Intel® Core™2 Duo/Quad Overhauled Rev. 4, The journey continues...
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Intel® Core™2 Duo/Quad Overhauled Rev. 4, The journey continues...
Jul 21 2009, 08:26 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post
Getting Started ![]() ![]() Group: Junior Member Posts: 263 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Jun 2009 From: lala island |
QUOTE(mizivincible @ Jul 21 2009, 06:32 AM) Anyway mates, after we determine our oc settings stable after (doesnt matter Prime95,OCCT, Orthos) few hours of stressing, can we enable CIE,CIA2 and EIST ? Any chance of causing instability ?After enabling back do we have to stress it again just to make sure its safe ? for C1E, shouldnt be a problem in most cases... mild OC hardly cause problem when C1E is turned on... as for EIST, its automatically disabled once u manually set the vcore and multiplier... EIST is controlled by the OS, u can alter the settings in Power Options... as for CIA2, i don't know what's that -_____- Added on July 21, 2009, 8:30 am QUOTE(mizivincible @ Jul 21 2009, 12:35 AM) That was what happening to me just now,after saving the settings and apply after restart, I couldnt go into windows with PL7, and it kept freezing after loading windows, at last I just reset everything in bios, start from scratch. Even PL8 only takes me to 3.8ghz. Btw here's my latest ss - » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Its 1.25v in BIOS, at last I have to increase the vcore from stock. Anyway does anyone know the stock vcore for E8400 ? My bios default is 1.235v. Think this is sweetspot of the proc under low voltage, after this will try out with 2.40B. shouldnt bother too much about performance levels i guess... from what i see in benchmarks, they dont give overall performance boost... PL8 @ 450fsb 1500MHz easily pwns PL7 400fsb 1600MHz when i ran everest memory benchmark btw stock vcore for each proc is generally not the same... but most are within your VID This post has been edited by x-1o8-x: Jul 21 2009, 08:31 AM |
Jul 21 2009, 04:33 PM
"They'll be singing que sera sera" ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 1,541 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Oct 2007 From: Cheras, Selangor |
Decided to go with 4.1ghz daily @ 1.225v as it's still under stock voltage, (referring to VID, it's 1.2375v). Because on 4.2ghz I have to pump until 1.275v and 0.1ghz doesnt make any significant difference in real life performance.
QUOTE(x-1o8-x @ Jul 21 2009, 08:26 AM) for C1E, shouldnt be a problem in most cases... mild OC hardly cause problem when C1E is turned on... as for EIST, its automatically disabled once u manually set the vcore and multiplier... EIST is controlled by the OS, u can alter the settings in Power Options... as for CIA2, i don't know what's that -_____- So I can turn on the C1E then. Didnt alter the multiplier, just undervolt (but still considered as manually set). So do you suggest me to alter by Power Options or just leave the EIST, turning on only the C1E ? As for CIA2 I'll try to figure out what's that coz I remember I did disable it. Added on July 21, 2009, 8:30 am shouldnt bother too much about performance levels i guess... from what i see in benchmarks, they dont give overall performance boost... PL8 @ 450fsb 1500MHz easily pwns PL7 400fsb 1600MHz when i ran everest memory benchmark btw stock vcore for each proc is generally not the same... but most are within your VID Yeah the most I could go is PL8, I think that's it, as long as it doesnt affect much its all right. Anyway thanks bro |
Jul 22 2009, 12:39 AM
Anti-Indirect Bump!! ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 600 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Apr 2005 From: Sunway PJ |
my E8400 E0 @4ghz 1.233v around 45C on Sunbeam CCF. is it normal? or a little bit too hot? I cant street my cpu by orthos for 2minutes with tht settings.. my ram is Kingston Hyperx 4GB with setting 1000mhz 5-5-5-15 2.08v... Mobo is Tpower i45..
Jul 23 2009, 07:52 PM
Getting Started ![]() ![]() Group: Junior Member Posts: 218 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Jan 2009 |
45c on load or idle? if load consider cool. orthos cant pass 2 minit = not stable .
Jul 25 2009, 02:18 PM
Regular ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 1,287 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Jan 2007 From: Seri Kembangan |
QUOTE(xiong91 @ Jul 22 2009, 12:39 AM) my E8400 E0 @4ghz 1.233v around 45C on Sunbeam CCF. is it normal? or a little bit too hot? I cant street my cpu by orthos for 2minutes with tht settings.. my ram is Kingston Hyperx 4GB with setting 1000mhz 5-5-5-15 2.08v... Mobo is Tpower i45.. 45c is not hot at all if idle, if full load u got a gem i guess your setting not stable, but not the temp. maybe cause by vdimm, vcore or vnb.. Added on July 25, 2009, 2:22 pm QUOTE(mizivincible @ Jul 21 2009, 06:32 AM) Anyway mates, after we determine our oc settings stable after (doesnt matter Prime95,OCCT, Orthos) few hours of stressing, can we enable CIE,CIA2 and EIST ? Any chance of causing instability ?After enabling back do we have to stress it again just to make sure its safe ? i guess this will depend on motherboard, some board when enable all this stuff will down volt, but some not.. This post has been edited by hengmy: Jul 25 2009, 02:22 PM |
Jul 25 2009, 11:54 PM
Anti-Indirect Bump!! ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 600 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Apr 2005 From: Sunway PJ |
Now i set my fsb to 460*9 1.288vcore... stable.. idle 52C under non-aircon... I wan to ask tht the highest safe vcore of E8400 E0 is? And also wad is the temperature limit? 80C ++ still safe? (when full load)
Jul 26 2009, 12:05 AM
On my way ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 662 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Dec 2008 |
C2D also reach 80c++? i cant believe that.
if quad proc full stress reach 80c+ is acceptable. |
Jul 26 2009, 12:11 AM
Getting Started ![]() ![]() Group: Junior Member Posts: 218 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Jan 2009 |
QUOTE(xiong91 @ Jul 25 2009, 11:54 PM) Now i set my fsb to 460*9 1.288vcore... stable.. idle 52C under non-aircon... I wan to ask tht the highest safe vcore of E8400 E0 is? And also wad is the temperature limit? 80C ++ still safe? (when full load) for me, there is no highest save vcore. if my cooler can handle the temp thn it consider ok for me. btw what cooler u using, at 460*9 1.288vcore non-aircon your idle temp should be 33 to 42c? 52c idle a bit high, the safe temperature for me la is below 75c 80c ++ still ok ,reach 100c will restart itself, wont kaboom one |
Jul 26 2009, 09:59 AM
smoking is bad for health ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 791 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Oct 2008 From: KK<-->KL |
Halo guys~ im new here and also xiong91's fren
we r doin our E8400 recently 2gether too i oso got an E8400 wif Asus P5e X38 im using Acbel M8 750w modular psu and Ram is HyperX 4gb currently i oc my E8400 till 4.2ghz wif vcore at 1.325 and vdimm at 2.1 setting i oso tested orthos for 1 hr...it was fine n stable but once i check my cpu's status thru cpuid it shown my vcore at 1.27xx-1.28xx(max) although it is 4.2ghz...when i play Grid on High Reso it'll lag or black screen sumtimes... actually wat happen? is it not stable? need u guys' guidances ![]() here is my cpuid This post has been edited by onnjeyyon: Jul 26 2009, 10:01 AM |
Jul 26 2009, 04:48 PM
Getting Started ![]() ![]() Group: Junior Member Posts: 255 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Jul 2007 From: kuala lumpur |
one silly ques from me...izit safe to raise de MCH core,CPU VTT and ICH I/O so high?
one more thing,if all voltage set auto except pump vcore higher better or others like MCH,CPU VTT and ICH I/O set to a certain volt n lower vcore better? thanx.. |
Jul 29 2009, 09:56 PM
Beginning of a new era ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 2,035 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Feb 2007 From: KL |
I forgot to ask this question,
well my OC seems to be fine in terms of Prime95 test, temperature and many more. But i noticed that when I OC, when I wanna switch ON the PC, it took about 3 seconds to power up. Any idea guys? |
Jul 30 2009, 02:51 AM
Regular ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 1,287 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Jan 2007 From: Seri Kembangan |
QUOTE(onnjeyyon @ Jul 26 2009, 09:59 AM) Halo guys~ im new here and also xiong91's fren we r doin our E8400 recently 2gether too i oso got an E8400 wif Asus P5e X38 im using Acbel M8 750w modular psu and Ram is HyperX 4gb currently i oc my E8400 till 4.2ghz wif vcore at 1.325 and vdimm at 2.1 setting i oso tested orthos for 1 hr...it was fine n stable but once i check my cpu's status thru cpuid it shown my vcore at 1.27xx-1.28xx(max) although it is 4.2ghz...when i play Grid on High Reso it'll lag or black screen sumtimes... actually wat happen? is it not stable? need u guys' guidances ![]() here is my cpuid try ibt 100 loops with max ram or prime 8 hours |
Jul 30 2009, 11:45 AM
I smell my R3E coming! Group: VIP Posts: 6,595 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(hazairi @ Jul 29 2009, 09:56 PM) I forgot to ask this question, well my OC seems to be fine in terms of Prime95 test, temperature and many more. But i noticed that when I OC, when I wanna switch ON the PC, it took about 3 seconds to power up. Any idea guys? I've used quite a number of LGA775 boards and I don't think there's an issue because it would always have a few seconds delay during power up. |
Jul 31 2009, 09:37 PM
Beginning of a new era ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 2,035 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Feb 2007 From: KL |
QUOTE(clawhammer @ Jul 30 2009, 11:45 AM) I've used quite a number of LGA775 boards and I don't think there's an issue because it would always have a few seconds delay during power up. Well, but when I'm not overclocking, and let everything in stock settings (mostly auto), the power up don't have any delays.. |
Aug 1 2009, 10:22 PM
Folding@Home Folding@Malaysia Group: Elite Posts: 8,267 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Aug 2006 From: 224.0.0.6 |
There are still few seconds to boot up even stock setting.
-pWs- |
Aug 5 2009, 12:05 PM
Newbie ![]() Group: Junior Member Posts: 14 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Aug 2009 |
ACI TECHNOLOGY OVERCLOCKER Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 3.0GHz Up 4.70GHz
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 3.0GHz Up 4.70GHz Motherboard: Asus Maximus II Formula Graphic Card: XFX HD4870 512MB DDR5 (Singel Card) Power supply:Tagan 800Watt PSU CPU Cooler: CoolerMaster HYPER Z600 Memory: Kingstone Hyperx KVR8500 1066 2Gb Harddisk: Samsung 160GB 7200RPM SATA 2 Casing:(Atas Meja I`m Newbie Here Comment My Result.... This post has been edited by Mizzoverclock: Aug 5 2009, 05:18 PM |
Aug 5 2009, 06:38 PM
mizzoverclock, can you prove some stability test ss, prime95 , ibt , linx etc.?
dont just show u can "reach" 4.7ghz |
Aug 5 2009, 06:47 PM
Newbie ![]() Group: Junior Member Posts: 14 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Aug 2009 |
ok later i show u the stability....i`m working right now....
Aug 5 2009, 07:49 PM
siapa curi selipar saya yang putus tu hah?!.... ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Senior Member Posts: 552 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Sep 2007 From: Nuclear Mushroom Clouds |
Aug 6 2009, 04:46 AM
Newbie ![]() Group: Junior Member Posts: 19 Ratings earned: 0+, 0- Ratings given: 0+, 0- Joined: Aug 2009 From: Kota Kinabalu |
Mizzoverclock, get working... PC Fair start this 7 aug 09 - 9 aug 09 at KK. New stock come.. help me count the stock la... Hehehhe..
We post result after done PC Fair.. aaitt gurl~ |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
| Lo-Fi Version | Time is now: 21st March 2010 - 08:03 AM |