Lowyat.NET Forums

LYN wins Intel-Lenovo-Tangs Blogathon challenge. Thank you everybody!
27 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > »  
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Why you use Linux?

fuser
post Jun 8 2009, 01:20 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #401

Group: Junior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

You can play some Windows games using Wine / Cedega, where you might have to engage in a bit of tweaking to get it running properly. I would recommend you check the WineHQ's AppDB to see the games you can install.

Here you go:

http://appdb.winehq.org/
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
zenix
post Jun 8 2009, 04:47 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #402

Pirate Captain

Group: Senior Member

i'd rather dual boot to a real windows environment than run games off wine imho smile.gif
+Quote Post
joker_jr
post Jun 8 2009, 02:43 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #403

I started to learn linux becoz of my boss forced me to. cry.gif cry.gif
to make things worse, the first distro I using is ubuntu server which is whitout GUI at all.
actually I working as IBM AS400 operator at previous work. as400 too, dont have gui but at least have menu and you can press f1 for help, but ubuntu server just have "root:~#"
my first project was using ubuntu server as mail server. Its take me a week to learn about linux things like command line, zimbra for email n bla2.
I had litle experience with Microsoft Exchnage before. As long as your license is not expirate, you can just call microsoft center for help but in linux, I don know who to call..
the good thing is, google can answer me almost everything i need to.
Now, I still exploring linux world. Maybe after this I learn Red Hat variant like fedora or centos for extra knowledge.
btw, I graduated as electronic student but working in IT field...

owh, forgot to tell that I still using win-xp at my desktop....

This post has been edited by joker_jr: Jun 8 2009, 02:48 PM
+Quote Post
cshong
post Jun 9 2009, 03:18 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #404

QUOTE(joker_jr @ Jun 8 2009, 02:43 PM)
I started to learn linux becoz of my boss forced me to.  cry.gif  cry.gif
to make things worse, the first distro I using is ubuntu server which is whitout GUI at all.
actually I working as IBM AS400 operator at previous work. as400 too, dont have gui but at least have menu and you can press f1 for help, but ubuntu server just have "root:~#"
my first project was using ubuntu server as mail server. Its take me a week to learn about linux things like command line, zimbra for email n bla2.
I had litle experience with Microsoft Exchnage before. As long as your license is not expirate, you can just call microsoft center for help but in linux, I don know who to call..
the good thing is, google can answer me almost everything i need to.
Now, I still exploring linux world. Maybe after this I learn Red Hat variant like fedora or centos for extra knowledge.
btw, I graduated as electronic student but working in IT field...

owh,  forgot to tell that I still using win-xp at my desktop....

You can install GUI for Ubuntu Server. Try ask on Ubuntu forum.
+Quote Post
Eice
post Jun 10 2009, 04:48 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #405

Tried out Ubuntu because my new laptop didn't include a Windows OS.

It's usable, but not as good as Windows. No games, no Microsoft Office, my favorite programs don't work, lousy video drivers. For some reason Firefox's UI is very, very slow in Ubuntu as well.
+Quote Post
SGT76
post Jun 10 2009, 11:34 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #406

because I can do this

+Quote Post
fuser
post Jun 11 2009, 12:55 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #407

QUOTE(Eice @ Jun 10 2009, 04:48 PM)
Tried out Ubuntu because my new laptop didn't include a Windows OS.

It's usable, but not as good as Windows. No games, no Microsoft Office, my favorite programs don't work, lousy video drivers. For some reason Firefox's UI is very, very slow in Ubuntu as well.

You live in the state of ignorance or something? I found Ubuntu to be more fun than Windows. I have more fun with the games they provide with Synaptic than the ones I download from various gaming sites and I found Open Office to be a good MS Office replacement.

And yeah, firefox is a bit slow, but I was pretty happy with it. A browser's a browser, regardless of platform. And they always improve every time, so I don't complain much.
+Quote Post
ayob99
post Jun 11 2009, 01:54 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #408

QUOTE(zenix @ Jun 8 2009, 01:00 AM)
linux is not for gamers.

though there are some games for it.
same like people don't buy macs to play games.

There is a GNU/Linux distro which is dedicated to gaming. Read here:

http://live.linux-gamers.net/

This post has been edited by ayob99: Jun 11 2009, 01:56 AM

+Quote Post
zenix
post Jun 11 2009, 01:58 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #409

Pirate Captain

QUOTE(ayob99 @ Jun 11 2009, 01:54 AM)
There is a GNU/Linux distro which is dedicated to gaming. Read here:

http://live.linux-gamers.net/

i know this.
but let's not kid ourselves here.
people that are into games will never find linux gaming a good experience.
as much as mac people don't go OHH AHH about their games.
+Quote Post
fuser
post Jun 11 2009, 02:05 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #410

well, they should at least try it out. I don't see any harm in that.
+Quote Post
spanker
post Jun 11 2009, 01:04 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #411

Custom Made e-Penis

QUOTE(Cannonfodder @ Mar 31 2009, 01:53 PM)
That's rather general to rule out one or the other. I mean, I can watch video and play games on Linux, too. Not all games, I admit, but the Linux desktop is a lot more usable than you give it credit for. All three systems in my house run one Linux desktop or another, even the one which my wife uses and she is far from tech savvy.

Linux desktop is usable, yes, but for overall package Windows is still the champ. The biggest gripe i have with Linux is the distributions and stupid repositories. Some distros are awesome but lacks the features of others, and some others have really good repositories, but so much dependencies that I need to download like 200 MB of packages just to use an application that is only 5 MB, or to download a driver for use with a new hardware. Yes, this problem exists in Windows as well, but not nearly as annoying as Linux.

QUOTE(zeal_tech @ Apr 20 2009, 08:22 AM)
im newbies....
wonder la...why linux cant infect by virus...??
can anyone tell me...??

Linux CAN be infected with virus. It's just the user base for linux is so much smaller than Windows. One other thing which goes with the Unix/Linux security is that you set a root password, and then you create an account which doesn't have root privileges. In Windows, you create an administrator password, and then windows still puts the first user into the administrator group.

In short, your best defense against virii and general malware is not the OS, but it is that thing that is between the keyboard and the chair.
+Quote Post
lilwong
post Jun 11 2009, 02:21 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #412

QUOTE(spanker @ Jun 11 2009, 01:04 PM)
some others have really good repositories, but so much dependencies that I need to download like 200 MB of packages just to use an application that is only 5 MB, or to download a driver for use with a new hardware. Yes, this problem exists in Windows as well, but not nearly as annoying as Linux.

I seriously fail to see the comparison with Windows regarding this. What I do know from my previous experience developing on Windows is that most of the libraries I need already are available in the Win32 API and .NET libraries. Now, if the applications you're downloading are built on top of Win32 anyway, I'm sure your binaries would be small. But if they're built on other widget libraries such as QT, wxWindows etc, you'd be downloading a ton of dependency executables as well. When you say some binaries suck up 200MB of dependency packages just for a 5MB package, it's probably because you're running something like Gnome, and then decide to install a KDE application, which would definitely involve the scenario you described, 'cos it's two completely different window environments altogether (each with their set of widgets, libraries etc etc).

Honestly, I don't like it either. Hence, I make an effort to keep to KDE applications as much as possible. I just don't use Gnome/GTK apps unless absolutely required. The nature of competition between the 2 platforms often means that a particular functionality available in 1 platform is usually available in another application for the competing platform (RhythmBox on Gnome vs Amarok on KDE, for e.g.).

But, the fact that having the choice of multiple applications, multiple desktop environments, multiple types of experiences is annoying? There's a Youtube post that describes this phenomenon the best: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jETv3NURwLc

+Quote Post
cic.lemur
post Jun 12 2009, 09:35 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #413

QUOTE(lilwong @ Jun 11 2009, 02:21 PM)
I seriously fail to see the comparison with Windows regarding this. What I do know from my previous experience developing on Windows is that most of the libraries I need already are available in the Win32 API and .NET libraries. Now, if the applications you're downloading are built on top of Win32 anyway, I'm sure your binaries would be small. But if they're built on other widget libraries such as QT, wxWindows etc, you'd be downloading a ton of dependency executables as well. When you say some binaries suck up 200MB of dependency packages just for a 5MB package, it's probably because you're running something like Gnome, and then decide to install a KDE application, which would definitely involve the scenario you described, 'cos it's two completely different window environments altogether (each with their set of widgets, libraries etc etc).

Actually all those problems are blissfull when compared to times you need to install third party apps like an older Oracle version on newer Linux. The biggest headache in Linux are all the different versions which comes out so quickly, it's great if all the softwares you need are in the repo, but if it's not there then you're gonna get a big headache.

But, the fact that having the choice of multiple applications, multiple desktop environments, multiple types of experiences is annoying?

Having both KDE and Gnome is a waste of resource, in the end both do the same things.
+Quote Post
aranur
post Jun 12 2009, 11:51 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #414

then go ahead and uninstall one which you prefer not to have. the choice is yours, as opposed to being forced to use one interface that MS has decided for you.
+Quote Post
zenix
post Jun 13 2009, 11:16 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #415

Pirate Captain

QUOTE(fuser @ Jun 11 2009, 02:05 AM)
well, they should at least try it out. I don't see any harm in that.

true.
though i hate to be the one to explain to the DOTA/SDO ah beng/ah lian when they have problems with games on their linux machine after buying an Acer with Linux instead of Windows for their usual MSoffice assignments and games doh.gif
+Quote Post
spanker
post Jun 16 2009, 03:13 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #416

Custom Made e-Penis

Maybe, just this morning I was playing with Kubuntu 8.10 on Virtual Box and it says it's got "updates", and it was trying to download well over 200 MBs of libraries. I didn't have the patience for that and cancelled it, and then went back to PCLinuxOS. And that doesn't even have anything to do with GNOME.

But, the fact that having the choice of multiple applications, multiple desktop environments, multiple types of experiences is annoying?

The repositories are the annoying things, not the desktop environment.

QUOTE(aranur @ Jun 12 2009, 11:51 AM)
then go ahead and uninstall one which you prefer not to have. the choice is yours, as opposed to being forced to use one interface that MS has decided for you.

Windows desktop is customizable too.
+Quote Post
zenix
post Jun 16 2009, 07:25 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #417

Pirate Captain

QUOTE(spanker @ Jun 16 2009, 03:13 PM)
Windows desktop is customizable too.

it is but the overheads are way higher than linux
+Quote Post
Zen-X
post Jun 16 2009, 07:56 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #418

well...im interested to try linux..
d problem is, which distro should i try?

ubuntu Gnome or KDE?
fedora?
opensuse?

anyone can give some opinions?
+Quote Post
gmhafiz
post Jun 16 2009, 11:05 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #419

QUOTE(Zen-X @ Jun 16 2009, 07:56 PM)

ubuntu Gnome or KDE?
fedora?
opensuse?

1. ubuntu gnome has a cleaner interface than the kde version. also, the kde version's wifi has a bug.
2. fedora is known for its cutting edge softwares. it can be unstable/buggy but you can get newer softwares compared to other distro such as ubuntu. Anyhow, the recently released version (fedora 11 Leonidas) is not bad.
3. opensuse is probably the best if you like kde

For trialists, I always recommend linux mint 7. it is based off ubuntu but it has better start menu (IMHO), as well as all the codecs, flash, etc pre-installed except ati and nvidia drivers. Remember to choose the Main Edition.

it means unlike ubuntu, fedora and opensuse, you can start playing all of your musics, videos and youtube right away. ati and nvidia drivers have to be installed over the internet
+Quote Post
zenix
post Jun 17 2009, 02:02 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #420

Pirate Captain

QUOTE(Zen-X @ Jun 16 2009, 07:56 PM)

ubuntu Gnome or KDE?
fedora?
opensuse?

1. Linux Mint (based on Ubuntu but is more complete as a desktop replacement for Windows)
2. Ubuntu (based on Debain is very user friendly and Mac users will feel quite at home)
3. PCLINUXOS (KDE's answer to Mint)
4. OpenSUSE (IMHO quite well put together however coming from a big vendor some grey areas which might be illegal aren't included thus a big download/update if u want it to have the same functions of Mint)
5. Fedora (when u get abit more adventurous)
+Quote Post

27 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » 
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th November 2009 - 05:05 PM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)