Lowyat.NET Forums

LYN wins Intel-Lenovo-Tangs Blogathon challenge. Thank you everybody!
7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > »  
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Symantec Norton 360, Version 3.0 is now AVAILABLE

xelnamikaze
post Dec 13 2008, 11:23 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #21

i ♥ money

Group: Senior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

QUOTE(SilentE @ Jun 3 2008, 12:00 PM)
No thanks, Norton is one of the worst AVs.

Wow.. u sure do live under a shell.
In the present, Norton is one of the Best AVs.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
TechnoDude94
post Dec 13 2008, 11:52 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #22

I'm A Lead Farmer, Motha Fucka!

QUOTE(xelnamikaze @ Dec 13 2008, 11:23 PM)

Since this is a Symantec sub-forum. I'll say that Norton AV is the best AV. tongue.gif
PS: I'm not a fan-boy. nod.gif
+Quote Post
shutterdll
post Dec 16 2008, 11:20 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #23

Group: Junior Member

http://reviews.cnet.com/internet-security-...7-32330411.html
here say cannot support Opera & Firefox. is it true ?
+Quote Post
smallvill3
post Dec 16 2008, 04:46 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #24

Norton 360 and Norton 360 v2 are different
+Quote Post
shutterdll
post Dec 16 2008, 05:04 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #25

edited. saw it liao can support foxy2. but opera?

This post has been edited by shutterdll: Dec 16 2008, 05:06 PM
+Quote Post
shahrumm
post Dec 18 2008, 09:01 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #26

went to the symantec seminar last week on tuesday..got 360 for free..the second version..1 year free subs..next year they said v3 gonna be launch!
User is online!Profile CardPM
+Quote Post
TechnoDude94
post Dec 18 2008, 10:53 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #27

QUOTE(shahrumm @ Dec 18 2008, 09:01 AM)
went to the symantec seminar last week on tuesday..got 360 for free..the second version..1 year free subs..next year they said v3 gonna be launch!

Darn it, I had an invitation to join the seminar but I couldn't go because the invitee didn't know I was underage (14-years old). doh.gif
+Quote Post
lawsh
post Dec 18 2008, 01:48 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #28

S-Sani-Maru-Zed-Toh

i have 1 sealed unit of this norton 360 v2
3PC license for household

RM150

got it from a seminar but not a fan of norton.

PM me if interested smile.gif

+Quote Post
TechnoDude94
post Dec 18 2008, 05:51 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #29

QUOTE(lawsh @ Dec 18 2008, 01:48 PM)
i have 1 sealed unit of this norton 360 v2
3PC license for household

RM150

got it from a seminar but not a fan of norton.

PM me if interested smile.gif

Bro, please create a thread regarding your sale in Garage Sales, anyway, good luck in your sales. Too bad I've already got 6 licenses for Norton Internet Security 2009.
+Quote Post
blademaster
post Dec 20 2008, 11:39 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #30

QUOTE(xelnamikaze @ Dec 13 2008, 11:23 PM)

How can Norton compete with Kaspersky, NOD32, Bitdefender, AVG Free?

I used Norton AV 06, 08, 09 all for at least 1 month and I seriously gave up. But I'm still willing to try to any symantec's future release. For now, none of their products can even touch their competitors
+Quote Post
TechnoDude94
post Dec 20 2008, 12:58 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #31

QUOTE(blademaster @ Dec 20 2008, 11:39 AM)

I used Norton AV 06, 08, 09 all for at least 1 month and I seriously gave up. But I'm still willing to try to any symantec's future release. For now, none of their products can even touch their competitors

I agree that Norton AV '06, '07 (you didn't use 2007s), '08 were the worst AV of history but I must admit, 09 is a great improvement.
+Quote Post
FarCry3r
post Dec 20 2008, 01:14 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #32

Where did my ♥ go?

QUOTE(blademaster @ Dec 20 2008, 11:39 AM)

Lol, AVG free uses too lots of system resources, also same with Bitdefender. Sure it won't compete with Kaspersky & Nod32 (as for now), but who knows later? Why don't you go the link below and see the result. NAV is almost at par with Kaspersky in the certification level (except for Nod32 which is at Advanced+ cert):
http://www.av-comparatives.org/seiten/ergebnisse_2008_11.php
+Quote Post
blademaster
post Dec 20 2008, 07:35 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #33

QUOTE(FarCry3r @ Dec 20 2008, 01:14 PM)
Lol, AVG free uses too lots of system resources, also same with Bitdefender. Sure it won't compete with Kaspersky & Nod32 (as for now), but who knows later? Why don't you go the link below and see the result. NAV is almost at par with Kaspersky in the certification level (except for Nod32 which is at Advanced+ cert):
http://www.av-comparatives.org/seiten/ergebnisse_2008_11.php

Erm, I compared AVG and by far it uses the least system resource. In fact, coincidentally, this laptop I'm using now uses AVG smile.gif

Well, AVG has a detection rate of 43%, and Norton AV09 has 44%, then why would one need to spend money and waste system resource for just 1% improvement?

That's just my opinion.
+Quote Post
FarCry3r
post Dec 20 2008, 10:51 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #34

Where did my ♥ go?

QUOTE(blademaster @ Dec 20 2008, 07:35 PM)
Erm, I compared AVG and by far it uses the least system resource. In fact, coincidentally, this laptop I'm using now uses AVG smile.gif

Well, AVG has a detection rate of 43%, and Norton AV09 has 44%, then why would one need to spend money and waste system resource for just 1% improvement?
That's just my opinion.

Because freeware can't compete with paid product? If the free edition of AVG are so good, they won't bother releasing paid product, right?
+Quote Post
blademaster
post Dec 21 2008, 12:21 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #35

QUOTE(FarCry3r @ Dec 20 2008, 10:51 PM)
Because freeware can't compete with paid product? If the free edition of AVG are so good, they won't bother releasing paid product, right?

maybe that's why AVG is having 80 million users whistling.gif

How many users Norton have?

Sometimes, good things come free rclxms.gif

and it seems this Norton 360 slowssss your computer like hell. Worst than NIS 09 sweat.gif
+Quote Post
TechnoDude94
post Dec 22 2008, 03:52 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #36

QUOTE(blademaster @ Dec 21 2008, 12:21 AM)
maybe that's why AVG is having 80 million users  whistling.gif

Sometimes, good things come free  rclxms.gif

and it seems this Norton 360 slowssss your computer like hell. Worst than NIS 09  sweat.gif

Regarding Norton 360 slowing your computer down. I've to admit yes, it's slower than NAV/NIS '09 but Norton 360 has a patch/update called V2.0 which rectifies speed issues.
+Quote Post
smallvill3
post Dec 22 2008, 09:22 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #37

and it seems this Norton 360 slowssss your computer like hell. Worst than NIS 09  sweat.gif

If NIS09 really slow down my pc, than why i can still playing lots of game smoothly while running ragnarok and ftp server at the same time?
You have an ice age pc ah?

This post has been edited by smallvill3: Dec 22 2008, 09:23 AM
+Quote Post
FarCry3r
post Dec 22 2008, 09:28 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #38

Where did my ♥ go?

QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ Dec 22 2008, 03:52 AM)
Regarding Norton 360 slowing your computer down. I've to admit yes, it's slower than NAV/NIS '09 but Norton 360 has a patch/update called V2.0 which rectifies speed issues.

And V3.0 (Lightning Bolt) is currently under testing and I'm in it. Hope 360 will be as fast as NAV/NIS 09 and improve the detection rate.

Added on December 22, 2008, 9:44 am

You can't take what's stated on the Internet for granted. Just because there's 80 million downloads, it doesn't means AVG Free have 80 million users. It's like saying "Hey, I already give 1 million leaflets and right now I have 1 million customers! Hurrah!", which is pure bullshit! And oh, you should've also take into consideration that the free edition are downloaded by Jack Sparrow and turned into Pro version with the help of tah keygens.

Yeah, but it also uses lots of system resources, especially when scanning and updating. It won't run smoothly on P4 1.4GHz, 256mb laptop, while NAV works almost perfectly smooth.

Maybe the version you tried is outdated. Norton 360 v2 isn't that slow, and with v3 currently in testing, we still have time to figure it all out...

This post has been edited by FarCry3r: Dec 22 2008, 09:44 AM
+Quote Post
blademaster
post Dec 22 2008, 01:32 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #39

duh...AVG's proclaimed 80 million users are from their antivirus update database doh.gif meaning, it's not from the number of downloads at all, it's counted from the number of updates doh.gif

And I can comfirm, the latest Norton 360 is another 'Norton' product.

What do I mean by 'Norton'?
1)System resource hogger, will slowwww your computer.
2)Perform scans diligently but never finds the virus
3)Plenty of unnecessary pop-outs

These are the famous downsides of Norton.

but still, Norton is an average antivirus. Not the best, and not the worst smile.gif
but still, Norton will get raped if compared to NOD32, Kaspersky, Panda, Bitdefender.

And if anyone of you thinks that I'm lying, go google it out yourself. Then thy shall seek the truth biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by blademaster: Dec 22 2008, 01:37 PM
+Quote Post
smallvill3
post Dec 22 2008, 02:04 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #40

Plenty of unnecessary pop-outs??
+Quote Post

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » 
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th November 2009 - 09:04 PM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)