> About Malaysia Design Industry

alanelf
post Mar 21 2008, 11:39 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1

Group: Junior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

hey guy do you think Malaysia Design Industry becoming like a prostitute market?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
cymon
post Mar 22 2008, 02:24 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2

digital artist regenerated

Group: Senior Member

wat make u say tat?
+Quote Post
[+]
post Mar 22 2008, 04:38 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #3

means? cheap?
or "you know you want it, but you dare not say out" ?
+Quote Post
alanelf
post Mar 22 2008, 08:19 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #4

everyone asking for cheap design or free design ..... designer pay are going so low .... is like designer have no value at all dont you think so .... alot good designer are going oversea for better job better pay

This post has been edited by alanelf: Mar 22 2008, 08:28 AM
+Quote Post
KVReninem
post Mar 22 2008, 08:38 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #5

God|Father VIII of SlumDogG

well depend on your design...nothing is free this days, cymon boss how are you?
+Quote Post
Neon_86
post Mar 22 2008, 03:33 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #6

QUOTE(alanelf @ Mar 22 2008, 08:19 AM)
everyone asking for cheap design or free design ..... designer pay are going so low .... is like designer have no value at all dont you think so .... alot good designer are going oversea for better job better pay

I don't quite agree entirely. You just ought to find a way to.
And also, depends on which company you are working for.
+Quote Post
alanelf
post Mar 22 2008, 09:31 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #7

hmm i can say most of the company are under pay no matter how good you ar ... coz i know few good designer been working for 5 years + and just 2k and now they at oversea working got more den that they get last time and i also meet a advertising company art director during production he also told me that ... i'm not say 100% is i asking weather do you you all think or not
+Quote Post
zeist
post Mar 23 2008, 09:33 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #8

Train hard....

Be own boss, run a small design company.
+Quote Post
Jyezze
post Mar 24 2008, 03:16 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #9

u'll never earn much in the design industry here if ur an employee. its a fact
+Quote Post
einstei
post Mar 24 2008, 03:32 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #10

Never isn't the right word. It is possible, and we do not blame entirely on the clients, neither do we entirely blame on designers.

As a designer, you should just do the best for your part. In times, I am so sure that design industry will become much mature than it is now.
+Quote Post
Plant
post Mar 24 2008, 04:37 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #11

Like all my friends used to say, "design i also know la", due to our education in our high school we never pay much attention on art work unlike oversea, they're already expose on art and will apprieate art work, teacher will bring them to exhibition art museum learning picasso and other famous artist. While in malaysia.. there are none. Most great designer i know either go singapore work for few years then come back to malaysia work, he still work the same company but just different branch.

I saw bosses design their own logo which look horrible but all the bosses think this is a great logo, i saw software engineering interface design, look freaking horrible, some word i couldnt read, some typography are horrible on the interface. Some bosses so rich he broght his own land but hiring a designer to complete the program interface is a big no no. =.="

I work in msia sien already, i go oversea study, finish study and work there.
+Quote Post
n0v4m4r1n3
post Mar 24 2008, 06:28 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #12

Drop Jet Jumpers and Feet First Into Hell

QUOTE(Jyezze @ Mar 24 2008, 03:16 PM)
u'll never earn much in the design industry here if ur an employee. its a fact

Yup, i aggree with u.........

After my studies i would probably go away from Malaysia and work in any good companies......

A lot of industrial designers out there living to their fullest..........

This post has been edited by n0v4m4r1n3: Mar 24 2008, 06:30 PM
+Quote Post
acopy
post Mar 24 2008, 10:12 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #13

it's depend to the employer.
+Quote Post
Jyezze
post Mar 24 2008, 11:05 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #14

QUOTE(einstei @ Mar 24 2008, 03:32 PM)
Never isn't the right word. It is possible, and we do not blame entirely on the clients, neither do we entirely blame on designers.

As a designer, you should just do the best for your part. In times, I am so sure that design industry will become much mature than it is now.

its neither the client's nor the designer's fault that designers dun earn much. rather... i dunno, its the standards here that keep salaries in the creative field low. sure it may be possible to earn a lot, but by how much? all the well-off designers u see today are all their own bosses. hired employees don't earn much at all.
+Quote Post
MrPudujail
post Mar 25 2008, 12:19 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #15

Blame it on software piracy, "Now everyone can design!"
+Quote Post
redken
post Mar 25 2008, 12:21 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #16

- Private Unlimited -

Artsy people drink water enuff d, no need eat one, hence the low pay tongue.gif
User is online!Profile CardPM
+Quote Post
cymon
post Mar 25 2008, 03:02 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #17

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Mar 22 2008, 08:38 AM)
well depend on your design...nothing is free this days, cymon boss how are you?

hi kvreninem,

it is happen this way coz lot of design college/school that open like mushroom.
they intake student is not base on quality, it is base on money.

simple math:
20 art college ( just a simple statistic, in fact it is more than 20 art college in malaysia)

X 3 terms X about 50 students each terms ( usual it take 2 - 3 years grad. but we make annual new batch student )
= 150 STUDENTS PER YEAR X 20 ART COLLEGE = 3000 STUDENTS ( just a year grad. )

*(rough figure here coz some school like limkokwing/one have more than 150 students grad. alone annual)

it mean every year malaysia is flood about 3000 designer grad.
even it make 10% of it turn out to be designer,
it still mean we have about 300 designers annual looking for job.

do malaysia really have that much design firm to serve those grad.?

that one of the reason designer pay don't increase much coz it is too much on the market.

anyone have think about 5 or 10 years later in designer playground?

no?

start it now.

+Quote Post
Madtrader
post Mar 25 2008, 12:57 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #18

Group: New Member

HI there everyone, interesting topic, its certainly hot one which, we designers had been discussed for the past few centuries.

I would say its hard to reckon whether or not Malaysia design industry is falling into the prostitution category. as what being told by CYMON, thousands of graduates baked freshly from the oven every year, design colleges mushrooming at every corner in Malaysia, we are about to see designers flooding the market & founders/principles of colleges expanding their businesses, therefore making design industry swollen by education or any other industry, partly i might say. In other words, unfortunates will end up being prostitute handing by pimps out there.

There are so many types of designers out there, industrial, product, graphic, advertising, interior, multimedia and many more, you name it. serving the industry, doing what they asked to & brainwashed so that they could serve without complaining, but never get higher pay, why? theres no specific reason. but i strongly agreed to this sparkling point where we Malaysians will never pay a cent more on designs, especially on those who still having doubts on the power of design. Who are they? they might be the one who unreasonably asked you enlarge the logo so that it stretches across the canvas or one who asked you to design a stool instead of chair so that they could save a lot on production. It is obvious that we designers are, very less often, the decision maker, even creative directors of McKen Ericsson, O&M bow to their clients.

Flip on the newspaper today & you be amazed by the amount of company hiring in-house designers, design-based agencies usually do not come to us as they have the honey to lure the bees around, and of course this leads to a very low pay of salary. Salary paid varies in different kinds of company, the smaller the scale of the firm, the higher the pay, i suppose. In-house designers also get higher pay due to their ruling of department in the company, there are also CDs who are getting 40k+ per month.

As a 5 year-old graphic designer I'm thankful on whatever that has lead me into this field. I get to make new friends, inject aesthetics & learn more things. i would say learning progress for a designer has always been challenging & frustrating, it is the constant changing of jobs that make us learn faster & live with pride.

Prostitutes do have higher earnings, but certainly we don't want be one of them.

+Quote Post
chilicandy
post Mar 25 2008, 04:43 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #19

sweet and spicy

QUOTE(Plant @ Mar 24 2008, 04:37 PM)
Like all my friends used to say, "design i also know la", due to our education in our high school we never pay much attention on art work unlike oversea, they're already expose on art and will apprieate art work, teacher will bring them to exhibition art museum learning picasso and other famous artist. While in malaysia.. there are none. Most great designer i know either go singapore work for few years then come back to malaysia work, he still work the same company but just different branch.
I saw bosses design their own logo which look horrible but all the bosses think this is a great logo, i saw software engineering interface design, look freaking horrible, some word i couldnt read, some typography are horrible on the interface. Some bosses so rich he broght his own land but hiring a designer to complete the program interface is a big no no. =.="

I work in msia sien already, i go oversea study, finish study and work there.

the problem lies in these employers mind set. Especially those that don't have design skills background.
Some of them may appreciate their designer's skills, some don't.

An example, in Malaysia Fashion industry, the boss more important. In HK, their designers get the final say in every design piece and even accorded special status during exhibitions etc.
+Quote Post
cymon
post Mar 25 2008, 08:27 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #20

QUOTE(chilicandy @ Mar 25 2008, 04:43 PM)
the problem lies in these employers mind set. Especially those that don't have design skills background.
Some of them may appreciate their designer's skills, some don't.

An example, in Malaysia Fashion industry, the boss more important. In HK, their designers get the final say in every design piece and even accorded special status during exhibitions etc.

well in every field, sometime boss is right or so do the client.
coz they have rich in knowlege in general public need.

mostly fresh grad. will do something new or hybrid or more stunning work than the rest,
but they will never know is the market ready to accept it or not.
if the boss/client reject it, they say the boss/client have no taste or design sense.

in real life they never social, meet or facing the market need coz they always sit on their desk and
work like horse.

mostly hong kong movie (or drama like TVB) have negative effect on design field to us.
the designer in HK is like : dress to kill, always shine and posh, drive nice car, big paycheck, more talk less work.

this is wrong !!!

i been to china and hk. i saw their life. it is more worse than malaysia.
the designer is fight to dead for their job. they have tight deadline to change if the client/boss is not happy about their work.
coz the time frame is so costfull. this is how their country need to survive above the rest.
most of them is taking bus to work and eat at hawker center. the cost of living is so high.
they talk less and work more.
they know they can easily replace anytime.
only some work on certain level can show some artes mood.

the bigger company the bigger client you face.
those big client is the one who make final decision and pay the company's need.
a good designer is always sell good idea/design and buy client/boss need.

i m sure you don't eat regularly anything that not what you order,
even the chef cook out something else much better.
coz you pay to get what you want not the chef want.

(same goes to our clients, unless you are good enough to sell it which take time to earn that level !!!)

+Quote Post

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » 
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 5th July 2009 - 05:24 AM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~looking for Mikaela~)