Lowyat.NET Forums

LYN wins Intel-Lenovo-Tangs Blogathon challenge. Thank you everybody!
52 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > 
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Backpacking anyone?, Experiences, tips & looking for partners (Travel)

chuckiey
post Oct 1 2009, 06:19 PM

Group: Junior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

QUOTE(Jcizz @ Sep 29 2009, 11:57 PM)
Haha, yea, I agree on the direct flight to korea .. I saw some from Matta fair and they were quite cheap but with limited time since it is return tickets - longest is probably around 2-3 weeks. Anyway, I'll check in the next matta fair, probably got other sweet deals.

Oh, so you're already free from the common financial burden that plagues students huh? heheh.. good for you
You've been to 3 previous trips, mind sharing them? :>
Well, life is just that way, when got time no money and likewise. So i figured why not travel first and commit later!? smile.gif
I think you share the same thoughts too. It is alot ore affordable to go travel nowadays compare to last time but then I curse being in Malaysia - weak money. Living here is ok, going out is tough. Kinda envy those gwei lo backpackers!

gwei lo backpackers?

Added on October 1, 2009, 6:23 pm
QUOTE(allegretto87 @ Sep 29 2009, 11:08 PM)
From what I have checked previously, you can get a good price of air ticket from MAS during promotion time to Seoul. And this can be cheaper compare to going from China to Korea route. This route can be very interesting but considering with tight budget might not be a good idea. probably you can have a more realistic plan to make it with RM4k-5k.  The expenses there are very high as well. Probably you can check again during MAS big promotion and see wether you can get a good price or not. Even the air ticket to Europe is not that expensive.

As a student,I agree it's pretty hard to travel in budget. Got to have much limitations (at least this is what i faced for my 3 previous trips). But, that's definately not the reason to forbid you going out to see and experience the world,broaden your perspectives of views. I think this is the best time to learn. and somemore, only students has longer holidays. when you start working, finding a longer holidays might be hard. and for worst, in the end, you will end up with the routine work for years and years, burried in endless work.

i totally agree..
now I miss my student life..

This post has been edited by chuckiey: Oct 1 2009, 06:23 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Jcizz
post Oct 2 2009, 08:38 AM

QUOTE(allegretto87 @ Sep 30 2009, 08:13 PM)
I haven't free from it till next year after graduate. Hope to work first to save enough money , so I will get better budget to go out again, to countries which I prefer.I started backpacking only last year Sept.My first travel out of Malaysia was to HK and Macau, going alone for all my trips from the beginning. I couch surf fully there and for my Tianjin-Beijing-Harbin and Melbourne-Canberra-Sydney, I couch surf 80% of the time. So my trip basically rely on couch surfing. It's definately a good way to meet locals and got much good experiences so far ( but still, I think anyone who wants to try this out esp if u are traveling alone as a girl,you need to be very careful when you find your host, and read all the safety precaution before embark. It'll be safe enough if you be careful, and there's no reason why girls cannot go travel solo) .

I agree it's not easy for us due to our weak money. But still, if you really notice, some gwei lo are also on very low budget.They work and travel in order to sustain their living. I have also met quite a number of backpackers who just quit their job and travel. Some think that they should do so before they start a family or I have ever hosted a danish girl backpacking in south east asia and then will join her dad for backpacking in India or some work and travel before they go into college or university, to let them have more understanding of what they want before starting their course. What they do is mostly different from our Asians culture which seem to be unlikely to happen. I mean these are some of the points that we can rethink back if our society should really follow the rules & belief set.

Wow, nice to hear u took the dive early. Couchsurf seems interesting, good way to know the locals and customs. Do you have to host in order to couchsurf?
After you suggested wwoof, I think I might try it in Korea.

Rules and belief set is so typical. But i guess all these ties down to the same family / culture values of asians -responsibilities towards family is of prime importance.
+Quote Post
senyii
post Oct 2 2009, 09:32 AM

Group: New Member

so algretto currently u hv start working??so how u manage to take long holidays?any tips?wut is ur next destination??
+Quote Post
allegretto87
post Oct 2 2009, 04:28 PM

QUOTE(Jcizz @ Oct 2 2009, 08:38 AM)
Wow, nice to hear u took the dive early. Couchsurf seems interesting, good way to know the locals and customs. Do you have to host in order to couchsurf?
After you suggested wwoof, I think I might try it in Korea.

Rules and belief set is so typical. But i guess all these ties down to the same family / culture values of asians -responsibilities towards family is of prime importance.

you dun really need to host.after my 1st n 2nd travel by using couch surf,i feel i owe ppl so much by their kindness to share. so i start hosting when i m free last few months,but now not as i am very busy with my clinical attachment and studies.in future,if i have a good place 2 host n time,i would definately like to host again.i hope to at least give travelors some feel of local's culture,which is also what i expect from them.

yep,u got to try out that or maybe after i come back from wwoof taiwan,i can share my experience.u can decide after that.

Added on October 2, 2009, 4:41 pm
QUOTE(senyii @ Oct 2 2009, 09:32 AM)
so algretto currently u hv start working??so how u manage to take long holidays?any tips?wut is ur next destination??

Well,i havent graduated.but as i said earlier,a good way is to quit and travel.but not all people can do that.if u think from another way,that's a good idea to help you have a fresh start. or otherwise,u need to have a super good and open minded boss to let u off.but i dont think u can easily find such boss.
my next destination would be taiwan next month.basicaly planing to wwoof in just 10days n a week in taipei.it's not a long trip. december wil be going to bangkok,not really backpack,but to bring my grandma to visit her sister.

This post has been edited by allegretto87: Oct 2 2009, 04:41 PM
+Quote Post
senyii
post Oct 2 2009, 05:25 PM

Group: New Member

QUOTE(allegretto87 @ Oct 2 2009, 04:28 PM)
you dun really need to host.after my 1st n 2nd travel by using couch surf,i feel i owe ppl so much by their kindness to share. so i start hosting when i m free last few months,but now not as i am very busy with my clinical attachment and studies.in future,if i have a good place 2 host n time,i would definately like to host again.i hope to at least give travelors some feel of local's culture,which is also what i expect from them.

yep,u got to try out that or maybe after i come back from wwoof taiwan,i can share my experience.u can decide after that.

Added on October 2, 2009, 4:41 pm

Well,i havent graduated.but as i said earlier,a good way is to quit and travel.but not all people can do that.if u think from another way,that's a good idea to help you have a fresh start. or otherwise,u need to have a super good and open minded boss to let u off.but i dont think u can easily find such boss.
my next destination would be taiwan next month.basicaly planing to wwoof in just 10days n a week in taipei.it's not a long trip. december wil be going to bangkok,not really backpack,but to bring my grandma to visit her sister.

oh i aso wunted to go taiwan..hope you can bring some map back n pass to me if u could la...oh bangkok ar?i think i'll go next yr feb...
actually i did think of quitting my job one day and head to holiday maker...heard many reviews and it sees fun and enjoying!
+Quote Post
myvi5949
post Oct 7 2009, 08:11 PM

Make a Difference

Group: Senior Member

i want to join u guys backpacking.. anyone going somewhere in SEAsia? I am 29yo malay guy..single, like music, nature and animals. Bored with routine job..i want to start seeing other places.
+Quote Post
culexbite
post Oct 7 2009, 10:43 PM

QUOTE(myvi5949 @ Oct 7 2009, 08:11 PM)
i want to join u guys backpacking.. anyone going somewhere in SEAsia? I am 29yo malay guy..single, like music, nature and animals. Bored with routine job..i want to start seeing other places.

im going april next year.. interested?
+Quote Post
myvi5949
post Oct 7 2009, 11:25 PM

Make a Difference

QUOTE(culexbite @ Oct 7 2009, 10:43 PM)
im going april next year.. interested?

Taking on my offer? Thx. Where will we be going? blush.gif

I am from JB, next year would be nice.. we can plan ahead. UGPM.
+Quote Post
quintesson
post Oct 17 2009, 02:12 AM

hey Jcizz your plan is very interesting & budget vice is quite economical. do pm me once you have finalised the plan. i'm very interested & i'm not a shopaholic. hope to make this my 1st backpack trip.

This post has been edited by quintesson: Oct 17 2009, 02:16 AM
+Quote Post
saru88
post Oct 17 2009, 01:56 PM

hi guys...

im wondering if RM800/USD250 is sufficient to backpack 10 days in Thailand --> Vietnam --> Cambodia?

budget not included flight...
+Quote Post
Jcizz
post Oct 19 2009, 09:34 PM

QUOTE(quintesson @ Oct 17 2009, 02:12 AM)

hey Jcizz your plan is very interesting & budget vice is quite economical. do pm me once you have finalised the plan. i'm very interested & i'm not a shopaholic. hope to make this my 1st backpack trip.

I may not go Japan after all due to all the visa applications headaches. Might just backpack to Korea. Still interested?

Added on October 19, 2009, 9:39 pm
QUOTE(saru88 @ Oct 17 2009, 01:56 PM)
hi guys...

im wondering if RM800/USD250 is sufficient to backpack 10 days in Thailand --> Vietnam --> Cambodia?

definitely enough.. for me smile.gif

if u take backpackers hotel for accommodation will only set u back about Rm300 for 10 days.
You have Rm 500 for food.

So unless you plan to do some shopping spree there, it should b basically enough

This post has been edited by Jcizz: Oct 19 2009, 09:39 PM
+Quote Post
saru88
post Oct 20 2009, 03:03 AM

QUOTE(Jcizz @ Oct 19 2009, 09:34 PM)

definitely enough.. for me smile.gif

if u take backpackers hotel for accommodation will only set u back about Rm300 for 10 days.
You have Rm 500 for food.

So unless you plan to do some shopping spree there, it should b basically enough

thanks for the reply...

i was thinking the accommodation should be less than RM300 only...
in thailand, backpacker hotels approx. RM20-30 per nite... cambodia cheapest is around RM9 per night (yes, it's true...), normally around RM20 is decent 1...

shopping not really... maybe will get some local tees, keychains n magnets only...

we wanna shoot a documentary only...
+Quote Post
SonnyCooL
post Oct 20 2009, 04:30 AM

Web Bastard

QUOTE(Jcizz @ Oct 19 2009, 09:34 PM)
I may not go Japan after all due to all the visa applications headaches. Might just backpack to Korea. Still interested?

food, public transport n accommodation (24 usd per bed, out side city) ain't cheap in korea but they have very build train system smile.gif
good luck ...
+Quote Post
juwels
post Oct 20 2009, 10:35 AM

QUOTE(saru88 @ Oct 17 2009, 01:56 PM)
hi guys...

10 days? i highly suggest you stick to one country.
+Quote Post
frenzy77
post Oct 20 2009, 07:33 PM

any of you heading to bangkok on march-april next year???
+Quote Post
jimmy_none
post Oct 20 2009, 09:55 PM

hi all the sifu here..I am wondering how big is your backpack size. I am planning to get one..just not sure about the size...any recommendation?thanks
+Quote Post
keyser soze
post Oct 21 2009, 12:06 PM

QUOTE(jimmy_none @ Oct 20 2009, 09:55 PM)
hi all the sifu here..I am wondering how big is your backpack size. I am planning to get one..just not sure about the size...any recommendation?thanks

Around 70L should be OK.
+Quote Post
saru88
post Oct 21 2009, 12:09 PM

QUOTE(juwels @ Oct 20 2009, 10:35 AM)
10 days? i highly suggest you stick to one country.

i dun wan to stick to one country only... not that fun...

QUOTE(jimmy_none @ Oct 20 2009, 09:55 PM)

mine is 65+10L...
+Quote Post
jimmy_none
post Oct 21 2009, 07:06 PM

actually how you all determine which size to go for? I , well I am planning for a trip to singapore for 5-8 days and I was thinking getting Deuter Hiking 32.Would the backpack be sufficient for the trip? felt 60L seems too big and not that suitable for few days trip..thanks for the feedback..

oh...one more thing, do you all face any problem checking the backpack in airport?

This post has been edited by jimmy_none: Oct 21 2009, 07:10 PM
+Quote Post
Epsilon2U
post Oct 21 2009, 07:26 PM

QUOTE(saru88 @ Oct 20 2009, 03:03 AM)
thanks for the reply...

i was thinking the accommodation should be less than RM300 only...
in thailand, backpacker hotels approx. RM20-30 per nite... cambodia cheapest is around RM9 per night (yes, it's true...), normally around RM20 is decent 1...

shopping not really... maybe will get some local tees, keychains n magnets only...

we wanna shoot a documentary only...

By calculation, it works. But when you're really doing it, you might find it tough.

When you found nice spot but requires entrance fee
When you found nice restaurant
When you found local specialty (like thai massage)
When you found some hot chics and you want to buy her drink
..... you hesitate

(well i live in bankok now and i think the living cost is higher than KL)

I would suggest, for limited time and budget, don't cover too many countries. After all, 10 days aren't even enough to experience or to see a country as a backpacker.

Have fun~

Added on October 21, 2009, 7:27 pm
QUOTE(frenzy77 @ Oct 20 2009, 07:33 PM)
any of you heading to bangkok on march-april next year???

i live there smile.gif

This post has been edited by Epsilon2U: Oct 21 2009, 07:27 PM
+Quote Post

52 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 >
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd November 2009 - 09:43 AM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)