Lowyat.NET Forums

LYN wins Intel-Lenovo-Tangs Blogathon challenge. Thank you everybody!
27 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 > 
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Why you use Linux?

zenix
post Oct 7 2009, 10:38 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #501

Pirate Captain

Group: Senior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

QUOTE(levian @ Oct 5 2009, 11:22 AM)
these 3 are not based on ubuntu/debian? i tried debian itself, there are no distorted graphics problem. however after finally setting up a wireless connection through wicd, i am stuck again, with installing a network printer n scim-pinyin.

nope.

OpenSolaris is on its own built from the ground up by the nice people selling Solaris and SPARC laugh.gif
OpenSuse is on its own (I think)
Fedora is based on Red Hat

Many variants came from Debian, its a good base.
If you're having problems still maybe give PCLINUXOS a try laugh.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
scorps
post Oct 8 2009, 10:15 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #502

So Close No Matter How Far !!!

so which distro that have frequently update and upgrade? i think debian(ubuntu), am i right?
+Quote Post
fat16
post Oct 8 2009, 07:56 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #503

opensuse factory. always up to date.
+Quote Post
tengkurex
post Oct 12 2009, 10:54 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #504

Group: Junior Member

+Quote Post
nightzstar
post Oct 12 2009, 05:50 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #505

Life's Good

does linux mint can uee microsoft office software?
+Quote Post
sweemeng
post Oct 12 2009, 09:24 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #506

just a random code monkey

QUOTE(nightzstar @ Oct 12 2009, 05:50 PM)
does linux mint can uee microsoft office software?

the more interesting question is why, use microsoft software on linux
+Quote Post
nightzstar
post Oct 13 2009, 04:49 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #507

Life's Good

QUOTE(sweemeng @ Oct 12 2009, 09:24 PM)
the more interesting question is why, use microsoft software on linux

Because my assignment mostly use Microsoft Office and it is the only software that i am familiar with. Other software like openoffice and star office
I am not so familiar with it.
+Quote Post
sweemeng
post Oct 13 2009, 06:49 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #508

just a random code monkey

QUOTE(nightzstar @ Oct 13 2009, 04:49 PM)
Because my assignment mostly use Microsoft Office and it is the only software that i am familiar with. Other software like openoffice and star office
I am not so familiar with it.

microsoft office format should work, unless you use docx, pptx etc

other software is almost ms office
unless you got special requirement.

ms office should work on wine.

+Quote Post
scorps
post Oct 18 2009, 11:33 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #509

So Close No Matter How Far !!!

QUOTE(sweemeng @ Oct 13 2009, 07:49 PM)

but sometimes, open office seem to have a problem when open the .doc files,
and software like math type is not available for open office i think...
it quite hard for me to full use of open office to write my fyp report
+Quote Post
hfz
post Oct 19 2009, 12:21 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #510

QUOTE(sweemeng @ Oct 13 2009, 06:49 PM)

Dude, not every Microsoft softwares works on Wine.
Want to use Photoshop CS2, than install it in Crossover Linux.
Wine, for playing games like Zuma and Bejeweled can. Heavy games like CS2 etc it's not advisable.
+Quote Post
boris
post Oct 19 2009, 04:48 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #511

you bastard~!!

QUOTE(hfz @ Oct 19 2009, 12:21 AM)
Dude, not every Microsoft softwares works on Wine.
Want to use Photoshop CS2, than install it in Crossover Linux.
Wine, for playing games like Zuma and Bejeweled can. Heavy games like CS2 etc it's not advisable.

I used to play DoTA (some call it DoTARD tongue.gif) with WINE last time. But nowadays I can't play it using WINE anymore. Is the newer version has issue with it? hmm.gif
+Quote Post
kripkorn
post Oct 25 2009, 08:10 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #512

i use linux becoz i have to used it.. currently i learning Centos 5.4, Solaris 10 and SmoothWall... i found out it very fun when it come to use it in server...

but i cant live without windows..
+Quote Post
Stormy001_M1A2
post Oct 27 2009, 06:24 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #513

Been using 9.04 Jaunty for 1 mth, love it. Regret did not switch earlier from Windows system.

Looking forward to Karmic for sure.

Long live Ubuntu.
+Quote Post
cik_tak
post Nov 2 2009, 05:22 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #514

Group: New Member

i'm using both Fedora and windows ..both got pros and cons ..
i'm not linux fanatics or windows fan ..
but enjoy using both ..
+Quote Post
xjukie
post Nov 2 2009, 06:16 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #515

Blogger photographer

since mostly my work deal with graphic, im owning an iMac form Apple product,
beside im using Ubuntu since its most widen use for beginner and newbie like me. All the support found on the google. Long time didnt use Windows, hate virus
+Quote Post
5tar5cr3am
post Nov 3 2009, 03:50 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #516

I also wonder why use linux... blink.gif
since hard to install lots of games and programs not mistaken.... sweat.gif

So currently still using windows, but willl tryout linux when i have another computer to play around with smile.gif
+Quote Post
CGLegacy
post Nov 6 2009, 10:10 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #517

Technology Fetish :P

my heart always curious to tryout linux... but dont have the time/hdd space/guts biggrin.gif to run away from windows... but i tried few linux distros last time... opensuse/mandriva.... but it didnt last that long... coz of my forementioned excuses.... now... just started last week... i am more than eager/love to try linux... and completely leave windows behind in my own pc (laptop).... but office desktop still using windows for my work purpose.... i really want to learn more about linux especially my current linux distro.... ubuntu sabily.... the fun of linux is like an addiction now.... non-stop learning.... and i want to learn more of linux/unix commands.... every linux user should too....
+Quote Post
scar_face008
post Nov 7 2009, 12:47 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #518

@CGLegacy : if you're trying to learn linux (not as quick windows replacement) i'd suggest you have a look at slackware. it's a good distro to learn linux. some might warn you slackware is hard. it's not. it just assume that you know what you're doing and let you take control of everything =)
+Quote Post
CGLegacy
post Nov 11 2009, 05:03 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #519

Technology Fetish :P

QUOTE(scar_face008 @ Nov 7 2009, 12:47 AM)
@CGLegacy : if you're trying to learn linux (not as quick windows replacement) i'd suggest you have a look at slackware. it's a good distro to learn linux. some might warn you slackware is hard. it's not. it just assume that you know what you're doing and let you take control of everything =)

thank u for the useful advice... however im learning some commands now... really want to migrate permanently to linux now... especially on my own pc... not office pc... ubuntu so far so good...
+Quote Post
b3ta
post Nov 11 2009, 07:42 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #520

been using ubuntu cos my friend installed jaunty as dual boot on my lappie for me to check out. immediately felt the diff from vista..

but i went back to windows when 7 came out..

then when karmic came out im on karmic again.

i think karmic is as good as 7, pros and cons balanced out..
+Quote Post

27 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 >
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd November 2009 - 03:12 AM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)