Lowyat.NET Forums

LYN wins Intel-Lenovo-Tangs Blogathon challenge. Thank you everybody!
52 Pages  1 2 3 > »  
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Backpacking anyone?, Experiences, tips & looking for partners (Travel)

loyarr
post Jan 24 2007, 04:58 PM

Group: New Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

icon_question.gif Hi guys,

Am a regular lurker here but this is my first posting...I'll be going to Europe this August on a backpack trip for approximately 3 weeks..since my current backpack has seen better days I'm thinking of getting a new one for the trip.

Was wondering if anybody here can suggest a place where I can buy a good backpack at a reasonable price. Any suggestion is appreciated.

User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
baok
post Jan 25 2007, 05:31 PM

Group: Senior Member

QUOTE(loyarr @ Jan 24 2007, 04:58 PM)

Am a regular lurker here but this is my first posting...I'll be going to Europe this August on a backpack trip for approximately 3 weeks..since my current backpack has seen better days I'm thinking of getting a new one for the trip.

Was wondering if anybody here can suggest a place where I can buy a good backpack at a reasonable price. Any suggestion is appreciated.

try to go for pertama complex.. lots of rucksack shops there... i recommend deuter backpack for you.. be prepared to fork out rm700+- for deuter rucksack.. tongue.gif just dont go for cheapo sub-rm200 rucksack.. they all sucks.. but if you managed to find nikko-brand or vango brand then go for it.. the best cheapo rucksack i've ever tried... both brands should somewhere between rm200-rm300...

happy travelling thumbup.gif
+Quote Post
CV6149
post Jan 25 2007, 09:09 PM

Waiting for the day AMD hit 4ghz proc 24/7

You can go to tearproof KLCC or times square.
there got sale from 25%-40%.
i just bought mine in tearproof KLCC.

quite ok.....there is Salewa 36l around 200.while Karrimor around 2++ for 65l....

happy hunting..
+Quote Post
loyarr
post Jan 25 2007, 10:37 PM

Group: New Member

thanks guys for the suggestions...will check out pertama complex & tearproof this weekend..hopefully I'll be able to find something to my liking & within my budget.
+Quote Post
baok
post Jan 25 2007, 11:22 PM

QUOTE(CV6149 @ Jan 25 2007, 09:09 PM)
You can go to tearproof KLCC or times square.
there got sale from 25%-40%.
i just bought mine in tearproof KLCC.

quite ok.....there is Salewa 36l around 200.while Karrimor around 2++ for 65l....

happy hunting..

karrimor for rm2xx for 65L?? are u sure???

karrimor is one very high-end name in rucsack... most of thier rucksack price is over rm700.. beter check wether that karrimor is ori or not.. oh ya.. what type of karrimor?... the best i've seen is karrimor jaguar...
+Quote Post
CV6149
post Jan 26 2007, 05:53 AM

Waiting for the day AMD hit 4ghz proc 24/7

yeap.....Karrimor Bobcat
i bought at tearproof klcc..dunno la if this shop also selling fake stuff.it does look and feel original to me.
Jaguar is best..heheh money also best.....have to satisfy with Bobcat

This post has been edited by CV6149: Feb 9 2008, 04:52 PM
+Quote Post
syd04
post Jan 30 2007, 02:11 AM

Group: Junior Member

deuter quantum 55+10 comes with a daypack and a transporter cover which is very useful when checking in at the airport becoz the whole backpack can go into it, zip up and lock with padlock, doubles as a rain cover too. got mine at pertama complex for rm430. very comfy and not too big.
+Quote Post
bhorng
post Mar 15 2007, 10:17 PM

QUOTE(syd04 @ Jan 30 2007, 02:11 AM)
deuter quantum 55+10 comes with a daypack and a transporter cover which is  very useful when checking in at the airport becoz the whole backpack can go into it, zip up and lock with padlock, doubles as a rain cover too. got mine at pertama complex for rm430. very comfy and not too big.

Hi..can I know which shop did bought the bag from... Name of the shop..

Is this an orginal set?

Thank you.

This post has been edited by bhorng: Mar 15 2007, 10:18 PM
+Quote Post
syd04
post Mar 17 2007, 01:18 AM

Kedai Beg Yoon Hin. G66, grd flr of pertama complex. look for Madam Sia. yup, it's original.
+Quote Post
bhorng
post Mar 23 2007, 12:55 AM

QUOTE(syd04 @ Mar 17 2007, 01:18 AM)
Kedai Beg Yoon Hin. G66, grd flr of pertama complex. look for Madam Sia. yup, it's original.

Wow...thank you very much... I'll check out the place soon.... beside, do they have bigger size...such as 65 r 75 + 10? Do you know the price?

thank you. thumbup.gif notworthy.gif
+Quote Post
cheewooi
post Mar 26 2007, 02:24 PM

I am looking for rain proof cover for my DLSR bag. The bag is around 40L

Anyone know which is the best place to get it and what are the price range?

This post has been edited by cheewooi: Mar 26 2007, 02:26 PM
+Quote Post
syd04
post Mar 27 2007, 12:09 AM

rclxms.gif
QUOTE(bhorng @ Mar 23 2007, 12:55 AM)
Wow...thank you very much... I'll check out the place soon.... beside, do they have bigger size...such as 65 r 75 + 10? Do you know the price?

thank you. thumbup.gif  notworthy.gif

hi. i'm not a bag seller. just a satisfied customer. rclxms.gif
+Quote Post
wingcross
post Mar 27 2007, 12:53 AM

QUOTE(cheewooi @ Mar 26 2007, 02:24 PM)
I am looking for rain proof cover for my DLSR bag. The bag is around 40L
Anyone know which is the best place to get it and what are the price range?

yeah same here. wanted to get a rain proof cover.. mine is a backback style for laptop.
can anyone share how much it is ?

mine is sierra brand. not that good brand like karrimor.
+Quote Post
angrydog
post Mar 27 2007, 11:45 PM

QUOTE(loyarr @ Jan 24 2007, 05:58 PM)

There's a store which sells backpacker gear on the top floor of The Curve, where all the sports supply stores are. Remember to pick up a Nalgene bottle while you're there!
+Quote Post
bhorng
post Mar 28 2007, 05:11 PM

QUOTE(syd04 @ Mar 27 2007, 12:09 AM)
rclxms.gif

hi. i'm not a bag seller. just a satisfied customer. rclxms.gif

I knew that .. was thinking that you might ask the lady boss bout the price ... anyway, thank you very much.

Appreciated it..
rclxms.gif
+Quote Post
madstone
post Mar 29 2007, 09:34 AM

Damn!

Also looking for perfect backpack for short trip (3,4 days)
At least the backpack with lot of compartment in & out
also can put mineral bottle outside & lot of stuff inside

I already interested in Dicota Venture but the backpack doesn't look so convincing to me to buy it since the quality is so-so, the price is RM280
can fit also 15.4 lappie
any suggestions guys?
+Quote Post
feyhime
post Mar 29 2007, 10:21 AM

Girl's Club, Trends + Fashion, LYN Book Club

Group: Moderator

Just a note, there's also a tearproof shop in Times Square.
+Quote Post
madstone
post Mar 29 2007, 10:35 AM

Damn!

interesting

TQ
+Quote Post
szeping
post Mar 29 2007, 09:38 PM

Do You Know Me?

Maybe you can try to look for it in Singapore

I bought Karrimor Spike 25L in Sports Connection outlet here...

http://www.ebags.co.uk/products/index.cfm?...urceID=UKDEALTM

SGD 34 (~RM 80) after 55% discount with lifetime tear-proof warranty.
+Quote Post
madstone
post Mar 29 2007, 10:24 PM

Damn!

Singapore???? So far maaaaa
I'm planning to go on holiday next weekend
gonna need the backpack ASAP
probably look into it this sunday hmm.gif

Added on April 1, 2007, 8:52 pm
QUOTE(szeping @ Mar 29 2007, 09:38 PM)
Maybe you can try to look for it in Singapore
I bought Karrimor Spike 25L in Sports Connection outlet here...
http://www.ebags.co.uk/products/index.cfm?...urceID=UKDEALTM
SGD 34 (~RM 80) after 55% discount with lifetime tear-proof warranty.
It's too expensive man

Went to tearproof @ KLCC this morning (April 1st)
They having a sale there until next month
Discounts from 15-25%
Gonna go there again in 2 weeks time thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by madstone: Apr 1 2007, 08:52 PM
+Quote Post

52 Pages  1 2 3 > » 
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th November 2009 - 02:34 AM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)