Lowyat.NET Forums

Paypal WTS topics will be closed after 14 Nov. Read here.
3 Pages  1 2 3 > 
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Fulltime Freelance career, Anyone?

clivengu
post Feb 25 2008, 11:07 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1

Group: Senior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

Mayb I should post this topic in job & carreer but I think this section should be more appropriate as my question targets on Design Industry.

Just like to find out if there is thr anyone here that is taking freelance as their fulltime career...

Graphic,
Illustration,
3D,
Interior / Architects,
Animation
etc.

Would like to know how's the life a freelancer. Great life? Good Earning? Or negative side, like no prospect or Social?
Please share some experience together. notworthy.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
momochi zabuza
post Feb 26 2008, 12:47 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2

I never think about money, beautiful things make money

ya im now a fulltime freelance in
--
Project Manager.
Flash Interactives, Motion, Application, Mobile Content, Animation, courseware.
Website Design, Web development.
--

About life. ya life now is interesting. Indeed very interesting. You do what you love and furthermore there's no time constraint in your life. But if there's no discipline in life also it would be a terrible mess tongue.gif The earning in depends on how you view it. you become freelance so that you can choose what you want to do. if the payment small and not worth it with your time so leave it. don't do job that is cheap and time consuming. because other offer might will just come. (or not.. that you have to think ). however i always let myself open a bit. if that project is seem beneficial for the long run, maybe take it. depends. if let say have a family behind and we have to give them food and shelter, this thing come first.

But bare in mind, if you think that freelance is to work 24/7,canceling a date with your girlfriend, missing reunion with your family, you better work at any company. you get a monthly salary. work from 9-5, can get cozy and perfect sleep at night and spend time with the one you love.It saves a lot of hassle over piling jobs over the desk. Me myself set the rule for me that i only work during office hour. If only necessary chasing the deadline than i have to stay up but i try to make that not a habit. Prospect and social. I don't think i have any problem with it. well about prospect, have to always keep promoting and updating ourselves with new technologies, job offerings and so on so we'll never leave behind. and about social, it's one of the important part because when people don't know you it's hard to get any job offerings. I join networking session, designer/programmer gathering, PSP gathering and also enjoying myself involving in voluntary activities. sometimes we just need to turn off the computer and doing something humane.

I believe even freelance animator ( that always viewed like a living zombie doing job 24/7) can enjoy this kind of life, as long as we have discipline. that is to complete project in time. The urge to finish the project in time and to have free time doing what we love.

but one thing, im not very sure how are the others. people view me like i don't have a job. they define job as working in a company, in a office, with a schedule. how about other fulltime freelancers? are you facing the same situation like me?

One thing that should bare in freelancer mind. you have to manage yourself. because you dont have EPF/SOCSO for your old days so have to save a lot. there may be a situation where there's no job for one month. so have to prepare the money. there maybe when the deposit money for the proposed project is not enough so you may had to use a bit of your money before hand. as the above stated, you have to manage yourself all the time. either search for client or prepare an umbrella for the rain that is coming.

All i can say, freelancing is not a cool and safe thing to do, if you didnt get prepared. If you have the skill, self-management and discipline, then you're good to fly soar above the sky nod.gif

+Quote Post
subsonique
post Feb 26 2008, 10:15 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #3

Group: Junior Member

yup same here hehe. it's wicked, and i am loving it. been free for the past 3 years and coming to the 4th year. life is not too bad, just that i do not have fixed income, but payment time is the best time la haha. worked for almost 6 years and decided to break out and make my own time. i run my own company with a bunch of talented freelancers but most of them have daily jobs la.

things you should do or consider prior to becoming a full time freelancer.

1. good networking
2. list of potential clients
3. possession of own equipment
4. list of potential contractors/freelancers
5. job scope
6. marketing strategy

this is my daily routine:
1. wake up as early as 8am
2. mountain biking
3. check email
4. lunch
5. work
6. mountain biking
7. dinner
8. discussion on potential business ventures (talking paintball, cars and all)
9. work
10.sleep as early as 2am

that is my routine, but if there's deadline, there's only work, work and work hehe. there's a lot of give and take, you get to miss dates, you get to miss cinemas, you get to miss many things that you don't ever wanna miss if you wanna do it seriously. but the best thing is, you get to make your own time. after a while, you will get use to it and schedule for client meetings according to your time smile.gif

and this is my job scope:

1. illustration
2. graphic design
3. publishing
4. t-shirt design
5. motion graphics (After Effects)
6. video editing (FCP, Edius and Premiere)
7. consultancy
+Quote Post
clivengu
post Feb 26 2008, 10:51 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #4

Two very useful and informative advice from just exactly the right ppl. smile.gif Thanks!

Is a hard decision to made. Im interior designer...but I work like hell with no OT pay, no claim, no extra time for other things i would LIKE to do and try out. and no social with other ppl. no exerices. no gf of course.

I choose this field is bcause i thought of designing... is smthing im passionate about... But when you are doing something for others who design (the boss) and get scolded for not able to get HIS DESIGN right, you started 2 feel that you are not getting any closer to the original goal.... Well mayb if work under some big boss and after 10 years u might get to open your own company and design as you like... But this wasted (mayb not) the 10 years of suffering and no guarantee will achieve what we looking for.

I have no problem with self-managing. I always can learn things better by myself compare to learn from others. My most concern is "good networking"

Personally im not an extremely outgoing ppl. don speak cantonese. my network isnt large... Mayb due to im not born in semenanjung malaysia. hence all my old friends, family n relatives r all in sarawak and my contacts r basically college friends and ex - colleagues, some supplier who barely keep in touch.

Working in my current company also... i don feel that I can gain any network benefit. Thats why i have been thinking, If I'm to have my control over my own time, my life. Perhaps i can improve on this. Joining activities, communities, etc...knowing more ppl... Compare to just facing the same few ppl in the office everyday....

Zabuza & subsonique, is good to hear that u guys r happy bout ur current life and the advice u give is helpful.

+Quote Post
momochi zabuza
post Feb 27 2008, 11:27 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #5

no worries clivengu.. if you're looking for more guidance about freelancing you can go here

http://freelanceswitch.com

i find the articles are pretty useful and interesting. not to forget, inspiring. i've been freelancing for 4 years during my university days. but freelance switch, i say, one of the inspiring resources to view on.

as about the network, maybe try to check on your extremely close friends that you know very well, made them as your spokeperson, manager. the one that you extremely trust.

subsonique = got some second hand mountain bike for sell ah ? tongue.gif searching for mountain bike but have lower budget.
+Quote Post
subsonique
post Feb 27 2008, 11:33 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #6

clivengu, no problem bro. one thing you should do now is to widen your network. many ways to do it smile.gif even in LYN, this is already a networking hehe.

Added on February 27, 2008, 11:38 am
QUOTE(momochi zabuza @ Feb 27 2008, 11:27 AM)
no worries clivengu.. if you're looking for more guidance about freelancing you can go here

i find the articles are pretty useful and interesting. not to forget, inspiring. i've been freelancing for 4 years during my university days. but freelance switch, i say, one of the inspiring resources to view on.

as about the network, maybe try to check on your extremely close friends that you know very well, made them as your spokeperson, manager. the one that you extremely trust.

subsonique = got some second hand mountain bike for sell ah ? tongue.gif searching for mountain bike but have lower budget.

alamak bro, no la hehe. i got 2 at home in Bandar Utama hehe, both Meridas. nice hehe. but not for sale la, unless i go get myself a Scott Scale 40, then i might sell off haha. anyway, one of the reasons why i quit my full time job is because, i was becoming so fat haha. i was at 120kg when i quit, and now i am down to 95kg smile.gif see what those extra time do to me? hehe, and i am healthy and happier now. mountain biking, tennis and paintball is wicked haha.

This post has been edited by subsonique: Feb 27 2008, 11:38 AM
+Quote Post
caliber45
post Feb 27 2008, 08:03 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #7

Wow. Just the thread im looking for! smile.gif
Thanks for the insights.

Well Im no one, havent attend college yet. I intent to go PJCAD and study Interior Design.

btw, by freelancing, do you think can drive SUV by age 30? haha. Im interested.

oh again, but by freelancing, u dun get err...corporate jobs rite?? Cuz freelancers dun have invoice, delivery orders, quotations and other official black and white paper work?
I mean in order to get tender jobs like from example : Install office blinds for Petronas, or emmm..do commercials or adverts for companies and stuf? It has to be a sole propierter or a Sdn Bhd company?

thanks million guys. smile.gif

+Quote Post
subsonique
post Feb 27 2008, 08:18 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #8

QUOTE(caliber45 @ Feb 27 2008, 08:03 PM)
Thanks for the insights.

Well Im no one, havent attend college yet. I intent to go PJCAD and study Interior Design.

oh again, but by freelancing, u dun get err...corporate jobs rite?? Cuz freelancers dun have invoice, delivery orders, quotations and other official black and white paper work?
I mean in order to get tender jobs like from example : Install office blinds for Petronas,  or emmm..do commercials or  adverts for companies and stuf? It has to be a sole propierter or a Sdn Bhd company?
thanks million guys.  smile.gif

haha ok i think you got yourself twisted and almost got shot in the head. i do get corporate jobs. freelancers like me, we do have a company of our own, and in my case my company is called Slipstream Graphics. registered with ROC and some along with MOF. so you can go for tenders or government projects. i do have official quotations, invoices, letter of acceptance, delivery order and so on. everything is done legally, because i have learnt my lesson the hard way haha. get protected brothers and sisters.

so you wanna drive SUV by 30? hmmm i had my first Italian car when i was 27 hehe, and now with another Italian car when i am 33, so you can have SUV or bigger than that if you put your mind and effort to it. you get the break, don't ever let it go. hope this helps bro.
+Quote Post
tsubasa89
post Feb 27 2008, 09:11 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #9

hey all... smile.gif
i still on like the 2nd year of my degree education but....
i was wondering if it was wise to go straight into freelance just after you got out of university/college?
or it is better to go to a fulltime job 1st?
cuz doing freelance work is always been a very ideal work for me as i did appreaciate all the free time and space to do our own stuff and work at our own pace...
well the real reason maybe i dont want to stuck in a cubicle and infront of a PC 52 hr per week... tongue.gif
+Quote Post
clivengu
post Feb 27 2008, 09:57 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #10

QUOTE(momochi zabuza @ Feb 27 2008, 11:27 AM)

thanks..I have bookmark the page! thumbup.gif My close friends r in USA, AUSTRALIA...they all science-brain einsteins who will spend another 10 years studying their medic, biochemistry etc. sweat.gif Not sure what can they help me with... I can ask a girl who is studying English course to write me article or websites info though.

Zabuza may I know how many years you have been working under employee b4 switch to full freelance?
+Quote Post
subsonique
post Feb 27 2008, 10:01 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #11

QUOTE(tsubasa89 @ Feb 27 2008, 09:11 PM)
hey all... smile.gif
i was wondering if it was wise to go straight into freelance just after you got out of university/college?
cuz doing freelance work is always been a very ideal work for me as i did appreaciate all the free time and space to do our own stuff and work at our own pace...
well the real reason maybe i dont want to stuck in a cubicle and infront of a PC 52 hr per week... tongue.gif

ok when i was in the college, i used to be doing freelances, but when i graduated i wanted to get that full time job experience, and i did. experience is mighty valuable and cannot be substitute with monetary values. and when i got out from the full time job, the experience and work ethics at the office did good to me. take what's good at the office and practice it when you're on your own.
+Quote Post
clivengu
post Feb 27 2008, 10:04 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #12

QUOTE(subsonique @ Feb 27 2008, 11:33 AM)
clivengu, no problem bro. one thing you should do now is to widen your network. many ways to do it smile.gif even in LYN this is already a networking hehe.

Added on February 27, 2008, 11:38 amalamak bro, no la hehe. i got 2 at home in Bandar Utama hehe, both Meridas. nice hehe. but not for sale la, unless i go get myself a Scott Scale 40, then i might sell off haha. anyway, one of the reasons why i quit my full time job is because, i was becoming so fat haha. i was at 120kg when i quit, and now i am down to 95kg smile.gif see what those extra time do to me? hehe, and i am healthy and happier now. mountain biking, tennis and paintball is wicked haha.

Great. I think so too.. haha... So if any1 require Interior 3d illustration or sm1 wanna renovate house or wanna design a retail.. can always look for me notworthy.gif First I must create a website of my own to show off my portfolio rolleyes.gif for now.. this is my NOT-UPTODATE- WEBSITE

clive.carbonmade.com

I also find myself getting unhealthier these days...getting soft.... I wanna go swimming, go bowling, go trekking, go travelling. Paintball....love to try one day.... when such days allow.

Added on February 27, 2008, 10:42 pm
hey all... smile.gif

I dont think is adviceable for you to go straight into freelance... should get a permanent job and work for at least few years...( but secretly doing some freelance) if the time allowed. That way u get to learn things from the company.

As for me... I wish i could remain in good company to learn & "steal" as much knowledge and info for at least a few more years. But I have been suffering in this 2 years.

The reason i create this topic is bcause I am considering to quit my current job, so that I can work towards earning more money in Year 2008. Thats my major aim for now... I need to do that because my sis and I are working towards buying a house for our parents (moving in end of the year) so will need lots of money for that.

If Freelance could allow me to get the temporary income... I will go for it. and will see how it goes next year...perhaps continue to work for ppl...or to continue freelance if the step i take seems promising.

Tsubasa enjoy ur degree education to d fullest.... thos r d best moment thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by clivengu: Feb 27 2008, 10:42 PM
+Quote Post
caliber45
post Feb 28 2008, 12:28 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #13

QUOTE(subsonique @ Feb 27 2008, 08:18 PM)
haha ok i think you got yourself twisted and almost got shot in the head. i do get corporate jobs. freelancers like me, we do have a company of our own, and in my case my company is called Slipstream Graphics. registered with ROC and some along with MOF. so you can go for tenders or government projects. i do have official quotations, invoices, letter of acceptance, delivery order and so on. everything is done legally, because i have learnt my lesson the hard way haha. get protected brothers and sisters.

so you wanna drive SUV by 30? hmmm i had my first Italian car when i was 27 hehe, and now with another Italian car when i am 33, so you can have SUV or bigger than that if you put your mind and effort to it. you get the break, don't ever let it go. hope this helps bro.

haha oops my apologies.. Nice achievements there, wish can be like u. hehe.
btw i googled ur company, ur not based in Malaysia izit?? Mostly i c is american adress?

haha clivegu, interior design job is a burden to you now?
thats bad le..
Anyway, Its gud intentions to get a house for parents. smile.gif

+Quote Post
POYOZER
post Feb 28 2008, 12:40 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #14

TOLANIC

i prefer doing freelance
because all the idea are by my own
eventhough the pay is kinda little than company
but seriously....i feel more fun
because im not working like a mr roboto
who just follow the top ppl
+Quote Post
momochi zabuza
post Feb 28 2008, 12:47 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #15

QUOTE(subsonique @ Feb 27 2008, 11:33 AM)
clivengu, no problem bro. one thing you should do now is to widen your network. many ways to do it smile.gif even in LYN, this is already a networking hehe.

Added on February 27, 2008, 11:38 amalamak bro, no la hehe. i got 2 at home in Bandar Utama hehe, both Meridas. nice hehe. but not for sale la, unless i go get myself a Scott Scale 40, then i might sell off haha.

omg.. i only know Le Run LOL...

QUOTE(caliber45 @ Feb 27 2008, 08:03 PM)
Thanks for the insights.
I mean in order to get tender jobs like from example : Install office blinds for Petronas,  or emmm..do commercials or  adverts for companies and stuf? It has to be a sole propierter or a Sdn Bhd company?
thanks million guys.  smile.gif

fyi, freelancers overseas they do have those legal document, they even have to register their business. and that made them fully working like a company, just the matter is that they are the boss. oho and they also can be sued. because all there is legal. and when it's legal, the payment is also high. I'm a fulltime freelancer, but registering as Flavert Media Lab. but i have a team lah. not just me. and by freelancing, all those thing you can buy. but be prepared for worst time also la. not scaring you la but buy your umbrella before it's raining tongue.gif As for tender jobs, you may required to have certain thing like MOF, ministry of finance registration number for goverment jobs ( even for website they able to quote crazy price. ), petronas has their own certificate to do job with them. not very sure. and some big client do need you to be sendirian berhad. for beginning, registering enterprise is already ok. at least you're approved by goverment. taking babysteps afterall.

hey all... smile.gif

well tsubasa, you have to ask yourself. one thing to consider is your experience. if you want to go straight freelance, have to start build up your credibility first. i mean, at least when people talk about you, you're the one best known with what. like that. find your strongest skill and sharpen it. like one of the elites here, etsuko said, that "don't be jack of all trades". last time i try to be that jack but when i think further, i decide i just concentrate on Flash. at least i'm competing within my own league. but when you go out and you still unsure, to be on the safer side, just work for 1-2 years. that would at least give you some experience and also chances to spot ( and steal brows.gif ) on potential lovely clients. money also matters. let say you want to freelance but you're living inside KL, with the expensive house rent, living cost, and you can't make a good money from freelancing, you better off doing fulltime job.

so i can't say wise or not regarding the decision you'll be making. all people really dream of working like what they want, but not many of them dare to face the challenges. so once you set up your goals, be stubborn with that aim and i'm sure you'll be indeed happy smile.gif maybe i'm also wrong in giving you this advice. decision is totally on you.

QUOTE(clivengu @ Feb 27 2008, 09:57 PM)
thanks..I have bookmark the page!  thumbup.gif My close friends r in USA, AUSTRALIA...they all science-brain einsteins who will spend another 10 years studying their medic, biochemistry etc.  sweat.gif Not sure what can they help me with... I can ask a girl who is studying English course to write me article or websites info though.

Zabuza may I know how many years you have been working under employee b4 switch to full freelance?

well i'm also a science student tongue.gif . that girl who is studying english.. you can ask her help for doing your copywriting. she surely can wrote beautiful sentences that make the client cant resist your services. well you can ask them to promote your services. doing job for free is okay as long as it doesnt burn a hole in your pocket.

under employee.. mmm. internship = 4 months. post grad = 4 months. that's it. but million thanks to all people i met on my way.
+Quote Post
tsubasa89
post Feb 28 2008, 12:48 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #16

QUOTE(clivengu @ Feb 27 2008, 10:04 PM)
Tsubasa enjoy ur degree education to d fullest.... thos r d best moment  thumbup.gif

lol...tongue.gif funny thing....you said the exact same words that my english lecturer told me earlier this trimester... biggrin.gif

anyway...
i've been wondering this for quite awhile also....
how did usually the freelancer manage to buildup their 1st few portfolio item??
i mean if you're working on a fulltime job then all the design you did you cant put it into your portfolio right cuz it's not totally your work,
and i think the company board people will also think twice before giving someone without a portfolio a job.... hmm.gif
+Quote Post
momochi zabuza
post Feb 28 2008, 01:01 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #17

QUOTE(tsubasa89 @ Feb 28 2008, 12:48 AM)
how did usually the freelancer manage to buildup their 1st few portfolio item??
i mean if you're working on a fulltime job then all the design you did you cant put it into your portfolio right cuz it's not totally your work,
and i think the company board people will also think twice before giving someone without a portfolio a job.... hmm.gif

we can put the job because it's our work if it doenst breaching anything. like you're the graphic designer for this project. so quote it like.

this project have been done during my work at what company year bla bla bla. my task is to creating a compelling icon design plus interface design for this portal.

that way, you're crediting the company you doing. so it's not a big matters, unless you're too big and they want to wipe you off. that another matters.
+Quote Post
tsubasa89
post Feb 28 2008, 01:26 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #18

ah...so we're allow to do that... smile.gif
thanks for clearing it up rolleyes.gif
+Quote Post
subsonique
post Feb 28 2008, 01:34 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #19

yup by doing freelance, that don't mean you are a lone wolf. you are allowed to have a team or 2 teams haha, or by all means if you can handle the workload alone hehe, go ahead. i work in a team as well, spearheading them and meeting clients at the same time. right now i am in Melaka, just finished a job, and this weekend will be up to KL again, for another job. once the job is done, i go back to Melaka to rest hehe.
+Quote Post
clivengu
post Feb 28 2008, 09:24 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #20

QUOTE(subsonique @ Feb 28 2008, 01:34 AM)
yup by doing freelance, that don't mean you are a lone wolf. you are allowed to have a team or 2 teams haha, or by all means if you can handle the workload alone hehe, go ahead. i work in a team as well, spearheading them and meeting clients at the same time. right now i am in Melaka, just finished a job, and this weekend will be up to KL again, for another job. once the job is done, i go back to Melaka to rest hehe.

I wish i can achieve such lifestyle as you. Decision has been made. Im quiting mid of next month! and shall look into getting more job on my own... Wish me luck guys! icon_idea.gif

subsonique, what kind of job are you doing.. mind to share?

Although Im an interior designer but my experience in this field are consider very shallow. What i can do best for the meantime is doing 3D perspectives... I dont think im able to survive just doing 3D for the rest of my life....so hope to venture into something others that related. Design n build? Animation...

There are a lot of other things that i would like to try and make it into part of my job....such as Photography..just starting my first DSLR...wish to take wedding photographs....or doing website/flash.... 0% experience but always find it interesting..

Mayb in the end i wont able to achieve all of it.. Just my wish list.
+Quote Post

3 Pages  1 2 3 >
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 9th November 2009 - 01:31 AM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)