Backpacking anyone?, Experiences, tips & looking for partners (Travel)
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Backpacking anyone?, Experiences, tips & looking for partners (Travel)
Sep 28 2009, 01:28 PM
Newbie ![]() Group: Junior Member Posts: 32 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Jan 2008 |
QUOTE(chuckiey @ Sep 28 2009, 11:18 AM) my sister works in Sandakan.. She & 4 of her friends were planning to visit Mulu national park, so I just tagged along They drove from Sandakan to Miri, so we gathered in Miri before taking flight to Mulu Back from Mulu, I just joined them for ride to Sandakan.. we stopped by many places ; Bandar Sri Begawan, Limbang, Ranau (visited Poring hot springs)and few towns in Sabah used ferry services to cross rivers.. it was fun Added on September 28, 2009, 11:25 am Jcizz, your plan seems great n adventurous. Love it! I have few friends in Japan ( dont know their exact locations though), maybe I should try to start saying hello to them.. chuckiey, thanks! You seem to be an experienced traveller. Mind to share with us your travels? Should you be successful in saying hi to your friends, I will be saying hi to you! |
Sep 28 2009, 02:08 PM
On my way ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 618 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Apr 2008 From: Pee-Jay... |
QUOTE(Jcizz @ Sep 27 2009, 10:59 PM) Wow.. Thailand -> Vietnam -> Cambodia... Sounds cool. But gotta save for the other trip. ;P When will you be going? planning to go on mid-december... but the flight seems expensive since it's peak season... our initial plan is Borneo, if it doesnt work, will change to the Thai -> Viet -> Cambo trip... QUOTE(chuckiey @ Sep 28 2009, 11:18 AM) my sister works in Sandakan.. She & 4 of her friends were planning to visit Mulu national park, so I just tagged along They drove from Sandakan to Miri, so we gathered in Miri before taking flight to Mulu Back from Mulu, I just joined them for ride to Sandakan.. we stopped by many places ; Bandar Sri Begawan, Limbang, Ranau (visited Poring hot springs)and few towns in Sabah used ferry services to cross rivers.. it was fun IC... Limbang?! cool... Limbang is my mum's hometown... i went there once when i was still so young... there was the 1st time i sit on a speedboat... haha... kinda fun n scary... actually, we have 3-4 ppl goin... we wanna document our whole journey... record down... perhaps for Borneo trip, we will limit ourselves to bring maybe RM500 max excluded flight fares... we must survive in 10 days lets say... QUOTE(AiRseaL @ Sep 28 2009, 12:50 PM) End of next march i confirm will be going hong kong for my far far away relative wedding with whole family. Will be a shopping trip and disneyland trip since went to hong kong before. Since taking leave,, me might as well go sumwhere else. Plan is go macau several days then fly to hanoi and travel down frm north to south to saigon in 2 weeks. Time frame is too short so cannot cover whole vietnam oso. Hainan island got anything to visit bside the big rock 'tian ya hai jiao'?? Anyone free that time can join me as i m travelling solo after leaving hong kong. Can meet me in macau or hanoi oso can. Interested PM me ya. Tqtq! Will be a budget trip but my habit is spend the last night in nice hotel to relax abit. end of next March still long time... but i'm heading to Hong Kong on mid-Nov this year... Macau --> Hong Kong --> Shenzhen... 8-day trip... |
Sep 28 2009, 08:18 PM
Newbie ![]() Group: Junior Member Posts: 32 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Jan 2008 |
[quote=saru88,Sep 28 2009, 02:08 PM]
planning to go on mid-december... but the flight seems expensive since it's peak season... our initial plan is Borneo, if it doesnt work, will change to the Thai -> Viet -> Cambo trip... In the event that you change it to Thai -> Viet -> Cambo trip, maybe you can take the trains instead. I heard Viet to Cambo is best on trains. |
Sep 28 2009, 09:11 PM
On my way ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 618 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Apr 2008 From: Pee-Jay... |
[quote=Jcizz,Sep 28 2009, 08:18 PM]
[quote=saru88,Sep 28 2009, 02:08 PM] planning to go on mid-december... but the flight seems expensive since it's peak season... our initial plan is Borneo, if it doesnt work, will change to the Thai -> Viet -> Cambo trip... In the event that you change it to Thai -> Viet -> Cambo trip, maybe you can take the trains instead. I heard Viet to Cambo is best on trains. [/quote] yup of coz... we plan to take a flight to thailand, then from thailand to Viet will be either train or bus... then Viet to Cambo oso train.. then from Cambo fly back to KL... haha... |
Sep 29 2009, 05:04 PM
Newbie ![]() Group: Junior Member Posts: 7 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Nov 2007 |
QUOTE(Jcizz @ Sep 28 2009, 01:28 PM) chuckiey, thanks! You seem to be an experienced traveller. Mind to share with us your travels? Should you be successful in saying hi to your friends, I will be saying hi to you! Are you referring to my travel experience in Borneo or in general? I dont have much travel experience, to be honest I've to many states in the US ( when I was an undergrad) and few countries in Europe Coz i love to travel, when I was a student, I usually made use of opportunities that allows me to travel within budget During my sophomore years, I enrolled in 3 weeks summer class in Swiss after then class ended, I flew from Zurich to London, meet my friends from manchester, went to Paris together, flew back to US from manchester After I grad, I applied for a week transit in Stockholm while I was flying back from US to Malaysia , and went to Copenhagen, Oslo n Stockhom I saved money on flight tickets .. |
Sep 29 2009, 06:03 PM
Newbie ![]() Group: Junior Member Posts: 19 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Jul 2007 |
QUOTE(Jcizz @ Sep 14 2009, 02:10 PM) I am planning a backpacking trip to Korea and Japan Via China around next year June / July. Will be doing couchsurfing and maybe minimal camping through out the travel. Estimated time of travel is around 3 weeks, at a budget of RM 3500 including transport. I am now looking for a few travel partners to plan our route. Is anyone interested? Guy/Girl is fine. We will have yum cha session first to see if we're ok with each other. p/s: Do note that this is a tight budgeted trip. My only intention is to observe the culture and buildings as I'm in architecture line. This trip might not be suitable for everyone. Expect to stop by many places and do sight seeing. Will not be doing any shopping (maybe minimal for souvenirs) RM3500 including transport? You means include air ticket from Malaysia to China? And transportation from China to Japan and Korea? It is not easy mate. |
Sep 29 2009, 07:18 PM
Getting Started ![]() ![]() Group: Junior Member Posts: 176 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Apr 2009 From: Berkeley, JB, Akita, Dublin, home~ |
QUOTE(eniko @ Sep 13 2009, 08:27 PM) Nice to find people here who see solo travelling as a better alternative, especially for long trips and culture experiencing type. I'm planning to backpack in Europe after graduating from May to June/July 2010. I'm 23 and my family keep telling me it is too dangerous for a girl to travel alone. However I am quite used to going to places by myself while studying in KL, so I'd like to think that I am ready for anything. Hehe I registered in LYN because this is a good thread to read and share backpacking experiences. Hmm now I got many pages to skim through solo travelling is nice, i did buenos aires solo before, but then it's not something advisable when your a first timer, a girl and alone. mind you, being solo is kinda boring, i find backpacking with 2-3 partners to be more accomodating europe. wanna do eurail? QUOTE(Jcizz @ Sep 14 2009, 02:10 PM) I am planning a backpacking trip to Korea and Japan Via China around next year June / July. Will be doing couchsurfing and maybe minimal camping through out the travel. Estimated time of travel is around 3 weeks, at a budget of RM 3500 including transport. I am now looking for a few travel partners to plan our route. Is anyone interested? Guy/Girl is fine. We will have yum cha session first to see if we're ok with each other. p/s: Do note that this is a tight budgeted trip. My only intention is to observe the culture and buildings as I'm in architecture line. This trip might not be suitable for everyone. Expect to stop by many places and do sight seeing. Will not be doing any shopping (maybe minimal for souvenirs) rm3.5k is fine with me. lets yumcha dude |
Sep 29 2009, 08:42 PM
QUOTE(chuckiey @ Sep 29 2009, 05:04 PM) Are you referring to my travel experience in Borneo or in general? I dont have much travel experience, to be honest I've to many states in the US ( when I was an undergrad) and few countries in Europe Coz i love to travel, when I was a student, I usually made use of opportunities that allows me to travel within budget During my sophomore years, I enrolled in 3 weeks summer class in Swiss after then class ended, I flew from Zurich to London, meet my friends from manchester, went to Paris together, flew back to US from manchester After I grad, I applied for a week transit in Stockholm while I was flying back from US to Malaysia , and went to Copenhagen, Oslo n Stockhom I saved money on flight tickets .. o.O" Not much travel experience? That's quite many places covered. Copenhagen and oslo must have been awesome! Added on September 29, 2009, 8:48 pm QUOTE(keyser soze @ Sep 29 2009, 06:03 PM) RM3500 including transport? You means include air ticket from Malaysia to China? And transportation from China to Japan and Korea? It is not easy mate. Yup. Kinda hard I know. But what to do (poor student), worst case is I'll just stop in Korea! Want to stay longer actually - like 2-3 months. Only way is to do this "wwoof" thing suggested by allegretto87 Added on September 29, 2009, 8:54 pm QUOTE(annariana @ Sep 29 2009, 07:18 PM) solo travelling is nice, i did buenos aires solo before, but then it's not something advisable when your a first timer, a girl and alone. mind you, being solo is kinda boring, i find backpacking with 2-3 partners to be more accomodating europe. wanna do eurail? rm3.5k is fine with me. lets yumcha dude Whoa, I saw your siggies and you're one avid traveller! You can probably be a tour guide ady. How did you do all those travel i wonder. You must be quite well off! Yumcha? sure! Yea, I agree Japan and China is quite domestic, but I'm going there to see buildings in general. Staying in Malaysia and looking at the "nice" buildings here is a little poisoning to a student. Recently my boss came back from Hokkaido and showed me the buildings he shot.- they were amazing! This post has been edited by Jcizz: Sep 29 2009, 08:54 PM |
Sep 29 2009, 11:08 PM
Newbie ![]() Group: Junior Member Posts: 47 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Jul 2008 |
QUOTE(Jcizz @ Sep 29 2009, 08:42 PM) Yup. Kinda hard I know. But what to do (poor student), worst case is I'll just stop in Korea! From what I have checked previously, you can get a good price of air ticket from MAS during promotion time to Seoul. And this can be cheaper compare to going from China to Korea route. This route can be very interesting but considering with tight budget might not be a good idea. probably you can have a more realistic plan to make it with RM4k-5k. The expenses there are very high as well. Probably you can check again during MAS big promotion and see wether you can get a good price or not. Even the air ticket to Europe is not that expensive. As a student,I agree it's pretty hard to travel in budget. Got to have much limitations (at least this is what i faced for my 3 previous trips). But, that's definately not the reason to forbid you going out to see and experience the world,broaden your perspectives of views. I think this is the best time to learn. and somemore, only students has longer holidays. when you start working, finding a longer holidays might be hard. and for worst, in the end, you will end up with the routine work for years and years, burried in endless work. |
Sep 29 2009, 11:57 PM
QUOTE(allegretto87 @ Sep 29 2009, 11:08 PM) From what I have checked previously, you can get a good price of air ticket from MAS during promotion time to Seoul. And this can be cheaper compare to going from China to Korea route. This route can be very interesting but considering with tight budget might not be a good idea. probably you can have a more realistic plan to make it with RM4k-5k. The expenses there are very high as well. Probably you can check again during MAS big promotion and see wether you can get a good price or not. Even the air ticket to Europe is not that expensive. As a student,I agree it's pretty hard to travel in budget. Got to have much limitations (at least this is what i faced for my 3 previous trips). But, that's definately not the reason to forbid you going out to see and experience the world,broaden your perspectives of views. I think this is the best time to learn. and somemore, only students has longer holidays. when you start working, finding a longer holidays might be hard. and for worst, in the end, you will end up with the routine work for years and years, burried in endless work. Haha, yea, I agree on the direct flight to korea .. I saw some from Matta fair and they were quite cheap but with limited time since it is return tickets - longest is probably around 2-3 weeks. Anyway, I'll check in the next matta fair, probably got other sweet deals. Oh, so you're already free from the common financial burden that plagues students huh? heheh.. good for you You've been to 3 previous trips, mind sharing them? :> Well, life is just that way, when got time no money and likewise. So i figured why not travel first and commit later!? I think you share the same thoughts too. It is alot ore affordable to go travel nowadays compare to last time but then I curse being in Malaysia - weak money. Living here is ok, going out is tough. Kinda envy those gwei lo backpackers! |
Sep 29 2009, 11:59 PM
Getting Started ![]() ![]() Group: Junior Member Posts: 176 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Apr 2009 From: Berkeley, JB, Akita, Dublin, home~ |
QUOTE(Jcizz @ Sep 29 2009, 11:57 PM) Haha, yea, I agree on the direct flight to korea .. I saw some from Matta fair and they were quite cheap but with limited time since it is return tickets - longest is probably around 2-3 weeks. Anyway, I'll check in the next matta fair, probably got other sweet deals. Oh, so you're already free from the common financial burden that plagues students huh? heheh.. good for you You've been to 3 previous trips, mind sharing them? :> Well, life is just that way, when got time no money and likewise. So i figured why not travel first and commit later!? I think you share the same thoughts too. It is alot ore affordable to go travel nowadays compare to last time but then I curse being in Malaysia - weak money. Living here is ok, going out is tough. Kinda envy those gwei lo backpackers! oh cmon.. im not so gwei lo myself too did part time jobs to accomodate some of my trips before. i got hell broke losing my wallet in japan and in the end i have to teach english to raise funds to afford myself a tic home.. |
Sep 30 2009, 12:15 AM
QUOTE(annariana @ Sep 29 2009, 11:59 PM) oh cmon.. im not so gwei lo myself too did part time jobs to accomodate some of my trips before. i got hell broke losing my wallet in japan and in the end i have to teach english to raise funds to afford myself a tic home.. well, u sure have gwei lo blood in you! hahaa, coz u travel so much! wow? really?? nice experience.. didn't break into cold sweat ka.. hehe Luckily not passport and etc |
Sep 30 2009, 09:46 AM
Newbie ![]() Group: Junior Member Posts: 19 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Jul 2007 |
QUOTE(annariana @ Sep 29 2009, 07:18 PM) solo travelling is nice, i did buenos aires solo before, but then it's not something advisable when your a first timer, a girl and alone. mind you, being solo is kinda boring, i find backpacking with 2-3 partners to be more accomodating europe. wanna do eurail? rm3.5k is fine with me. lets yumcha dude Mind to share how much you pay for the ticket to Buenos Aires? Always want to be there but the air ticket is kinda expensive. Anyway to get cheap ticket to Buenos Aires? Planning a max 2 months trip sometime year end. |
Sep 30 2009, 11:08 AM
Newbie ![]() Group: Junior Member Posts: 22 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Apr 2008 |
QUOTE(keyser soze @ Sep 30 2009, 09:46 AM) Mind to share how much you pay for the ticket to Buenos Aires? Always want to be there but the air ticket is kinda expensive. Anyway to get cheap ticket to Buenos Aires? Planning a max 2 months trip sometime year end. wow i wonder yall are damn rich and no need work can travel for such a long time..if i hv one mth holiday definitely i'll go us/ europe again.. |
Sep 30 2009, 08:13 PM
Newbie ![]() Group: Junior Member Posts: 47 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Jul 2008 |
QUOTE(Jcizz @ Sep 29 2009, 11:57 PM) Oh, so you're already free from the common financial burden that plagues students huh? heheh.. good for you You've been to 3 previous trips, mind sharing them? :> Well, life is just that way, when got time no money and likewise. So i figured why not travel first and commit later!? I think you share the same thoughts too. It is alot ore affordable to go travel nowadays compare to last time but then I curse being in Malaysia - weak money. Living here is ok, going out is tough. Kinda envy those gwei lo backpackers! I haven't free from it till next year after graduate. Hope to work first to save enough money , so I will get better budget to go out again, to countries which I prefer.I started backpacking only last year Sept.My first travel out of Malaysia was to HK and Macau, going alone for all my trips from the beginning. I couch surf fully there and for my Tianjin-Beijing-Harbin and Melbourne-Canberra-Sydney, I couch surf 80% of the time. So my trip basically rely on couch surfing. It's definately a good way to meet locals and got much good experiences so far ( but still, I think anyone who wants to try this out esp if u are traveling alone as a girl,you need to be very careful when you find your host, and read all the safety precaution before embark. It'll be safe enough if you be careful, and there's no reason why girls cannot go travel solo) . I agree it's not easy for us due to our weak money. But still, if you really notice, some gwei lo are also on very low budget.They work and travel in order to sustain their living. I have also met quite a number of backpackers who just quit their job and travel. Some think that they should do so before they start a family or I have ever hosted a danish girl backpacking in south east asia and then will join her dad for backpacking in India or some work and travel before they go into college or university, to let them have more understanding of what they want before starting their course. What they do is mostly different from our Asians culture which seem to be unlikely to happen. I mean these are some of the points that we can rethink back if our society should really follow the rules & belief set. |
Sep 30 2009, 08:38 PM
Look at all my stars!! ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 4,301 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: May 2006 From: KL, Malaysia |
hey guys,
actually what you all mean by backpacking travel? is it only carry the backpack and travel oversea with no luggage involve?? hope can clarify this theme thanks This post has been edited by beck_ken: Sep 30 2009, 08:39 PM |
Sep 30 2009, 09:26 PM
QUOTE(beck_ken @ Sep 30 2009, 08:38 PM) hey guys, actually what you all mean by backpacking travel? is it only carry the backpack and travel oversea with no luggage involve?? hope can clarify this theme thanks Read this up and you will know: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Backpacking_(travel) It's more than just carry a backpack with no luggage. I don't really think it's the big bag which is the key to 'backpacking'. Like what the article touched on "use of public transport as a means of travel, preference of youth hostels to traditional hotels, length of the trip vs. conventional vacations, use of a backpack, an interest in meeting the locals as well as seeing the sights." You can also be using a backpack and you stay at hotel, very minimal or none contact with locals, going for luxury thing, means of transport by taxi ... probably this is not considered as backpacking .... anyway, the definition is quite broad... anyone would like to clarify more? |
Oct 1 2009, 09:39 AM
Newbie ![]() Group: Junior Member Posts: 22 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Apr 2008 |
anyone wunna join me for bangkok trip next yr feb??need another 2partner
Oct 1 2009, 11:49 AM
QUOTE(senyii @ Sep 30 2009, 11:08 AM) wow i wonder yall are damn rich and no need work can travel for such a long time..if i hv one mth holiday definitely i'll go us/ europe again.. When everyday working for 2 years plus and never take leave. You can actually consider doing this. My annual leave is already 1 month plus another month non pay leave should be ok for me. I work in construction industry. When the job is running you will be very busy. Once completed, then my boss won't mind to let me recharge for 2 months and come back for new job. By the way, if he not agree. I just take a "longer" leave. |
Oct 1 2009, 02:44 PM
QUOTE(keyser soze @ Oct 1 2009, 11:49 AM) When everyday working for 2 years plus and never take leave. You can actually consider doing this. My annual leave is already 1 month plus another month non pay leave should be ok for me. I work in construction industry. When the job is running you will be very busy. Once completed, then my boss won't mind to let me recharge for 2 months and come back for new job. By the way, if he not agree. I just take a "longer" leave. wow tats gd but if ihv accumulate many days aso no use he won't let me off so long de.. i think max 1mth nia...aih so must plan trip during public holiday....im planing to go bangkok next cny..looking for partner to join me |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
| Lo-Fi Version | Time is now: 19th March 2010 - 07:30 AM |