 2009 - 10:24 PM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)