config DNS on windows server 2003, how to?

TSchieulee
post Mar 15 2008, 08:47 PM, updated 16y ago

55 posts

hi all sifu, i am thinking of getting a server to host a website/email.
i understand i will need a fixed IP and a domain name.

to have a fixed IP, i can subcribe to steamyx business package with included 1 fixed IP.

to register a domain example: abc.com.my
i can go to website like https://www.exabytes.com.my/ to register a new domain right?
anything else i need to do a complete a domain register?

after above complete, i can build my MS windows server.

i am zero in this, please correct me if i am wrong. thanks

This post has been edited by chieulee: Mar 18 2008, 03:10 PM
asellus
post Mar 15 2008, 10:37 PM

#gompusas
4,541 posts

Your general idea is not wrong. You can go ahead and register a business Streamyx fixed IP account and then get a domain name at exabytes. After that, you should be able to build your server.
iWeed
post Mar 17 2008, 12:25 PM

dont wanna go back to darkdays of mine
603 posts

correct. plus, u need to read more about domain name server as well. it is important to make sure that your domain is pointed to your fixed ip/home server
TSchieulee
post Mar 18 2008, 03:09 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(iWeed @ Mar 17 2008, 12:25 PM)
correct. plus, u need to read more about domain name server as well. it is important to make sure that your domain is pointed to your fixed ip/home server
i got the fixed ip, i got my domain registered, i have a machine build with windows server 2003, and now i stuck at the DNS configuration.

i have the IIS installed and configured. now my problem is how to config the DNS in my Win server2003 so that the outside world can browse my www.abc.com.my?

arill
post Mar 19 2008, 10:17 AM

64 posts

are u using mynic domain?

for a normal .com domain, you can try to log in to your domain control panel, go to manage child name server, add new child name server with your fixed ip. then using the newly created nameserver, add it in Modify Name server.

hope this works for you
TSchieulee
post Mar 19 2008, 11:12 AM

55 posts

QUOTE(arill @ Mar 19 2008, 10:17 AM)
are u using mynic domain?

for a normal .com domain, you can try to log in to your domain control panel, go to manage child name server, add new child name server with your fixed ip. then using the newly created nameserver, add it in Modify Name server.

hope this works for you
thanks for your reply.
yes, i am using mynic domain. as example, my domain is "abc.com.my", if search whois, the information as below (information been altered for confidential purpose)

i do not understand what is the primary & secondary name servers stated at the last 2 paragraph? what is it use for?

1. Domain Name : abc.com.my
2. MYNIC Registration No. : D1A0999999
Registrant Details
3. MYNIC Handle ABC0.ORG
Organisation Name ABC
Organisation Registration No.
Organisation Address
Address Line 1
Address Line 2
Address Line 3
Postcode
Town
State Pulau Pinang
Organisation Phone Number 04-9999999
Organisation Fax Number 04-9999999

Administrative Contact

4. MYNIC Handle DCA0999999
Name
Phone Number 04-9999999
Fax Number 04-9999999
E-mail Address abc@hotmail.com

Technical Contact
5. MYNIC Handle EXA-REGI0.CON
Name Exa Bytes Network Registrar
Organisation Name Exa Bytes Network Sdn Bhd
Organisation Address

Address Line 1 1-2-28, Mayang Mall,
Address Line 2 Jalan Mayang Pasir 1,
Address Line 3
Postcode 11950
Town Bayan Lepas
State Pulau Pinang
Country Malaysia
Phone Number 6046308283
Fax Number 6046308288
E-mail Address domain@exabytes.com

Billing Contact
6. MYNIC Handle DCA0999999
Name
Organisation Name abc
Organisation Address
Address Line 1
Address Line 2
Address Line 3
Postcode
Town
State Pulau Pinang
Country
Phone Number 04-9999999
Fax Number 04-9999999
E-mail Address abc@hotmail.com

Primary Name Server
7. MYNIC Handle SVA012464
Primary Name Server Hostname ns101.mschosting.com
Primary Name Server Netaddress 210.48.145.137

Secondary Name Server
8. MYNIC Handle SVA012465
Secondary Name Server Hostname ns102.mschosting.com
Secondary Name Server Netaddress 72.18.132.245

iRonTech
post Mar 19 2008, 11:15 AM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(chieulee @ Mar 19 2008, 11:12 AM)
thanks for your reply.
yes, i am using mynic domain. as example, my domain is "abc.com.my", if search whois, the information as below (information been altered for confidential purpose)

i do not understand what is the primary & secondary name servers stated at the last 2 paragraph? what is it use for?

install DNS Service, create root point to ur abc.com.my , put in dns ip as u state:- 210.48.145.137 & 72.18.132.245 will do.
TSchieulee
post Mar 19 2008, 01:26 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Mar 19 2008, 11:15 AM)
install DNS Service, create root point to ur abc.com.my , put in dns ip as u state:- 210.48.145.137 & 72.18.132.245 will do.
you mean create new zone under "Forward Lookup Zone", by specify "abc.com.my" as new zone, create "A" and "NS" in the zone?
iRonTech
post Mar 19 2008, 06:13 PM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(chieulee @ Mar 19 2008, 01:26 PM)
you mean create new zone under "Forward Lookup Zone", by specify "abc.com.my" as new zone, create "A" and "NS" in the zone?
yes. correct wink.gif play around with the settings, kinda easy type.
TSchieulee
post Apr 8 2008, 05:56 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Mar 19 2008, 06:13 PM)
yes. correct wink.gif play around with the settings, kinda easy type.
ok, i done the setting in IIS-> Web Sites->Default Web Site.
i also configured as below in mydomain.com.my zone

mydomain.com.my IN SOA ns1.mschosting.com, hostmaster.mschosting.com
mydomain.com.my IN NS ns1.mschosting.com
mydomain.com.my IN NS ns2.mschosting.com
mydomain.com.my IN A 210.48.145.137
mydomain.com.my IN A 72.18.132.245
www IN CNAME mydomain.com.my

but it still not work. hmm.gif
iRonTech
post Apr 9 2008, 10:45 AM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(chieulee @ Apr 8 2008, 05:56 PM)
ok, i done the setting in IIS-> Web Sites->Default Web Site.�
i also configured as below in mydomain.com.my zone

mydomain.com.my IN SOA ns1.mschosting.com, hostmaster.mschosting.com
mydomain.com.my IN NS ns1.mschosting.com
mydomain.com.my IN NS ns2.mschosting.com
mydomain.com.my IN A 210.48.145.137
mydomain.com.my IN A 72.18.132.245
www IN CNAME mydomain.com.my

but it still not work.�  hmm.gif
unsure.gif i dont see ur abc.com.my inside ur dns setting.

your setting seem miss out something..

1) add other record, select Host (A), put in put in www, IP point to your abc.com.my's IP

2) add other record, select Host (A), put in ns1 & ns2, point to the correct ns's IP

restart dns service

This post has been edited by iRonTech: Apr 9 2008, 10:46 AM
TSchieulee
post Apr 9 2008, 01:50 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Apr 9 2008, 10:45 AM)
unsure.gif i dont see ur abc.com.my inside ur dns setting.

your setting seem miss out something..

1) add other record, select Host (A), put in put in www, IP point to your abc.com.my's IP

2) add other record, select Host (A), put in ns1 & ns2, point to the correct ns's IP

restart dns service
sorry, the mydomain.com.my should be substitute by abc.com.my

now my configuration as below in abc.com.my zone

abc.com.my IN SOA ns101.mschosting.com, hostmaster.mschosting.com
abc.com.my IN NS ns101.mschosting.com
abc.com.my IN NS ns102.mschosting.com
abc.com.my IN A 210.48.145.137
abc.com.my IN A 72.18.132.245
ns1 IN A 210.48.145.137
ns2 IN A 72.18.132.245
www IN A {public ip}

i able to browse the web by direct type in the public ip, but failed when i type in www.abc.com.my

iRonTech
post Apr 10 2008, 11:16 AM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(chieulee @ Apr 9 2008, 01:50 PM)
sorry, the mydomain.com.my should be substitute by abc.com.my

now my configuration as below in abc.com.my zone

ns1 IN A 210.48.145.137
ns2 IN A 72.18.132.245
www IN A {public ip}

i able to browse the web by direct type in the public ip, but failed when i type in www.abc.com.my
ns1 IN A 210.48.145.137
ns2 IN A 72.18.132.245
www IN A IP of abc.com.my
(Same as parent folder) Name Server (NS) ns101.mschosting.com

where the missing (Same as parent folder) Name Server (NS) ??

under forward lookup zones click property of abc.com.my, NS, add in both NS name & NS's IP there.

TSchieulee
post Apr 10 2008, 07:40 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Apr 10 2008, 11:16 AM)
ns1 IN A 210.48.145.137
ns2 IN A 72.18.132.245
www IN A IP of abc.com.my

where the missing (Same as parent folder) Name Server (NS) ??

under forward lookup zones click property of abc.com.my, NS, add in both NS name & NS's IP there.
ok, now my setting as below for zone "abc.com.my"

(Same as parent folder) IN SOA ns101.mschosting.com, hostmaster.mschosting.com
(Same as parent folder) IN NS ns101.mschosting.com
(Same as parent folder) IN NS ns102.mschosting.com
ns1 IN A 210.48.145.137
ns2 IN A 72.18.132.245
www IN A {IP of abc.com.my}

i can browse the web by direct type in the public ip, but "page cannot be displayed" when i type in www.abc.com.my
do i need to update in mynic?
do i need to wait 24 hours for DNS propagation?
iRonTech
post Apr 11 2008, 09:40 AM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(chieulee @ Apr 10 2008, 07:40 PM)
ok, now my setting as below for zone "abc.com.my"

(Same as parent folder) IN SOA ns101.mschosting.com, hostmaster.mschosting.com
(Same as parent folder) IN NS ns101.mschosting.com
(Same as parent folder) IN NS ns102.mschosting.com
ns1 IN A 210.48.145.137
ns2 IN A 72.18.132.245
www IN A {IP of abc.com.my}

i can browse the web by direct type in the public ip, but "page cannot be displayed" when i type in www.abc.com.my
do i need to update in mynic?
do i need to wait 24 hours for DNS propagation?
its ur ns server haven't resolved ur domain yet..

try force shorten the update changes by
SOA, temporary shorten the Refresh to 10 mins, retry 5 mins, expires after 1 days, minimum TTL 5 mins
General dynamics update change to nonsecure and secure

Restart DNS Services...Update Server Data File...wait & see

normally it will get updated after ur ns get ur update within 30-60 mins

try use some tool like http://www.checkdns.net/quickcheck.aspx?do...m.my&detailed=1 check it out

0.0185sec    0.33    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 07:51 PM